Skip to main content
Weddings

Cafe Lachine Reviews

Cafe Lachine View more information

44 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 44
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • E
    Emma T. Married on 09/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious taco bar!

    We selected the taco bar option from Johanna's Catering (Cafe Lachine) and all our guests LOVED it! Johanna and her team were super easy to work with all along, answering all our questions promptly and always giving us detailed info. On the day of, they arrived right on time and everything went seamlessly. There was more than enough food for our guests and everyone raved about it!
  • Brian
    Brian A. Married on 04/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything to love

    We had to wait an agonizing 7 months between our (complimentary!) tasting and getting to eat Cafe Lachine's food again. We have already had several guests ask if there is a corresponding restaurant so they can go back and eat more of this delicious food (The taco and dessert bars are highly recommended). Cafe Lachine was incredibly professional and quick on the day-of and in all of the moments up to it. Whenever we were uncertain about something, our questions were answered with kindness. When we realized we didn't want what we had previously thought at our tasting, Johanna had a different sample ready to go. Our catering experience was so stress-free and was incredibly reasonable.
  • P
    Perry M. Married on 11/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Experience

    We hired Cafe Lachine to cater our bridal brunch and to provide bar services at the wedding. The food for the brunch was absolutely delicious and the service and set up for the wedding was perfect. They were extremely easy to communicate with and were really flexible with what we were looking for. We highly recommend them!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Kristina
    Kristina H. Married on 11/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Johanna's Cafe Lachine catering was simply AMAZING!

    Johanna is an absolutely amazing and talented Chef! Café Lachine has an extensive and mouth-watering menu, ranging from perfectly done and delicious “standards” to tasty and creative specialty dishes. The diner was five-star fabulous in taste and presentation. Johanna and the staff at the reception were friendly, accommodating, and hospitable to all our guests, family and friends. We didn’t want a traditional decorative cake, so we chose a few different desserts which were all delicious but the single layer, simple but sophisticated chocolate cake that Johanna made per our request was simply AMAZING! We can undoubtedly say that the Johanna and the Café Lachine team was nothing short of perfection. There is no caterer that could have done such an amazing and memorable reception. We cannot thank Johanna and Café Lachine for making our wedding reception one we will never forget!
  • Kevin
    Monica Married on 07/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Yummy in My Tummy - Catered to You

    If you are looking for delicious food specifically catered to you and not picked directly from one set menu, look no further. Cafe Lachine hosted both our wedding rehearsal and reception. For the rehearsal we decided on something fun - - who doesn't love tacos?! They were a huge hit. At the last minute, we made a special request for churros. OMG, can we all say, "delicious" together?! The churros were divine with an apple filling and a yummy caramel sauce. People are still talking about them. For our wedding, we had an array of food and everything came out perfect. As the bride, it's hard to actually taste everything. With that said, our guests especially loved the fig salad the array of appetizers and the variety of options they had to choose from. We had gluten free options and mini desserts that made you come back for more - - isn't that the point, since they are mini's? Johanna and the Cafe Lachine team are phenomenal and an overall joy to work with. If we had it to do over again, we would choose Cafe Lachine again and again. Thank you for an absolutely spectacular array of food, for your professional delivery and for your consistent desire to deliver with a smile! Can't wait to visit when we are next in the Outer Banks!
  • Bernadette
    Bernadette Married on 06/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic Food and Service

    We hired Cafe Lachine to cater my son and daughter-in-law's wedding. Best decision we made. From the moment we started working with Johanna and Kelly, until they finished up after the wedding, we could not have asked for a better experience. The wide variety of food was terrific, and the servers and bartenders were outstanding. We will use them again for our next big event!
  • Katie
    Katie M. Married on 04/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious and professional!

    Love love love Johanna and her team at Cafe Lachine! The staff was professional and great at the wedding and the food delivered. They even created an off the menu passed appetizer for me and it turned out delicious. Highly recommend!
  • Rachael
    Rachael Married on 10/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Cafe Lachine delivers on service and flavor!

