Callan Photo Reviews

38 | Reading, MA
See photos, pricing and details

38 Reviews for Callan Photo

Recommended by 100%

38
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

3 User photos

Callan Photo 1
Callan Photo 2
Callan Photo 3
Sort by:
  • C

    Claire · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    At breakfast the day after our wedding, my new husband said, "you know who was awesome at our wedding? Frankie and Shawn." And they were. Neither my husband nor I enjoy being in front of a camera but Shawn and Frankie made us feel relaxed. I was nervous that taking pictures was going to be time consuming and take us out of the moment of the day, but Shawn and Frankie made sure they got all the shots they needed without interfering with our celebration. They were on time and professional from start to finish. Shawn even reminded me during the reception that I had wanted a picture with my grandparents. Otherwise, in the craziness of the day, I would have forgotten to do that. And, of course, their photography is gorgeous. We couldn't have asked for better people to shoot our wedding.

    Sent on 09/18/2018
  • A

    Amy · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't be happier!

    Where do we begin?! Shawn and Frankie were absolutely amazing from our early pre-planning days all the way through photo delivery. Bottom line up front, we have zero regrets and wouldn't hesitate a second to recommend Shawn and Frankie to shoot your big day!

    We met Shawn and Frankie several years prior to our wedding at another friend's wedding so we were familiar with their professionalism, amazing work and ability to shoot a wide range of events/guests. We had a somewhat complicated wedding involving boat rides for 135 people to/from the ceremony and Shawn made it clear to us how excited they would be to shoot our wedding. They made us feel special and not like just another client.

    Shawn went out of his way to drive a couple hours from their home for our engagement shoot which also served as a preview of the wedding venue. Not once during the engagement shoot/wedding day did we ever feel uncomfortable or put into an awkward pose. Prior to the wedding, they asked if they could pull us outside during our reception if any outdoor shots came up. They found two opportunities during our reception that not only provided amazing photographs but also very well-time breaks from our busy day.

    Shawn and Frankie spent over 12 hours onsite for our wedding, and hustled the entire time. So many of our guests/friends commented on how well they fit in with our wedding and we have the photos to prove it! They found the perfect balance in their own artistic creativity while capturing the natural feel and beauty of our day.

    A huge thank you to Shawn and Frankie for all their hard work. Now go contact them for your wedding day!!!

    Sent on 03/18/2019
  • Abigail

    Abigail · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There's really no better photographers around...

    If I could give them more stars I would. Shawn and Frankie are awesome. Not just are they a really likeable couple, they are really awesome to shoot with and their photos are just absolutely stunning. They listen to you when you express concerns or mention things you would like them to focus on when taking pictures, they happily direct you if you are (like me) feeling awkward and don't know where to put yourself. We are so thankful we chose them for our wedding pictures, they came out stunning, and my husband and I are not the most photogenic people in the world. Thank you so much Shawn and Frankie! You are amazing.

    Sent on 10/21/2018
    Callan Photo 4
    Callan Photo 5
    Callan Photo 6
  • M

    Marissa · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shawn (and his wife Frankie) are absolutely WONDERFUL! He was great to work with throughout the planning process as well as day-of. He took into consideration all of the feedback and requests we had and kept the day super relaxed and organized. He has quickly become the photographer of choice for my group of friends and I recommend him without hesitation! 10/10!

    Sent on 05/21/2018
  • A

    Alanna · Married on 09/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an unbelievable experience with Shawn! Not only is he a great photographer, he is a kind person who genuinely wants to help make your wedding day go smoothly. We are absolutely in love with our photos - could not be happier!!

    Sent on 11/19/2017
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about how much I loved working with Shawn and Frankie. I've known them both for a long time and absolutely LOVE their work (and them!). They're so creative with their shots and so, so easy to work with. My husband and I are not used to being the center of attention so we were nervous about our engagement shots, but Shawn and Frankie were so amazing and helped us break out of our shells and got some really fantastic shots. On our wedding day, they were absolutely perfect - they assisted with the day of timeline and really helped take so much stress off organizing the wedding party for photos and with the other pre-ceremony logistics. And of course, our photos are beautiful!

    Sent on 11/22/2016
  • User5194065 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shawn and Frankie were absolutely amazing to work with. Their work is breathtaking we were both so happy with our photos! Let's just say I haven't stopped looking at them since I received them. Thank you Shawn and Frankie!!

    Sent on 01/15/2017
  • A

    Amy · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was such a pleasure to work with Shawn and Frankie! Right from our first interaction with them, they were nothing but kind, warm, professional, and super helpful throughout the whole planning process and on our wedding day itself. My husband and I had our engagement shoot with them as well as our wedding day. We are so in love with both sets of photos! Shawn and Frankie made us feel comfortable (since sometimes taking so many photos can be awkward!), and were so down to earth, easygoing, and flexible. They really did an amazing job capturing the story of our wedding day. I would absolutely recommend Callan Photo!

