Caribbean Caterers Reviews

32 | Rockville, MD
See photos, pricing and details

32 Reviews for Caribbean Caterers

Recommended by 97%

32
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

3 User photos

Caribbean Caterers 1
Caribbean Caterers 2
Caribbean Caterers 3
Sort by:
  • M

    Michele Brown · Married on 11/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Food and Service

    I booked Caribbean Caterers for my father's memorial. Candance and the entire team were very helpful and professional. Communications with Candance was transparent and she very responsive and helpful in terms of helping out with my food selections and decor. On the day of the event, they were prompt, the setup and food presentation was perfect and the wait staff was very accommodating. I will definitely call on them again for my next event.

    Sent on 02/15/2019

    Caribbean Caterers's reply:

    Michele,

    Thank you for your kind words and excellent review. We love Candace being on our team! It was a pleasure serving you and your family. We look forward to hearing from you again soon.

    Caribbean Caterers Team
  • A

    Aeme · Married on 10/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW!! Caribbean Caterers World Class Service

    What a world class service provided by Caribbean Caterers for the University of Guyana’s Gathering of Alumni and Friends (UGGAF) Gala and Fundraiser at the UDC Student Center Ballroom and Heritage hall on Friday October 26, 2018 . The creative table setting, ambience and decor —not to mention the exquisite menu and seamless service — made for a fine dinning experience for our over 300 patrons . It was the WOW factor that created a buzz and contributed to the unique elegance of a memorable occasion for this sold out event. Highest commendations to Gillian deSouza CEO and her amazing team

    Local Organizing Committee, (UGGAF) c/o Bazilio Cobb Associates PC (uggaf.org)
    November 2, 2018

    Sent on 02/15/2019

    Caribbean Caterers's reply:

    Aeme,

    Thank you so much for the kind words and detailed review. We love being part of events that bring communities together! Gillian sends her love. We look forward to being involved again soon!

    Caribbean Caterers Team
  • U

    Uchenna Obaji · Married on 10/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Food and Service!

    The team of ladies at Caribbean Caterers helped make my wedding amazing! From beginning to end, they remained in constant communication via phone and email and made us feel so comfortable during what would normally be a hectic time. Our guests could not stop talking about how amazing all the food was. We will definitely be using Caribbean Caterers again in the future.

    Sent on 02/15/2019

    Caribbean Caterers's reply:

    Hi Uchenna!

    Thank you very much for your kind words. We had such a great time serving you and your guests! We look forward to hearing from you again.

    Caribbean Caterers Team
  • A

    April · Married on 09/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience

    I enjoyed working with Caribbean Caterers . Gillian was incredibly flexible and helpful throughout the entire process. Food was delicious and service was excellent.

    Sent on 02/15/2019

    Caribbean Caterers's reply:

    Hi April!

    Thank you for the great review! It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to hear from you again soon.

    Caribbean Caterers Team
  • J

    Jeannette · Married on 04/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Caribbean Caterers for our wedding, and I am SO glad we did. They were incredibly helpful leading up to the day with keeping everything on track and communicating with us very promptly and transparently. The day of, we got so many compliments from our guests on the food, service, and decorations! Every step of the way, they were incredibly professional, friendly, and responsive. Would most definitely recommend!

