Austie - Makeup, Hair, designing bridal accessories Reviews

32 | Portland, OR
See photos, pricing and details

32 Reviews for Austie - Makeup, Hair, designing bridal accessories

Recommended by 100%

32
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • LayDJade

    Jade · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was truly blessed to find Austie Eckley... I believe I was led to find her because there were two very important things I wanted as I prepared for my wedding day. Firstly, I wanted to feel beautiful, I wanted a true make up artist, with skill and an international quality that fit with the current make up trends and techniques... that's not easy to find in the PNW, especially when it comes to wedding make up artistry. There are some make up artists in this area that are capable but they miss the second piece which is experience working with brides; the timing, the management and the process. I needed someone who could own the day with me as my ladies and I prepared and Austie did that. I was not only completely confident that my make up look would be what I asked for, which was more than the usual bride, but I knew Austie had the semantics sorted out. I didn't have to worry, I just got to enjoy the ritual as we prepared. Secondly, and for me, very important, I wanted someone who I felt safe with, who created a calm and happy environment. Austie delivered way more than that. I was blessed to be surrounded by such an incredible team of vendors, during my life's most special, exciting and vulnerable moments. Austie is a gem, professionally and personally! Best decision ever, other than marrying my husband of course <3

  • D

    Damaris · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For my wedding day I wanted my wedding party to look and feel there absolute prettiest because I believe that the bride shouldn't be the only one that feels pretty I believe your wedding party should too and Eckley most definitely delivered. My wedding party (2 sisters and my mom, oh and by the way were Puertorican for all you latin girls out there) could not believe how amazing they looked. Everyone in my family has a different tone to there skin (olive, pink, tan) and Eckley nailed it in picking the best colors and applications for each. She helped them feel more confident than ever and more importantly they felt and looked beautifull. As for me, I looked amazing, if I do say so myself : ) Eckley really knew what colors would work and how much makeup my face could handle. I loved my look! Eckley is a true professional and a great person, she has a big heart. She was so easy to work with, it was like she was a member of the family, that's how comfortable she makes you feel. She helped make my day special and I will always be thankful for that. If you can, book her! you wont regret it : ) Thanks Eckley for being awesome!

  • J

    Jenny · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First of all, you will not find another artist who is as sweet, kind, funny and talented around; she encompasses all of these. She has a heart of gold and makes you feel comfortable with her from the get-go. My best friend Meghan used Austie for her wedding and looked phenomenal; so naturally I had wanted her to be my artist when my wedding rolled around. Luckily, she was available. When I first learned how much getting these services were I thought that it sounded slightly expensive, however IT IS WORTH IT! I firmly believe that you get what you pay for. She takes her time and does such a quality job. Austie did my hair and make-up, my mother's hair and make-up and my maid of honor's as well. We all looked so beautiful when she got done with us. She is so talented at both hair and make-up. In addition... she makes hair pieces and jewelry which are to die for! I had not decided on earrings yet for the wedding and when I came over to do my trial run with her (and I was slightly panicked because I had not decided on jewelry yet...with only 1 week to go). It could not have worked out more perfect because the earrings that she made was just what I needed; they were beautiful long hand-beaded lace pieces. I only had about a week before my wedding but she took the time to rush to get these done for me before my wedding. I am not sure what else to say other than that she is absolutely amazing at her profession as well as being a stunning person!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 07/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I owe Austie a million thanks for her beautiful work on our wedding day! By a most brilliant stroke of luck, I met her at The Portland Bridal Show and was immediately impressed with her talent and what a beautiful person she was. She was professional, creative, beyond-friendly, and made me feel so much more confident leading up to and on my wedding day. I could not have been happier with all of her impeccable skills in makeup, hair, accessories, and capturing my perfect bridal look. She has a glowing personality that truly shines through in all of her work. She made my bridesmaids, mom, and I look stunning and she was so fun to have around as everyone got ready. She even made a gorgeous custom rhinestone comb to match my vintage earrings! Booking Austie was a blessing and I will be forever grateful to have had her as a part of our special day.