    My husband and I held our destination wedding in the Outer Banks, NC. Planning a destination wedding is challenging, so working with vendors who were responsive, caring, and accommodating was imperative. Cafe Lachine stood out immediately among the many catering options in the Outer Banks because of qualities - and we hadn’t even tried their food yet! Through and through, they were an absolute pleasure to work with. They never made me felt bad about asking too many questions and proactively put any concerns I had to rest before they even had a chance to form! We loved working with them so much that we also decided to have them cater a taco bar for our rehearsal dinner and a post-wedding BBQ - our guests raves! They went above and beyond, working with me to create custom desert tarts for my wedding day and even dressing in 1920s attire to lend to the decor! Cafe Lachine also bartended my wedding! Being from Boston, It was so important to make sure that not only were there no lines at the bars but that their staff helped my guests enjoy themselves - and did they ever. Cafe Lachine is a class act with endless capabilities, both creatively and culinarily. Thank you for making our wedding week unforgettable.
  • M
    Mikaela Married on 08/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our food was insanely good. The groom and I are vegetarians, so we had a vegetarian-heavy selection- and I think we created more than a few converts. Goat cheese won-tons with blueberry compote, black bean sliders, fried green tomatoes- just amazing appetizers. We had them do our wedding cake too, and dessert table- which had the best brownies I have ever had. The vegetarian dish was obviously brilliant, but everyone was also raving about the pineapple glazed salmon. Honestly, I think this was the best food I have ever had at a wedding- and I get that I am biased because I think my wedding was amazing, but really, the food was SO GOOD.
  • B
    Becky Married on 05/19/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you don't hire Cafe Lachine for your wedding catering you are missing out. Sara and Johanna and team were amazing - from every email and phone call to our tasting to the wedding day. They handled all our catering needs - appetizers, dinner, bar, and dessert - including our macaron tower wedding cake! We also had our rehearsal brunch (instead of dinner) at their cafe, which was delicious.
    Everyone raved about the food all night and into the weeks afterward. Multiple guests and even the other vendors said it was some of the BEST food they've had at a wedding.
    The staff who were onsite for the reception were top notch - they kept our guests happy and made sure our (the bride and groom's) glasses were always full of champagne or beer.
    We wish we lived closer to we could eat at their cafe all the time.
    So if you are looking for the best caterer in OBX for your wedding, go book them now! Because WOW. Love them.
  • J
    Jaime Married on 04/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Cafe Lachine came to me as a recommendation from my wedding planner. We wanted to keep it VERY casual in terms of food - buffet style, tacos (my favorite) and bbq (his). We were worried that we wouldn't be able to pull this off without hiring multiple caterers and/or breaking the bank. But Cafe Lachine was able to deliver exactly what we wanted and MORE! We visited their restaurant several months before the wedding for a tasting and were blown away by all the delicious food we had to choose from. Since both of us are big dessert fanatics, we opted for a smaller cake and Cafe Lachine put together a spread of hand-held desserts to go along with it. Everything was delicious but the GIANT HO-HO was really the highlight for me!!
    Johanna was on site the day of the wedding, and everyone from the folks preparing the food to the bartenders were so professional and courteous. We had so many compliments all the food and services all night long. I could not be happier with all they did and will definitely be visiting their restaurant when we return to the OBX! :)
  • D
    Donna Married on 04/19/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If I could give Cafe Lachine 10 stars plus I would! They are certainly worth it! My family traveled from quite a distance for my daughter's wedding and planning things remotely was definitely out of my comfort zone. Having that special "contact person" is critical. Enter Sara! From the first time I spoke with her I knew I was in great hands. She listened to what their wedding day vision was and added her own suggestions. As she promised, she was there throughout every step of the planning process. I was NEVER in doubt that our catering needs would be met! It was obvious she really cared about making their wedding successful and memorable. The food Chef Johanna prepared - apps, buffet dinner and an amazing selection of individual desserts - all phenomenal! Our guests are still raving about the food! My nephew is a chef and was blown away at how great everything was. The setup and service staff were top notch. They arrived on time, cooked on site, presented and served an amazing meal, cleaned up efficiently AND made it look easy and fun! Kelly rocked as our bartender, made awesome pomegranate margaritas - their signature drink - as well as serving a full bar! This group did it all! When planning an event as special as a wedding it's easy to get caught up with worry over "what ifs" wanting everything to be perfect. Having Sara and Johanna as our dream team we were able to enjoy all the special moments of our daughter's special day with no worry! Thank you so much for that!! You are the BEST!
