Skip to main content
Weddings

Cantor Shira Ginsburg Reviews

Cantor Shira Ginsburg

Cantor Shira Ginsburg

New York, NY
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 70 Reviews
View more information

70 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 70
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4 User photos

  • Melody
    Melody D. Married on 02/26/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    What a dream come true!

    Working with Shira was the best experience ever. Before getting engaged we always thought that our officiant would show up on the day of our wedding, perform the service, and that’s it. We were so happy Shira taught us otherwise. She took the time to connect with my (now) husband and I, facilitates important pre-marital conversations, and provided us with the best guidance ever. Leading up to the big day we knew we were going to be married by someone who genuinely cared about us and understood us and the values we held close to our hearts. To this day we continue to get comments from our wedding guests about how beautiful the ceremony was. Shira was thoughtful, personal, and radiant (not to mentioned HER VOICE IS SPECTACULAR). Every single moment from wedding planning, through the wedding day, and after, Shira really took the time to connect with us and make sure our time of becoming Mr. and Mrs. was uniquely ours. We couldn’t have asked for a better officiant, cantor, and friend during the best time of our lives!

    Cantor Shira Ginsburg's reply:

    Melody and Ira - Thank you for this gorgeous review! What a total and complete joy to stand under the chuppah with such a beuatiful couple inside and out! Mazal Tov a million times over - wishing you all of the joy this world has to offer! xo Shira
  • M
    Marly M. Married on 02/20/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Ceremony

    Shira made our wedding day very special. She went above and beyond to make sure our interfaith wedding was perfect. Everybody felt included. Every word she said was meaningful for us, as if she knew us for a long time. She even took the time to work with our translator to have our wedding in Hebrew, English and Spanish. The ceremony was flawless and her singing gave a special touch. There wouldn’t have been a better wedding officiant for us. We highly recommend her. Marly and Aaron

    Cantor Shira Ginsburg's reply:

    Marly and Aaron - Thank you so much for this beautiful review! It was an absolute joy getting to you know both and an honor to be under the chuppah with you! Mazal Tov again!
  • Jacob
    Jacob G. Married on 01/01/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    More Than an Officiant

    Shira was one of the best friends we could have during our wedding planning process. She has a wonderful charisma about her that makes her easy to talk to about both the technical and religious aspects of both the wedding ceremony as well as the marriage that it will begin. Meeting with Shira wasn't just easy but we looked forward to it every time - her positive energy is truly infectious, and we found ourselves so happy leaving her office after every appointment with her.

    On the day of our wedding, Shira made sure to come early and quickly go through the logistics of our ceremony one last time and even made sure we were able to get some much-needed alone time right before we walked down the aisle. That kind of personal touch was so needed and I will never forget it when I remember our wedding day.

    Hiring Shira as an officiant is more than hiring somebody to perform your ceremony, it is hiring a caring person who will make your ceremony and wedding mean the most it can to you as a person.
  • Judith
    Judith E. Married on 12/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Shira is the best officiant!!

    We are so glad we chose Cantor Shira to officiate our wedding. Shira is a pleasure to work with and seemed to genuinely care about getting to know us as people and as a couple. She is super lovely and put us at ease throughout the entire process, always reminding us about what is truly important and ensuring we felt comfortable every step of the way. Many guests at our wedding noted how lovely the ceremony was and what a great job Shira did. Highly recommend!!
  • J
    Juli H. Married on 11/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Officiant For Wedding

    We used Cantor Shira after a recommendation from our wedding planner. She definitely did not disappoint! She worked with us before the wedding on several zoom meetings and made us feel so comfortable. On our wedding day, she was absolutely amazing. We had several guests come to us to mention it was the most beautiful ceremony. If you are looking for a cantor for your wedding, we HIGHLY recommend her. She is the best of the best!

    Cantor Shira Ginsburg's reply:

    Juli - Thank you so much for this beautiful review! I had the best time getting to know you and Zach and your wedding was beyond gorgeous! A true reflection of the two of you!
    xo Shira
  • Heidi
    Heidi F. Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best wedding officiant!

    Cantor Ginsburg is truly AMAZING! She offered many options to customize our wedding and mad us feel comfortable from the moment we met her. Many of our friends/ family commented on what a wonderful officiant she was
  • A
    Aaron Married on 10/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An Amazing Cantor that Delivered a Personalized and Intimate Wedding Ceremony

    We are so grateful we chose Cantor Shira to marry us. She took great care to get to know us over the course of several meetings and helped prepare us in so many ways. She took into consideration the traditions we wanted to incorporate into our ceremony, and prepared us with tools to help deepen our relationship and to make certain we had the conversations to share with each other the values and expectations we wanted for our marriage. Shira even went above and beyond in getting to know both of our families to help personalize the wedding and grow our bond with her as well.

