Black Bunny Bakery Reviews

42 | Eliot, ME
See photos, pricing and details

42 Reviews for Black Bunny Bakery

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

42
Order by:
  • Page

    Page · Married on 08/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous and delicious cake! Understood my vision and perfectly executed it!

    Sent on 06/08/2016
  • E

    Erin · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was beautiful and so personalized! Cara was professional and personable and had a lot of information to share during the cake tasting. She was willing to work within our short-notice time frame and was flexible and helpful with questions we had. Most importantly, our cake tasted delicious—best tasting wedding cake I’ve had!

    Sent on 12/02/2017

    Black Bunny Bakery's reply:

    Thank you Erin! I hope that you had a spectacular wedding day and honeymoon, it was a pleasure working with you. :) ~Kara
  • A

    Allison · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara was amazing to work with and helped create the most beautiful wedding cake for us. I have been to many weddings and have experienced cake that may look great but lacks great taste. Kara's cakes have it all - amazing taste and beautiful design. I was so pleased with our cake and will use Kara in the future for other cake needs. The cake was so good that I have to admit we even had it a week after our wedding and it still tasted just a great and fresh. Thank you Kara for your great customer service and for bringing our vision to life!

    Sent on 01/02/2017

    Black Bunny Bakery's reply:

    Hi Allison! Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Your wedding cake was so elegant and I had such creative fun working with the gold. Congratulations, I wish you happiness in your life together, and hopefully I can help you in the future!
  • E

    Emlyn · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely couldn't be happier with Kara and with our wedding cake!! We first found Kara for a birthday party where she made the most beautiful cake shaped like a Louis Vuitton bag for my mother in law. Everyone at the party was totally blown away, and this chance meeting led to many more cakes from Black Bunny for our family! Kara listens to every detail you want and is willing to make the perfect wedding cake for you. She really has an incredible attention to detail and tries to take elements of your wedding to create a beautiful design. Not only is it beautiful on the outside, but also delicious on the inside. She makes her own fondant and it really is delicious! Seriously, don't pass her up, she is truly the best in the area.

    Sent on 08/29/2016

    Black Bunny Bakery's reply:

    Thank you, Emyln! It has been a joy working with you and your family and friends. I'm so glad you gave me the opportunity to make your wedding cake also. Hope to hear from you again, congratulations!
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with our wedding cake! Kara was amazing. She has an incredible knowledge and creativity from her flavors, to her handmade flowers, to the amount of cake to order (ended up being the perfect amount), to the design of the cake. Our guests raved about the flavors (lemon cake with blueberry filling and yellow cake with chocolate ganache) AND everyone was shocked to learn she made the flowers on the cake - stunning! She also has a variety of cake stands to choose from, delivered the cake to our venue and placed our cake topper on top in just the right spot. Kara was reliable and I did not have a single doubt she was going to deliver the wedding cake I've always dreamed of having. Kara is a must!

    Sent on 08/29/2016

    Black Bunny Bakery's reply:

    Thank you, Courtney! I had a great time working with you to design your wedding cake. I appreciate the opportunity you gave me to make it. Congrats and good luck with everything!
  • J

    Jen · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm so happy we chose Black Bunny Bakery to make our wedding cake! I wanted to bring my husband's tartan on his kilt into the cake, and Kara did it in the most creative and beautiful way...it was the talk of the reception! She also accommodated our guest with an allergy and brought gluten free cupcakes. Absolutely recommend!

    Sent on 07/19/2016
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 06/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara was such a blessing to my husband and I. I originally was working with another bakery and decided to switch...very last minute ( the company didn't even give me a contract to sign or anything and it was a week or so before my wedding!) . I was desperate, that's when I found Black Bunny Bakery. Kara was very flexible, thorough and understanding. I was nervous to ask her to create butter cream frosting that matched our color scheme- mainly because she was helping us out a lot last minute- i didn't want to seem like a bother. To my surprise, she happily obliged and exceeded our expectations! The cake was delicious and our guests devoured it. I would definitely recommend Black Bunny Bakery to any bride. Kara was not only professional, but an artist. Thanks Kara!!!!!