  • T
    Tiffany Married on 09/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    AMAZING. From the food, to the staff, to the big day, Cafe Lachine exceeded my expectations. Sara and Johanna were life savers. Everyone was under the impression that a hurricane was going to hit the Outer Banks close to my wedding, and I had guests backing out and then changing their minds everyday. For the last 2 weeks I probably sent these girls 50 emails and the always responded with a smile and assured me that everything was going to be fine. The food was spectacular and all of our guests raved about it. I can't say enough about Cafe Lachine and suggest everyone to us them for any kind of catering event.
  • C
    Cheryn Married on 06/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Cafe Lachine was recommended to us by some other vendors when I went to the OBX wedding expo in January. Surprisingly, as many times as I have been to the OBX, I had never heard of or seen this restaurant. I am so glad that I went with them as they were very accommodating to our food preferences and also budget. Not only did they give us multiple tastings, but also ended up arranging transportation at the end of the night back to the house with all the leftover food and drinks. They were able to help set up a welcome station with water and offered drink ideas (champagne sparkler/sangria, etc). For a wedding with 160 guests, the food was perfectly cooked - and all our guest agreed! Cafe Lachine will now always be on our places to eat when we vacation in OBX. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
  • K
    Kate Married on 06/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved our experience from beginning to end with Cafe Lachine. They were our first vendor and since we were from out of town, they kind of helped us plan the wedding. They recommended all of our vendors and helped us put together the dream team. We felt so comfortable with their recommendations, we started to second guess the amount of faith we were putting into a team of people we had never met. THERE WAS ZERO REASON TO SECOND GUESS. They basically helped us plan and coordinate the wedding of our dreams. They spent so many hours prior to the wedding helping us plan, it almost seemed like a second service or a wedding planning service- and then they introduced us to our actual wedding planner, Linda Bradley and everything fell into place. Our venue was the Pine Island Lodge, so I was afraid the cooking on-site with the open kitchen would be a distraction, but I was wrong. They so perfectly handled to accommodations, you almost forgot they were there!
    Everyone LOVED our hors d'oeuvre's- coconut shrimp and goat cheese wontons- to die for. Also, the potatoes au gratin- biggest hit of the night by far. People went up for thirds!!!
    Thank you Cafe Lachine- don't know how we would have pulled off this "destination wedding" without you.
  • C
    Christine Married on 11/04/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I can’t say enough great things about Cafe Lachine! They were our wedding caterer and we could not have been happier! The food was unbelievable. We also used them for our rehearsal dinner and everyone raves about them both nights. They were so accommodating and the staff are some of the nicest people. We were from out of state, so we had no idea what to expect and they blew us and our wedding guests away. We can’t thank them enough!
  • K
    Katrina Married on 09/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Vegans use Cafe Lachine!
    Carnivores I'm sure - use Cafe Lachine!
    Cafe Lachine and the entire staff are beyond amazing. I just got married in Carova last Friday and had begun working with the staff, specifically Tess & Johanna, to plan our wedding menu. Oh yea and I'm vegan - and wanted to do the entire menu vegan as well to showcase how amazing this food can be when done right and because that is what I believe in. So not only was Johanna up for the challenge but she exceeded my expectations with how amazing the food was - and all my guests (carnivores mostly) raved about everything! They customized the entire menu to what my husband and I envisioned and it was wonderful. Not only was the food delicious, but their professionalism, enthusiasm about what they do and flexible are by far some of the best people I have ever worked with. Even a last minute change of moving dinner 30 minutes back (wanted to get some beautiful sunset pictures) was no problem and they adjusted accordingly with ease. We used their services as well for a bartender for the day of, and even with a demanding crowd of people she kept her cool and was prompt at making a variety of drinks. Both my husband and I would highly recommend anyone use their services - but especially if you are a vegan/vegetarian and looking for a catering company that is going to truly rock your guest's tastebuds and be a pleasure to work with - go with Cafe Lachine!
  • D
