AK Brides - Wedding Planning Services Reviews

51 | Birmingham, AL
See photos, pricing and details

51 Reviews for AK Brides - Wedding Planning Services

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

51

18 User photos

Order by:
  • V

    Virginia Riley 路 Married on 02/08/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfectly planned

    I cannot say enough good things about Anita Kanellis of AK Brides! 馃挄

    The days and weeks leading up to our wedding day were completely relaxed and stress-free, and that was all Anita!

    We got engaged right before Thanksgiving and married the first weekend in February, so saying it was a short engagement would be an understatement. Even with the holidays during our engagement, Anita pulled everything together flawlessly.

    I had multiple guests tell me that they had never been to an event that was so thoughtfully and perfectly planned for the ease and enjoyment of the guests.

    If you and your fianc茅 want a perfect wedding day while actually being able to relax and enjoy the experience, BOOK AK BRIDES! You will not be disappointed!

    Sent on 03/05/2020
  • L

    Lauren A Bowman 路 Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Memorable experience with Anita!

    Anita helped me plan a 200+ plus person multicultural wedding from out of state. We had a Hindu ceremony and also exchanged traditional vows. She got up to speed on our vision and executed it flawlessly, including helping us to execute the Indian cultural aspects of the wedding (including the planning for the mandap/baraat /sangeet). She was responsive, attentive, and easy to work with. I could not have asked for a better wedding planner. She knows the players in the Birmingham wedding scene well and helped us coordinate with professional and great vendors. We could not have pulled off our wedding events without her. I would recommend her in a heartbeat. You will not be disappointed if you chose to work with her. I interviewed a lot of wedding planners and knew she would be great fit due to her relaxed attitude and confidence. She can run with any vision and she can also most certainly handle a multicultural wedding.

    Sent on 02/16/2020
  • M

    Melinda Bond 路 Married on 09/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful working with Anita

    Anita was professional ,organized, calm, kind and patient . I am so thankful that we hired Anita as our wedding planner. Anita made our daughter's wedding come together just as Allison had envisioned. Anita was always there to answer calls, texts and emails and to let us know that all was taken care of . She introduced us to an awesome list of vendors - florist, photographer , cake bakery, venue , caterer, etc. She was always there to take care of the details and make sure everything was all set. Thanks to Anita we were able to relax and enjoy the planning process and most importantly the wedding weekend.

    Sent on 01/27/2020
  • A

    Allison Wilson 路 Married on 09/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend Anita!

    After getting engaged as a full-time grad student, I knew I needed someone to help plan the wedding. I contacted several Birmingham wedding planners. Most replied back with an automated generic response. However, Anita was personal and approachable from the beginning. She wanted to hear about me, my fianc茅, our visions, and our budget. From our first meeting to the wedding day, she never once pushed me to spend more than my budget allowed. She respected it and worked tirelessly to find a team of vendors that fit my style while staying within a price range. She went above and beyond to make our entire wedding weekend the best it could be. I honestly miss all the calls, meetings, texts, and e-mails with her! She is such a joy and I highly recommend her!!

    Sent on 02/02/2020
  • Geeta

    Geeta Malik 路 Married on 02/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita is amazing!

    She is responsive, receptive and organized. We could not have had the flawless execution without her guidance. So grateful to have had the perfect team.

    Sent on 01/27/2020
  • E

    Elizabeth 路 Married on 12/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly Wonderful

    Anita is not only very kind and caring, but will go above and beyond to help you (and your family or any parties involved) feel taken care of and relaxed on your wedding day! Our wedding was very detailed and an involved process combining three different cultures, but it turned out wonderfully! I would not have wanted to work with anyone else, she really cares about her brides!

    Sent on 01/27/2020

    AK Brides - Wedding Planning Services's reply:

    Thank you so much Lizzy!! I so appreciate your kind words.. Love and Hugs to you and Mohamed!! xoxo
  • A

    Aimee 路 Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita was amazing, and I couldn't have done it without her!