  • T

    Tashica · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Have you ever been to Disney? If so, you know the feeling of smiling all day. You know that all the cares in the world have disappeared for a few hours. 16 September 2017, Caribbean Caterers was our Disney. The Team, Christina Burkeholder, Candace Spencer, and Gillian de Souza, were everything in the catering world that Disney is for children and adults.
    I first came across Caribbean Caterers when I attended one of those wedding events with my cousin's friend; she was preparing for her wedding and Caribbean Caterers were one of the venders at the event. I tried the jerk chicken, Keisha had the bread pudding, and I had another sample of the jerk chicken with the bread pudding. Once the date was set for our wedding I contacted them...I did not contact any other company because I was set on having CARIBBEAN CATERERS! Christina was my original point of contact and was welcoming, accommodating, and had an ear to listen when I changed from the first venue and was having a meltdown.Ms. Gillian, was with us the entire time she made me feel as if I was the only wedding that was taking place. She has a warm heart, patient, has a listening ear, and remained professional at all times. When suggestions were needed she was always full of ideas. I was a DIY bride and didn't really have a budget for food but knew I didn't want to spend every single dollar that was in my savings account, and she didn't take advantage of me not knowing the exact amount of money we wanted to spend. Ms. Gillian is also had to deal with the groom whom is very cautious of what money is being spent and where.Candace! Candace! Candace! I'm sure there are other people within the company that can do exactly what Candace did for our wedding to yours but there is only Candace. Candace hit the ground running. She is friendly, was knowledgeable about my event, and on the day of she nailed everything that she was supposed to! Every hiccup thrown her way she managed. Full review on yelp

  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish I had enough words to talk about how amazing my experience was working with Ms. Gillian and Caribbean Caterers. From the very first time I met them, I was completely sold and choosing this business was the best thing my husband and I did for our wedding! When we met Ms. Gillian she was doing a wedding close to where we lived and invited us to check out the decor. We were inmediately impressed and booked before even tasting the food! My husband and I have since talked about how crazy we were for doing that, but when you know, you just know. During the tasting, we were so impressed with the food that we changed our initial menu to make sure it matched our experience. EVERYONE raved about the food! EVERYONE loved the linens and decor! Working with Ms. Gillian was like working with an aunt. She was loving, honest, clear and organized - but always made us laugh! I honestly can't say enough about Caribbean Caterers. I'm sad my year with them has ended and hoping they offfer cooking classes so I can learn to make those delicious dishes soon! Folks will be talking about the food at your wedding for years- it's just that great!

    Caribbean Caterers 4
    Caribbean Caterers 5
  • User6754880 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Fiancée's parents and I met with Gillian and Christina this past Saturday. We had trouble locating a reliable and professional caterer to assist us in our quest to offer fusion cuisine at our upcoming wedding. Gillian and Christina were a breathe of fresh air. They were both very professional, kind and understanding to our needs. Gillian was very culturally inclined and made me feel comfortable with her understanding of Puerto Rican and Pakistani cuisine. Christina is very sweet and attentive. She was assisted Gillian with notating all our needs. They both gave their undivided attention for over two hours as we discussed our menu with them. During this time they offered us some pineapple/guava juice, bread pudding rum sauce, Caribbean styled rice and meat patties. Everything was absolutely delicious!! We are waiting on a price quote and official food tasting with them in the coming weeks. I will update my review as we progress along. So far my Fiancée's parents and I are very pleased with their service!

  • J

    Ava · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caribbean Caterers were amazing. The food is great and Gillian DeSouza is very professional and extremely enjoyable to work with. Gillian did an amazing job of making sure all the details of the wedding came together perfectly and I am so happy that we choose them to cater our wedding day. I highly recommend them and will definitely use their services in the future. Thank you Gillian and Caribbean Caterers!

  • M

    Meghan · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank You So much For Everything definitely I recommend my family and friends !!!

  • A

    Alicia · Married on 10/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have selected a better caterer for our wedding than Caribbean Caterers. Upon meeting Gillian and her assistant Roger for the first time, I was struck by how warm and inviting she and her team were and how comfortable she made my husband and I feel at the start of our planning process. We felt that Gillian and Roger were as personally invested in and excited about the success of our event as we were. As our plans evolved, Gillian and Roger provided us with the highest level of service and attention and used the breadth of their experience to advise us through our key decisions on food, décor, budget, setup, and scheduling.

    Our wedding ceremony and reception were breathtaking, truly the best day of our lives. Working within our budget, Gillian captured our vision for simplicity and elegance and set up the ceremony and reception spaces to complement the natural beauty of the lawn and the natural elegance of the reception hall with its warm wood floors, high ceilings, and exposed brick walls. To this day, our guests are still raving about the how delicious and memorable the food was, which is especially meaningful to me as we chose the menu to honor my deceased Jamaican father.