    Sent on 07/15/2016

    Black Bunny Bakery's reply:

    Thank you, Victoria for giving me the opportunity to make your cake! You did such an amazing job setting up the room, you may have a future in interior decorating! I was so glad when I walked in and the cake fit like a puzzle piece.
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara and Black Bunny Bakery are absolutely fantastic! I am not a sweets person - never really go for seconds of ANY cake let alone wedding cake and I was obsessed with our wedding cake that Kara made. It was on point...exactly how I wanted it to look and taste and I am still getting compliments about the cake from our guests. She is responsive in email and organized and I found her prices to be about average for a wedding cake. We went with the subtle strawberry cake with mixed berry and white chocolate cream filling and her icing is not cloyingly sweet it was just perfect. The cake looked beautiful and she used herbs and lavender from her garden to decorate it and we rented a stand from her because I definitely don't need a 14 inch massive intricate stand for my every day baking needs. All in all I strongly recommend Black Bunny Bakery and can't wait to eat our anniversary tier!

    Sent on 10/01/2015
  • C

    Christa · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara is a very warm and friendly person and a consummate professional. Her baking studio is cute, modern, and very clean. The cake tasting she provided for us was private, professional, and incredibly delicious. She really made us feel welcome and special, and listened very carefully to all our requests. The cake she made for us was absolutely gorgeous and exactly what we asked for - if not better. I found her prices to be appropriately competitive for the area and for her level of expertise. I would definitely recommend Kara and her services to anyone who was looking for a cake baker in the Portsmouth, NH or southern Maine area.

    Sent on 08/12/2015
  • User4844675 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We heard about Black Bunny Bakery through word of mouth. Our inquiry was met with a quick response by Kara. Kara is very warm and friendly, but also very professional. Her studio, were all the magic happens, is impeccably clean and modern. She had more than enough tasting samples ready for us to try. We thoroughly enjoyed all of them ... every flavor was outstanding. Put it this way, I probably ate more than I should have! You can tell that everything is made from scratch and so it should be.
    Kara listened to our thoughts on design and was very open to a special request for our wanting for a homemade cake topper. We were more than thrilled with Kara and our tasting and decided on the spot that we wanted her to make our wedding cake. We left with no worries that it would be done right and super delicious!

    Sent on 05/01/2015
  • L

    Lesley · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were impressed with Kara the moment we walked into her studio. We loved all of the cake samples she provided; it made it tough to make a decision because they were all delicious. After we discussed what we wanted, she sketched out what the cake would look like and we were thrilled with it. A few days later, my husband-to-be had another idea he would like to do with the cake design. I contacted Kara and she incorporated it beautifully without hesitation. We LOVED our wedding cake. It was beautiful, unique, and incredibly delicious. We thought we were going to have leftovers because we had a small wedding but so many people went back for more that we were lucky to leave with our top tier. Thank you, Kara! You exceeded our expectations and we couldn’t be happier!

    Sent on 08/22/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The service was amazing! Kara was so prepared during our tasting, providing a cute layout and made us all feel right at home. She's well educated in food and how to prepare cakes. She drew up our cake design while we were tasting and it was exactly what I described to her. The cake looked EXACTLY how she drew it and was exactly what I wanted! Thanks so much Kara!

    Sent on 10/21/2015
  • K

    Kristopher · Married on 06/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Cake Kara made was beautiful as it was delicious! Her services were amazing right from the tasting to the delivery of the cake! Thank you Kara for making our day a little sweeter!

    Sent on 06/18/2015
  • K

    Kassandra · Married on 06/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara was an absolute professional. The tastings were so delicious it was hard to choose what to go with. She sent us a reminder when our final payment was due, which was so helpful since it is always so crazy busy in those final weeks before the big day. The cake was beautiful and delicious the day of!

    Sent on 06/22/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was absolutely everything we wanted and more! Kara was amazing to work with. She got our vision right away and when we walked into the reception and saw it, we were both blown away. It was PERFECT! And more importantly, it was DELICIOUS!! All of our guests loved the cake too. We would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Black Bunny Bakery!

    Sent on 06/29/2015
  • H

    Heather · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was perfect!

    We selected chocolate cake with peanut butter icing for one tier and subtle strawberry cake with fresh strawberry filling and white chocolate ganache for the other. Both were delicious - our guests loved the cake and several went up for seconds.

    At our tasting Kara drew up a custom sketch for us, and she was so great to work with :)

    We highly recommend Black Bunny Bakery!

    Heather & Christophe

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • A

    Alicia · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara was a wonderful person to work with. She listened to us during our tasting and gave us exactly what we wanted. When my husband and I saw the cake we were so excited because it was just how we imagined it. Kara really took the time to make the details stand out in the design. The cake was also so delicious and there wasn't any left! I don't know if I've been to a wedding where the whole cake was eaten. We're excited to have our anniversary cake a year from now!

