Skip to main content
Weddings

Chef's Catering Reviews

Chef's Catering View more information

20 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 91% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 20

1 User photo

  • Kathryn
    Kathryn D. Married on 10/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious!!!

    Something everyone remembers about a wedding is the food and Chef’s Catering delivered for my October 2021 wedding! Jillian was wonderful throughout the process, doing a phone conference and being very responsive to email questions. We did a tasting on site at Chef’s in Rochester about 8 months before the wedding I was impressed not only on the taste of the food but also presentation! My extended family is from Rochester and I was told they were so excited when they arrived at our wedding to see Chef’s truck because they knew it was going to be good! We had various passed appetizers and a buffet style dinner. Everything was delicious, hot, served in a timely manner, and the staff was so friendly to all our guests. I highly recommend Chef’s as your caterer for any event but especially your wedding!
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca I. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely amazing 🤩

    The food and service was incredible and all of our guest have agreed the experience was amazing. From apps to dinner, cookies, cake and cupcakes, everything made you drool a little lol They we’re extremely helpful and very responsive. Couldn't imagine a better caterer!
  • Tristin
    Tristin Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food and pricing!

    Jillian was incredible to work with from start to finish. She customized and worked with us to create the perfect menu. The food was delicious and we had so many people come up and tell us how great it was. Thank you!!
  • Katy
    Katy Married on 07/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chef's was great from day one! The food was excellent and our guests raved about it! Jillian and Mike were wonderful to work with and will certainly call them for future needs!
  • J
    Justine Married on 04/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I are SO incredibly happy we chose Chef's as our wedding caterer! From the moment we emailed Jillian & Mike, we felt taken care of. Throughout the process, they were extremely responsive, answered all of our questions, were very thorough, and just amazing professionals. Jillian went above and beyond and did a site visit with me to our venue about 3 weeks before the wedding to go over the set up, speak with the venue owner, and make sure that the day would go seamlessly. You can tell they do these events ALL THE TIME and are experts at it. We chose buffet style for dinner and the food was fantastic. Oh my goodness - the mac and cheese station - to die for! Our guests were raving about the food!! They were also super accommodating to dietary restrictions, as we had a few guests who were gluten free and vegetarian. Not to mention, they fed our 180 guests probably within about 20 minutes or less (with 2 buffet lines - genius). Chef's seriously is the best and we don't know how we would have done it without them! We HIGHLY recommend them, not only for their delicious food, but for the incredible service delivered leading up to and on the day of our wedding! Thank you Chef's!!!
  • K
    Katherine Married on 12/31/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    So excited for Chef's Catering to cater my wedding NYE! Working with Cathryn to plan our menu has been a pleasure!
  • E
    Emily Married on 10/01/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chef's catered my wedding in October 2016, we had a sit down family style dinner. It was truly one of the highlights of the day. Having never been to a wedding in which they chose family style dinner, I wasn't sure exactly what to expect. To say that the exceeded every expectation still feels like an understatement. The service was wonderful, the staff were friendly and attentive to our guests, and people still tell me how good the food was months later. They were a joy to work with and I will absolutely be using them in the future!
  • S
    Shaina Married on 07/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chefs catered my baby shower and it was one word: AMAZING. I opted for the full-service coordination and had them do everything from decorations to an amazing sweets table at the end- even had six types of cupcakes! Everyone is still raving about the food! I would highly recommend to anyone. Incredible. They really made my special day perfect.
  • C
    Carlen Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I used Chef’s Catering for our wedding in October of 2015. Back when we were planning our wedding, we decided it was important to us to have food at our wedding that we could eat as we follow a Paleo diet. Mike worked with me to develop a delicious meal and invited us to his kitchen in Rochester to sample some of the items. It was wonderful to meet with a chef who understood our diet and came up with some creative dishes to surpass our expectations.
    A month before the wedding the event coordinator, Nik, began emailing us daily with very specific questions and follow-up. From the menu right down to salt and pepper shakers, Nik’s communication with us was OUTSTANDING, courteous, and no doubt put any of my bride fears aside. It was such a relief to find that it was a week before the wedding and we had covered all our bases with the caterers and they showed up at the right place and on time.
    The food that Mike and his crew prepared was beyond our expectations and something that everyone raved to us about even weeks after our wedding. The pulled pork, chicken breasts, and wild caught salmon were so perfect on their own but Mike took it one step further by preparing accompaniments that brought out their flavors even more. I noticed that they had been thoughtful enough to provide non-paleo items such as croutons and a cheese blend for our guests who wanted to eat a little more traditionally. That was something that was never discussed and something I had not even thought of but it just showed how much Chef’s pulled through to cover every detail about our special day.
  • User2023485 Event on: 01/18/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chef's Catering has catered multiple parties for my family, including birthday parties, holiday parties and a bridal shower. The food is by far, the best, absolutely phenomenal. My family will continue to use Chef's Catering for future events, and recommend them to anyone in need of catering services!
  • J
    Jim Event on: 01/11/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chef's is a top notch catering company. The food is amazing and really made our event great. The customer service is second to non! Mike and his team do an awesome job.
  • User2003208 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike was an amazing caterer. He helped customize a menu to fit my wedding plans. He is probably the nicest guy you will ever meet! My wedding planner Tia was exceptional and really created my vision. I will recommend to everyone!!!
  • D
    Denise Married on 08/13/2016
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I placed a big bet on Chef's Catering and it paid off. They were our cater for our rehearsal dinner and our wedding, bar service, week of coordination services and provided our cake. Their service and quality was outstanding! Everyone at our wedding raved about the food, my husband and I are foodies and we wanted to be sure we had amazing tasting food at our wedding, and Chefs did not disappoint. One of our biggest fears was cookie cutter banquet food, and we got far from that. They worked with us to develop an outstanding menu for both our rehearsal dinner and our reception.

