Celebrate At Snug Harbor Reviews

40 | Staten Island, NY
See photos, pricing and details

40 Reviews for Celebrate At Snug Harbor

Recommended by 92%

40
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.5
40 Celebrate At Snug Harbor Reviews
Sort by:
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 08/25/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My aunt recently hosted my Bridal Shower at Snug harbor in the Great Hall and I could have not been more happy. It was a dream come true! The venue upstairs is amazing with high ceilings and so much lighting! It was perfect for the garden theme of my shower! The staff was so accommodating to all our ideas and special requests. They truly made you feel like family, always looking to give ideas on how to make the event even better. The food was great and prepared perfectly, so many options for brunch it made picking menu difficult because so many great choices ! But everything at my shower worked out great! It was absolutely stunning and would defiantly look to have another event at snug harbor in the future

    Celebrate At Snug Harbor 5
    Celebrate At Snug Harbor 6
    Celebrate At Snug Harbor 7
    Celebrate At Snug Harbor 8
    Celebrate At Snug Harbor 9
    Celebrate At Snug Harbor 10
    Celebrate At Snug Harbor 11
  • H

    Hailey · Married on 07/06/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can’t say enough good things about our experience hosting our wedding day at Celebrate Snug Harbor. We were married in July 2018 in the Chinese Scholar Garden with a reception under the beautiful tented pavilion. The Chinese Scholar garden is a magical place for a ceremony and cocktail hour. We were immediately attracted to the rustic elements of the tent mixed with the draped ceiling. The team at Celebrate were easy to work with and quick to respond to all of our questions and multiple changes. The food was delicious and not your typical catering selections. My family is still raving about the meal! We enjoyed the entire process of planning our big day with the team at Snug. John and Marissa were a pleasure to work with and like family by the time the day arrived.

  • K

    Kevin · Married on 05/19/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I held our wedding at Snug Harbor this past May (5/19/18) and we cannot say enough wonderful things about that day - it was truly the wedding of our dreams!

    Full transparency - when we signed our original contract with Snug Harbor, it was a part of the Landmark Venues group. In the months leading up to our wedding, Relish Caterers took over the venue full time, so we were introduced to Ian, Theresa, Marissa and the rest of the team at Relish to execute our wedding day. While there were a few small bumps in the road as that team got settled in (as you would naturally expect), the Relish team was quick to get to know my husband and I to ensure that our big day was exactly as we envisioned it. And they did not disappoint.

    The Relish team is exemplary - they're warm, friendly, and attentive to even the smallest details. They truly came to feel like family in the weeks leading up to our wedding.

    Venue - stunning! Beautifully landscaped with amazing architecture all around.

    Ceremony - we were lucky enough to be able to get married in the Music Hall at Snug Harbor, which a couple of theater buffs was a dream come true. It was amazing.

    Reception - we held our reception in the Great Hall, which was hands down the coolest reception space we saw (and we looked at 10 venues before we settled on Snug Harbor). The 40 foot ceilings are just breathtaking.

    Food - unbelievably delicious. Literally everything tasted SO GOOD.

    Overall - truly 5 stars. Ian and his team are the best, and they really nailed our vision. It was a day to remember.

    Celebrate At Snug Harbor 12
    Celebrate At Snug Harbor 13
    Celebrate At Snug Harbor 14
    Celebrate At Snug Harbor 15
    Celebrate At Snug Harbor 16
    Celebrate At Snug Harbor 17
  • A

    Ann marie · Married on 10/20/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely perfect! Beautiful, professional and elegant

  • D

    D · Married on 09/04/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the best wedding experience at Snug Harbor in early September. When we visited, we were blown away by how beautiful and affordable the venue was. There were many different great options for ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception spaces and they were flexible about letting us choose which we preferred. Terra was very responsive and we worked with her closely leading up to the wedding. We were the only wedding at Snug Harbor for our date, so we were able to do the ceremony in the Tuscan Garden, the cocktail hour at the Chinese Scholar’s Garden, and after a last-minute hurricane warning, we switched the reception from the Tented Pavilion to the Great Hall. Each space was perfect and got rave reviews from our guests (particularly the Chinese Scholar’s Garden). The staff was efficient and friendly throughout and Jessica took incredible care of the bride. The food was excellent and the whole evening ran smoothly. We had the best day of our lives and we would highly recommend Snug Harbor to anyone.

