Weddings

Cheriene Galley Makeup Artist Reviews

Cheriene Galley Makeup Artist

Cheriene Galley Makeup Artist

San Diego, CA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 12 Reviews
View more information

12 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 12
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

11 User photos

Sort by:
  • K
    Katherine Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Talented and Fun Makeup Artist!!

    Cheriene is so fun, so adorable AND a super talented make up artist! The best combination for a gal who is a little intimidated by makeup. I found her sorta last minute after a trial that... didn’t go as expected. I sent her pics of the original trial and she identified exactly what I wanted to change without me having to explain anything. She even made herself available the day of my Bachelorette party so I could have an event to attend after my trial! Day of the wedding - she made me feel calm and did an amazing job on my makeup, my cousins, and my moms.

    Cheriene Galley Makeup Artist's reply:

    Hi Kate! Thank you, thank you, thank you. So glad you found me. I loved your look and your whole style. It was such a pleasure to be apart of your big day. Congratulations! Xo ❤️
  • Victoria Married on 10/19/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cheriene is extremely talented, sweet, and professional. She's always on time and wonderful to work with. She's a make up genius with experience with all types of makeup. I love that she's clean and neat and uses excellent quality products and tools. She works wonders with brides always making sure they are comfortable with the makeup, she can do any look you might ask for and guide you to what will enhance your natural beauty. She's really fun to work with, you will enjoy her company while you're getting ready for your big day,. I've worked along side her on many wedding parties and her clients are alway happy with how their makeup turns out.
  • C
    Carlyn Married on 08/26/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had such a good experience with Cheriene! My makeup was beautiful, lasted all day, and everything went smoothly.
    Will definitely be booking her again!
  • A
    Annaleise Married on 06/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cheriene was amazing from start to finish. I was a nervous bride (about everything, not just makeup!), but Cheriene made me feel comfortable with everything. I normally don't wear a lot of make up - if I wear make up at all. So, I was really relieved when I talked to Cheriene about what I was looking for - I wanted to look like myself, but better! - she said she was very comfortable with that. The makeup trial was great - she showed up on time, and when the trial was complete, I felt amazing. I looked in the mirror and I started laughing because I was so surprised at how pretty she made me! Since I don't wear makeup normally, I wanted her to take artistic license in choosing colors that she thought would best suite me, and she was right. She knew exactly what shades would be best for me - it was great! We talked about what my bridesmaids would look like as well, and she planned out the colors for them too. On the day of the wedding, she was very professional, but warm and friendly. She showed up early, and got right to work on my bridesmaids. I was really nervous the day of the wedding, and when she was doing my makeup she made me laugh and told me everything was going to be okay. When everything was all done, I was so pleased with how everything turned out - my bridesmaids looked gorgeous, and I felt really beautiful. The makeup also stayed on all night. I hardly needed touch-ups. I would work with Cheriene again or recommend her to any of my friends/family who are getting married!!
  • A
    Anne Married on 06/25/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cheriene did an unbelievable job of mine and my bridal party’s make-up on my wedding day. Although not her specialty, she even whipped up a classic simple up-do when I was unhappy with a hair trial I had had with my hair stylist. She was beyond professional and delivered exactly what we asked for. She even perfectly covered up an unfortunately timed eye injury my bridesmaid sustained the night before the wedding! Timely, talented and incredibly personable.. she made me feel looked after on my wedding day and I can’t recommend her enough.
  • M
    Merritt Married on 05/28/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ah, I don't even know where to begin! Cheriene saved the day for me and my wife. I had originally had a trial run with another makeup artist that my hair stylist had recommended, but after the trial I walked out looking like a washed out ghost. Panicked, I called Cheriene, who managed to squeeze me and my wife into her busy schedule that afternoon for a trial. She showed me a portfolio of gorgeous makeup she'd done for various occasions (lots of weddings) , and helped me pick a makeup style that complimented my dress and my personality. Comparing her makeup job the the one I'd had earlier in the day was like night and day. I walked out of her space feeling like a goddess (my wife still teases me. I made her take me out because I felt so pretty). She re-created the look perfectly on the big day, and was so warm and supportive (and on time!!) when I was freaking out about everything going to plan. I can't recommend Cheriene enough. Professional, friendly, and skilled. The best.
  • J
    Jess Married on 05/28/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    As an androgynous queer woman who wore a suit to my wedding, seeing a makeup artist on the day-of wasn't in my plans. But my now-wife met with Cheriene to schedule getting her makeup done, so after a casual conversation about it I got brave and asked her to do mine too. I was nervous, worried that she might add feminine touches I wasn't comfortable with. But she was AMAZING. She understood the look I was going for (smooth skin & photogenic face, no lipstick or fake lashes or anything) without me needing to go in depth about it, asked a few clarifying questions to be sure, and then did her thing. Her skills are versatile, as my wife got the traditional stuff done and she looked amazing too. I highly recommend Cheriene for anyone who wants their face to look good, and wife & I can personally vouch that she's a good choice for queers, femmes and androgynous people. Really anyone who wants their makeup artist to make them feel like a star.
  • E
    Ellen Married on 01/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cheriene was one of my first vendors I booked for my destination wedding in Palm Springs. Her and I actually had both worked together many years ago and when I saw she had relocated to San Diego I immediately had to see if she was free to travel for my wedding. Not only was she so accommodating with travel, she actually recommended a hair stylist for us to use as well that she had worked with in the past. Cheriene has such a great presence and made our day so stress free with her amazing personality and flawless work. She completely nailed the looks we were going for and I cannot recommend her enough. Everyone in our wedding party swears that was the best they have ever looked!
    Our wedding was featured on junebug weddings and lovely brides blog and our photos are something we will always treasure.
    I highly recommend her for your makeup needs!!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 09/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cheriene was professional and fun to work with. She made me feel like a model. I would work with her again if given the chance
  • D
    Dayle Married on 10/12/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can not speak highly enough about Cheriene and her makeup abilities (hair too). For my wedding she did my makeup as well as 5 bridesmaids and my mom. Her attention to detail as well as her time management was impeccable. Not only is she AMAZING at applying beauty makeup, I have seen some of her special effects make up and it is incredible. Cheriene’s personality is contagious. It’s hard to not be smiling when she’s in the room. I have only great things to say aboit her. I wish she lived closer; I would hire her again and again and again.

    Cheriene Galley Makeup Artist's reply:

    Dayle, I can remember your wedding morning like it was yesterday! You were my very first international destination wedding and I had spent every waking moment preparing and anticipating the unexpected while traveling. All the planning paid off. You, your party and family were so kind and a joy to work with. Thank you.
    Congrats on the house and baby. I hope she's a good little sleeper for you two!
    Xo!
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 07/02/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was so happy with my wedding makeup for both myself and my bridesmaids! Cheriene was so much fun and yet very much a professional and made myself and my wedding party feel completely relaxed and at ease. I had never had professional makeup done before and wanted to make sure I still looked like "myself." Cheriene was great at asking me questions and listening to me and I so appreciated her time and effort. I would highly recommend her!
  • A
    April Married on 10/27/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cheriene did my and my wedding parties makeup 10 years ago this momth. Cheriene took the time, listened to each lady, and made sure they had a look which let them shine. She has an immaculate eye for color and choosing the techniques to flatter each individual face shape and tone. I would not hesitate to hire her again!

    Cheriene Galley Makeup Artist's reply:

    Whoa! A decade! Happy anniversary month to you and the family. So happy we could stay connected all these years. Thank you for the review!