  • N

    Natalie · Married on 06/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about Austie and the incredible work that she does. If you read no further than this—book her! Austie’s impeccable skill, eye for unique beauty, and ability to execute a fine balance between client desires and what she knows will look best, are amazing. She did exactly what I had hoped for, asked for, and more! I have known Austie for a while and when we first started planning our wedding she was the first thing I thought of. I hoped (and prayed) that she would be available to do my hair and make-up, and create a hairpiece, and what Austie provided was above and beyond my hopes. She is a beautiful human being inside and out, and takes great care in her work and client interactions. Austie is professional and fun at the same time—I felt loved and cared for throughout the entire experience from trial run to wedding day. She was flexible in her timing and offered extremely reasonable pricing for the unbelievable service she provided.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CHOOSE AUSTIE!! Seriously, you will not be disappointed!❤️❤️❤️ Austie made my day so amazing, comforting me from the get go, from consultation to the big day she was there from the start hearing every desire I had and making it happen!? It makes a huge difference when you are comfortable and excited to have someone that you actually trust to do your hair and makeup on YOUR DAY!!??? Chose Austie, like I said, You'll look back and be SOO HAPPY!?

  • M

    Mary Sue · Married on 04/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Austie and her sister worked their magic and made every women in their trust look wonderful. Our daughter was a radiant bride and all friends and family who chose to work with Austie were more than pleased with the outcome.

  • S

    S · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Austie and her team were amazing! They did hair and make-up for 7 women (bride, 4 bridesmaids and 2 moms) and were incredibly efficient (since timing was a bit tight) but were still able to give each one of the ladies personal attention to meet their requests. Austie was so gracious and accommodating when one of the moms was not entirely pleased at first with her make-up and worked really well with her to meet her requests. I have been in other wedding parties where make-up artists were not entirely receptive to criticism, which makes it really difficult since not everyone can have a trial run before the big day. Everyone looked stunning! I was SO happy with my make-up and hair and Austie made me feel gorgeous on my special day!!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 08/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are simply no words to capture how incredible Austie is. As a person, she has one of the sweetest hearts you will ever encounter and a killer sense of humor. As a hair and makeup artist, she is both incredibly skilled and incredibly professional. I'm a very no-makeup girl in my everyday life and it's a rare day when my hair isn't pulled back into a ponytail, but Austie's artistry left me feeling radiant without sacrificing my comfort or making me feel like I was no longer myself. If more of our guests were from the Portland area, I'm convinced that virtually all of the women would now be new clients of hers. Go seek Austie out for your own wedding and I know you will NOT be disappointed!!

  • A

    Alicia · Married on 08/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Austie is THE BEST!!! She did our daughter's hair and makeup for our daughter's wedding and our daughter looked amazing -- beautiful yet natural! Austie and her assistant also did the hair and makeup of the girls in the wedding party. Everyone's hair and makeup looked just as fresh at the end of the reception as it did when they were first done. Not only is Austie a wonderful and talented makeup artist -- she is also one of the nicest persons I've ever met!

  • M

    Meghan · Married on 08/06/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Austie is incredible! She understood exactly what I wanted and made me look as I had always imagined myself as a bride. Not only did the make-up look amazing, but it lasted perfectly all day and night. My entire bridal party and I LOVED having her be a part of the wedding day. She is such a joy to work with and a true artist!

  • W

    Whitney · Married on 06/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Austie was on maternity leave at the time of my wedding so my bridesmaids and I were lucky enough to work with the wonderful Destiny Taylor and Shannon Berecek. Both ladies were wonderful, easy to work with, and created fabulous results using our vague ideas of what we wanted. This was one of the best additions to our budget for the wedding, and I would happily do it all over again!

  • K

    Keely · Married on 04/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Austie is just amazing. Even before I had my makeup trial with her I knew I was in great hands! Not only is she super fun and can put you at ease, she also really knows her stuff! I also love that she's always looking for new techniques to better serve her clients. I felt absolutely stunning on my wedding day and I could tell my hubby loved the way I looked (he also kept telling me how hot I was). Thank you Austie!!

