Captain's Bluff Reviews

7 | Saint Simons Island, GA
See photos, pricing and details

7 Reviews for Captain's Bluff

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

7
Order by:
  • Veronique

    Veronique Giasson · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A breathtaking wedding location!

    My husband and I were 100% certain we wanted to get married on St. Simons Island, we just didn't know where exactly. After assessing various locations, we fell in love with Captain's Bluff. Not only because of the amazing views, the giant oak trees with the Spanish moss, the dolphins stopping by at sunset, the deers saying "hi" every morning, the charming cottages and the romantic barn, but also because of Lauren's tremendous help throughout the process. We had a very small wedding and more than half of our guests (15 to be exact) stayed on site. We had our ceremony outside and it was simply gorgeous and we then had the reception in the barn which was so pretty! All of our guests kept telling us how beautiful Captain's Bluff was. We are so happy we decided to get married at Captain's Bluff - what a great choice! Thank you Lauren for making our day so special!

    Sent on 06/27/2019

    Captain's Bluff's reply:

    Vero! Thank you so much for such kind words! We are honored you chose us for your special day! Congratulations and cheers to many beautiful years of marriage! Hope to see you again!
  • P

    Penny · Married on 11/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Captain's Bluff

    This was a beautiful setting! The owners/managers could not have been any nicer. Checking to make sure all our needs were met. The whole experience was absolutely perfect! We are planning a family reunion in the near future so we can visit again!

    Sent on 12/06/2018

    Captain's Bluff's reply:

    Thank you, Penny! We enjoyed meeting you and your family and we are looking forward to having you back in the future!
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 11/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here last month after our original venue falling through and it honestly topped our original choice. The property is beyond gorgeous and exceeded all my expectations. We had the southern wedding of our dreams and Ben was so easy to work with, we are from Maryland so having good combination was key and he was there every step of the way and even let us start setting up early to ease some stress the weekend of the wedding. The house is perfect for guests to stay in or to get ready in, the whole thing was just perfect and our guests are still telling me how gorgeous the venue was and how glad they were they made the trip. Cant say enough good things!

    Sent on 12/01/2017
  • M

    Mary Kathryn · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding reception at Captains Bluff & it was amazing. The scenery from the backyard looking over the river at dusk is stunning. Made for a great time to enjoy ourselves in a casual setting with our guest. My dad was able to cater our food for us since you are allowed to have your own catering service. Ben also let us bring some things during the week to set up & it made it so helpful that we didn't have to wait until the weekend. Being able to stay on site after the reception was also great! The houses are so nice & accomadating if you have out of town guest & to get ready before wedding. We can't say enough great things about this venue!

    Sent on 11/05/2017
  • C

    Christina · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Captains Bluff was absolutely perfect for a casual backyard wedding.

    I couldn't have been more pleased.

    Sent on 01/27/2017
  • User5263668 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding at Captain's Bluff and here's a basic breakdown of why this is the perfect wedding spot: 1) it's a gorgeous, yet casual spot for those that want a small backyard wedding but maybe don't have a stunning backyard. It is right on the river with tons of spanish moss covered oaks - the views and sunsets are absolutely breathtaking 2) privacy (the only thing that may intrude are the deer) 3) indoor (beautiful house!) and large outdoor space for the party 4) ability to self cater and/or outside cater the event 5) dual purpose in providing sleeping quarters for some of our friends/family 6) dock/river access - so you and/or your guests can be shuttled or swept away in a boat - fun! We didn't end up doing this (we rented a trolley instead) but this could really provide a unique experience! 7) the history of this property made having our wedding here even more special 8) anniversaries - we are planning on traveling down to Saint Simons once a year and how special is it that we can rent out the property where we had our wedding! 8) last but not least, the Allen's are some of the most genuinely kind people I've ever met - they will do whatever they can to make your event/stay just perfect. Many of my friends and family said that our wedding was the best wedding they've ever been to! Feel free to reach out to the owners if you have any questions for me about the venue or our wedding - they can put us in touch and I would love to help! Good luck to you, hope you have a lovely event!

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • Britney

    Britney · Married on 06/08/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Great for vacation, not a wedding.

    First things first, these houses and the location are beautiful. I loved the atmosphere so much. However, I had a few issues using it for a wedding venue. It’s a good thing I had a small wedding because it would not have fit much more than I had. Not to mention the air conditioning went out in the cabin I was staying in while I was getting my make up done for my wedding. I had a bridesmaid’s make up slide off her face, it was 102 degrees in that cabin ! It took forever for them to send someone out to fix it and they were not the nicest. I also had issues with tables and chairs. They don’t provide them. I was told that 4 days before my wedding. There was one issue after another and the team renting these houses were not very kind when I spoke to them about these issues. If I’d stick to using this as a vacation rental.

    Sent on 07/23/2019

    Captain's Bluff's reply:

    Thank you for your review Britney and for the opportunity to address these issues! Looking back at our initial contact on 10/01/18, you were informed the rental included only the two houses, the barn, and the property. We like to say that Captain’s bluff is the perfect canvas to bring your creation to life!
    We also try to be as helpful and stress free as possible for our guests, especially our brides, as we want this to be the best day ever! Such as working with you on the deposit to hold the date, which we did on 10/01/18, when we only accepted a small portion of the required amount to ensure your date was locked in. On 10/03/18 the contract was signed and you acknowledged not yet having the mandatory event planner on 10/06/18. We kept in touch over the next eight months in regards to payments, etc. And on 6/04/19 received a message asking what we would be providing for your wedding on 6/8/19. Being from states away, we had the understanding that you would have the required event planner taking care of your needs!
    We do apologize about the air conditioning! As soon as I was made aware I called every air conditioning repair in the county on a Saturday to get this resolved as soon as I could! As you said, It was a hot one at 102 degrees and when doors are left open the humidity and heat cause the air conditioning to freeze up!
    We apologize that you are not anything but satisfied with your special day! We take great pride in our guests experience and have had events of all sizes enjoy the property! We would agree that it takes planning, preparation and organization for any event, especially at Captain’s Bluff!