    Sent on 09/29/2014
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 06/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake Kara made for my wedding was the talk of the reception. I have yet to hear guests rave about the taste of a wedding cake..until now! We chose the Strawberry cake with mixed berries and white chocolate ganache layers..OMG so good! People were actually going up for seconds! I have been tempted a few times to pull out our anniversary top layer from the freezer for a little taste but have held back..so far :) Thank you so much Kara!

    Sent on 07/29/2014
  • User2681952 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara from black bunny bakery is so sweet and easy to work with. I planned a destination wedding and wasn't able to meet her personally, however, when it came to the day of our finished product was amazing and absolutely delicious!

    Sent on 06/04/2014
  • User4118915 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down, Kara made us the most delicious Wedding cake ever made!! I kid you not, all of our guests remarked on how beautiful the cake was and on how scrumptious. Kara worked with us to design a 1920s inspired Art Deco for our "Gatsby" themed Wedding this Spring. Given we live in Canada, all of the planning and preparation had to be done via e-mail and by telephone. Everything went smoothly and when we finally saw the wedding cake on our wedding day we were taken aback by how gorgeous it was. A special aspect of this wedding cake is that my husband and I are vegan and needed a completely vegan wedding cake (not an easy request to fulfill!); we were so thankful to find that Kara makes vegan cakes. Typically, vegan desserts can leave a little bit to be desired - not so with our cake! We had a vegan carrot cake with raisins and some type of tofu based icing. Everyone (non-vegans included) remarked on how this was the best carrot cake they had ever eaten!! As it turns out, we not only ate this cake at the wedding reception but also the next day for breakfast and for lunch (I'm not kidding). I highly recommend this vendor for any cake, but especially if you are looking for a vegan wedding cake (I had originally contacted another vendor who specializes in vegan baking but she was unresponsive and very unhelpful, so I dropped her....I'm glad I did because Kara is the best!). If I could give more stars for this review I would!!

    Sent on 05/21/2014
  • C

    Chris · Married on 02/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Black Bunny Bakery made the most incredible wedding cake. I was amazed by the options both in design and taste to create a one of a kind cake. Kara truly is an artist. Our cake was admired by all present. And the taste was some of the best!

    Sent on 03/03/2014
  • User3702106 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara from Black Bunny Bakery was great to work with for my wedding cupcakes/cake. Although I never met her (my fiance and father visited her to do the tasting), she was always very responsive to my e-mails and phone calls. The cupcakes (pumpkin and red velvet) were absolutely delicious and I wish there had been more leftover for me to eat! You will not go wrong with using Black Bunny Bakery for your next event...and her prices are very reasonable!!

    Sent on 11/26/2013
  • M

    Melody · Married on 09/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara created a fantastic cake for our wedding. We didn't have any specific ideas of our own so it was great to look over her portfolio on line for her ideas. We used one of her previous cakes for inspiration, and she took care of the rest. Her cake was delicious (we had carrot cake w/ white chocolate filling and lemon cake with blueberry filling). We originally wanted carrot cake with cream cheese frosting, but as cream cheese frosting wasn't appropriate for the weather (it may have spoiled in the heat) she went out and gave us a cream cheese flavored filling to sample. We ended preferring the white chocolate filling anyway, and hearing the feedback from our guests, everyone was just as pleased with it! The cake was beautiful (cascading calla lilies), and best of all - very affordable!

    Sent on 02/17/2014
  • User2538444 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara at the Black Bunny Bakery is truly a pleasure to work with. She designed the most beautiful cake for us and it was a huge crowd pleaser!!
    Would love to work with her again!
    Highly recommend!!!

    Sent on 09/22/2013
  • User3353798 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kara did our wedding cake and a grooms cake for us and both cakes exceeded my expectations!!! They were both absolutely delicious - and looked even more beautiful than I had imagined!! The grooms cake was somewhat difficult to design and had a lot of little details and Kara did a fantastic job! She took the time to work with me on it and make it very personal - it was a huge hit! And for our wedding cake (for over 200 people) we did two flavors - the wild maine blueberry filling and the chocolate ganache and both were fantastic! Me and my fiancee ended up finally eating our pieces two days later after bringing them on a plane all the way to Itay and they were still delicious!! We would definitely recommend Kara - she was professional, talented and she took a lot of time to design both of our cakes to make she they were exactly how we envisioned them!

    Sent on 10/03/2013