    I must include a special call out to Cathryn, who was our week of coordinator from Chefs. She was outstanding, she made my experience as a bride perfect. She went above and beyond to be sure everything was exactly how I wanted. We had an unfortunate situation with our rental company, and she stayed until midnight the evening prior to the wedding to be sure everything was taken care of. We also had crazy hot and rainy weather... but no fear, Cathryn worked with us on a game plan and everything was put into place very quick. Her and the rest of Chefs staff did whatever they had to do to ensure everything went smooth. There were many things last weekend that could have been a bit rough to deal with, but I did not have to worry about one thing!!

    I would highly recommend them for any event their service and quality is unparalleled! Their staff was professional and courteous and even my guests took the time to comment to me on how great everyone was.
  • User2023805 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Chef's Catering has catered multiple parties for my family, including birthday parties, holiday parties and a bridal shower. The food is by far, the best, absolutely phenomenal. My family will continue to use Chef's Catering for future events, and recommend them to anyone in need of catering services!
  • User2002103 Event on: 10/13/2013
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Had Chef's Catering cater a baby shower and another family party for my family and not only could I not be more impressed, my family sure was thankful I made the recommendation. Beyond amazing food, beyond amazing service, everything was just amazing. I've since recommended them to everyone and their mother because I know their food will change the way they look at catering!
  • Benjamin
    Benjamin B. Married on 10/09/2021
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Delicious Wedding Day!

    My husband and I had the pleasure of working with Chef's to cater our wedding and were very, very happy with our experience! From the start Jillian made the entire process very simple and enjoyable. Her response time was always super quick (which is big deal when planning a wedding) and she and her team were incredibly accommodating to all of our needs whether it be around dietary restrictions or helping us create an awesome Pretzel Bar as a late night snack for our guests! Navigating a family style dinner can be a little tricky, but our wedding guests were very pleased with how everything was presented and Chef's made everything work with ease. Our food choices were delicious, both at our tasting and the day of! The only complaint we have was that our pork loin was a little tough the day of - whether this was just our serving or everyone's we're not sure, but overall we loved the food, as did our guests. The staff we worked with on our wedding day were all very friendly and went out of their way to congratulate us and wish us well. There did seem to be some miscommunication around our dessert table as it was set up earlier than asked and our cake wasn't cut, resulting in an empty dessert table for periods of the evening. This doesn't change our strong recommendation for Chef's Catering, but we find it worth noting. Thank you Chef's and Jillian for making our special day delicious!
  • K
    Kathy Event on: 01/10/2015
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chef's Catering designed a menu to our specifications. Food is delicious - guests raved about it. Staff was very attentive and professional. We will use them again.
  • S
    Seana Married on 09/17/2016
    Rating 3.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    The team at Chef's Catering definitely has experience doing weddings, and they were willing to work with us on going a little out of their comfort zone to give us the experience we wanted. Cathryn was great at making sure everything was executed as planned, and they even took care of coordinating all of our rentals for us. Everyone at our wedding said the food was great, hot and cooked to perfection. We hit a couple bumps with getting our invoice and making sure everything was paid for, but it all worked out in the end.
  • S
    Shelby Married on 06/18/2016
    Rating 3.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    First off- the most important thing when it comes to a caterer, the food! Food was top notch, A+ for the pulled pork, loaded potato salad, and my cousin said the mac n cheese was the best she's ever had! No complaints there! I do think the cocktail hour food sat out a bit too long, as it was close to 90 degrees our wedding day, but I can get over that. I must say that I was disappointed in some of the service: everything was set up perfectly and I believe people's plates were cleared in a timely manner, but when you're paying 25 bucks an hour for bartenders, you expect them to know that wine does NOT get poured into 12 oz cups meant for beer (and get filled to the top)!! UGH. I think they learned early on in the night that we had different cups for wine. I was pleased that they reached out to my husband and I when we were getting low on wine, they actually drove my mother in law to a local liquor store to pick up more, which is highly appreciated and thoughtful. We also had beverage tubs for water/soda that we're supposed to get refilled throughout the night- I don't think they were refilled once. At the end of the night my father ended up taking care of the garbage, was NOT supposed to be his job! Overall my experience was fine enough, and I will continue to eat at the food truck, but definitely room for improvement with areas of service. I believe they also got a new coordinator partway through our planning experience, which I'm sure did not help, but I hope they work the kinks out!
  • N
    Nancy Married on 08/02/2013
    Rating 0.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    Horrible rude obnoxious staff