Skip to main content
Weddings

About Joy Events Reviews

About Joy Events

About Joy Events

San Francisco, CA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 10 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
10 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

10

2 User photos

  • F
    Haley A. Sent on 06/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best and kindest planners in the business!!

    We got married in June and had an amazing experience working with Jackie, Cookie, and Kaylin at About Joy — we really couldn’t have pulled it off without them and they truly live up to their joyful name!! They were each creative, attentive, and took every detail into account when we were planning. Their creativity and attention to detail were key for communicating about our complex, multi-event wedding in Oakland. As soon as we signed with them, they helped us hire all our other major vendors, making sure we got to work with their (and now our!) favorite people during the extra busy summer 2022 wedding season. And not a day went by in the final weeks of preparations that we didn’t say to each other “thank goodness we hired About Joy.” We cannot recommend About Joy strongly enough for your upcoming wedding!
  • Michelle
    Michelle Sent on 07/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Should've hired sooner!

    My husband and I were struggling so much until we worked with Jackie. We regret not finding her sooner since she was such a big stress reliever for us! She had a wonderful and positive attitude in helping us figure out everything we needed and wanted for our wedding.

    We were so excited to see it all come together. Unfortunately 2 weeks before the scheduled date, San Francisco had put restrictions in place due to COVID-19. Our wedding was cancelled. We weren't able to see the wedding we were eagerly looking forward to and that Jackie had worked so hard on to help us make that happen.

    Once COVID-19 stuff dies down enough to begin planning smaller gatherings to celebrate, I am so grateful we can count on Jackie and Cookie to help. We would be so lost without them!
  • Z
    Zakkai D. Sent on 11/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Genuinely wonderful wedding coordinators

    Jackie has been nothing short of wonderful during our entire time working with her. About 2 months before our wedding, my partner and I reached out to Jackie to ask about day-of-coordination and quickly recognized that she was the coordinator we wanted. Jackie was super-fast at communicating, very well-organized, and able to help us plan out everything we needed! Even though we only hired her for day-of-coordination, she helped us with tons of logistics during the full two months leading up to the wedding including setting us up with a spectacular florist, finding a stylist and make-up artist, coordinating with vendors, and getting final logistics planned for the day. She was a huge lifesaver and our wedding wouldn't have been nearly as smooth and fun without her.

    For the day-of-coordination, not only did Jackie and Cookie make everything seamless and easy for my partner and I, but they also made everything in our wedding look absolutely stunning. They managed everything from setting up the flowers and coordinating with the caterers on timing to figuring out the layout for ceremony and handling the rearrangement of the backyard for the reception (see attached photos).

    Honestly, my partner and I have been so happy with how the day went and that's in no small part due to the amazing work from About Joy events. We 1000% recommend hiring them :)
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Rachel
    Rachel C. Sent on 09/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Kindness, Enthusiasm, & Joy!

    Jackie has been the wedding planner of our dreams! She is enthusiastic, organized, and timely in her responses. Everything was going according to plan then COVID hit us less than 3 months before our wedding. While our world was falling apart (my fiancé and I both work in healthcare) Jackie was our support and lead us to making the right decisions when we had our blinders of disbelief up! Even though we postponed, our enthusiasm remains strong because we know Jackie will remain committed 100%; just as she has been through the most difficult challenges. Jackie contacted every single vendor during the crisis and made sure they could all agree to our new date. She removed what would have been a major headache and allowed us to focus on our jobs and merely get through. You will not regret booking Jackie along with her sweet sister Cookie! They're a great team & you would be lucky to have them on your side! Thank you Jackie!!!
  • I
    Ivetta Sent on 01/10/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had the pleasure of attending two events planned and managed by Samantha: a baby birthday and a wedding. Both events were flawlessly set up and organized. I really appreciated the artisanal touch Sam added with every detail. In summary:

    Wedding, Sonoma, CA
    - Outdoors
    - Approximately 200 people
    - Sophisticated but relaxed
    - Delicious food, with a mix of ethnic Russian dishes and new American
    - Many rustic style details perfect for Sonoma
    - Sam's dessert tables deserve a review of their own, with a selection of French macarons, cupcakes, candy and a gorgeous wedding cake with ruffle-like details.