  • C

    Cecilia · Married on 09/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Austie is THE BEST. I took a leap of faith and went with her without a trial run. It ended up working out PERFECTLY. I am sooooo glad I went with her. She is by far the best I've ever come across. I'm Asian and was a bit nervous about having a non-Asian make-up artist (because Asian eyes are different and need a different look), but I couldn't be happier with Austie's work. I've never liked my make-up and hair so much. I don't normally wear much make-up, so I wanted a natural look. Austie did an absolutely beautiful job, making me look like myself but very polished. She also did an excellent job with the moms. LOVE HER.

  • V

    Veronica · Married on 09/04/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank God for Austie. She is sweet and personable. She made myself and my bridesmaids look AMAZING. She went out of her way to help me as I rushed to get out of my house. I highly recommend Austie. I enjoyed getting my hair and makeup done in the comfort of my home but with a professional artist.

    Seriously, book her.

  • J

    Joanna · Married on 06/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!!! Austie came to my hotel (all the way in Cannon Beach) the day of the wedding. We did not have the opportunity for a trial run, so she had to get it right the first time! Man, did she ever get it right!! She did amazing work on my hair and make-up, as well as my daughter and my mom. She heard my vision and made it happen. She took her time and got everything perfect; down to the last eyelash! Austie is amazing!

  • S

    Sylvia · Married on 05/03/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Austie made two hats for me for Derby. She is sooooo wildly creative, intuitive, and has fabulous style. One hat was a variation on a veiled piece she has done for brides, and it was really quite beautiful and elegant. Very couture. The second piece was something I let her "go wild" with, a piece she created from scratch. I didn't see it until I opened the box, and it was breathtaking. Innovative, fresh, and totally amazing. I wore it for the main Derby event and it was a hit- I can't count the number of times I was stopped for photographs or asked "Who made that hat?!" On top, there was nothing- and I mean nothing, even remotely similar to it on anyone else's head. Considering that Derby is one of the premier "hat events" in the world, that's saying a lot- Austie was able to create a piece that was highly covetable, fresh, original, and photographed like crazy. I think years from now her pieces will be amongst the top millinier's in the world, so get it while you can. Her prices are totally reasonable for the level of quality and service.

  • O

    Gail · Married on 05/01/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From our first e-mails to my wedding day, I could not believe my fortune in finding such a talented and personable artist. I planned my wedding from the Middle East and only first met Austie for our trial run the week of my wedding in Oregon. She immediately put me at ease and confirmed the raw talent I saw in her online portfolio. Given my inability to micro-manage from a different continent, I entrusted her with creating a hair piece that would match a photo of my vintage-y wedding dress. I nearly cried when she showed me her creation; it was the perfect compliment. The makeup and hair styling that she did for me the day of the wedding was also flawless and it made me feel special. My mother and sister were extremely happy with their makeup as well. I love her aesthetic and really enjoyed working with her. I highly recommend Austie.

  • D

    Emily · Married on 02/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I met Austie in early December 2009, after months of conversing via email, for a makeup trial. She was so warm, engaging, funny, and professional. I left the trial not only wanting Austie to do my makeup for my February 2010 wedding, but I also wanted Austie to be my friend!

    Fast forward to February 20th, 2010, Austie and her colleague, Lyndsey (sp?), arrive in my hotel suite ready to get the show on the road. They were so professional with their hair and makeup done, their gear all ready, a full night's worth of sleep, and coffee drinks in tow.

    I, on the other hand, was a little tired from all of the pre-wedding events, but after ten minutes with them I shortly came around. They were so much fun to have in my suite! I felt like they were a part our clan (i.e., bridesmaids, cousins, friends, and Mom). They meshed so well with everyone and demonstrated their outstanding talents on my bridal party, myself, and my Mom. We all looked gorgeous! Plus we all felt like ourselves, as, both, Austie and Lyndsey listened extremely well to all of our wishes for the day-of.

    Thank you Austie and Lyndsey for being so collaborative. The two of you are truly shining stars with major talents. You are gems! I know you are going to go far in your career. I am so impressed with the reality of your work and I, of course, would highly recommend you to future clients.

