A Private Estate Reviews

35 | Germantown, NY
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for A Private Estate

Recommended by 98%

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
35 A Private Estate Reviews
Sort by:
  • J

    Jen · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent!

    My husband and I recently got married at A Private Estate and our wedding day was nothing short of wonderful! Our search for the perfect venue was over the second we entered the property - from the secluded and private location, to the jaw dropping mountain views, and spacious two-story barn. Ripley (property owner) and Jack (property manager) were absolutely fabulous and extremely helpful throughout the process of planning our special day. Ripley always answered our e-mails in a timely manner and offered valuable assistance while planning. When we arrived the weekend of our wedding, Ripley and Jack were both readily available to us and helped us mitigate minor challenges, providing support and reassurance! Our guests thoroughly enjoyed the uniquely versatile space that A Private Estate has to offer and we will be forever grateful to Ripley and Jack!

    A Private Estate 1
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so fortunate to find our way to A Private Estate.
    We hosted a large weekend long affair..
    The owner and property manager could not have been more helpful and gracious.
    The setting is gorgeous and there are so many ways to use the space.
    We have only happy memories from our time there !

    Sent on 06/12/2018

    A Private Estate's reply:

    Elizabeth, It was a delight getting to know you and your family. We hope you will come back in the future and have time to really enjoy the grounds. All the best to you and the happy couple!
  • P

    Phil · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The whole experience with this venue was a delight. They helped us out following another venue canceling at short notice and this worked out hugely in our favor. Ripley was a joy to work with and nothing was too much trouble for Jack and his team. The location was just perfect and has added hundreds of cherished memories to our life. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. Highly recommended.

    Sent on 11/13/2017

    A Private Estate's reply:

    Thank you Phil. It was a pleasure to work with you and Charlotte. Jack and I wish you must happiness in the years to come.
  • L

    Lia & Christian · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Private Estate was the perfect setting for our wedding! We cannot thank Ripley and Jack enough for how beautiful they made the space and how amazingly accommodating they were to us in every way. The venue is magical and our wedding felt like a complete fairy tale! It is so wonderful to have multiple spaces for each part of the event: ceremony, cocktails, and reception. Every part of the estate is perfectly maintained. It was also so convenient to have the carriage house on site. We turned it into the bride headquarters, which was essential.

    Thank you again Ripley and Jack. We are so grateful, we made memories that we will hold dear to our hearts forever at A Private Estate. -- L + C

  • S

    Sean · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Private Estate was the perfect venue for our wedding. We wanted a great outdoor space that was beautiful, well manicured and upscale but also wanted it to feel quaint. Needless to say A Private Estate hit it out of the park. Ripley and her team were there to cover everything, answer every question, give great suggestions and overall help execute the most memorable day ever. The carriage house was the perfect accommodation for us and our family and really made us feel at home as we got ready to walk down the aisle. If I had to do it all over again I wouldn't change a thing or go with anyone venue. Highly recommended.

    A Private Estate 2
    A Private Estate 3
    A Private Estate 4
    A Private Estate 5
    A Private Estate 6
  • J

    JP · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is truly a magical venue. If you're looking for the perfect outdoor venue, stop reading this review and book A Private Estate right away! (No, seriously). This is a unique and beautiful property that gives you plenty of options to host your wedding. In our case, we had ceremony with a breathtaking view of the Hudson River. Cocktail hour up by the barn. And reception and dancing in the barn and patio. Everything was perfect. And not in a "this is a wonderful wedding venue" cliche kind of way. This does not feel like a traditional (cheesy) wedding venue, probably because it isn't. This is a sophisticated and beautiful property for you to have the wedding of your dreams. Ripley and her staff could not have been more wonderful and accommodating. What a pleasure to do business with them! In fact, a pleasure to get to know them and talk to them. They are warm, extremely helpful, and just really nice folks. You enjoy just talking to them. And Jack is a rockstar! He makes sure that everything is set up the way you want it-- in fact, he exceeded our expectations and made our vision come to fruition in a way we didn't think it was possible. Service was stellar, non-intrusive. Ripley and staff went above and beyond, they really did. All of our guests were in awe of such an inspiring venue and the exceptional service they all received. This was for sure a perfect wedding (again, not in a cheesy way). Everybody says that about their wedding, but this really was. Wedding was a month ago, and guests are still raving about the unforgettable experience. Thank you Ripley for allowing us to have such a memorable and important day at your property. We will forever be grateful.

    Sent on 10/07/2017

    A Private Estate's reply:

    JP, thank you so much for this review. We really try to exceed everyone's expectations because we truly care about your happiness. Please come back and visit! The Carriage House is available to rent year round. All best wishes to you and Sean and your families.
  • G

    Grace · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have been happier to have our wedding with Ripley at A Private Estate. The day we first drove down her wooded drive was my favorite day in the whole wedding planning process. It was breathtaking and perfect from the first glance, and we connected with the owner, Ripley, and her groundskeeper, Jack, right away. They are amazingly kind and laid back, and make everything really clear and easy. Jack will go above and beyond to help you set up your day. But you really don't need to do much once you secure this place for your big day. It is so beautiful, it does all the work for you! The views are stunning, the grounds a beautiful to walk around. Everyone loved the swing hanging from a gorgeous old tree by the pond. And one of my favorite things was the camp fire they had on the lawn near the dance floor late at night. Family and friends could gather around it when they didn't feel like dancing, and still feel like they were part of the fun. I highly recommend using the carriage house on the property for family lodging. We did, and it was, likewise, really lovely and well kept, and so convenient for everyone staying there. I can't say enough good things about this place. Worth every penny!