    Baby Birthday, Monterey, CA
    - Indoors
    - Approximately 50 people
    - Fun, kids-oriented, with lots of colorful details
    - Delicious finger food that was filling but light and healthy
    - Gorgeous dessert table with fun treats for kids

    It was interesting to see how Sam organizing these two events, very different in terms of theme/venue/number of guests/food, and excelled at both! I would definitely hire her to organize an event without a second thought.
  • J
    Jeff Sent on 12/25/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Samantha organized a rehearsal BBQ for my wedding in San Diego. I asked for a BBQ at Scripps Park in La Jolla for 30 people. She found a rental company that provided chairs, tables, and umbrellas.
    I also asked for the event to be catered by Phil's BBQ and she contacted them and did all the ordering. The day of the event she was there to set up and even went to a bakery to pick up dessert. Her and her helper husband made set up and clean up effortless. (At least for me). The BBQ was a huge success. Everyone loved the food and decorations. I will definitely use her services again. She is very knowledgable and honest.
  • A
    Annette Sent on 12/25/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I'm not one of those brides who had a grand vision of my wedding from the age of 10. I was actually dreading it (the planning, not the marriage). The idea of having to sift through linen colors made me want to stab myself with a spork. The hubby and I had actually eloped the year before, but were having a Catholic ceremony to please my crazy Asian parents. I knew I needed help. Enter Samantha and Milk & Honey Special Events. She was referred by a colleague, and she turned out to be my fairy godmother. She handled month-of/day-of coordination and design/decor. Thanks to Samantha, we had a lovely wedding in Palo Alto that made both my traditional Vietnamese family happy as well as the groom's Texas relatives. No mean feat. Whenever I got super stressed out, she was calm and reassuring. Sam has impeccable taste and can be relied upon for advice and guidance on pretty much anything wedding-related. I can't tell how wonderful it feels to have someone else worry about details on your wedding day while you just concentrate on walking down the aisle without tripping on your train.
  • E
    Elizabeth Sent on 12/25/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I collaborated with Samantha on custom party supplies and she was wonderful to work with. The end result produced a beautiful, visually spectacular party where the vision was implemented perfectly. I hope to work with Samantha again!
  • M
    Meredith Sent on 06/28/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sam was nothing short of amazing. We got hooked up with her through a friend a few weeks before our wedding when we were really feeling overwhelmed by the details of things. To make matters worse, we were having trouble connecting with a major vendor. Sam met with us and was all ears to learn about what our vision was and what things we still needed to accomplish. Although she was initially going to focus solely on the day-of coordination, I'm sure it was clear to her that we needed much more help than that. She was very professional and up front about expectations and remained clear on both what she was handling versus what we needed to take care of ourselves. She was also always available to give her opinion on little details, even going so far as to meet us at the linen place to pick colors. She was also great on the day-of with extra stuff like decorating the venue, and she went back and did a full walk through the day after to make sure everything was in order for the venue inspection. Although we didn't hire her until the 11th hour, she did an amazing job and I am certain that our wedding was a success largely based on her efforts.

    Also, from the point she started working with us I really felt a sense of relief because I was confident that things were being handled, and it allowed me to be relaxed on my wedding day knowing that the details and timeline were in capable hands. My only regret is that we didn't hire her earlier! I would highly recommend Milk & Honey to anyone who is looking to put their wedding or event in capable and caring hands. Thanks Sam for making our wedding a success!
  • A
    Andy Sent on 12/25/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Samantha made our rehearsal dinner perfect. My wife and I found the venue, a yacht club, and we lined up the caterer. However, we did not have any idea how to organize the tables, seating area, or any of the decorations. Samantha basically took it over from there. Samantha handled all of the decorations, which turned out amazing. Many of our guests thought that we had hired a florist for the rehearsal, but it was all Samantha's work. She coordinated purchasing the flowers, purchasing and renting the vases and other table decorations, and designing and assembling all the flower arrangements.

    I would definitely recommend Milk & Honey for your wedding, or any other important party that you're throwing.
Responds within 24 hours