  • Y

    Yev · Married on 07/23/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Snug harbor was the perfect venue for our wedding. The historic architecture and the natural beauty of the botanical gardens were a lovely and unique setting for our big day. We had our ceremony and cocktail hour in the Chinese Scholar's Garden, and reception in the Great Hall. Terra helped us plan, gave us her professional advice, and was super responsive throughout the process. She was flexible at accommodating our requests which gave our wedding a personal touch. The bridal attendant and maitre d' were also very helpful during the big day. It was simple to build a tasty menu with the variety of food options–plus the wedding cake was included. The location is easily accessible and locals could use a taxi if they prefer.

  • K

    Kawomi · Married on 05/28/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding at the great hall at Snug Harbor. Terra was our planner and she was amazing and so accommodating. We hit a few bumps while planning our wedding and things needed to be changed. However, Terra and Snug Harbor team was very understanding and worked with us throughout the whole process. It's a beautiful place to get married, food is excellent and the STAFF is excellent. They truly made our day so very special. Many thanks to Terra and the staff!

  • M

    Maggy · Married on 05/26/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Snug harbor in May and we had SUCH a great experience with everyone here. Our ceremony was in the Tuscan garden, cocktail hour in the Chinese Scholars garden, and reception in the tent. Our planner was Terra and she is so incredibly nice. We came to visit the venue so many times and she was so accommodating. She answered every question we had and even upgraded our ceremony location to the Tuscan garden after finding out we're the only wedding that day. Snug harbor is gorgeous and it's truly a hidden gem. Our guests kept asking us how we found this place because of how beautiful it is. Plus it's so affordable compared to other beautiful venues in NYC. Not to mention the amount of food choices for the price. My bridal attendant (I believe her name is Trisha) was so amazing, always making sure things were going well, making sure we had snacks and drinks in the bridal suite, just doing things out of her way because she felt like it would be convenient for us, including packing up our food when we were too excited to have an appetite. There's so many photo opportunities as it's a large park that is full of unique spaces. The tasting was so much fun too. You won't regret getting married here and your guests will love it.

  • J

    jennifer · Married on 06/17/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My now husband and I cannot say enough great things about our experience with Snug Harbor. We had the ceremony in the Tuscan Garden and the reception in the Tented Pavilion. All our guests were raving about the stunning venue. They could not believe we were on Staten Island.
    Terra and her team were extremely professional. We are so grateful to her and her entire team. They made the day stress free! Terra coordinated seamlessly with all of our vendors. We never had to hear a peep!
    As usual, as the bride I didn't really eat much- but what I did get was delicious! Our guests raved about the food. We have an extended cocktail reception. The guests loved all the station options- especially the Asian stir fry!
    So if you are looking for a beautiful venue, with an experienced staff and great food options look no further than Snug Harbor!

  • User5493269 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have nothing bad to say about Celebrate. Terra has been so kind and responsive. A tremendous value for NYC and such a beautiful space. We feel like we found a hidden gem.

