Charlotte Marriott City Center Reviews

24 | Charlotte, NC
See photos, pricing and details

24 Reviews for Charlotte Marriott City Center

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

24
Order by:
  • Karen

    Karen Patrice · Married on 11/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best venue for a perfect wedding

    The Marriott made our wedding more than we could ever imagine!!!! I could not have imagined it any better than it turned out!!

    Sent on 11/14/2019
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Charlotte Marriott City Center is the perfect venue! The renovation done a year+ ago is top notch. Every single guest so was impressed with the hotel and the amazing service.

    Food was top notch! And Lisa, our coordinator, made everything perfect. She was incredibly responsive throughout the whole process. Without a doubt, booking this hotel was one of our best decisions.

    Sent on 02/14/2018
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire Marriott team (Eva, Alanna, Caitlin) were phenomenal to work with in planning our wedding. They were responsive, extraordinarily helpful and made our day special and went off without a hitch. My husband and I would use them again for any future event that we host.

    Sent on 10/22/2017
  • L

    Lorelle · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I reserved a block of rooms for about 50 people for my wedding and everything was so easy. MaryBeth Chandler is amazing to work with and makes everything stress free!

    Sent on 06/06/2017
  • J

    Jules · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    City Center Marriott did a great job from beginning to end! The hotel was our "home base" for our daughter's wedding in April 2017. We hosted a Welcome Reception Friday evening, and a brunch Sunday morning in addition to a block of rooms. All our guests felt comfortable in their rooms, and it is such a convenient location! The food was great, and the staff made everything look beautiful! Special shout-out to our event planner Caitlin who did an amazing job every step of the way, graciously responding to all our emails and requests. We even had our Bachlorette weekend there a few months earlier, and she made that special, too!!

    On our Friday arrival, it was a particularly busy afternoon, and the Valet station was non-stop for several hours. Although some of the guests were getting testy and impatient, staff never lost their cool, worked quickly to alleviate back-ups (can't control when people arrive!) and kept smiling. I was very impressed! Would highly recommend this venue.

    Sent on 06/06/2017
  • E

    Erin · Married on 03/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked a block of rooms with this Marriott for our guests and they never had any issues and got a very good rate, especially since it was the weekend of the St. Patrick's parade. The hotel is very nice and clean. The best part was that we were upgraded to the presidential sweet and were greeted with a bottle of champagne and strawberries. There was also a card congratulating us. I've never had anything like that happen to me before and it finished the perfect day off with the perfect evening. We were very happy with the hotel

    Sent on 03/29/2016
  • B

    Brenda · Married on 11/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary Beth Chandler at the Marriott City Center made our wedding event wonderful and less stressful! The wedding suite was beautiful. The dining room, separate living room, master bathroom and 1 1/2 bath accommodated our 7 bridesmaids getting dressed, hair and makeup artist, 2 photographers, 3 videographers and a large crowd eatting lunch. All the rooms had been remodeled and are gorgeous. Mary Beth went beyond to assist me in getting materials for the guest room bags. Our guests loved the location and that the City Club Reception was directly across the street, and the church was an easy 5 block walk. We give the hotel a 5 star for all staff members were extremely accommodating, friendly and eager to help us in any way.

    Sent on 12/27/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used the hotel for guest accommodations and for our room the night of the wedding. Mary Beth Chandler was very responsive from the beginning and always available for any questions. We had a fantastic stay the night of our wedding and so did our guests. We really appreciated all the small touches from the champagne in our room to the chocolate covered strawberries! We highly recommend the Marriott City Center!

    Sent on 12/12/2015
  • A

    Anne-Marie · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Once my daughter became engaged I began my quest for the perfect reception venue. I knew from the first time I walked into the Marriott and met with the catering manager, that we had found exactly what we wanted. The proposal gave us a very clear picture of what the night could be, and we were so excited to move forward with the Marriott.
    The private menu tasting was fabulous, and we were delighted to see that the food served at the reception lived up to its promise. We have received several compliments from our guests that the food was phenomenal.
    Marybeth was the ideal event coordinator, provided to us by the Marriott. She was always prepared and gave us great guidance as the date approached. We appreciated the kind words of encouragement, even when we thought of yet another “element “that we wanted to add to the reception. She kept us on a great schedule reminding us when to decide on linen and chair rentals, ordering the wedding cake, mapping out the ballroom and seating arrangements etc..
    We had exemplary service from the staff at the Charlotte Marriott City Center. Everyone from the Valet service, front desk and catering managers (Mary & Sterling were outstanding!) was extremely accommodating. Given that I had undertaken the creation of the flower centerpieces (60 vases in all) I would never have pulled it off, if not for their professional staff. The event manager and catering managers were very attentive throughout this process, I felt that they were 110% supportive of everything we wanted to accomplish.
    Even the outside vendors came to us to express how great the Marriott staff was. We felt that the entire team was fully invested in attaining our vision for the evening.
    I would, without hesitation, recommend the Charlotte Marriott City center. Although I’m relieved that the wedding weekend is behind us, I will greatly miss working with the event staff.

