Cakes to Remember Reviews

61 | Brookline, MA
See photos, pricing and details

61 Reviews for Cakes to Remember

Recommended by 98%

61
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9
61 Cakes to Remember Reviews
Sort by:
  • J

    jen · Married on 01/27/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I planned an out of town wedding and Ellen was such a joy to work with over the phone. She designed the PERFECT cake!!! I sent her a few photos and my stationary and was so so impressed by how she made the design of the cake fit into my wedding perfectly and it was gorgeous. She also was so accommodating with helping us with our out of town tasting. She also made a gluten free topper and anniversary cake for me!!! The cake was delicious!!!!

    Cakes to Remember 1
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 10/29/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We needed a cake with both a gluten free layer. Ellen was able to do our top tier gluten free and keep the layer completely separate from the rest of the cake to avoid cross-contamination. Both the GF red velvet and regular red velvet (both with cream cheese frosting) received rave reviews from our guests. Best gluten free cake I have had! Oh and the cake was gorgeous to boot - we used one of her simply CTR designs and had our florist add a few flowers as well.

  • N

    Natazia · Married on 09/30/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Talk about easy! Working with Ellen was a breeze, and the cake exceeded our expectations (highly recommend the strawberry chiffon flavor!). Thanks so much!

  • User3786145 · 1+ year ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen is a true professional and a master baker!! It was an absolute pleasure to work with her! She accommodated our schedule (I was helping my daughter plan her wedding from the DC area) in meeting her at her shop and executed our vision flawlessly! Her cakes are not just visually beautiful but truly delicious (equally important to us). We chose the Lemon Satin, which was fresh, bright, and moist. So many people complimented us on the cake! We made sure the cake was large enough to allow for an anniversary tier to be savored next year! We let Ellen know she would be our choice for all family celebration cakes in the future. We most highly recommend Ellen and Cakes to Remember!!

  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 12/10/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING cake! It tasted great, it looked even better! Ellen was able to use a design that I found on Pinterest and replicate it perfectly. She even added a few GF cupcakes for my GF guests!

  • T

    Taryn · Married on 08/07/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was one vendor my now husband was exited about going to try. We had been to a few other tastings and never had a "wow this cake is delicious" moment, and we were beginning to think that maybe that is just how it is with wedding cake. That changed when we found CTR, the cake flavors were delicious! We did 2, the chocolate caramel fudge and the strawberry chiffon and both were incredible. The cake looked as good as it tasted too! We got some large sugar flowers that were beautiful. I highly recommend CTR!

  • M

    Molly · Married on 04/30/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a terrific experience working with Ellen and the Cakes to Remember team! Everything was extremely easy on our end, which was such a treat among all the other wedding planning activities and decisions. We had a lot of fun tasting four delicious samples (we got to bring them home which was nice to be able to enjoy them at our leisure), and the classic wedding white we chose for the day of was unbelievable. Several of our guests commented that it was the best wedding cake they've ever had, and one guest even told us she was stealing leftovers off other tables! Cakes to Remember was a fantastic vendor, and we highly recommend their services!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/23/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazingly delicious cake, and Ellen is lovely to work with! My husband and I had done many cake tastings before visiting Ellen at Cake's to Remember, and after just 1 bite of her strawberry orange blossom cake, we knew we had found our wedding cake. Absolutely delicious flavors, beautifully designed cake, and we were able to get a gluten free cake in addition to the main tiered cake which was very helpful. I really appreciated that I was able to serve the same flavors to all of our guests, and both types of cake were equally delicious! Ellen and her team were very professional, helpful, friendly, and a pleasure to work with. I can't wait for my next birthday so I can get some more of her cake!

    Sent on 05/07/2016

    Cakes to Remember's reply:

    Thanks Katie! You were a pleasure to work with too :-)
  • B

    Kelly · Married on 07/25/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was absolutely delicious and beautiful! My husband cannot eat gluten so we searched for a bakery that could provide a gluten-free option for the two of us and "regular" cake for the rest of our guests. Ellen does not just offer gluten-free cake - she takes pride in making GF cake that is just as good as "regular" cake! My husband was thrilled that he would be able to fully enjoy our wedding cake. (We did the the top tier GF and the remaining tiers as "regular" cake.) Ellen was an absolute pleasure to work with. For example, when I asked whether she thought a particular cake topper would work, she took the time to sketch out how it would look on the cake design I had chosen.

    Sent on 08/05/2015

    Cakes to Remember's reply:

    I very much appreciate your sharing your experience! It was a real pleasure working with you too!
  • A

    Anya · Married on 07/25/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Ellen was amazing from the very beginning. She totally got our style and made a cake that screamed "us" - it was a gorgeous classic 4-tier cake decorated with sugar orchids of various shades of purple. But aside from the looks, it was also extremely delicious! We opted for 2 flavors - strawberry/orange and blueberry/lemon. They were to die for! We can't wait to have it again for our first anniversary. Cakes to Remember makes very tasty cakes and provides outstanding service. Their cakes are truly the ones to remember!