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 12/12/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding at Celebrate at Snug Harbor this past Saturday, 12/12. Our ceremony and reception were in the Upper Great Hall and the cocktail hour was in the Lower Great Hall.
    While we were looking at possible wedding venues, I already knew that I loved the photos of the Upper Great Hall. When we saw the space in person, we fell in love with it. The architecture is breathtaking. And though our wedding was in December, the beautiful grounds of Snug Harbor added to its appeal. It feels like you are not really in Staten Island, that it's kind of its own little world. As Staten Island residents, we love that we have memories at Snug Harbor and can keep visiting for years to come.
    Celebrate at Snug Harbor was towards the higher end of our budget and we did not want a large wedding, but the winter prices and minimum guarantees are slightly lower than peak season, so we were able to make it work. In the end, it was well worth what we spent.
    Terra Hudson was our contact, and she was very helpful. She was very responsive to my many questions throughout the planning process. Terra also has a calming presence that helps with any nerves about logistics.
    When the day of the wedding came, it could not have gone better. In addition to the fact that we were somehow blessed with a clear 60+ degree day in mid-December, all of our wedding plans came together beautifully. The Great Hall was the perfect setting for our ceremony, and was turned around quickly to become our gorgeous reception venue.
    The staff, especially our bridal attendant, Jessica and maitre d' David were so helpful in making sure that we and our guests had everything we needed. The food was very good- our guests agreed that it was much better than typical wedding fare. The only glitch we had was we were missing an additional liquor we had requested, but Jessica quickly had it fixed.
    We had a fantastic wedding day, and we are so grateful that we went with Celebrate at Snug Harbor!

  • R

    Ravi · Married on 09/19/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an Indian-Chinese wedding in September 2015 at Snug Harbor. We had our ceremony in the Tuscan Garden, our cocktail hour in the Chinese Scholar Garden and our reception in the tented pavilion. It was the best day of our lives and Celebrate at Snug Harbor definitely contributed to the perfection of the day. We were initially hesitant to use Snug Harbor because of mixed reviews, however we LOVED the look and feel of the venue...when we met with Terra Hudson (our contact there) she quickly was able to address all our concerns and as it turns out had been brought in to deal with some of the issues that had previously been brought up in past reviews. From our first meeting with Terra to our wedding day, she was professional, punctual and kept us up to date with everything. Our wedding day turned out to be the same day as the Autumn Moon Festival and anticipating the crowds, Terra was quick to offer that we move our ceremony to the Tuscan Garden from the White Garden at no cost. This was amazing, since the Tuscan garden was suited perfectly for our ceremony with the existing stage. In addition, she worked with our Indian caterers to ensure that they would be able to use the Snug Harbor kitchen facilities given the autumn moon festival would cause road closures impacting their ability to drive in the food. On the wedding day, the staff was on top of everything, ensuring that things kept to the schedule and that we always had a drink in hand and food if we wanted it. We would recommend this venue to anyone, it was perfect, especially for our event which was blending two cultures together.

  • User4593532 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Snug Harbor was such a dream of a place. The Tuscan Garden is absolutely beautiful - we had our cocktail hour there and our guests couldn't stop talking about how stunning it was. It gives you the perfect 'garden wedding' feel, which is what we wanted. The food was spectacular! Such amazing quality, using fresh ingredients grown right on their own farm. The Great Hall's high ceilings, brick floor, and large, sunny windows provide such a charming atmosphere. It's an incredibly unique place for a wedding reception.

    Patricia was amazing to work with - she really listens to what you want and delivers. She was also super accommodating as we planned and budgeted, and helped us tweak the menu/service options to bring down our cost a significant amount. For the beauty, the service, and the food, we were incredibly surprised by the cost when compared to other venues in the NJ/NYC area. Snug Harbor is a truly unique place and value.

  • M

    Mickey · Married on 09/21/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Patricia was a breeze, from the first time we met her through the night... she worked tirelessly throughout the process.

    We didn't know Snu Harbox existed in Staten Island... forget about destination weddings!.

  • A

    Angelika · Married on 09/21/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was held in Snug Harbor 9/21/14. My ceremony took place in the Tuscan Garden with my cocktail hour to follow in the garden. The garden is beautiful and the ceremony was perfect. I do regret having cocktail hour in the garden seeing as how it was pretty warm out and there were nats attacking my guests. Also, my ceremony took place at sundown so during cocktail hour it was pretty dark and there was a lack of lights and candles provided. My guests were left sitting in the grass in the dark for most of the hour and then had to walk through the dark park to the reception area in the Great Hall ( note to all brides!). However, the team at Snug harbor were pretty awesome.and made our experience amazing. All the negatives were easily forgotten with the hard work and empathy that Sam and Patricia provided for myself, my bridal party, family and guests. Overall my husband i couldnt have been happier with our experience at Snug harbor.