    Because we held our ceremony and reception in the same venue, a lot of coordination had to go into set-up, breakdown, and the movement of our guests, but Gillian and her team pulled it all off seamlessly and effortlessly. Knowing that the day’s details were in expert hands, my husband and I were able to relax and focus on taking in our beautiful, unforgettable day. My husband and I will be eternally grateful to Gillian and her team for making our day so perfect.

  • Soon to be Keels

    alicia · Married on 10/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I will never forget the one question I was asked by Gillian during my consultation. "What is the one thing I want my guest to walk away from receptions saying?" I told her I wanted them to say the food was fabulous. Well I got that and more. I am still getting emails and text messages on how great the food was. I had the best wedding ever. Caribbean Caterers has a customer for life. Thanks again Gillian for keeping it stress free and professional. Love you guys.......

  • Elle

    Elle · Married on 09/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We did not want your typical run-of-the-mill wedding food and we couldn't have selected a better vendor than Caribbean Caterers (CC) to deliver on that vision! CC paid meticulous attention to detail, offered a beautiful display and a gracious and flexible staff. The food was scrumptious and they were a complete joy all the way around to work with.

  • R

    Rhea · Married on 08/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After our first caterer fell through, a friend recommended Caribbean Caterers and we were relieved they were able to accommodate us on short notice. The first phone call put us completely at ease, and we were pleasantly surprised by the continued level of attention and responsiveness. Gillian and the team took care of everything, from calling the venue to ensure they had everything we needed, to making menu suggestions to arranging the room set up, complete with lovely linens and place settings. All we had to do was show up! And the food – our guests are still talking about it. We designed our own brunch menu with Gillian’s help. It was delightfully arranged and even better tasting. Our personal favorites were the Hawaiian meatballs, gourmet bread basket, the spicy cod fish balls and a specially prepared brunch casserole. And you absolutely have to have the calypso punch! We highly recommend Caribbean Caterers and they will now be the first we call for our next special event.”

    Rhea and Douglas
    8.17.12

  • Officially His Mrs P.

    Naadu · Married on 10/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In a word.......FABULOUS!!!!! Gillian is the absolute best!!! She really worked with me & my budget...I know at times she must've been ready to kill me BUT she was nothing less than respectful & professional. Everything they said they would do, they did it & went above and beyond!!

    The set up was absolutely breathtaking!!! David Tutura who??? I couldn't have asked for anything more. They took my vision & brought it to life. It was so beautiful, I almost didn't want anyone to enter the reception hall!

    The food was spectacular; it was cooked perfectly! Everyone enjoyed the dinner and the champagne toast presentation.

    Gillian had a couple of surprises for me, which I truly speechless & appreciative!!!

    I don't think anyone could've pulled it off better...I'm sooo glad I stuck to my guns & booked this caterer!

  • Shatu

    Edna · Married on 12/19/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say, the team worked "magic" even with the 2' of snow and entire city closed down. Selecting you was a true connection that can only be explained as destined. From being one of the preferred caterer's a the reception venue and the welcome, presentation, and staff consultations for putting together the wedding, we could not have picked anyone else. It was a match made in heaven. Your staff was professional, furnishings provided, setup of the event was picture perfect. Programs and menu's were printed with listing Caribbean Caterer even before the contract was signed or tasting scheduled. Our 11yr old son gave a thumbs up on the menu before we could even desert service and so the deal was sealed. Working with my other vendors was seamless considering the whopping 6wks putting this affair together. Once I shared my vision of the day with the consultant it seemed as if she was expecting me and had choices ready at our first meeting, and the rest fell into place as we counted down the days. In the end even the blizzard of the decade did not stop Caribbean Caterer's coming through as the city lay in complete surrender to the mounting snow and gave us a "Beautiful wedding day memory" that has evoke ripple sentiments of beauty, love and sheer happiness of those in attendance from photographs as they span the globe from merry wishers. Thank you to the Dec. 19 Caribbean Caterer Team that made our day "one of a kind"....Bravo and I am sure to gush about you for your part in our special day for a long time to come! Thank you!