    Happy client,

    Emily

  • H

    Hillary · Married on 09/06/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Austie did my bridal makeup/hair and makeup for my mom for our Labor Day weekend wedding on Mt. Hood. I knew after our trial run through that she would help me look good, but I can honestly say I've never felt more beautiful in my entire life than when she made me up for the wedding. She helped me with my hair/veil for no extra charge. She was also incredibly attentive and sweet to my Mom, and went above and beyond in fashioning a stunning feather headpiece for me to wear during the reception. Austie is a pro and knows how to match makeup with your personality, features, and comfort level. I cannot recommend her highly enough!

  • A

    Amiee · Married on 09/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was a bridesmaid in two weddings that Austie did, and I have to say that she was just incredible. Even as a bridesmaid, I have never looked better in my life. I only wish I'd have known about her when I got married!Probably the best part about Austie is that she can reproduce a look that I personally requested, but she can also make you gorgeous if you have nothing in mind. The first wedding, I brought a photo of a hairstyle I liked and she made me look even better than what the photo showed. The second wedding, I just told her to work her magic, and I was not disappointed. I would use her for any special occasion and would recommend her to all my friends. You won't be disappointed!

  • J

    Junia · Married on 08/30/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Austie is truly gifted with so much knowledge about fashion and artistry. Whether you are someone who knows exactly what you want (and need someone to execute it perfectly) or if you are lost and need ideas and creativity, she is your girl! She was on time (early, actually) to every meeting which was comforting. She is a natural when it comes to designing a "look" and has really found her calling. She really listens to what her clients want/need and delivers just that. She is also one of those people who spoils her clients and makes you feel like a million bucks every time you meet with her, so she is perfect to have with you during a special event (like a wedding). When I got my wedding pictures back, I was SO glad I had hired her. I have never looked and felt more beautiful, and she played a HUGE part in that.

  • S

    Marlene · Married on 08/22/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Austie is the BEST in every way !!!! My daughter and I stumbled across her while she was modeling at a local bridal show about a year and a half before my daughter's wedding. She is so personable and fun; we just immediately fell in love with her. Ironically, we went back to the same local bridal show the following year and found Austie doing her own booth. She immediately recognized us and we engaged in conversation; it was as though no time had passed. It was definitely a NO BRAINER to book her for our makeup. My daughter and I got to have a trial run for our makeup (even though we knew we did not need it) hey, what girl doesn't like to feel pampered ?? Austie was on site the day of the wedding and was simply amazing !! She made all of us feel like Cinderella and not just by putting on our makeup. I guess that is what impresses me the most about her. You can go to a lot of places for makeup. But, I promise you will never experience anything like Austie. There is a saying "you might not always remember what someone says to you - but, you always remember how they make you feel." Austie makes you feel goo and the bonus is that she makes you look amazing too. I simply adore her......

  • L

    Elizabeth · Married on 08/15/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Austie is the best!! I've never looked so good in my life! Austie came to our hotel and did the makeup for all my bridesmaids and my mom and me on the wedding day, and she did such an awesome job, I can't say enough. Everyone looked absolutely beautiful! We all looked like ourselves, just WAY better than usual. She was also great about scheduling a practice session with me before the wedding and keeping in touch in the weeks leading up to the wedding. I didn't have anyone to do our hair, so Austie recommended a colleague who was also awesome (Lindsay Telkamp) and the girls and I looked so great! I really couldn't be happier with what they both did for us. I wish I could post before and afters of all of us on here. Austie's a total professional and takes her work really seriously and I totally felt like I could count on her to show up on time and do a great job, but she's also a great person and so much fun to have around. I couldn't recommend her more highly.

  • O

    Elizabeth · Married on 08/15/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Austie was the best!! She did the makeup for all of my bridesmaids, my mother, and for me, and we all looked great! She was incredibly flexible about times and locations, and she got us all done quickly and right on time. She also had great ideas for all of us. Sometimes wedding makeup looks like Cirque du Face, but Austie did a great job making us look natural, yet hot. She was also significantly more reasonably priced than other people in Portland with comparable training and skills. Hire her.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review