    Sent on 08/11/2015

    Cakes to Remember's reply:

    Thanks Anya- loved working with you too! :-)
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 06/13/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My cake from Cakes to Remember was included in my wedding package from the Fairmont Copley Plaza. While I couldn't choose the vendor, I couldn't have been happier. The cake was beautiful, with cascading roses that perfectly matched the cake topper I provided to Ellen a week before the wedding. It was also delicious! We chose a traditional white cake with raspberry, and received many compliments from guests. Ellen was a pleasure to work with. We live abroad so we ate our anniversary tier as a final celebration with my parents a fews after the wedding before we left for our honeymoon, and it was just as good the second time!

  • User4369288 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING CAKE!!! Next to the food served at our reception, our guests LOVED the cake. It was absolutely divine with the flavors very well balanced and the frosting was perfect. The team at Cakes to Remember did an amazing job. Our top layer didn't survive our first year of marriage, as we consumed it the day after the wedding. It was that good.

    Our tasting was also fun and delicious.

  • B

    Bernise · Married on 01/03/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She listened to our preference and delivers with great design of the cake. The taste of the cake was all delicious. Really happy with the wedding cake. Everyone loves the cake too.

  • L

    lisa · Married on 11/15/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen is the perfect combination of a professional cake artist and a terrific, easy going person to work with. She accomodated our particular color requests for one of her “Simple CTR” cakes, and the result was absolutely beautiful--not to mention DELICIOUS! A number of our guests complimented the cake’s design, and many said it was the best tasting wedding cake they’d ever had. Ellen was very easy to get in touch with throughout the process, and she is incredibly easy to work with. The pricing was on par with other cake designers in the area, and the “Simply CTR” cake designs are an incredibly affordable option without sacrificing interesting design and taste. It is no surprise that Cakes to Remember is often on the Best of Boston vendors lists.

  • E

    e · Married on 10/19/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful professional organization. Asked for a Norwegian wedding cake and they supplied a beauty. relatives were very impressed. Highly recommended. Easy to communicate with and always in the loop.

  • R

    Rupal · Married on 08/02/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen was great to work with and very flexible, communicative and responsive. Most importantly, her cake was delicious! We're so happy we worked with Ellen, she did not disappoint!

  • User4131342 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen was wonderful to work with! She brainstormed with me over the course of two meetings to design my cake, and the finished product was absolutely stunning (not to mention delicious!!). I can't recommend her highly enough!

  • A

    Alissa · Married on 05/03/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We ordered the lemon chiffon cake and it was delicious. The owner was very responsive and worked with our last-minute request! I was very happy with this choice.

  • L

    Leigh · Married on 10/05/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Ellen at Cakes to Remember to create our wedding cake and a surprise grooms cake. Ellen was creative and very easy to work with. During our initial meeting she translated our ideas into a beautiful four tier design. We chose an ivory buttercream cake with two flavors, carrot and classic wedding. Ellen also designed a Bruins themed chocolate grooms cake with two sculpted players fighting on a hockey puck. Both cakes were beautiful and exceeded our expectations! All three flavors were delicious and the carrot cake was especially amazing!

  • A

    Ami · event on: 01/12/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cakes to Remember is a fabulous job designing and creating a cake for my engagement party. The cake fit perfectly w/ the decor and was absolutely delicious as well.

  • User3287630 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen Bartlett is an artist. She met with us, came up with a sketch and design, we tasted flavors, and she put everything together in a beautiful personalized wedding cake, with broken cascades of coral peonies down the three layers to match the bouquets. It was delicious, a strawberry lemon filling and buttercream icing. So yummy and A beautiful finish to our reception meal.

  • User2575307 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Ellen from Cakes to Remember to design my cake. She was so patient and worked with me to design exactly what I was looking for. The cake looked exactly as I imagined. It was perfect! Not only that but the cake tasted DELICIOUS. I am a huge cake/frosting fan- and the salted caramel filling was divine. I heard from numerous people how delicious the cake was, so not only beautiful but also tasty! I was impressed. (This was included in my wedding package with the venue.)

  • C

    Christiana · Married on 03/23/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen and her team at Cakes to Remember were great. They were able to create a delicious gluten free tier for our wedding cake, and made a beautiful and elegant cake that was exactly as we had described to her. All of our guests loved the cake and took it home to enjoy the next day.

  • User2726018 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen is a true artist! The wedding cake she created for us was absolutely beautiful and delicious!!!!!! Everyone at the wedding loved it! Ellen was a real pleasure to work with. I highly recommend Ellen for your special event!

  • A

    Annette · Married on 09/15/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen Bartlett of Cakes to Remember is Fabulous!! She is creative, passionate and makes amazing cake. It is not only beautiful, but tastes divine. Guests raved about both the beauty flavors - I can't imagine hiring anyone else. She even met our crazy request to hide a little surprise figure under the top tier (a request of my beloved), and she custom sketched the cake design just for us.

    We also had little ones attending our wedding and needed nut-free cupcakes and she delivered perfectly. We are so happy with her and would recommend her to everyone. I can't wait for out future celebrations as husband and wife to call upon her expertise again, or the anniversary layer that we may need to dig into prior to the anniversary because it's just that good! : )

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review