  • User4457449 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy to have held both our ceremony and our reception at Snug Harbor! Patricia and Diane, from Celebrate at Snug Harbor, were extremely responsive, accommodating, and supportive. Our guests raved about our event.

    We held our ceremony in the Tuscan Garden. It was raining on and off all day, and the staff allowed us to hold off on our decision as to whether we should move the ceremony indoors until the last possible moment. We took a chance and got very lucky. With such a limited amount of time to prepare, the facilities team was able to setup all the chairs, the maitre d' was able to coordinate all of our guests, and the bridal attendant was able to keep our minds at ease.

    Our cocktail hour and reception were held at Celebrate at Snug Harbor. The two halls are gorgeous (especially those high ceilings and large windows in the Upper Great Hall!). Everything looked fantastic. The tables were set beautifully, all staff members were extremely professional, and guests both young and old had a great time.

    For future brides/grooms that are going through the planning process (especially the worrywarts like us), I would really like to emphasize that our experience with Celebrate at Snug Harbor was fantastic because of how open and honest they were throughout the entire process. You'll see some good reviews and you'll see some bad reviews. What's great is that you don't have to worry about things getting swept under the rug. They are constantly reviewing the feedback they receive and really improving things based on it. We signed with them about a year and a half before our date, and through that time, we saw how much potential the venue has and how far they have come to achieve it.

  • C

    Christy · Married on 08/15/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Celebrate at Snug Harbor is honestly a hidden gem in New York!

    Located in Staten Island, Celebrate at Snug Harbor boasts beautiful, picturesque botanical gardens among the hustle and bustle of the city. I had the task of planning my wedding in 3 months, and I was so fortunate to find Celebrate. They were responsive and friendly, and quickly set me up with an appointment to visit the venue. I had the pleasure of meeting Jeanne, the president of Landmark Hospitality (the company that runs Celebrate at Snug Harbor), and she was amazing. She took me under her wing, and worked with me to ensure that my wedding would be perfect. Jeanne knew the time crunch I was under, and was so thoughtful in pricing and planning.

    My event specialist was Terra, and she was wonderful. Terra was professional, warm, and made sure she answered any questions I had. She was patient and checked in frequently to gather important details she needed for the day of the wedding. The staff was Celebrate was also really great! Our bridal attendant paid attention our needs, and made sure that my husband and I had time to hydrate and eat during our wedding day.

    Our wedding was held inside the Great Hall, and it was absolutely perfect! The high ceilings, tall windows and neutral colors were picture perfect, and I loved the natural lighting that filled the entire room.

    Overall, Celebrate at Snug Harbor was the perfect wedding venue, and I would recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Cristina

    Cristina · Married on 06/29/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have nothing but praise for Celebrate at Snug Harbor. They made our wedding a dream come true. The Ceremony was in the Tuscan Garden, and it was absolutely beautiful with the roses in bloom. The reception was in the Great Hall, which was also breathtaking. We booked the place with Jeanmarie. She was extremely helpful, but she left the company 6 months before the wedding. Anastasia followed up with us, and Diane became our primary point of contact. Diane was extremely helpful and quick to answer emails and phone calls. She was so helpful during our finals meeting and picking out our menu. Our bridal attendant was Sam, and our Maitre’d was David. They were both excellent. David came to our rehearsal to speak to our wedding planner about any last minute details that he might have missed. We have a lot of bridesmaids, so we had our hair and make-up done at the hotel. Even so, we arrived to drop our things off in the Snug Harbor bridal suite, and Sam already had champagne bottles on ice with snacks waiting for us. She had beer ready for the groomsmen while they waited for photos to start. When we got back from our photo shoot during cocktail hour, Sam had a selection of our cocktail hour waiting for us on a plate in our bridal suite. She also checked on us throughout the whole night. She carefully packaged all of our belongings and leftovers with sweet notes ready to be brought to the car. Sam and David made the whole day so easy and relaxing. There is a service elevator, but the walk to the elevator is a bit long. Our grandparents opted to just take the stairs to dinner. It got hot in the Great Hall. The park is in charge of the AC, so the staff had to call the park security to lower the temperature. No Biggie. Our guests loved the venue. Everyone raved about the food at cocktail hour and dinner. I feel like I am rambling on, but there’s just too many positives about Celebrate at Snug Harbor. It’s a unique venue that takes your away from the hustle and bustle of NYC.

