Skip to main content
Weddings

Carly Romeo & Co. Reviews

Carly Romeo & Co. View more information

47 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 47
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

45 User photos

  • Gabriela
    Gabriela S. Married on 05/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible!

    Carly did an amazing job with the photos for our last minute elopement in September 2020. We chose Carly because we really wanted to have a queer-friendly photographer with plenty of multi-cultural wedding experience, but she really went above and beyond our expectations. She got everyone's pronouns right, she made everyone feel comfortable, and she was fun to be around. The photos turned out beautifully. The questionnaire she sent before the wedding was detailed and helped us consider topics and issues we hadn't even thought about or put into words. I would absolutely recommend Carly to anyone planning a wedding, big or small!
  • Marli
    Marli R. Married on 04/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional, fun, and creative people and photography!

    Carly Romeo & Co. truly goes above and beyond in delivering exceptional photography. We were blown away upon opening our wedding album and continue to look back at the photos finding new moments and feelings each time. Our photographer Carletta not only captured the beauty and immensity of our venue, but also the emotion, tone, and subtleties of the day all while managing to give great direction and make us laugh hysterically. Carly and Carletta truly enriched our wedding day experience and we cannot send enough gratitude their way!
  • C
    C P Married on 09/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything We Wanted

    Carly Romeo & Co was the first vendor I chose when I got engaged - I've been following her on Instagram for years. It's obvious they have the technical/artistic skills from the portfolios, but I was really worried about a good personality fit as well. They went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and confident in the planning process, engagement shoot, and on our wedding day - having Carly at the wedding felt like having an extra friend there. I especially appreciated their commitment to COVID safety and help downsizing my wedding to a micro-wedding, because our original plans fell through over and over again during the planning process (got engaged October 2019). Carly and her team were there every step of the way to assure us that we could still get the pictures we wanted, but more importantly the day we wanted. I can't recommend them highly enough.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Annie Married on 12/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Irreplaceable experience with Carly Romeo & Co - 10 out of 10.

    Our wedding would not have been the same without Carly Romeo & Co - absolutely a game changer! I LOVED our engagement and wedding photos. Not only is Carly fun and relaxing to be around, she is insanely talented and authentic. She made us feel at ease and was a rock for both of us during our wedding day. Whenever I look through our wedding photos I feel like I'm reliving the whole day. She did a beautiful job capturing genuine moments from our special day. I cannot recommend Carly enough!! 
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer H. Married on 09/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Words can't express how amazing Carly is

    When we decided to get engaged, I had already decided that one thing was non-negotiable- Carly Romeo had to be our photographer. Carly is the best in the business, hands down. Not only is she at the top of her game in terms of craft- she is changing the narrative of weddings and wedding photography. She is actually making the world a better place. Our engagement photos (taken in NYC, where we live) and our wedding photos (in Richmond, VA) are beyond what we could have ever imagined. Carly doesn't just capture the check boxes of a wedding- she captures the soul and the spirit of the entire day and of every single person there. We cannot recommend Carly highly enough. We love her!!
  • Natalie
    Natalie Married on 09/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    September 2019 Wedding at Mountain Lake Lodge

    I had seen Carly's work from a friend's wedding and my partner and I knew we wanted to use her company as soon as we started planning our wedding. Not only are her photos beautiful, the values of her company were very important to us. Once we booked with them, they sent us a couple sweet cards, magazines and treats that were such a nice touch.
    Our photographer, Sarah Schultz-Taylor, was so easy to work with. She was very responsive to planning emails and gave great guidance. On the day of, Sarah and her second shooter Storm were great at being calming influences while I was having minor freakouts as well as doing a good job of keeping us on our timeline without being pushy. My husband and I were a little uncomfortable being photographed so much at first but they did such a great job of giving us direction that felt natural. Neither of them seemed underfoot or obtrusive but the photos we got are so personal and special. AND the whole, beautiful, amazing gallery was delivered to us in just around 1 month!! That is unheard of!!
    If you are considering booking with Carly Romeo and Co- DO IT! Thank you so much Carly, Sarah, Storm and the rest of the team!!!
  • R
    Ryan W. Married on 09/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Easy breezy beautiful

    I first saw Carly Romeo & Co and knew they were the right photographers for our wedding. We wanted photos that captured our relationship and the life we live, not something that was posed and forced. I was stoked when they were available for our date and was paired with Sarah. Sarah was easy going and comfortable to work with, as it's a little nerve wracking having a camera in your face. Sarah was flexible with what we were thinking for our engagement photos and willing to explore just about anywhere for them.