    Sent on 11/20/2014
  • R

    Ryan · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn't have picked a better location and venue for our wedding reception. The professionalism and courtesy the Marriott showed was amazing! We were waited on hand and foot and our day went 100% flawlessly. Katrina Forgo was the most amazing coordinator ---- I can't say enough good things about her. She was basically like having our own personal coordinator, so hiring a day of coordinator would have been a complete waste of money, as she handled everything with ease and 5 start service. The food at the Marriott was also amazing and our guests raved about it.

    Sent on 11/06/2014
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with the Marriott was everything my husband and I could have asked for. Our wedding planner/director was phenomenal and she helped us nail down all of the details we needed to make our day so special. She helped me finalize contacts with outside vendors and made sure she was in contact and available the day of the wedding for all areas of the wedding. The Marriott provided us with the best rooms for myself and my husband the entire weekend as well as for our family and friends who where there to help us celebrate. We are so happy with how our wedding played out and we would relive it all again with the Marriott If we could:)

    Sent on 06/24/2014
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 09/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Charlotte Marriott City Center was absolutely perfect for our wedding. From the very beginning, our wedding coordinator, Katrina Forgo, and the rest of the Marriott staff was absolutely incredible. They were eager to hear our ideas and turn them into a masterpiece. We are still hearing from our friends about how wonderful the Marriott was during our wedding festivities. Our guests continue to rave about how friendly and accommodating the Marriott City Center was. Our reception was absolutely beautiful and the food was superb! We highly recommend the Charlotte Marriott City Center for a wedding!

    Sent on 12/07/2013
  • L

    Linda · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted our daughter's wedding reception at the Marriott City Center in Charlotte on Saturday August 31, 2013. From the very first meeting when we were deciding where to host the wedding to the final dealings of the actual day everything was perfect. Our wedding coordinator was Mary Beth Chandler and by the time we were finished I felt like I had a friend for life. Mary Beth's professionalism, excitement and enthusiasm was clearly reflected in every detail of Brett's wedding planning. She pointed out details to us that we hadn't even thought about but added greatly to the total effect of the day. Her calm "everything will be fine" demeanor was very reassuring and she was always very accessible by phone or email to both Brett and myself- Very important as I was planning from MA. and Brett from Charlotte.
    The Venue- The actual Ballroom was very pretty and the food was good. Loved the extra slider station at the end of the night- Would highly recommend that! We had an extra large dance floor as Brett and Russell hired an awesome band- Sol Fusion-(also highly recommended!) and everyone was on the dance floor all night long! The actual space was very comfortable. During the reception Mary Beth was there to make sure I ate, had a cocktail, checked in with Ed and I (very important details for parents of the bride-) along with checking in with the bride and groom- made sure the band was looked after and made sure all gifts were brought to our rooms during the night- I am sure there were many more details that she took care of without me evening knowing she did! The front desk staff and bellmen could not have been more helpful and accommodating as well as the house keeping staff. Every need of our guests was more than taken care of.
    Overall a wonderful wedding weekend! If I could award more "STARS" I would happily for Mary Beth and all the other support people we had at the Marriott City Center.








    Sent on 11/20/2013
  • B

    Brett · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our reception at the Marriott City Center in August, and I cannot say enough about how wonderful they are! Our initial meeting with the staff was amazing, we looked at a few other places that day (not hotel sites) and the Marriott made my mom & I feel the most comfortable and cared for. Once we signed the contract (almost immediately after our meeting) we were soon "assigned" to Mary Beth and she was amazing!! I've never planned a big event before and she helped me every step of the way. I never felt like I was behind, or forgetting something because she kept me on track and walked me thru it. As an example: we were unable to attend the spring tasting and Mary Beth and the banquet staff arranged a private tasting, which I cannot imagine was any less than the grand tasting, for my husband and I at a time that worked for us, they were so accomodating. Which isn't always the case in the wedding industry! The food was delicious and we had plenty of options. The wedding day/night was wonderful anything I asked for or could have asked for was taken care of, Mary Beth remained calmed and assured us the whole time which was just amazing. I seriously did not worry about a thing. The space itself is also beautiful and needed little decorations - which was great for us because most of our guests were out of town and it wouldn't be likely anyone could take them home. If I could have my wedding day all over again (I wish!!) there is no hesitation that I would have it with Mary Beth at the Marriott! the best!!

    Sent on 11/20/2013
  • B

    Barbara · Married on 08/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say about MaryBeth and her awesome team of event planners.! They are outstanding. Christal and Samuel Hale II had a perfect wedding experience. The attention to detail was great. MaryBeth made sure that they had everything they needed. The facility is second to none!!!