    Sent on 11/15/2017
  • User4627886 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I truly can't say enough about Callan Photo! We hired Callan Photo for our engagement photos as well as our wedding day and have been so happy with our experience. If you’ve looked at their work, you already know that Shawn and Frankie are extremely talented and professional photographers, which is why we initially chose them to capture our wedding day. However, what might not be as readily apparent from the pictures, but is certainly equally important, is that Shawn and Frankie are not only unbelievably talented photographers, they’re also two wonderful individuals, which is important when you’re going to be spending the most important day of your life with them! I don’t think I ever truly considered the importance of the personality behind the talent when it comes to photographers, but working with Shawn and Frankie has made it abundantly clear that it’s so important to truly love the people who will be working with you on your wedding day. Before meeting Shawn and Frankie, my husband and I were nervous about feeling like we would be constantly posing for pictures. However, Shawn and Frankie made it clear that they simply wanted to capture us exactly as we were - two excited, nervous, silly people about to have one of the most important days of our lives. Throughout the day, Shawn and Frankie rolled with every punch that came their way - they managed to direct our rowdy wedding party with ease, they laughed along with us in the silly moments, and respectfully captured the more solemn ones without ever making us feel like we were under a camera lens, which allowed us to truly enjoy our day and each other. We are so thankful that we will be able to relive our wedding day through their photography for years to come. I cannot recommend Shawn and Frankie highly enough!!

    Sent on 08/31/2016
  • J

    Justin · Married on 08/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can’t begin to express how thankful my wife and I are that we hired Shawn and Frankie Callan. Their work had initially caught our eye on Facebook and when we reached out to ask about other couples’ experiences, we were met with glowing recommendations. We’re so happy and honored to be able to add to those now. From our very first meeting with Shawn, he immediately put us at ease and made us feel comfortable being ourselves around him. Shawn and Frankie were by our sides for every moment of our wedding day - from getting ready in the morning to our exit eight hours later, they quietly captured the moments as they unfolded without ever interfering or making us feel like we were in front of a camera. They handled our rowdy wedding party with an incredible amount of patience and humor, stayed with us for outdoors despite 90 degree weather and 95% humidity, and allowed us to feel calm and comfortable having an unplugged ceremony, knowing that they had the talent to capture every moment for us so that our guests could be present with us. Thank you, Shawn and Frankie, for everything. You two are amazing!

    Sent on 09/04/2016
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED Shawn and Frankie, we had them for our engagement pictures and our wedding last month. They were awesome, great pricing and so fun to have around. They will accommodate anything you want and need on your day for pictures. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 09/19/2016
  • A

    Anneliese · Married on 07/31/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such a wonderful experience with Shawn (and Frankie!). They were incredibly professional during the whole process, and at the same time made us feel comfortable enough to relax and be ourselves - this resulted in amazing pictures that captured us, and our day, perfectly. Shawn knows exactly what he's doing, and his confidence in his work made our wedding day portraits run smoothly, efficiently, and stress-free! Two wonderful people to work with, amazing photos - we truly felt like we had the most perfect photographers for our wedding!

    Sent on 08/30/2016
  • D

    Debra · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shawn and Frankie were absolutely wonderful! Since my husband and I felt a little awkward about having all eyes on us, we met with Shawn for an engagement photo session. Shawn was very professional and gave gentle instruction of how to stand and where to look when necessary. Overall, the photos look natural and true to us. Fast forward 6 months, and it was time to get married. Shawn and Frankie spent most of the day with us, starting with us getting ready with our wedding parties up until everyone was on the dance floor at the reception. Our first look photos turned out gorgeous and again we’re very natural and true to us as a couple. During the ceremony and reception, Shawn and Frankie accurately documented the whole event without being intrusive. They subtly captured the whole essence of our wedding. We are very pleased with their work and highly recommend them! You really can’t go wrong!

    Sent on 07/16/2016
  • User5564169 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shawn and Frankie were awesome! They were so professional and so nice and they were great at herding our families. They even braved a cold New England day, taking pictures outside before, during, and after our outdoor, snowy, October ceremony. They also were spotted on our dance floor singing along to the music. I cannot recommend them enough.

    Sent on 10/27/2015
  • L

    Leslie · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shawn and Frankie were amazing!! They were both so easy going and perfect to deal with during the hectic wedding day! They stayed calm, which kept me calm! I loved them and cannot say enough good things about them! I actually just got my pictures back, and they truly are beautiful!! I have gotten so many compliments. I would recommend them to everyone!!