    The day of the wedding, she led us and our close friends and family through a truly special and intimate ketubah signing ceremony. As our wedding was a Jewish interfaith wedding, she made sure to explain each element, so that everyone was able to understand the meaning and importance of the ritual. Finally, she delivered a beautiful and personalized ceremony that incorporated song, prayer, and a perfect balance of elegance and laughter that fit our relationship. We are truly blessed to have met Shira and to have had her officiate a wedding that we and our guests will never forget.
  • J
    Julian J. Married on 09/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Shira was an absolute pleasure to work with. She got to know my wife and I as couple and as individuals which was really channeled into the ceremony.

    Shira was an absolute pleasure to work with. She got to know my wife and I as couple and as individuals which was really channeled into the ceremony. The ceremony was so special and memorable. We wholeheartedly recommend her.
  • Yelena
    Yelena P. Married on 12/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Flawless and Magical!

    Cantor Ginsburg officiated our wedding last month and we cannot begin to express how incredibly lucky we were to find her. From the first time we spoke to her, we knew she was the right person to marry us. She was flexible with meeting times and really took the time to get to know us both individually and as a couple and helped put us at ease throughout the planning process. Our intimate ceremony was filled with personal touches that she took great care to include. Our friends and family continue to rave about how wonderfully touching and magical our ceremony was. Cantor Ginsburg was such a key element of our wedding day and we cannot recommend her enough!
  • J
    Jenna Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience

    Shira is an amazing, talented, supportive and knowledgeable. She’s the best at her craft. Our family couldn’t stop talking about how fabulous our ceremony was. So thankful that we hired her.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 09/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Shira really made our wedding day !

    This review is long overdue! I got married in September by Shira Ginsburg in NYC. I was recommended Shira by clients of mine, who just got married a few months prior in Brooklyn and they raved about her! They said that she really "made the wedding" and they could not recommend her enough.

    I contacted Shira right away, and after some emails and a phone call, we made an appointment to meet in person, over some coffee. Right away, my partner and I knew we wanted to hire her for our day. We had a short timeline, as I was very last minute, but she made sure to still fit in all of our meetings together. Over the next few meetings, she really got to know us, learn our backgrounds, and really gave us great food for thought. She never rushed us and she gave us her full attention in each meeting.

    The day of the wedding was very stressful for us, some things weren't going right with photos in the morning, but when we saw Shira, she reminded us what the day was about... and to take a deep breath. Shira has a very calming energy which is exactly what you need and want on your wedding day.

    Now to the ceremony... it was beautiful. She was able to incorporate really special moments about my father and my husband's mother, whom have passed. It was not a cookie-cutter-wedding. Shira took the time to really write something special and meaningful, just for us. All of my family and friends said it was one of the most beautiful ceremonies they have ever attended. Without going on and on, I would just say , if Shira is available, you should 100% hire her. She is amazing at what she does and we were grateful that we had her for our wedding.

    Cantor Shira Ginsburg's reply:

    Danielle,
    Thank you so much for this gorgeous review! It was such a joy to get to know you and Richard and to stand under the chuppah with you both on your wedding day! Sending you both lots of love!
  • G
    Greg O. Married on 09/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing amazing!

    Shira is absolutely fantastic. She made our ceremony feel so warm and special and curated everything exactly as we needed. She has such an amazing presence and led an absolutely perfect service. Thank you, Shira!
  • A
    Anna Married on 04/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Can't say enough good things!!!!

    We cannot say enough good things about Shira! Our Rabbi was unable to officiate our wedding unfortunately, but referred us to Shira. Admittedly, we were a bit nervous at first around the idea of having someone we didn't know officiate our wedding...you know, the most important day of our lives so far. But as soon as we walked into East End to meet with Shira, all our worries melted away.

    Shira is warm, kind and approachable. She set a number of meetings with us, taking the time to get to know us and to make sure we were spiritually, emotionally, and on a practical level, prepared to enter this new chapter in our lives as husband and wife. She doesn't just check the boxes of things she needs to do, she is fully invested in each couple she works with. She also made sure that our ceremony was totally reflective of us, and gave us great advice that helped us to make sure we were as present as possible at our wedding, enjoying each other, and not getting lost in the logistics and hosting.


    Fast forward to our wedding. Our ceremony was everything we could have wanted. I could cry just thinking about it! It was intimate and special. Shira wasn't talking at us, she was talking to us -- and she made sure to explain everything that was happening so that our guests could feel intimately part of it. Oh and her voice - oh my goodness, she has the voice of an angel!!! Another perk of having a cantor officiate your wedding :)

    Shira was -- dare I say it -- heaven sent to us! We highly recommend working with her if you need an officiant!
  • S
    Steven P. Married on 10/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Absolute BEST on every scale

    Our daughter was married by Cantor Ginzburg this past weekend. It was the most moving, beautiful, meaningful, and spiritual ceremony we have ever witnessed. But don't base it on us; we're biased. Countless guests, including people from from the other side of the wedding came up to us - and are still reaching out to us - to tell us just that. Absolutely extraordinary and entirely planned by our children and Shira.
  • R
    Rachel L. Married on 10/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience!