    Danielle Married on 05/28/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    AMAZING Food! We did stations with small plates and the food was all incredible! Tessa with us through last minute changes and was super responsive. Everything was perfect and no delays in serving our meals. We also used Cafe Lachine to provide side dishes for a BBQ that we hosted the day after. Such a pleasure to work with - highly recommend. The crab cakes were TO DIE FOR!
  • S
    Susan Married on 05/24/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Selecting our dinner for our wedding all the way from Ohio was not an option, so we made a short weekend trip to do some tastings. We didn't know what to expect and Cafe Lachine was our first stop. Tess was amazing, friendly and extremely helpful. The food was delicious! Tess was on top of helping us select our menu and even added a last minute appetizer for the groom! On our wedding day the staff was so professional and a delight to have around. As for the food we couldn't of picked a better menu! Our guests are still complimenting the meal! Thank you so much for being a part of our wedding team and helping to make the day Perfect! We can't wait to come back for a visit and enjoy a meal in the Cafe!
  • User2631158 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everyone at LaChine was awesome! They started out doing the cupcakes for the reception, then catering the rehearsal dinner which was wonderful! The seafood pasta and filet were amazing!! Then they stepped in and catered the wedding reception with their BBQ which was also delicious. We did tastings at several other more well known caterers and LaChine out did them all!! They were also very reasonably priced compared to the other places we looked at.
  • User2631176 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    There are not enough words to explain how incredible Cafe Lachine is! They catered our rehearsal dinner, our cupcakes, and at the last minute did our entire wedding menu. Tess York is such a wonderful person to work with. We were lucky to be able to have them do our entire weekend. Their food is delicious, from the seafood pasta to pulled pork, and the staff is great to work with. Our guests are still raving too!
  • K
    Kristen Married on 05/06/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can not say enough about their food!!! The majority of the compliments we received on our wedding day was on the food! It was out of this world!!! Loved everything about it!
  • A
    Andrea Married on 03/26/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was a great caterer. The food was phenomenal. Everything was delicious. The service was outstanding. Tess was so easy to work with. They really know how to cater and make the most of your event. A great experience.
  • User2408796 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Johanna Lachine and Tess York are a dynamic duo for sure!~ We loved everything about them from the professionalism at the tasting, to the emails and down to the events.
    We used them for our rehearsal dinner (casual buffet) wedding dinner (buffet but seated) late night snack and our brunch the next day. Everything was better than the next. My now Husband said during the tasting "do you have anything that is not GREAT???" Seriously they have the best Catering in all of OBX! If you want to WOW your crowd make sure you ask for my signature drink which they now know!!! Coral Crush.
    If you want to be wow'd and WOW all your guests go with CAFE LACHINE!!!
    Rehearsal dinner was "Southern Style BBQ"
    Our Wedding Day Menu was a hit by all our guests and even more by us!
    Apps: Sesame Seared Tuna on Cucumber, Fried Green Tomatoes with Goat Cheese (brides favorite!) Chicken Satay, Beef Tenderloin Crostini (groom can't choose which of these two he liked better!) and coconut shrimp for passed and fruit, cheese, and antipasto stations.
    Dinner: Fig Salad (people are still raving about this salad 2 weeks later), Seafood Carbonara with the seafood on the side for anyone allergic, Seared Beef with Beurre Rouge on the side, Chicken with Lemon Beurre Blanc, Green Bean Almondine, Roasted Baby Potatoes. (WE COULD EAT THIS EVERYNIGHT!! AMAZING)
    Dessert: We said lets x the big wedding cake that usually tastes like crap anyway… we went with a dessert bar and had a 12" round white iced cake for us to cut. Chocolate PB Pie, Cheesecake with Fruit, Key Lime Pie, Coconut custard, Chocolate Pecan, Carrot Cake, Philly Almond Cheesecake, Chocolate Covered Strawberries, Macaroons, and mini cupcakes for the kiddos! Something literally for everyone's tastes.
    The Brunch had an array of pastries, and the chocolate croissants were the best I've ever had! The quiche was amazing, we had 3 different kinds!
    Seriously WE are foodies, and this was one of the best meals we've ever had! CAFE LACHINE!!!!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 10/09/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I googled caterers and bakers in Nags Head and Café Lachine came up. I have been to see them twice and spoken to them via email several times. They are wonderful!!! Tess even worked with us when there was a minor mix up on the tasting dates!! Their staff is friendly and the food is fabulous! They even work with a baker on the cake and rentals. I couldn't ask for better and can not wait until the wedding, I know that they will help make my wedding day wonderful!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message