    We chose the location for our wedding ceremony based on our love of the area and the natural beauty and was thrilled to see Sarah was able to capture that, along with some amazing photos of us and our friends and family. I look at our photos everyday! -I love them and loved working with Sarah and Carly and everyone that has anything to do with their team.
  • C
    Caitlin S. Married on 09/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely fantastic – unique and inspired!

    Carly and her team blew us away. Their photography beautifully captures real moments, authentic emotion, and the subtle details that make a wedding (and a partnership) unique. We were drawn to Carly for her feminist, diversity-focused approach to wedding photography and her journalistic style, and we were not disappointed. Our wedding photos are stunning – they celebrate every person and moment, from the serious to the silly, without even a hint of anything cliché or manufactured.

    Carly and Leah were amazing people to have in our corner on the day of our wedding. They put us at ease, let us be ourselves, and had an incredible eye for fun and inventive shots. We are so grateful we got to work with such incredible talented people!!
  • Tyler
    Tyler Married on 06/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Carly was Amazing!

    The pictures, obviously, were amazing. We'd seen her work. But she was so easy to work with and didn't make us do the cheesy poses and worked quickly so we could enjoy our cocktail hour. She directed traffic and kept everyone feeling excited and happy. She was all over the place at the reception and captured everything!
    Contact with her before the wedding was great. She didn't bombard us with questions but she was always there to answer ours. Her team had quick turn around with the full gallery after the wedding too.
  • Betsy
    Betsy Married on 12/14/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best of the Best

    Carly's portfolio speaks for itself - If you haven't had a chance to look at the photos captured by her and her team, just scroll through. It is truly stunning the way she captures authentic moments and emotions on days that can so easily be overrun by stuffy or cliche poses or pinterest-y shots. Having Carly shoot our wedding was a non-negotiable for us - We would have changed our date to make sure we got on her calendar, seriously. She makes you feel comfortable, reminds you to ground yourself in moments with your partner, and captures even the smallest moments in time that you'll look back on forever. All of our guests knew her name and raved about her . The values she holds as a business owner and human being are critical in this huge machine of a wedding industry. We love Carly, Leah, Fin, and the team, and can't say enough good things about them.
  • Helen
    Helen Married on 10/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The very best humans and the best experience.

    Carly and her team were a dream to work with from start to finish. As awkward introverts, my partner and I knew we wanted a talented extrovert like Carly to help gently guide us as we figured out how to pose and feel comfortable in front of the camera. We were so delighted by how our photos turned out and our family and friends have not stopped gushing, both about the photos and the experience of hanging out with Carly on our wedding day. (Our friends' four-year-old now refers to her as "my friend Carly.") It was also really important to work with a photographer whose values are aligned with ours, and we found that in Carly. We can't wait to receive the photo album that is included in all of her photography packages. Thank you to the whole C Ro & Co team!
  • Kate
    Kate Married on 10/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Carly is a gem!

    Carly is just the best. Her professionalism and expertise are off the charts, but most importantly for that day of and the moments leading up to it, she's just delightful to be around. This made a massive difference in myself and my partner's comfort levels and I think it's the reason why we have photos we LOVE and that feel like us. We are so happy with the whole experience and have gotten a TON of compliments from friends and family members. Thank you, Carly!
  • R
    Robin S. Married on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn't have asked for better!