    Sent on 10/27/2015
  • User4273014 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot speak highly enough of Callan Photo. Shawn and Frankie are the perfect pair and were amazing to have as our wedding photographers. We met Shawn back in the fall when he shot our engagement photos. He took us all around to different spots in Beacon Hill and Boston. For the wedding he and Frankie were everywhere and really went out of their way to seek out great spots for a range of pictures. Not only do they take amazing photos, but they are personable and professional.

    Sent on 06/29/2015
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Callan Photo is simply perfection! My husband and I cannot say enough great things about Callan Photo! From the minute you meet Shawn, you know you are in good hands. Shawn and his wife Frankie are professional, thoughtful, caring, creative, and you trust them with their work. They make that day all about you and it shows. Their work is great and we receive so many compliments on their work. They are so awesome and kind to everyone at the venue and to the guests! There are so many amazing pictures it is hard to have 1 favorite. During our wedding, Shawn and Frankie took the time to take some of the best candids and "must have" photos that we will be able to cherish forever. We would highly recommend Callan Photo!! THANK YOU!

    Sent on 05/26/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Callan Photo is incredible! Frankie & Shawn are professional and very flexible, which was important for our being a Seattle based couple having an engagement shoot and wedding in the Boston area. Friends, family and even coworkers are saying that our photos are the most gorgeous and representative of who we are as a couple. We had lots of weird ideas for our engagement and wedding and they took them on and added so many of their own unique ideas to our photos. We are such so happy with the quality!
    Everyone should use them. Seriously!

    Sent on 10/24/2014
  • N

    Neil · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shawn is a remarkable photographer and I was floored with the quality of our wedding pictures. He captured every important moment perfectly and has a really nice style is his photography along with some fantastic camera equipment. He listened and followed through with all of our requests and was really easy to work with.

    I plan on using Callan Photo as our family photography in the future. We have had so many people ask who the photographer was at our wedding as the pictures were so impressive. He truly sets himself apart and obviously has a passion for what he does. I would recommend them to anyone and my wife and I are thrilled with how everything went.

    Sent on 12/23/2014
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 10/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shawn was amazing to work with right from the start. He was very flexible, knowledgeable, and has a true passion for photography. From picking the most beautiful location for engagement photos to delivering wonderful wedding pictures, we had complete trust and faith in his ability to get the perfect shots. We knew we didn't have to worry about our photos on our wedding day since Shawn was in complete control capturing all the right moments. Shawn and Frankie work perfectly as a team and we highly recommend them to anyone getting married!

    Sent on 01/02/2015
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All I can say is WOW. Shawn and Frankie are truly professionals and their creativity and skill shows in their photos. We would not have trusted anyone else to capture our wedding day. It was a pleasure working with them. I cannot recommend them enough!

    Sent on 10/22/2014
  • User4399248 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Callan Photo was one of the best decisions I made. Our wedding photos look like they belong in a magazine and I'm so happy with the mix of unplanned and portrait shots that I have received. I planned my wedding from a far and Shawn did a great job of scheduling Skype calls to start the planning and an in person meeting when I arrived in town. I didn't know exactly how to do a "first look" but knew that I wanted one. Shawn helped us to figure out the best place to stage the shot and when it came time- I didn't even know he was there, but he got amazing photos of the moment. Shawn and Frankie were a delight to work with throughout the day. They are both professional and sweet. I hope to get the chance to work with them again...maybe for some newborn photos in a few years :)

    Sent on 09/14/2014
  • T

    Tara · Married on 06/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shawn & Frankie shot our wedding at the end of June...it is now August and I am still staring at hundreds of gorgeous photos, trying to decide which ones to purchase as canvas wraps and prints. They were professional, affordable, and adorable :)

    Sent on 08/18/2014
  • User4212732 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can't say enough good things about Shawn and Frankie. Although the quality of their work speaks for itself (amazing), these two were so great to work with. They made us so comfortable and were completely non-intrusive to our wedding day, and the results were stunning. We would absolutely recommend them, we are so thankful, and plan to use them in the future to capture our family as it grows.

    Sent on 07/14/2014
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 04/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have only wonderful things to say about my experience with Callan Photo. Shawn and Frankie were both genuinely kind, energetic, and professional. I cannot imagine working with anyone else.

    We planned our Maine wedding from Philadelphia and Shawn made the process completely painless with Skype meetings and flexibility to shoot our engagement photos when we were in the area for the Holidays.

    On our wedding day guests thought that Shawn and Frankie were our long time friends. That personal yet professional energy was exactly what we needed to enjoy the process of taking beautiful photos that we will have for a lifetime.

    I hope to work with Shawn and Frankie for all of our family's future photography needs. They're great people and their services cannot be beat.

    Sent on 06/26/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review