Skip to main content
Weddings

Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe Reviews

Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe

Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe

Nags Head, NC
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 224 Reviews
View more information

224 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 224
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

53 User photos

  • S
    Susan Y. Married on 06/12/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Caterer's Ever

    Basnight's took care of everything. Food was amazing, service as fantastic. We had a party at our home and having Basnight's there felt like we are in a private room at a restaurant. Highly recommend them for any event you are having.

    Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe's reply:

    Hello Susan,

    Thank you so much for your kind words! Todd and I loved working at your beautiful home, and would be thrilled to cater for you again in the future! Call us any time!

    Happy New Year!
    Victoria, Maggie and Caroline
  • A
    Allyson C. Married on 12/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rehearsal Dinner

    We were so pleased with our rehearsal dinner at Lone Cedar. The reservation was flawless, the wait staff was very attentive and kind, and the food was all delicious. I am so happy that we chose Lone Cedar!
  • Amy
    Amy S. Married on 11/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely fantastic! The very best, ever!

    I have never worked with a vendor as wonderful as Lone Cedar. They are very easy to work with as they are prompt, responsive and accommodating. The food is second to none and their service is impeccable. Our guests that have enjoyed the food provided by Lone Cedar have never had a complaint and have always stated how wonderful the food tastes and the presentation is fantastic. I would not recommend anyone else above Lone Cedar. Additionally, I have been working with Lone Cedar every year for over 10 years. Make your event perfect by working with Lone Cedar!!
  • AMANDA
    Amanda Married on 11/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Was the easiest vendor to work with!
  • Raleigh
    Raleigh C. Married on 10/23/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food!

    The food and staff at Basnight lone cedar was beyond incredible!! Guest were raving about the food. Victoria was always there to answer questions or adjust the menu leading up to the big day. They had the most beautiful set up for the wedding! You can’t go wrong with this catering company!
  • C
    Cindy S. Married on 10/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Superb planning help, service, and food = Wedding happiness!

    If we coud give more than 5 stars we would! The catering for my son's Outer Banks Wedding was fantastic! Thorough, expert, friendly service from start to finish! And the food was delicious. We recommend them very highly and would use them again in a hearbeat!
    The Stone Family
  • Lynn
    Lynn L. Married on 10/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Beginning to the Wedding Celebration

    We used Lone Cedar Cafe to host the rehearsal dinner for our son's and new daughter's wedding. The dinner was held on site using the Garden Patio. The location was beautiful and the food was delicious!! We heard so many positive comments from the guests. The event staff made coordinating the arrangements so easy from 3 1/2 hours away. It was such a beautiful night and a fantastic beginning to the wedding celebrations!!!

    Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe's reply:

    Thank you SO much for you kind review! This put a huge smile on my face this morning! I am sharing with everyone who worked your event. We really enjoyed having you group with us.
    Best,
    The Basnights Family
  • C
    Cb Johnson Married on 09/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Surfalorus 2021

    Victoria and her team were helpful, enthusiastic, creative, professional, and fun to work with. The food was also amazing, so I'd highly recommend Basnight's Lone Cedar for any catering needs.

    CB Johnson
    Operations Manager
    Cualorus/Surfalorus

    Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe's reply:

    Thank you so much for you kind review. We loved working with your group! We look forward to working with you all in the future!
  • Nicole
    Nicole M. Married on 07/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    EVERYTHING was excellent!!

    Honestly we did not go into this wedding expecting amazing food, we were more focused on the party. However, Victoria and her team created the perfect experience and EVERYONE raved about the food! They were organized, helpful, and the food was SO good. We loved our experience tasting the menu ahead of time and were so happy with the resulting menu. We also hired a bartending team through Lone Cedar and she was AWESOME - a huge hit at the party! Highly recommend!!
  • Laurel
    Laurel E. Married on 07/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great food and amazing service!

    We loved our wedding meal, it was extremely delicious and everyone was complimenting the food all night! Having been unable to try the food beforehand (we live across the country) we chose Basnights through reading Wedding Wire and Yelp reviews and then just crossed our fingers. We felt so lucky that all the food was delicious. They helped us with a few of the rentals and made the process easy on us. However, the staff that attended our wedding was AMAZING! They checked in with us, were super sweet, were on top of every part of the night be it meal to cleanup. We loved them and would highly recommend!
  • Jamie
    Jamie C. Married on 07/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Service!

    Basnight's is always so amazing to eat at so we knew we needed them for our wedding. They also helped with rehearsal dinner and the food, service, and staff were beyond amazing
  • A
    Angela W. Married on 07/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fabulous from Start to Finish

    I can’t stress enough how wonderful the Lone Cedar staff are; from the coordinators to the bartenders. These folks are all top notch. And let me just tell you about the food…. Absolutely delicious! Everyone at the wedding was so happy with bellies full of crab dip. pork skewers, chicken & waffles, shrimp n’ grits. beef, chicken, and smoked gouda mac & cheese! The rehearsal dinner was equally excellent and service was great! Don’t think twice, just book Lone Cedar!
  • Lindsey
    Lindsey M. Married on 06/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Phenomenal!

