Skip to main content
Weddings

Bear's Smokehouse BBQ Reviews

Bear's Smokehouse BBQ

Bear's Smokehouse BBQ

South Windsor, CT
5.0 out of 5 rating, 12 Reviews
View more information

12 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 12
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner

3 User photos

  • Lori
    Lori T. Married on 09/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our guests raved it was the best wedding food they have ever had!

    We knew we wanted BBQ for our rustic wedding and our venue had suggested we try Bears. We went for a tasting and we were instantly sold on Bears. The hardest decision was deciding which items to choose. Sydney was amazing with communication, flexibility and support throughout! Our guests raved about the food said it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding and several went up for second , third and even fourth helpings!! We will continue to visit Bears even after our wedding!
  • Taylor
    Taylor Married on 06/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great food

    Our June wedding felt complete having the best BBQ in our area! There was plenty of food for all our guests to have 2nds and even 3rds! Very glad my husband and I chose Bear’s for our meal!
  • C
    Chelsea K. Married on 10/31/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Service

    Great food, great staff, so helpful and friendly
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • R
    Rory M. Married on 09/06/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely wonderful!

    We were originally supposed to have our wedding in June but because of COVID we had to move it to September and cut the guest list significantly. Bears was super flexible. Every member of the team was excellent- Sydney in catering was extremely helpful, and the staff at the wedding did a wonderful job. And of course the food was amazing!
  • Rita
    Rita M. Married on 09/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Covid wedding

    Staff very knowledgeable & friendly. Catering manager took the time to go through all options & offered opinions on executing a menu that would fit all of our needs. Day of, serving staff were engaged, friendly, & truly felt as if they were part of the family during our small backyard bbq Covid wedding. My guests still comment today how awesome the food was & how having Bears cater was genius. Sydney & staff come highly recommended!
  • Megan
    Megan S. Married on 08/15/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fire House Wedding !

    Bear BBQ provided my family and friends with the best BBQ meal they've ever had. The BBQ servers were incredibly kind to all of my guests. The catering manager was prompt and very helpful with all of my adjustments!
  • Jack
    Jack F. Married on 06/27/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Front Yard Wedding Caterer - 5 Stars

    We used Bear’s to cater our front yard wedding in June 2020. Food was amazing, as always. They were on time and extremely helpful. Highly recommended
  • Sam
    Sam Married on 11/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome Caterer

    Both the food and service were fantastic! Everything was delicious and they were easy to work with during the planning process. They helped tailor their services to what we needed based on our specific selections and the venue. They were efficient and friendly on both our wedding day as well as throughout the planning process. We would definitely recommend for catering and are also looking forward to many more trips to the restaurant for their awesome BBQ!
  • M
    Mel Married on 08/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome Food!

    We are so happy that we chose Bear's catering for our wedding in New Haven, CT in 2019. The whole process was extremely easy and stress-free. Bear's catering menu was flexible, allowing us to customize the food exactly as we wanted. The food was amazing and we got so many complements on it from our wedding guests. When planning our wedding, we really wanted fresh oysters during cocktail hour but this was not on Bear's catering menu at the time - they went above and beyond to source and provide oysters for us at a very reasonable price. In addition, we loved that we were able to order food by the pound rather than by person. We highly recommend the burnt ends, brisket, and mac & cheese!
  • Michele
    Michele A. Married on 10/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best bbq buffet

    We had a budget and an idea and the staff helped with every detail! Our guests raves about the food and the company. I was worried about the setup and breakdown but they did it all so smoothly!
  • M
    Michele Married on 10/06/2018
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything from start to finish - picking items, working with Alyssa and the team that were our servers for the buffet on our big day was excellent! Our guests kept telling us how wonderful the food was and we had way more than enough on our low(er) budget. They were wonderful and highly recommended!!
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth Married on 10/20/2020
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    First choice for Wedding Chow!

    Getting Bear’s was first on my list for possible caterers for my wedding. We got the beef brisket, mac & cheese, and of course, their famous corn bread. It’s been a couple days and we still are eating leftovers. I am very happy with my experience with them