    Anita was amazing, and I couldn't have made it through wedding planning without her. We had to change our wedding date due to health issues, and she made it so easy. She's the best!

    Sent on 02/04/2020
  • K

    Kelly 路 Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita is very special! She's genuine and sweet with lots of knowledge, expertise and connections! Our daughter's wedding day would not have been flawless without Anita's skills and talents! She is an absolute joy to work with and spent so much time answering our questions, guiding us along the planning process and making sure everything was perfect on the day of the wedding! Anita went above and beyond our expectations! During the process, I would say, "I'm not stressed, I have Anita!" After the wedding, I've told everyone, "I couldn't have done it without Anita! She's the best!" There's no one else we would have wanted to trust our daughter's big day to other than precious Anita!

    Sent on 09/09/2018
  • E

    Emily 路 Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved working with Anita, she is very responsive from the time you sign your contract until the wedding day. Took a lot of stress off of my shoulders, would absolutely use again in the future.

    Sent on 06/18/2018
  • M

    Maggie 路 Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita was the absolute best wedding coordinator as was her assistant, Stacy. Anita would respond to my (probably unnecessary) texts/emails within an hour with either the answer or an 鈥淚鈥檒l get back to you asap鈥 message. She calmed me and assured me my day would be the best (and it was) and she also was able to answer the tough questions I had no idea about like strings of lights, tent vs no tent, silverware or not. I could go on and on. Anita is smart, savvy, well connected, calm, cool, and happy. She got my style and ideas immediately and made sure all my dreams came true on my wedding today. She listened to me, answered my questions and everything was drama free. I totally recommend Anita and Stacy as wedding coordinators!!

    Sent on 08/21/2018
  • H

    Harriet 路 Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita is incredible. She was always easy to contact with any question. She was prompt in responding to any call, text or email. She has a wonderful reputation with vendors and has worked with so many in the area. We were told many times that (if Anita is your planner you will have no worries). After speaking with my daughter, Anita set up interviews with vendors with whom she felt could provide the outcome my daughter desired for her wedding. She provided us with detailed timelines from ten months out to walking down the aisle. Anita took care of every detail the day of the wedding. She is the absolute best. Harriet, Mother of the Bride

    Sent on 12/15/2016
  • C

    Courtnie 路 Married on 12/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita was absolutely amazing. She was there to help and provide good suggestions the entire year of planning. She also organized a great vendor team to ensure that everything turned out beautifully. Preparation and planning is the key to a successful wedding and Anita did all of that!

    Sent on 12/21/2016
  • R

    Ruth 路 Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just can't say enough about Anita. She was excellent in the planning process, thought of things we would never have considered, made sure we got the best value for our money, very receptive to our ideas and how to accomplish them. Anita was prompt in replies and for meetings. She was always pleasant and made this process so much better. Her working relationship with the vendors is fabulous. The day of the rehearsal and wedding were so much calmer because she took everything on and made it such a wonderful day for the family and friends.
    Before this experience I never had thought of a wedding planner. Now its the first thing that I say to anyone planning a wedding "call Anita"!!!!

    Sent on 11/29/2016
  • K

    Katie 路 Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita was wonderful! Would not have been able to make our wedding so perfect and smooth without her help. She was available anytime I needed her and made sure every detail was accounted for and suggested amazing vendors!

    Sent on 11/07/2016
  • B

    Belinda 路 Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita Kanellis is the epitome of professionalism. Anita was always accessible. We had the privileged to work with Anita for our daughter's wedding. Anita graciously managed all aspects of the wedding. We absolutely loved working with Anita.

    Sent on 11/01/2016
  • L

    Leslie 路 Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AK brides is the most professional service you will find in the event planning business anywhere. My concerns , likes and dislikes were treated with the utmost respect. The vendors AK brides is associated with were terrific. I would highly recommend this company to anyone in need of event planning services.It was the most well spent money of any of the money spent on my daughters wedding.