    Shira was phenomenal from beginning to end. She is warm, kind, and a pleasure to work with. She created such a warm and personalized ceremony and we could not be more grateful. The ceremony was our favorite part of the entire night. Shira is also incredibly organized and responsive and takes all of the stress out of the wedding planning process. My husband and I had such a great time getting to know her and couldn't be happier with our decision to have her marry us.
  • Brett
    Brett B. Married on 10/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing ceremony in Bermuda

    Shira was accommodating to everything that was needed with a destination wedding. She dealt with the difficult process of becoming ordained in Bermuda and managing her own travel arrangements. I would recommend using Shira to anyone who would enjoy a kind, thoughtful and engaging ceremony.
  • M
    Michael W. Married on 10/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Cantor Shira Ginsburg

    Cantor Shira was a delight. She knew all the right things to say in mentoring us for our big day and went out of her way to really connect on an individual level. She took the time to meet my parents and really understand our family. Not to mention, she put on an amazing wedding ceremony. Her words and her beautiful voice, we could not have been happier.
  • A
    Adina Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cantor Ginsburg didn't just provide us with an utterly beautiful ceremony grounded in our unique bond. The three pre-wedding counseling sessions we had with her deepened our own spiritual preparations for marriage. We were looking for a unique officiant--one who was meticulous in her Jewish observance and able to help us have a traditional Jewish ceremony, despite the fact that only one of the people marrying is Jewish. Shira delivered a beautiful ceremony while carefully explaining the deeper meaning behind the rituals and prayers so that all of our attendees felt comfortable, welcomed, and truly aware of the beauty of the traditions. She's also flat-out delightful and sweet to talk to. Cantor Ginsburg couldn't have been a better choice.
  • D
    David Married on 04/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shira was absolutely FANTASTIC! We could not have been happier with her officiating our wedding last weekend. Her beautiful spoken word and incredible singing voice brought our ceremony to new heights. We are so thankful to have her and would highly highly recommend her to anyone. Love, Amanda & Amanda
  • D
    Daniel L. Married on 04/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cantor Shira was absolutely wonderful. We met with her in the months leading up to our wedding. We found her easy to talk to and engage with, and guidance during this period was enlightening as well as practical. The [very positive] feedback we received on our wedding ceremony had everything to do with Cantor Shira’s amazing voice. We cannot day enough about how lucky we feel to have had her participate in our wedding preparation and ceremony.
  • J
    Jenny Married on 10/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cantor Shira is magical! Not only was she amazing to work with but so flexible in quickly helping us prepare for the big day. Her voice is a thing of beauty, but her words are works of art. Everyone commented on how memorable and special the ceremony was. Thank you Shira for everything!
  • J
    Jessie Married on 10/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shira was the key to the whole day and having her officiate made it all so incredibly special. Her council on both a spiritual and practical level were invaluable. We felt her sincerity and warmth from the moment we first spoke and our guests felt the same on our Big Day.

    My now husband is Jewish and I am not. We wanted a ceremony that centered around Jewish traditions and also represented us as as a couple. We wanted it to feel light/celebratory, somewhat traditional and personal.

    Finding someone to officiate was difficult - the rentaI rabbis we spoke to followed a script for every wedding, nondenominational officiants didn't honor his family's traditions enough and others we reached out to wouldn't marry us without me beginning the conversion process. We were extremely disheartened .... until Cantor Shira!

    Before we met Shira, The Wedding seemed like an expensive hassle and not like something we "needed" ten plus years into a relationship. Our first call with Cantor Shira changed all of that. Her patient and easily digestable explanations of Jewish traditions got us incredibly excited and brought home the importance of ritual. She also gave us practical things to discuss leading up the the wedding about potentially tricky things - finances, managing each others families, kids etc. Our conversations with her and the discussions she encouraged us to have leading up the the wedding gave us a platform to stop and think about the importance of the commitment we were making each other.

    The day of our wedding was the first time we heard her INCREDIBLE voice in person. It was GORGEOUS. We expected it to be nice - she is a Cantor - but it made the whole room light up. Our guests truly felt the care she took into getting to know us and LOVED the ceremony. They have been singing her praises since!
  • B
    Bradley Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I couldn't imagine our wedding without Cantor Shira. When we first met her, my wife and I instantly felt comfortable and we knew from the moment we left that she was the perfect person to share in our wedding. She walked us through all of the traditional elements of the ceremony and worked with us to create the ceremony that was perfect for us. Both of our families couldn't stop talking about how wonderful her words were. I can't recommend her enough!
  • N
    Natasha Married on 09/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shira was the perfect officiant for our wedding. She helped us prepare beforehand and walked us through each step. She helped us resolve challenges in the planning process and was truly a source of calm throughout. She was very flexible and she was even willing to do our ceremony on a Saturday. She got to know us before hand and it felt as if we had a friend officiating our ceremony. After our ceremony, we had so many people mention how great she was and how well she explained each element of our wedding. Do yourself a favor and have Shira officiate your wedding you won't regret it!