    This was a second marriage for us both and we just wanted something small and laid back. I contacted Basnight’s and their event coordinator was extremely responsive and full of suggestions to fit whatever a bride’s needs may be. After deciding that we just wanted to make a large group reservation instead of booking a room and doing a full-scale catered event, their coordinator continued to assist me, stayed in touch and ensured our evening was perfect. We were even able to drop off our cake the day of the wedding. Their wait staff was OUTSTANDING and the food was PHENOMENAL! There was an option for everyone. Food came out quickly and was priced extremely well.
  • Tori
    Tori K. Married on 06/19/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent experience couldn't ask for more!

    Bassnight's Lone Cedar Café went above and beyond. Working with Victoria, the Catering Manager, was a wonderful experience. We had to make a few adjustments after postponing our wedding a year because of Covid and she was extremely supportive throughout our crazy planning process and took a huge amount of stress off of my husband and I. She jumped through hurdles to make sure everything was perfect for us. This catering team was ON TOP OF IT. Even with the multiple different plated meal options that we offered to our guests they made sure to keep on schedule, provided top notch service, and has everyone still raving about the food weeks later. Since our wedding, two of my friends who are getting married next year decided to book with them because of how great they were. I am confident in recommending Lone Cedar to anyone as an excellent choice for their wedding caterer. They will not disappoint.
  • C
    Cameron Married on 06/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience!

    I am blown away at how amazing Lone Cedar was for our big day. They were so helpful and responsive leading up to the wedding and planning during a pandemic. It was stressful at times, but they were always so quick to respond and make it stress free. SO many people complimented the food and how amazing it as. Not only that, the service was way beyond any expectations and they truly go above and beyond. The staff was something that my guests are still talking about. They made my day so amazing and I could not have done it without them. I worked with Victoria and she as always responsive and helpful with any changes I wanted to make during the planning. They boxed everything up for us that was leftover and made us a special late night food box. The bartenders remembered everyone's drink orders throughout the night to the point there was never a line to get one. They were amazing. YOU WILL BE SO HAPPY with this choice!!!

    Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe's reply:

    Thank You so much for your kind review! We loved getting to be party of your special day at Jennette's Pier! It was absolutely perfect!
  • Jessica
    Jessica M. Married on 06/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Caterer on the Beach!

    There’s a reason Basnights is the top wedding caterer on the island. Victoria made the entire process so easy! She worked with me through my COVID wedding postponement and reschedule/venue change. She answered my many questions and provided some great advice along the way. The staff were all so kind and helpful during the wedding. The food, of course, was fantastic! Almost everyone I talk to from the wedding- their comments always include how delicious the seared tuna and bang bang shrimp was. Basnights made sure to pack my husband and I a food box to go to the hotel with us so we had some food to eat once the night ended. I will recommend Basnights to every couple looking for a caterer!

    Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review!!! We are so happy you enjoyed the big day and the to go boxes for the hotel! We really appreciate you trusting us with you big day!
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie Y. Married on 06/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent and outstanding team!

    Basnight's did an amazing job on my son's rehearsal dinner! We were so pleased with the entire process, from booking to the dinner itself. The food was delicious, the service outstanding and the furnishings on point! I would recommend Basnight's for any of your wedding needs!

    Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed getting to know you during the planning process, and having your group here with us to celebrate the occasion! Please come see us anytime!
  • L
    Lisa S. Married on 06/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best caterer for OBX wedding!

    From the minute we met Victoria and her team at the 2020 OBX Bridal Expo, we knew Basnight’s Lone Cedar would cater my daughter’s wedding. This was a destination wedding held at the Atlantis beach house last month and Victoria helped us every step of the way. We chose a customized menu that included an oyster bar and chilled shrimp cocktail displayed in a small row boat filled with ice! So clever! Our appetizers included prime rib sliders, classic tomato bruschetta, bacon wrapped scallops and a charcuterie display (all delicious). Buffet dinner included a classic tossed green salad (they grow the greens in their garden - can’t get much fresher than that!), caprese stuffed chicken, local fresh white fish with homemade fruit salsa, roasted red potatoes, roasted green beans and their delicious homemade corn bread. We were able to make it down in April for a tasting that was held at the restaurant. It was a wonderful experience and helped us make final decisions. Victoria was on top of everything leading up to the wedding and always quick to respond to any questions or changes we had. Her crew of servers were professional and friendly and left our place spotless. We would not hesitate to book Lone Cedar again!!
    Best caterer in OBX!
  • Alyxandra
    Alyxandra M. Married on 05/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Catering Team!

