Caribbean Pearl Catering Reviews

22 | Valley Stream, NY
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Caribbean Pearl Catering

Recommended by 93%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • Saliym

    Saliym · Getting married on 05/29/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great to work with

    Our wedding is next year, but working with Lina has been great thus far. The tasting we did with her was amazing and can't wait for the big day.

    Sent on 10/03/2019
  • E

    Elisa · Married on 07/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the pleasure of working with Lina and her team for my Wedding at the W Loft in Brooklyn 7/6. Communication was top notch which is super important when planning your own wedding/ event. She even took time out to answer emails and send packages while she was on vacation! The food is amazing and her personality matches. My guests had no complaints about service and loved the food as well. They also provided bar service which worked out great. I recommend Caribbean Pearl Catering for all of your events.

    Sent on 07/27/2018

    Caribbean Pearl Catering's reply:

    I’m so happy you were pleased Elisa! It was truly a pleasure catering you wedding and it was so much fun!
  • I-C

    I-C · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lina and her staff are WONDERFUL! First, Lina was the first vendor that we secured for our wedding. She readily sent a full menu to me (I was out of state) and never questioned what I wanted. Her menu was extensive, and I noticed that it contained all the items I thought I wanted. Our guest list shrunk, drastically, and she didn't say a word. From November 2017 thru May 2018, Lina was a source of reassurance and stability. No small feat when planning a large event, esp. a wedding.
    Some of the food we had were lamb (VERY small upcharge), vegetarian curry chicken tofu (EVERYONE loved it), escovitch salmon, rice & peas (red beans), Caribbean Paella, soup shots (another big hit), smoked salmon deviled eggs. We opted not to get desserts because we were having two cakes.
    Now, about Lina and her staff's presence. They were dressed in catering attire and only presented when serving food. The staff were visible when they were exiting behind a sheer curtain and were seen bouncing to the music. My guests got a hoot out of that (I only saw it on video). We had a problem with another vendor at the start of the reception and my family told me that Lina helped resolve it, starting by providing the missing information. Lina, also, swooped in and helped remove the first slice of cake. My husband was trying to flag someone down to help (I cut a large slice, oops), Lina appeared at my side, we exchanged a few words and POOF! I had a large slice of cake and the staff scurried off with the rest.
    I would post a picture of Lina or her staff that day but they were the only vendors who we don't have tons of photos of. I'd have to post the video of her helping me with the cake to demonstrate how magical the Caribbean Pearl team was. Special Note: Lina sent us home with ALL the unserved food. A special tray was just for my husband and me. The rest of the food went with my family. Very honorable!
    -She's my, hands down, FAVORITE wedding vendor. HUGS!

    Sent on 07/02/2018

    Caribbean Pearl Catering's reply:

    It was such a pleasure catering your wedding! We wish you a beautiful bright future!

    xoxo
    Lina Grammont
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caribbean Pearl brought to life an extraordinary food experience for my guest that far surpassed my expectations. I got the opportunity to work with the finest caterer from beginning to end. With a customized menu, my guests dining taste buds took a tasteful sail through the Caribbean. Thank you to the team for making mine and my husbands day amazing.

    Sent on 07/08/2017

    Caribbean Pearl Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of your special day. Every moment of working with you and Marlon was really amazing. I loved how much you incorporated your culture to the menu making it truly your night! Thank you again.
  • S

    Shawnee · Married on 06/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lina & her food were more than I could have imagined for my wedding. I recommend her for ANY event!

    Sent on 12/26/2017
  • A

    Adva · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Caribbean Pearl Catering for my outdoor wedding this summer. It was a small (50ish person) wedding in a private home. From the first contact I had with the owner, Lina, she was courteous, professional, and always very responsive. We very much enjoyed the food tasting and decided to book her on the spot. She was incredible to work with. She was extremely accommodating and flexible to meet our needs regarding both the food and the drinks - we used her services for the open bar as well. The food was amazing! There were so many great options to choose from. Her menu really does have something for everyone, which is why I was never concerned with having a Caribbean theme for the food. Beyond her professionalism and amazing talent as a chef, Lina was just a pleasure to have around. By the wedding day, she felt like more of a friend than a hired vendor. Her staff/servers were also very professional and friendly. Will definitely use her again for future events. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 12/13/2016

    Caribbean Pearl Catering's reply:

    It was such a pleasure to working with you & Kris! My staff and I really enjoyed your wedding! Thank you so much for having us.
  • User7493922 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very satisfied definitely would recommend!