    Sent on 09/04/2013
  • M

    Mary · Married on 10/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have only glowing reviews for the Marriott and Danijela our planner. My first visit to the Marriott I met w/ I believe the sales consultant and her assistant. They were so friendly and answered all my questions honestly and quickly. It wasn't long before I signed the contract. After that I started to work w/ Danijela specifically regarding all the wedding details. Danijela was absolutely fantastic!! Worth her weight in gold. She helped w/ everything from booking groomsmens rooms, to providing pictures of this lighting color, or that lighting color. There wasn't a request or question she laughed at or didn't have an answer for. Also- as an out of town bride I never had issues reaching Danijela. She was so prompt to answer emails or her phone, or her assistant responded on her behalf. There was never any disconnect due to the geographical distance. About a week before the wedding Daniejla spent a good hour on the phone w/ me going over every last thing from special menu requirements for guests and what type of food and beverage would we prefer in the bridal party cocktail hour suite. The day of the wedding flowed just as smoothly as the planning did. Working w/ the Marriott and Danijela made it absolutely unecessary to spend money on any other wedding planner. The day of the wedding Danijela even sewed buttons on the groomsmens jackets and got me bustled into my dress w/ the help of a friendly server. There literally wasn't anything they couldn't take care of. Beyond her help the rest of the staff and hotel was great. They handed out our gift bags, had our room blocks on the concierge floors, the food was wonderful, they delivered every gift and card to our room, and more. I was so bowled over by the service and their friendliness. I honestly can't say enough nice things and will forever be loyal to the Marriott brand.

    Sent on 11/19/2013
  • B

    Betsy · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I visited several hotels in Uptown Charlotte, and ultimately decided on the Marriott. After my initial meeting, they gave me a nice little gift with cute Mr. & Mrs. luggage name tags, candy, etc. in it. Not that something like that made my decision, but it definitely made them stand out. Throughout the process I felt like communication was very good. I felt like I could contact my coordinator anytime and meet anytime as well. She did a fantastic job making sure everything went as planned and even helped with individual requests throughout the wedding planning and weekend. It was definitely a bit pricey, we had a 25k minimum for the entire Grand Ballroom, but the pricing was comparable with all the uptown hotels that could accomodate a 300 person capacity. We ended up being slightly under the minimum and they didn't charge us the difference which was also excellent service.

    Sent on 06/09/2012
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVED EVERY PART OF THIS VENUE! We had a wonderful time and would definitely highly recommend the Marriott to anyone that is looking for a classy, uptown hotel. Carolyn Malik was FABULOUS and didn't leave any stone unturned! It was a wonderful day! :)

    Sent on 05/22/2012
  • User3772931 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danijela was wonderful and was able to accommodate every need, even going above and beyond to help with our budget. Would definitely encourage anyone thinking about locating their wedding in beautiful downtown Charlotte to consider this prime location for the service and amenities and value!

    Sent on 01/02/2014
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 12/31/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a New Years Eve wedding in Charlotte. I looked at almost every hotel in uptown but no one compared to the Marriott. From the very first meeting they were very attentive and professional. Danijela was our event coordinator and I could not have been happier. My favorite part was if I contacted her and needed something she got back to me right away. I was never waiting for her to get back to me. She was so helpful it made wedding planning so much easier. I have had a lot of friends get married and I've never heard anyone else talk about their wedding planner as fondly as I talked about Danijela. She gave me excellent recommendations and I absolutely loved everything about my wedding. It was exactly as I envisioned, but with none of the stress. My wedding day was so perfect and she handled everything. She even bought a dress to match my wedding theme, now if that isn't great service, I don't know what is. I would absolutely recommend hosting your wedding at the Marriott City Center. To this day people comment on how wonderful our wedding was and how amazing the food was.

    Sent on 11/21/2013
  • User6080286 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are using Marriott City Center Charlotte to host our out of town guests. Since our wedding is in December this year, we are excited to see the outcome of the renovations for the hotel. We know our guests will enjoy having such great prices on brand new rooms that are in the heart of Charlotte on New Years Weekend. We got an amazing deal. The people are responsive and definitely take care of what you need

    Sent on 02/01/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/09/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Marriott team was amazing every step of the way- could not have imagined my wedding anywhere else!

    Sent on 09/24/2017
  • T

    Tina · Married on 09/24/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so glad that we decided to host our reception at the Marriott City Center. Completely remodeled this year (2016) - it was the perfect backdrop for a classic, romantic, beautiful wedding! Our guests raved on how beautiful the accommodations and the reception space was - and are still talking about how delicious the food was! Lisa Shehan was GREAT to work with! She is a true professional....organized, detailed, and very easy to get along with. I would recommend this property to any Bride looking for an upscale look with great to work with staff. EVERYONE on staff made us and our guests feel like the most important people in the world! Our wedding took place with protests going on outside on neighboring streets - and the staff handled it like seasoned professionals. This experience was amazing! Kudos to the Charlotte Marriott City Center team! We cannot thank you enough!!

    - Tina & Kyle

    Sent on 10/06/2016
  • K

    Karla · Married on 09/29/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katrina was wonderful! Her and the Marriott team did a great job putting our dream wedding together! I couldn't imagine the wedding having been anywhere else

    Sent on 10/20/2013