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 06/09/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Snug Harbor was the perfect place for my wedding!
    The staff was so attentive.
    Jeanne was a joy to work with!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/23/2011

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was simply amazing thanks to the professional and supportive staff of Celebrate at Snug Harbor! Our guests loved the food, the staff was excellent and we could not have imagined a better event. Unfortunately for us, it poured the evening of our wedding so our outdoor ceremony was out. Lauren, our wedding coordinator, worked with us to find another lovely venue on site and it was even better than we could have imagined. We really can't say enough about them- simply the best!!!

  • S

    Susan · Married on 07/30/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Terra and the whole staff was amazing. Every detail was taken care of. Not a thing to worry about except to enjoy the day. Would highly recommend this place and Terra Hudson :)

  • C

    Caroline · Married on 09/05/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Snug Harbor in September 2015, using the Tuscan Garden for the ceremony, the Chinese Scholar's Garden for the cocktail hour, and the tented pavilion for the reception. We were initially hesitant to have our wedding there due to some of the negative reviews we read, but the scenery and atmosphere were exactly what we were looking for, so we took the risk. It turns out there was no need to worry, as the staff had already changed around in order to deal with the problems of the past.

    From the beginning, working with Terra was a joy. She was very organized, and kept in frequent contact with us throughout the year to make sure our questions were answered and we were on track with our planning. It's clear she has a lot of experience making events run smoothly. It all paid off, as everything went perfectly as planned on the day of the wedding. The staff were all very helpful and attentive, especially maitre d' David and bridal attendant Jessica. The food was delicious. We couldn't have asked for a nicer wedding day, and we're so glad we chose Snug Harbor to host it.

  • User3033373 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at Snug Harbor was a dream-come-true.

    Snug Harbor has historic, columned buildings, a gorgeous fountain, and lots of botanical gardens, including a Chinese Scholar's Garden. Our photos were beautiful, varied, and definitely "us".

    We held the ceremony on the steps of the Music Hall, but there are plenty of options on site, both indoor and out, for the ceremony.

    The reception was in the Great Hall, which has HUGE vaulted ceilings, historic details, and lots of "banquettes" where you can tuck the DJ, gift table, and a photo booth!

    And can we talk about the food? Let's talk about the food: AMAZING. The hors d'ouevres were great and we were able to accommodate everyone's dietary restrictions via buffet stations. Plus: Mac & Cheese! Yum! You hear stories about couples that forget to eat during their wedding - trust me, you won't forget when the food is this good!

    Our attendant was very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed throughout the day, and Landmark Hospitality helped us create our perfect day. They accommodated our offbeat elements (including an unexpected pinata) and were a pleasure to work with.

    Nitty-gritty wise - Snug Harbor is easy to get to, has plenty of parking, and unlike any other venue in NYC. If you want a wedding that your guests are going to be talking about years later, you really can't go wrong with Snug Harbor.

  • S

    Susan · Married on 07/28/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So amazing! Theresa Marisa Ian and their staff made my daughters college graduation party a beautiful memory. The tented pavillion is an excellent spot. Food excellent. Service so friendly. Highly recommend!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review