    Sent on 12/15/2016
  • M

    Maricel · Married on 01/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very professional. Delicious food. Explains everything thoroughly. Setting in a very professional environment. Class A building. Very comfortable with her. Terrific person and great experience! Totally recommend her.

    Sent on 01/18/2016

    Caribbean Pearl Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much Marisol! I'm very happy you enjoyed the food.
  • G

    Grace · Married on 10/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caribbean Pearl catering was the true star at the Web Series Launch Part held on October 27th, 2015! Urcilina and her team provided outstanding catering and hospitality services for our event with great professionalism and absolutely DELICIOUS cuisine! Not to mention how extremely accommodating she was towards our modest budget. The event really became magical due to her fabulous food, not to mention her constant responsiveness to my excessive email inquiries during the planning process. I would recommend Caribbean Pearl's food and services to any one looking to have a fun and successful event!

    Sent on 11/01/2015
  • A

    armande · Married on 08/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food from Carribean Pearl was amazing. It was a wonderdul reminder of the food I missed so dearly from my country, Haiti. Everything was fresh, and well seasoned. The display was gorgeous and put together very elegantly. I am really looking forward to attend an other event catered by Caribbean Pearl.

    Sent on 09/15/2015
  • User5189986 · event on 06/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Caribbean Pearl's catering services. The menu is great with a large selection of choices and the food is wonderful!

    Sent on 06/19/2015
  • L

    Lavinia · event on 05/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caribbean Pearl Catering provided superb catering and food for my baby shower. As a Haitian American, she provided a menu that was quite appeasing to my personal food aesthetics and comforts; all the while, she kept in mind the culturally diverse list of attendees at my event. The food menu was a mix of tried and true Carribean flavors and cuisine that was paired with a fusion of American comfort food. The food was definitely a positive take away from the event. People wanted to know who was responsible for the food. Where can you find an event with a food pairing of delicious spiced corn meal (maiz moulen) and savoring French toast....if you hire Carribean Pearl, you will get that and more. You will get more than your money's worth.

    Sent on 06/10/2015
  • User5189986 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Omg, Caribbean Pearl is hands down the best catering company. I highly recommend Caribbean Pearl to everyone! I used the catering company for my wedding and thank goodness I did. They have a large menu selection and the price point is very reasonable. They were prompt professional and very friendly. I received so many compliments and all my guests were very happy. One guest commented that it's as if they were transported to a posh restaurant in a beautiful resort on the islands. I will continue to use them for any future events that I may hold.

    Sent on 06/19/2015
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 02/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exceptional, Caribbean Pearl was simply exceptional! Of all the concerns I had, the professional catering certainly was not one of them! The invaluable experience of having my guest content, not to mention satisfied was indeed a comfort, and great pleasure. In fact, several family members kept inquiring who was responsible for the reception. As they sampled several of the "Mouth-Watering" dishes, the inquiries intensified. Caribbean Peal not only exceeded my expectations of what "Quality Service" is, Lina set a new bar. In her availability, kindness, and desire to ease my anxieties: she proved to what extent she will go above and beyond for her clients. I am so absolutely grateful! My special day, would not have been nearly as memorable without Caribbean Pearl!

    Sent on 07/04/2015
  • C

    Crystal · Married on 12/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lina is amazing to work with. She is very professional and always answered my 200 phone calls. The food was full of flavor but not overbearing which is what I wanted since it was for my wedding. Very much wedding quality catering. I always recommend Caribbean Pearl to anybody that is getting married, that's how good the food was plus everything went smoothly which is important since it is a big day.