    It was a total delight working with our wondering photographer Matt and we loved our photos. The style, grace, professionalism, and overall spirit of Carly Romeo and Co made the whole process a really great experience.
  • Blair
    Blair Married on 08/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Carly was absolutely stellar! My husband (!) and I both agreed that she was our number-one vendor at the wedding. She was professional, flexible, and a blast to spend the day with, and kept the show running smoothly even with the usual chaos of bridesmaids/groomsmen/kiddos. The portraits and formals are gorgeous, and she picked a beautiful on-site location for our first look. Our church only allowed shooting from the back balcony, but she nevertheless got some wonderful shots. She captured so many small moments that would have gone unnoticed otherwise and was totally game when we hopped a Lyft to our reception and stopped to shoot some hoops in a park on the way. And I love that she's dedicated to making sure you get prints and an album—her photos are too good to be stuck on a hard drive! They're real heirlooms.
  • E
    Erin Married on 06/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Choosing a queer-friendly, feminist photographer was at the top of our list when it came to wedding vendors. Working with Carly was an absolute dream, and I wouldn't change a thing about our engagement shoot or our wedding day. Carly is so much more than a wedding photographer. She really gets to know each person individually, and also gets to know you as a couple. When we said we wanted to do our engagement shoot in the mountains, SHE suggested a sunrise hike to the top of a beautiful vista. She has the most creative ideas and made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera, which is kind of a big deal because at first we were nervous about someone else being privy to some pretty intimate moments. Working with the Carly Romeo & Co. crew was a lovely experience, hands down!
  • K
    Kate Married on 05/19/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The entire team at Carly Romeo & Co. was great to work with! Our photographer, Sarah, did such an incredible job capturing both the broader vibe and intimate moments of the day...with grace and humor. She found so many lovely, emotional shots here and there and it never felt like she was obtrusive or underfoot. We're blown away by her photos and could not wait to share them. You all are amazing. Thank you.
  • P
    Patricia Married on 11/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was really, really nervous and stressed heading into my wedding. You would never know it from the photos though! Carly and her team put me & my husband at ease every step of the way. She was so fun to work with, and the images she captured are absolutely stunning. Rich with color, and everyone looks so beautiful! I had asked her for lots of candies of people celebrating, and she delivered above and beyond my expectations. The posed portraits are beautiful too, as are the shots of the scenery and decorations. The photo album and prints look so beautiful, and the images look awesome on social media. I could not recommend Carly more highly. If you want a fun, calm presence with a brilliant eye who will deliver everything you want for your wedding photography and then some, choose Carly Romeo!!
  • J
    Juana Married on 10/13/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    When we began planning our wedding, Carly was my one non-negotiable. I saw her photos and was immediately blown away. I knew she was the only person I wanted to shoot our wedding and reception. When we had our first phone call, I was immediately blown away. Not only did she have a strong commitment to the values that my now-husband and I hold dear (equality, justice, tolerance), but she also seemed like the kind of person I'd want to be friends with. I couldn't have possibly imagined just how special she'd make our wedding day, and she approached it with grace, creativity and a clear passion for being a part of people's love stories.

    My husband and I were married in a private ceremony which meant Carly was so much more than a photographer. She was the kick-ass support system I needed in the limo ride to our ceremony while I was jittery and freaking out in the moments before our wedding. She captured amazing photos while we both cried our eyes out as we exchanged our vows. When I was exhausted and pretty much done smiling and posing for photos, she was good for a quick get-yourself-together pep talk to keep me motivated. Most importantly, she won over my two step-daughters and got them involved in our big day and enlisted them as photo assistants, complete with a loaner instant camera.

