Chicago Park District Reviews

12 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for Chicago Park District

Recommended by 79% of couples

4.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Professionalism 3.9
  • Flexibility 3.8
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 3.5

Awards

12
Order by:
  • L

    Liezl · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at Promontory Point at Hyde Park and it turned out beautifully! To be honest, my fiance and I were a little nervous to have our wedding at a park district location, but the venue, location, for the rental price were too good to pass up. There really isn't a more affordable lakeside wedding location in Chicago. We actually had our ceremony on the grassy area by the lakeside, and had the Chicago skyline and Lake Michigan as our beautiful backdrop. We also loved that Promontory Point is a historic building - and we decorated the space beautifully with market string lights and candle light to set a romantic mood for our reception. The park service staff was also very responsive and accommodating to answering our questions and setting time out for walkthroughs! On the day of the wedding - there were park representatives available, and security on site as well. We have no regrets having our wedding at Promontory Point!

    Sent on 09/09/2017
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff was wonderful to work with they went above and beyond to ensure that our event was just the way we wanted it to be,

    Sent on 11/16/2014
  • E

    Everly · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding in the North Rose Garden. There is lots of red tape, deadlines, permit's, insurance, etc. but they are really helpful with questions, which I had a ton, and I was late getting my payment in by a month, and they were totally fine with it, helped me get the insurance, and they always emailed me back. Kind of hassle, but worth it for a great chicago ceremony setting. Our ceremony was beautiful, and the park looked amazing. Plus since you have to do it so far in advance it's not that bad, but do make sure you go through there lists of approved vendors before hand, as they are not as responsive.

    Sent on 10/28/2013
  • A

    anne · Married on 07/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked the 63rd Street Beach House for our July wedding. Although it's a risk to plan an event at this outdoor (covered) venue, this is one of the most gorgeous places in Chicago. When the Park District informed us that the Dave Matthews Caravan concert and another music festival across the street threatened to cause considerable impediments during our wedding day, the special events staff (specifically Diane Hren) worked tirelessly with us to ensure that the event went smoothly. Chicago Park District venues are an excellent value. We're so glad we chose to work with the city for our wedding!

    Sent on 08/02/2011
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/27/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had our reception at the Boathouse in Humboldt Park. The location was stunning and affordable! The staff cleaned the area and set up the tables and chairs. The location is a true diamond in the rough. It was a warm fall evening, and my guests enjoyed dancing on the veranda looking over the lagoon. Our formal pictures were taken at the formal garden, just south of the boathouse. It was a beautiful, and romantic setting which we and our guests will never forget!

    Sent on 03/07/2009
  • M

    Samantha · Married on 06/04/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Promontory Point. Before starting the venue search, we had never heard of Promontory Point but, wow, is it an incredible find. It is a great value for a venue situated on the lake and has both indoor and outdoor sections (great for inclement weather contingency plans, which thankfully we did not have to use).
    We had 60 guests and Promontory Point was the perfect size for that count. You could go as high as 80 but it would start feeling crowded.
    Because it is a city park, there is a good deal of bureaucracy throughout the process and a bit of paperwork in order to secure the needed permit (e.g., site plan, vendor invoices, proof of insurance). The requirements are relatively well laid-out (made easier if you are used to navigating government processes) but you are likely to have questions for the Chicago Park District staff along the way. It sometimes took a few tries to connect with him but Joshua was very helpful answering the questions that we had. If you stay on top of the requirements, things will go smoothly. We had the final permit and parking permits in hand a few weeks before our event, which was very helpful.
    The venue is rustic and barebones but absolutely beautiful. We did not add any decorations to the building itself and we thought that worked out just fine. If you do choose to decorate we suggest keeping things simple as the natural views, wood trim, and sandstone interiors really stand on their own. Since it is a public city park, the restrooms for the venue remain available to the public – this was not an issue for us but just something to be aware of. Security and additional CPD staff are included in the cost of the rental.
    We looked at a number of Chicago Park District sites during our venue search and many of them were unique and would have been great options.

    Sent on 06/26/2016
  • meganandmike2010

    Megan · Married on 08/28/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had our ceremony in the Rose Garden just north of the Fountain. A big stress in the beginning to be very honest getting the permit. It involved my now husband standing out in the cold for several hours the first business day in January, several weeks of waiting to hear back from the city, and then our 1st choice had construction but we could still use it which is why they booked our 2nd so we took our 3rd, too nervous about the potential for bulldoozers with our 1st choice. All of that being said, the park was just beautiful. If you aren't scared about risking the weather element, I would recommend it. With it being the park you do have to fool with more equipment but in the end it was totally worth it.

    Sent on 04/25/2011
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 10/12/2010

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    We had our ceremony and cocktail hour at the Lincoln Park Conservatory. It was a beautiful location, but the Park District offices did not have/could not provide details about the conservatory that would have been helpful in planning, such as how hot/humid the conservatory would be and the lighting situation. When we would send a list of questions to our contact at the Park District, she would only answer some of the questions, ignoring the rest. Also, since our wedding close to Halloween, a friend of mine had to ensure that all the Halloween decorations (which we were also not informed about) were taken down shortly before the ceremony started! Overall it was a beautiful location but a little difficult to plan and deal with the park district.

    Sent on 10/21/2010
  • B

    Brenda · Married on 09/01/2007

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Overall it was nice. We were told a few things that never came true. It was difficult to get a hold of them sometimes

    Sent on 11/10/2008
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/22/2007

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    It is VERY difficult to get a hold of anyone at CPD - I recommend just hitting up their offices downtown if you really need to speak to someone. However, you can't beat the price for venue rental in the city.

    Sent on 10/11/2007
  • E

    Ervin · Married on 08/24/2014

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    We had our wedding at Promontory Point. We booked the point last year or should I say, we made an attempt to book it last year. Once the Chicago Park District finally finalized there personnel changes, then we finally got an OK in January. However, the final amount was due in February.

    The location and the pricing are the best things about this venue. A beach wedding in the heart of Chicago. Can't beat that. Indoor and Outdoor access. Also, it was the most cost affordable venue we visited. Yes, you don't have to go outside the city to actually find an affordable venue.

    Now for the reason I give this experience 2.2/5.0 rating.

    The communication is horrific when trying to do a walk through and trying to get things settled including booking the venue.
    The venue is popular in some regards, however, very little people know about it. This is a great thing, a hidden gem of sorts, however, that also means the upkeep is not as stellar as it should be especially for weddings and receptions. Old cobwebs were hanging all over the place and though they promised they would be removed (They had been there since we 1st visited last year), they never were.

    The spiders in Chicago are a big problem and they were all over the doors and windows and even one dropped from the ceiling at our kings table. A huge one!
    They would not power wash or spray the building because they said they were not allowed to, however, if we wanted to we could power wash, spray, whatever we needed to do to clean up for our reception. REALLY?
    We had to bring in our own bug away candles and raid.

    I'm all for character, however, the floor was bowing from another event that they had before ours and they said they could not fix it before our wedding. The upstairs was not cleaned so we took no pictures up there. I could go on but there aren't enough characters in this box. I recommend for price and location ONLY. Nothing else! Oh and I got my security deposit back.

    Sent on 10/05/2014
  • T

    Tanyika · Married on 06/07/2008

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    It was very difficult to talk to anyone, when I finally reached the woman in charge she told me what I needed to do. I filled out all the paper work and got it back to her the same day. As of today 6/18/2008 I still have not received a response. And my wedding was 6/7/2008!!!

    Sent on 06/18/2008