    Sent on 06/20/2015
  • User5232865 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caribbean Pearl is 5 stars all the way! Lina catered our wedding in May 2014, best decision ever and I couldn't have been happier. I would happily hire Lina over and over again. I found her to be very responsive and attentive to all my questions and needs. She offered great suggestions on things I could do, which was not only helpful but the kind of personal touches my friends are still talking about. It was like having a new BFF for my wedding (LOL). "My day" was made perfect, the wedding party brunch baskets (nice touch - which I wouldn't have thought of) really kept us going all day long.. The staff was extremely professional, flexible, and pleasant.
    Cocktail hour with the different (exotic food) stations and passed hors d'oeuvre were amazing! I've never had bread fruit and codfish balls with avocado mousse, before Lina I didn't even know that was a thing, never heard of it but it was amazing nonetheless. The list goes on and on of new amazing foods introduced. I can only describe it as 'Caribbean/soul food' served in an array that was extremely elegant. Dinner was incredible and every entree was amazing! I'm still receiving compliments for the food and how wonderful my caterer was. My husband and I were a lot more into having a great time then eating during dinner and Lina and her staff took note and sent us home with food to be sure we weren't hungry during the evening (how sweet). We secretly savored an assortment of desserts passed that were so creatively put together... I can go on and on about the food from our special day all and all I would recommend if you are looking to have your guest happily speechless over wonderful service and food, go with Lina she'll make sure you and your guest are happy!
    I've already referred several friends and family, in April of this year we used her for my neice's 30 birthday bash, it was a blast from the not so distant past for some and well appreciated by all. Caribbean Pearl, definitely money well spent.

    Sent on 07/06/2015
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 07/26/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have to start off by saying I'm very difficult to impress however I was pleasantly surprised by Lina. From the beginning she was very attentive and patient with me through the whole process. She made sure she understood my needs and vision and they were more then meant. The compliments that I received for the day went on for months. Not only was the food outstanding but so was the service.

    Sent on 06/30/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/15/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First of all let me just start by saying; How blessed my husband and I are to have found Lina, she was not only a caterer but honestly like "a wedding planner" she helps with the arrangements of the setup of the house, ordering the tables/chairs,working with the florist & baker, etc. Every time we had a question she was immediately available to answer or help us on whatever it was, questions about menu, cocktails and many many questions we have along our year and half journey.... Lina's professionalism is unmatched!!!!!!!!!
    Now lets talk about FOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am so impressed with her seasoning!!!!!! Everything was delicious/tasty did I said delicious........ Every single person in our celebration was so impressed with the food kids were eating oxtails yes oxtails................. Just one little advice to all the brides and grooms out there when u booked Lina make sure u get enough food for late nite snacks, because you will regret it............ Thank You Lina

    Sent on 06/07/2017
  • N

    Noelle Williams · Married on 02/23/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AAAAmazing

    AAAAAAmazing! That’s the best way to put it. From price, to food, to how the wedding day went, Caribbean Pearl Catering was just amazing. Lina was present for my actual wedding day and it went on without a hitch, as far as I'm aware of! I heard there were a few glitches prior to the event however Lina came through big time. Everybody raved about how beautiful and seamless everything was and the food, the food was really everything. It was exactly what I pictured when I thought of my wedding day caterer. Thank you so much for everything, Caribbean Pearl!! My husband has 4 more brothers and sisters who will eventually be getting married and we’ll definitely be recommending you to them when the time comes!! Thanks again!

    Sent on 03/19/2019
  • H

    Heather Denis · Married on 01/19/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful & service!