  • D

    Danielle · Married on 12/27/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Every bride/groom knows time is of the essence when it comes to your wedding day. However, as much as you plan, something goes wrong. On my wedding day the deacon was 90 minutes late! Him being late threw the entire schedule for the evening off. The staff of Caribbean Caterers was very diligent in keeping my guests happy under the circumstances. The decor was beautiful, the food was superb and everyone was very impressed with the staff. Did I mention in the midst of the cocktail hour (for approx 175 ppl) they were able to set up the reception area in about 25 minutes! I must say, Caribbean Caterers truly was a breath of fresh air as far as vendors go. They listen to what you want and create a vision around it without compromising your vision which is more than many catering vendors would do. Their professionalism is impeccable, their attention to detail is great they are always a step ahead which is refreshing. They were able to turn a potential disaster into a beautiful night. Their diligence is what helped the evening flow and till this day my husband and I are BEYOND grateful for that. Thank you Caribbean Caterers!!!

  • C

    Carol · Married on 12/13/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible food and wonderful service! A very competent and flexible staff, including the management and the servers at the reception location. I was very impressed with Maxine's ability and willingness to work with us to accomodate different dietary needs. I cannot stress enough how DELICIOUS the food was, people are still talking about it 3 months later!

  • U

    Uretta · Married on 11/04/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Jillian and Lisa were wonderful. Caribbean Caterers is an excellent catering service and I was pleased with everything for my wedding. Since my wedding I have used their to-go- menu for another event.

  • R

    Robert · Married on 03/31/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about this caterer. We were pleased with the food, service, and responsiveness. Our guests were very pleased with the food. Many people commented that the food was some of the best they've ever had at a wedding. They had great choices for the vegetarian bride and other vegetarians at the wedding. They were great.

  • K

    Kristine · Married on 06/04/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used them for the rehearsal dinner at our home, the groom's parents. The food was delicious. The set up with the linens, the bar and buffet display were beautiful. The service was so smooth that it felt like I was a guest in my own home. We were helped by a cool spring evening with the flowers in the yard abloom. It was a relaxing evening before the busy wedding day.

  • S

    Kimberly · Married on 09/27/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A little pricey but overall they did an excellent job!

  • Michelle

    Michelle Porte · Married on 12/22/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I enjoyed their food for my holiday party.

    I partnered with this vendor for a bridal show in January and I was very pleased with their level of professionalism. Candace and Gillian were a pleasure to work with. Also, in December 2018, I placed a takeout order with Caribbean Caterers in Rockville, Md for my sister's Christmas party. I really enjoyed the food. Most especially their curry goat. I will highly recommend their services.

    Caribbean Caterers 6
  • N

    Naima · Married on 04/06/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the pleasure of using Caribbean Caterer for my wedding cocktail hour and reception hosted at the Newton White Mansion. The customer service and attention to detail that they displayed was top notch! From the very beginning when we met with sales manager/coordinator (Gillian) we loved this company. Gillian's energy and warmth is what drew us in. The office assistant, Roger was a pleasure to work with as well. We had tried several catering companies (tastings) but once we attended the tasting at CC and experienced the bold flavors and style we decided we MUST have them cater our wedding. As part of our wedding package they included all of the linens and table arrangements and that really helped with our budget. Although we had to make several last minute changes and additions, CC was very flexible. I appreciated their honesty, professionalism, and friendly customer service throughout the entire process. 2 Thumbs up for Caribbean Caterers! I would definitely recommend them to others.

  • C

    Christina · Married on 07/30/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gillian was a pro, and the food was delicious: we received tons of compliments on it. Everything went very smoothly. I was impressed by how well they made it work, especially since my venue did not have a kitchen. Pricing was comparable to other caterers I researched in the area; a bit expensive, but everything in DC seems expensive to me (compared to where I grew up in a small city in the midwest). The food was worth it though.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review