    The photos were stunning, candid beautiful representations of one of the best days of my life and they captured our weird, offbeat family and friends for who they are. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Carly to anyone. She was truly the wedding MVP and I'm so thankful that we got to work with her.
  • K
    Kalene Married on 06/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Carly was EVERYTHING I wanted and more in a wedding photographer. We instantly vibed on my vision for the wedding... I wanted to capture all of the special moments, emotion, and hilarious family/friend interactions, while passing on the cheesy staged photos and bride-centric glam shots. I appreciated the opportunity to chat and fill out the questionnaire before the wedding so we could make sure we were all on the same page. On the day of, Carly instantly put us (nervous and awkward humans who don't like to be center of attention) at ease and allowed us to focus our attention on each other and all the loved ones surrounding us. She captured all the fun, intimate, chaotic, hilarious, and touching moments of the day, while also highlighting all of the little things that made our wedding unique. Sneaking away for a golden hour couple photo shoot ended up being such a special time for us to exhale and ground ourselves amidst the craziness. Carly has an uncanny ability of tricking you into thinking you're just chatting with your new spouse but little do you know that you are actually GLOWING and looking so chic and natural in all your new favorite photos. Needless to say, her final product wowed us.... Her timing and eye for detail was impeccable! We loved all of the candid shots of the mixing and mingling of all of our guests, as well as some epic dance floor pics. Our friends and family are still raving about the pics and we're daily discovering new favorites. Worth every penny! THANK YOU CARLY.
  • M
    Madeline Married on 06/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Of all the many things to stress about in a wedding, I was not expecting to find myself too concerned about the photographer. But the more I looked, the more uneasy I felt about it. Everything I saw when looking was staged and corny and saccharine -- and worst of all, everything I saw looked so uncomfortably, cringing-ly *heteronormative*. (I never thought I'd use such a vocab word in a wedding review!). Then, I found out the original photographer I was about to hire held what I felt were pretty terrible political views, and I kind of freaked out. That's when I found Carly. Holy crap, wedding photography AND feminism?! Could this be true?! And her portfolio was amazing! Carly agreed to match the quote I had been given and sent Matt out for my big day. The pictures were just beautiful, and captured the day so well. We did no posing, no weird staging, no grooms as props or other weird princess-bride nonsense. Just laughter, and joy, and love. They also were super flexible about working with a friend of mine who had agreed to be a second shooter as a wedding gift. The pictures were stunning, but I can't even describe how much of a relief it was to know that the people working behind the scenes shared my most deeply-held values. I know to some people the idea that politics might penetrate all aspects of your life is kind of a turn-off, but I felt like, especially on an occasion like this, it was so important to me that the people working with us understood us on this level. Anyway, the wedding album also just arrived for the holidays and my family was blown away by the quality of the physical book. Carly also sent me a little gift with a teabag, just cause! I can't recommend Carly and her team enough, and I so insanely grateful that she and her team were part of my day, and gave us the most beautiful photographs that we will cherish forever. Carly saved me! I can't thank Carly enough for providing this service, and Matt for capturing the day.
  • P
    Paige Married on 06/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you like the combination of progressivism, great quality photos, and flawless customer service, look no further.

    I chose Carly Romeo and Co to photograph my Baltimore wedding based on the company's feminism, queer-friendliness, and strong mission statement about how they see the role of their business in making a positive difference in the world.

    Matt had a calm approach, great ideas for composition, and made sure to ask for and listen to my preferences. He easily navigated my interfaith, multi-lingual ceremony. The mix of color and black and white photos were gorgeous. They were also delivered quickly via digital gallery and thumb drive. The complimentary prints Carly sent were of very high quality.
  • K
    Katie Married on 05/20/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved working with Carly (Carly Romeo & Co.)! Our number one photography goal was to capture the joy and excitement of the day. Specifically, we wanted candid photos and Carly delivered! Our friends and family LOVE the photographs of them laughing, dancing, and catching up throughout the night. Carly was also great to remind us to take time for ourselves. She was able to sneak us away for some personal photographs that are lovely. Carly did a great job of capturing the moment without making it seem too staged or asking us to do cheesy poses. We highly recommend Carly for couples wanting to have a blast and not worry about fitting into a specific box.
  • Hofzak
    Catherine Married on 05/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Carly from Carly Romeo & Co. was fantastic. Her pre-wedding questionnaire allowed her to get to know us a little and what we were looking for, and she did a phenomenal job of getting us both relaxed and opened up during our couple’s photo shoot. She truly managed to capture not just our joy in being married, but the heart and spirit of the wedding itself.
  • D
    Dapo K. Married on 04/29/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you are still shopping around for a photographer, look no further. Carly was a delight to work with; very responsive, flexible and accommodating. We actually found Carly through a referral from our wedding planner and we couldn't have been happier.
    Carly brought another photographer with, so we had double coverage. The photographs they took for our wedding were stunning; guests have been raving about how the essence of each moment was captured without anything looking staged or awkward.
    We also had a lot of fun taking formal pictures; Carly injected some fun games through out the whole process to make us very relaxed and elicit the best reactions which were caught on camera.
  • N
    Nicko Married on 01/09/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Carly is wonderful

    Carly and her team were incredible to work with! We loved their joyful and human-centered approach, adaptability to our event situation and, of course, beautiful collection of photographs.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message