    Thank you very much for the wonderful food and service you provided for my wedding. The food was delicious and many of my guests raved about it saying that it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding. I have given your name out to a lot of people. The service you provided me was outstanding and it made this special day successful. My family has used your catering service for two weddings now and we will definitely keep you in mind for future events

    Sent on 03/18/2019
  • B

    Brianna · Married on 12/16/2018

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Disappointed

    We found Lina after a long search for a catering service that would provide rest Caribbean food for our wedding. Our vision was clear, we wanted our guests to experience various bites from Caribbean and American cusine and enough that they would be filled. So it was an extended cocktail hour/ floating reception but we thought we made it clear guests should be able to grab bites and go back to sit. We even shared our floor plan with her. Our experience started off great. At our tasting we fell in love with her food and the price after some negotiation was reasonable. We would bring the alcohol and ginger beer for one of the signature cocktails. She would provide bartenders mixers, ice and glasses. It wasn’t until we got within 8 months of our wedding did issues begin to arise. Her responsiveness slowed and it made it hard for us to coordinate important details with other vendors. I would have to email her twice sometimes over weeks to get an answer. The month of the wedding we had the most trouble and stress because of her. For one, we explained to her what we wanted for our signature cocktails and she asked for recipes, which we provided. We also mentioned separately that we wanted our toast to be a special mimosa. She agreed but then a week later she emailed asking about the mimosa drink for the happy hour- which was clearly the toast and I had to explain to her with screenshots from prior emails that she had the wrong idea. She didn’t admit to her fault but instead made an excuse. The day of the wedding the bartenders had nothing for our signature cocktails even tho we had the disagreement about it the week before. And the day before the wedding she had confirmed the flutes for the mimosa drink during toast versus the signature cocktail high ball glasses. They thought the mimosa drink was all they were doing- and during cocktail not for the toast. One of our friends had to make a bar run for us as we got ready for the wedding. The week of the wedding my coordinator calls me frantically because she says the caterer had no plan to set the table. I spoke to Lina on the phone and she said because we wanted cocktail food she assumed no one was sitting. This made no sense because when she wanted plastic champagne flutes instead of glass we explained to her that people would be sitting instead of standing so it would be safe to have glass at the reception. She had planned to not set the table at all until days before when we clarified. She also came with the wrong size table cloths after asking specifically for the sizes of the tables 2 weeks prior. The bartenders she brought ran out of glasses during the night and a family friend had to run and get plastic cups for us. I have no idea why the glasses weren’t being cleaned and turned around for further service because they had everything needed to do so behind the bar. Lastly as people were waiting for shrimp on one of the cocktail lines she comes out with the shrimp in a plastic bag and replaces it on the table. Very unprofessional. I’m sure I’m not remembering every detail but without all of this our wedding would have gone much smoother. I never write reviews but for her I had to, especially because we had such high hopes only to be left stressed and disappointed.

    Sent on 03/17/2019
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/09/2018

    1.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Lina was hired to cater a wedding of 148 guests: welcome drinks, canapés, dinner & a bar package. Bar: During the cocktail hour, there was a very long line & wait for drinks. There was only 1 bartender to mix drinks, while the other 2 served as back up or poured wine. For the number of guests, there should have been more bartenders, or all of the people serving should have been able to mix drinks. The red & white wine offered was terrible. I was not invited to taste the wine ahead of time. We paid for a Prosecco Toast. The bar ran out of cava & told us just as the speeches were about to start. I was asked to push back the toast & told that there were only 3 bottles left. Unacceptable. The appropriate amount of bottles should have been put aside & reserved. Food: The timing was poor. All dishes should have been delivered to the tables at once. The salad was brought out first & sat on the table for about 10 mins. Once the food was brought out, it was staggered. That is not what was discussed or agreed upon. The chicken and rice were presented on the same dish. This made serving it messy & there wasn’t enough rice. The fish was not what was agreed upon. We selected escovitched salmon, but Lina served fried salmon – & it was over cooked. The wedding cakes were not served as discussed. There should have been a variety of cake served on a platter per table. Also, the couple was not given their remaining wedding cake to take with them. Service: Service was terrible. The venue coordinator informed me that the porters sent early to set the tables were very unprofessional & slow. This in turn slowed down the florist & the rest of the team. The tablecloths were wrinkled, thin, mismatched & I found a hole in one. The attention to detail was poor & unprofessional. Tablecloths were laid uneven and some were laid upside down. The cutlery and glasses were not polished. My wedding coordinator had to tell the caterer to clean this. And the table settings were not done as I requested.

    Sent on 09/10/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review