Cakes by Chris Furin Reviews

12 | Rockville, MD
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for Cakes by Chris Furin

Recommended by 92%

12

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • User4149974 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will not regret having Chris bake you a cake. I contacted Chris about 5 months ahead of my wedding date and had a great phone conversation about a helmet cake that I wanted made. On the day of the wedding, the entire process was seamless - he delivered to a hotel a DELICIOUS cake that looked amazing and exactly as I imagined! I did not have to worry about a thing. I could not have been more happy to go with Chris. He responded quickly to emails, was incredibly easy to work with, and made the process simple. His excitement about baking surely shows.

  • N

    nikol · Married on 04/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris made a cake for my wedding this past weekend. I have to start by saying that Chris is extremely nice, professional, and very easy to work with. I was planning my wedding long distance, and he worked hard and was super flexible to accommodate me. He listened to everything I had to say and paid attention to all the pictures I sent him. Finally, the cake was waaaay above my expectations, much better than in all my pictures. It was simply angelic and SOOO DELICIOUS!!!!! All my guests were commenting on the cake, saying how delicious it was and kept asking where I got it from. Chris is simply amazing and I recommend him to everyone.

  • L

    aimee · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely loved working with Chris--his company was one of the choices I had through my venue. I wasn't sure if he would have the same commitment since we didn't come to him separately, but through an arrangement with Sequoia...but he really went above and beyond for us. I can't say enough great things about him
    From the tastings, to my last minute indecisiveness, Chris was always sooo patient and willing to do whatever it took to make us happy.
    The finished product was fantastic--people are saying it is the best wedding cake they've had.
    It was truly everything I wanted in a wedding cake.

  • A

    A. · Married on 10/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Chris Furin to make my daughter Aeralyn's Candy land birthday cake. And let me tell you...it was AMAZING!!!! Not only did he design the cake like the picture I sent him, but he made it look even better than I had anticipated. The guests were WOW'd by it's appearance and the taste of all 3 tiers of the cake were phenomenal!!!!! I've already recommended him to many of my guests. Chris can make some mean cakes, his prices are fair and he was a pleasure to work with!!! I plan to use him for any and all future cake needs!!!!

    :o)

  • F

    Farah · Married on 06/24/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris was absolutely wonderful to work with and the cake was beautiful and delicious. He was very flexible and accommodating to our schedule when setting up a our cake tasting, he was prepared with all the options we had asked for and more!!! He was easy to communicate with and was very responsive to emails regarding our cake design.... The cake was exactly as I pictured it! We definitely recommend working with him and can't wait to have another special event so that we can get another one of his amazing cakes! Thank you so much Chris!!!

  • S

    Shana · Married on 07/15/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was devastated when I found out that Furin's of Georgetown was closing. We were lucky in that our wedding was two weeks before their last day in business. However, we do have Chris's contact information and will be contacting him every anniversary to make a cake for us! Chris makes the best cake, hands down, in all of DC...maybe the world. We did a "DC desserts" table for our wedding where we selected our favorite dessert vendors around the city. Furins's won the taste test at the wedding and there was not a sliver left of the two cakes we had purchased.
    Chris was so pleasant to work with. He did a nice job decorating the cakes in the theme we desired. When he found out that another one of our dessert vendors, who shall remain nameless, would not deliver outside of DC (our reception was in MD) Chris offered to bring their dessert down to us when he dropped off the cakes. I hope to see the Furin family make a comeback in the DC community soon!

  • M

    mary · Married on 07/27/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris made us a beautiful and delicious wedding cake for our wedding at Sequoia on July 27. He captured exactly what we had envisioned and created an amazing cake. We received many compliments.. He was very personable and easy to meet wish - we knew as soon as we met with him and saw what a great person he was and tasted his cake samples that he was perfect for the occasion.

  • N

    nicole · Married on 11/11/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake I got from Chris was part of a package deal with my venue. I don't think they offer it anymore, but his cakes are worth the money. When we did our testing we originaly only gave 3 flavors as my planner misunderstood the options. Chris brought HUGE cupcakes of all his flavor options for the cake and the frostings because he didn't think we should choose from just the 3 flavors we sent him.

    The cakes are to die for! We instantly knew he was the choice we were going with. We sent him a design we saw on the Knot and with just a few tweaks to meet what we wanted he created the perfect cake. Our flavors were Lemon, chocolate and Strawberry Shortcake (white cake with strawberries and whip cream). It was all so great, I was honestly hoping the guests wouldn't eat so I could take extra cake home with me. Everyone talked how moist and flavorful the cake was and the frosting wasn't too sweet or too bland at all.

  • User4522777 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I only worked with Chris via email and over the phone but he was so sweet. The cake came out exactly as we discussed and the flavors were delicious. You CANNOT beat his prices!!! Don't waste your time paying like $12 per person for a dry cake, book Chris and you will be so very happy and full of delicious cake.

  • E

    Elisabeth · Married on 11/12/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We reached out to Chris based on the recommendation of a friend who used him, and we were pleased with the lovely and tasty three-tier cake he produced for us. Chris worked with us to accommodate our budget as well as my now-husband's and my differing preference for cake flavors (solution: one tier was carrot while the others were "chocolicious" and both were great). He's a nice guy and overall was pretty easy to work with. We did have a little trouble connecting with him at first but this was in the summer just before his parents' bakery in Georgetown closed so we suspect that was related; after he was fully set up on his own things smoothed out. We would recommend him and would use him again if we needed a cake for another specialty occasion (at least right now his work is not limited to wedding cakes).

  • J

    Julie · Married on 01/14/2012

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We used Cakes by Chris Furin for our wedding cake mainly because it was included as part of the package with our reception site. We met Chris for our tasting and tried the various flavors and discussed the cake design. He was friendly and easy to work with.

    On our wedding day, I have to admit upon first seeing the cake that I was a little disappointed. I had sent him an inspiration photo that he said he could replicate. Our cake design was a fairly loose interpretation of what we had in mind. Not sure if my expectations were too high?

    The biggest disappointment was in tasting the cake -- we had requested a marble cake with chocolate mousse frosting in between the layers, but our cake used a white sugar frosting instead. Way too sweet for our liking.

    Sent on 02/29/2012

    Cakes by Chris Furin's reply:

    I do my best to match up photos customers send me, but in this case the customers cake was part of a 'pre-paid package' at a set price. I can only make a cake comparable to the price that was paid. I try to always go above and beyond the package price, but we have to be realistic.
  • Katie

    Katie · Married on 05/26/2012

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The cake itself is delicious- but that's where the accolades stop. Like other reviewers, my cake was also apart of my wedding package. At the first meeting, we had numerous pictures of cake designs with detailed comments of what I expected. When I arrived at my reception I was devastated when I saw my cake- it was an extremely loose interpretation of my design. We were never informed prior to my reception that my design would cost extra than what my package provided- instead, he created his own design that was very sloppy and crooked. Extremely disappointed. So upset I can't use any pictures of my cake or cake cutting.

    Sent on 06/11/2012

    Cakes by Chris Furin's reply:

    I was given a photo of a very expensive cake for this customers (iincluded package deal) wedding cake. The budget for the cake was roughly 25% of the cost of the cake in the photo provided. In addressing the comments of the cake quality-I reviewed the photos of the cake and it looks as if the cake sat out (after it was delivered in perfect shape) and began to melt. I cannot control how a caterer or other vendor handles a cake after it is delivered. As a curtesy to this customer I offered her a free cake to make her happy and she never even answered my email. I can only try so much.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review