    We found Basnights through the Knot while searching for caterers for our 2021 Outer Banks wedding. Throughout the process of planning our wedding, Maggie and Victoria were tremendous to work with. Despite this being a destination wedding for us, a planned trip to the Outer Banks in 2020 allowed us to do a tasting at their beautiful restaurant. Everything we tasted was magnificent and doing the tasting was truly helpful in finalizing the menu for our big day. For our cocktail hour we decided on the following Hors d’oeuvres: Shrimp and Grits cups, Chicken and Waffles, and Bacon and Eggs (Deviled eggs with a candied bacon jam). We were going for a Southern theme with the cocktail hour menu and all of these choices ended up being true crowd pleasers. For the event we went with a more traditional wedding menu: herb roasted chicken, steak tips, pasta primavera, roasted red potatoes, green beans and rice pilaf. Overall, we and all our guests were very satisfied with the menu and we were happy to be eating leftovers all week! The staff in attendance for the event was also truly wonderful. We also used Basnights for our bartenders and they did a magnificent job of keeping the drinks flowing all night! The catering staff was very attentive and did a wonderful job of keeping the reception area very clean for us. We’d highly recommend Basnights for anyone planning an Outer Banks wedding and we definitely plan on stopping in to The Lone Cedar Cafe on future OBX trips!

    Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind review! It means so much to us that you took a moment to tell everyone about your experience. We had the best time celebrating your big day! Thank you again for trusting us with your special day!
  • Linda
    Linda B. Married on 05/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful experience!

    We chose Bassnight's Lone Cedar Cafe to cater our wedding at the home we rented on the Outer Banks and I can't say enough about how happy we were! Their food was delicious, their service was impeccable, and the team was so attentive - we received tons of compliments! They arrived just when they said they would, and they cooked everything fresh at our home. They prepared both appetizers for the cocktail hour and the main meal, and everything was so delicious! We all enjoyed the leftovers in the days following the wedding. Everything went seamlessly, and the staff were all so attentive to both our guests and my husband and I as we were flitting around taking pictures during the cocktail hour. They ensured we had hot, fresh appetizers wherever we were! Such a wonderful team - I would highly recommend them for your event!!
  • J
    Jessica A. Married on 05/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent, top notch!

    I knew the night we got engaged that would be using lone cedar, there is no one better on this beach. They went above & beyond of all of our expectations & our food was out of this world because of them. So if your even thinking about using them just do it because you won’t be disappointed!

    Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe's reply:

    Thank you so much lady! We loved getting to be there for your big day! We had the most fun! You looked beautiful!
  • J
    Jenna C. Married on 04/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Greta food and service

    We hired lone cedar for our wedding a month ago. Our planner had recommended them to us and we got to meet them at the OBX wedding show in early 2020. After reviewing their menu + pricing we booked them and were able to go to a tasting. I worked with Victoria and she was incredibly helpful via email and at our tasting. They gave us good we had requested and a few extras. She worked with su to create our perfect menu and we were so excited. Their catering team was among and incredibly kind. They had a server bring out appetizers while we were taking out family photos which was SO HELPFUL as we were all starving at this point and once we joined the cocktail hour their staff was very attentive. We got SO MANY compliments on their fried asian shrimp (highly recommend) as well as the dinner. Their bartender did an amazing job on our cocktails and overall service was great! Victoria was very responsive and even helped me provide a creme brulee for my husband as a surprise since it is his favorite.

    Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe's reply:

    Thank you so much for writing this review! We loved getting to know you and your family, and celebrating with you on your big day!
  • L
    Lauren H. Married on 04/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Basnights catered our wedding, loved it!

    Basnights Lone Cedar was so awesome! The staff that catered our wedding were super friendly and helpful. The food was great, guests were still saying how good the food was the next day. Basnights always answered emails in a timely manner and answered any questions we had throughout the process. Would highly recommend!
  • Sarah
    Sarah B. Married on 03/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious Southern Wedding Food!!

    We had an amazing experience with Basnights! They were absolutely professional, detail oriented and flexible to our Southern based food requests!! We had our reception at the Black Stallion and they were SO organized and helped us decide where would be the best locations for cocktail hour, the bars and reception. At our cocktail hour we had mini chicken and waffles, fried green tomatoes, mac n' cheese bites, steak kabobs, and scallops on a grit cake with bacon jam. Our guests raved about all of the food from the cocktail hour to the reception buffet. I highly recommend booking them!! Best wedding food in the OBX!!

    Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words! We were thrilled to be part of your special day. I was a "Ball"! haha We hope to see you in the restaurant in the future.

    Warmly,
    Victoria, Maggie and Caroline
  • George
    George B. Married on 02/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Retirement Reception

    The Basnight's Lone Cedar team was tremendous in making my Retirement Reception uniquely special. Following a 30 year career in the U.S. Coast Guard, my ceremony included over 150 diverse guests of shipmates, friends, and family from across the country. The Lone Cedar facility was the perfect venue to provide waterfront views and indoor and outdoor spaces. The planning team was extremely helpful throughout and their attention to detail was unsurpassed. Most importantly, the local seafood and professional staff were remarkable!!!