    Sent on 10/25/2016
  • C

    Carrie and Boo 路 Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita is awesome. She is very organized and very professional with a lot of good ideas. She worked very hard for us and our two multicultural ceremonies. We could not have pulled it off without her help. By far the best investment in our wedding plans. Five stars all the way!!

    Sent on 12/09/2016
  • B

    Boyd 路 Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was our first wedding as a parents of the bride, and AK Brides was super helpful in navigating us through all of the planning and organization that goes into a wedding. We could never have done this without the guidance provided by Anita Kanellis. She helped us develop a coordinated plan, she worked with multiple vendors, and she was there overseeing everything on the final day. Great work! I would recommend her to anyone planning a wedding.

    Sent on 08/18/2015
  • User4879849 路 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Could not have asked for our wedding day to go more smoothly than it did, and it is all thanks to Anita! I cannot imagine planning and execution of the big day without her. She is a MUST for your wedding!

    Sent on 08/24/2015
  • C

    Catherine 路 Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita Kanellis is a wedding-saver! My son and his now-wife live abroad, and since I was the only parent living in the U.S., I was in charge of both the rehearsal dinner and the wedding reception. I also took on a lot of DIY decor projects that made decorating for both these events a challenge. Two months before the wedding, I realized that without help I'd never get to enjoy a minute of either the rehearsal dinner or reception. I hired Anita for "day of" coordination services and never looked back. She thinks of everything! Her detailed timelines and calm and competent manner allowed me to relax and enjoy a joyous weekend, and I can't thank or recommend her enough!

    Sent on 05/12/2015
  • D

    Deana 路 Married on 12/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita Kanellis is outstanding. She listened intently to my daughter's vision for her wedding and brought us experienced vendors who made it into a reality! We would highly recommend Anita to all prospective brides. She cares about her brides, their families and goes above and beyond to make her clients' wedding day run as smoothly as possible.

    Sent on 01/05/2015
  • L

    LYNN 路 Married on 12/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita actually helped me with my son's REHEARSAL DINNER!!! SHE WAS ABSOLUTELY THE "BEST REHEARSAL DINNER" PLANNER EVER!! SHE ALWAYS ANSWERED MY TEXTS, EMAILS, CALLS, ETC. IN A TIMELY MANNER. SHE WAS ALWAYS SOO SWEET, KIND, POSITIVE, HELPFUL, CALMING, REASSURING,ETC.....SHE WAS ALWAYS PROFESSIONAL AND OF COURSE, VERY, VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT THE VENDORS, CATERERS, FLORISTS, CAKES, ANY RENTALS, ETC.....I AM SOO THANKFUL AND BLESSED THAT I WAS ABLE TO "EXPERIENCE" THIS SPECIAL TIME IN MY SON'S LIFE WITH ANITA "RIGHT BY SIDE" EVERY STEP OF THE WAY!! NOT ONLY IS SHE AN AWESOME WEDDING/REHEARSAL DINNER PLANNER, SHE IS MY NEW FRIEND FOR LIFE:)!!

    Sent on 01/06/2015
  • User4663276 路 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is no better planner than Anita! Her professional knowledge, organization, listening skills, and kindness are exceptional. The vendors she introduced us to for our event were every bit as outstanding as she is. Our family so enjoyed working with her. Simply put, she made our dreams a reality and was worth every penny.

    Sent on 01/05/2015
  • R

    Rachel 路 Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita Kanelis is definitely at the top of the "A" list of wedding planners. She was invaluable in planning our daughter's wedding, and it was obvious from the beginning of our relationship that she knows what she's doing. She was on top of every datail and made my daughter's special day one that we truly could enjoy rather than worrying about all the details, large or small. She is a joy to work with, and I recommend her for anyone who wants their event to be stress-free, special and spectacular

    Sent on 09/07/2014
  • N

    Nancy 路 Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anita was a joy to work with. On the day of the wedding, she handled so many details that I did not have to worry about. This allowed me to simply enjoy the day of the wedding.

    Sent on 09/09/2014