    Sent on 07/25/2017

    A Private Estate's reply:

    Thank you Grace for such a lovely review. We truly enjoyed hosting you and your friends and family. Please come back for a visit if you are in the area. Jack and I wish you both every happiness in the years to come. Stay in touch!
  • J

    Josh · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we first saw the venue, we knew it was where we needed to get married. From the first tour of the site with Jack to the ongoing interactions with Ripley to the bending over backwards Jack did for us on wedding weekend, everything was A++. It was incredible to have the carriage house and cabin rented as well and we highly recommend utilizing both if you're considering this venue. The setting for the ceremony by the pond and the barn/patio for the reception were perfect and was so convenient to have them in one location. Jack is the absolute best and it truly wouldn't have been as special without him there taking care of everything and making sure we didn't have anything to worry about.

    Sent on 06/09/2017

    A Private Estate's reply:

    Thank you so much Josh for the kind words. We wish you and Alex much happiness in the years to come. Do come back to visit if you are up our way. We would love to catch up. All the best!
  • J

    Joy · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently got married at A Private Estate and it was the best decision we ever made. Aside from the venue being absolutely beautiful and unique, Ripley and Jack were super knowledgeable on all things wedding and extremely accommodating. I had no idea what I was doing, Ripley recommended a caterer, wedding planner, baker and florist that turned out to all be amazing. The cottage house that was included in the package was stunning, comfortable and really romantic. It was very convenient for me and my bridesmaids to get ready and walk a few steps to the isle, believe me that is worth a lot when there are so many moving parts. We had our ceremony right on the waterfront, my guests continue to rave about the property and the mesmerizing view from the lawn. We held our reception in the barn on the property which is very elegant and spacious, we even got to enjoy a bonfire on the back patio. The best part about A Private Estate is the ability to have any type of wedding from rustic to elegant, this venue can pull anything off and is affordable. Wedding planning can be very complicated and stressful but Ripley made it seamless with her list of preferred vendors and understanding demeanor. The photos on their site and Facebook page do it no justice, give the place a visit because you cannot capture the beauty of A Private Estate in a photo. I can continue to go on and on about my experience at A Private Estate and I'm probably leaving out a million more details about how Ripley and Jack made the most important day of my life perfect. I would recommend A Private Estate to any couple wanting to have a stress free and memorable wedding. Thank you Ripley and Jack!
    Chris & Joy Dominique

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A private estate was a wonderful location to have our wedding! Aside from being beautiful, it was a pleasure working with Ripley and Jack. Jack was so accommodating and helpful, helping us to ensure anything we wanted was taken care of, and keeping the site gorgeous and constantly improving (they even added an entire flagstone patio for a dance floor between the time we selected it and had our wedding). It rained all day and Jack and his staff helped to make sure that everything still ran smoothly. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/13/2016

    A Private Estate's reply:

    Thank you so much Rebecca for your enthusiastic review. We truly enjoyed hosting you and your now extended family! Jack and I cannot wait to see your photos. All the best for a very Happy Thanksgiving.
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Private Estate is a magical place and we are so happy we decided to get married there this past September. The ability to have the ceremony and cocktail hour by the river and the reception at the barn was truly unique and our guests loved it. The owner Ripley and the property manager Jack are very responsive and super helpful - they were there all weekend and make sure everything went smoothly. I would also recommend renting the carriage house on the property. My family rented it and it was very special to be able to spend time on the property before and after the wedding, not to mention convenient on the day of. Overall - 5 stars!!

  • J

    Jackie · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As parents of the bride we stayed in the cottage on the Estate. This was located beside the venue. The cottage was well equipped, clean and accommodated 8 adults and 4 young children. The master bedroom was a perfect room for bridal preparations on the day of the wedding.
    The owner of "A Private Estate", Ripley Hathaway, and her property manger, Jack, were extremely helpful during our stay and their attention to the smallest detail was truly amazing. Ripley was changing hand towels in the bathroom during the evening.
    All the sub-contractors were very efficient and pleasant to work with. The actual wedding and venue met and exceeded our expectations.

    Sent on 10/17/2016

    A Private Estate's reply:

    Thank you so much for the glowing review. We do hope we will see you if you return to the Northeast. Its pretty magical here in winter too!. All best wishes to you and your family.
  • Melissa

    Melissa · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was married at A Private Estate on July 30, 2016 and I could not have been happier with our choice of venue. I live only five minutes north of the estate, yet the entire weekend I felt as if we were at some beautiful, remote location.
    The grounds of the estate are extensive and meticulously maintained that no matter where on the property you choose to have the ceremony, it will be stunning. The barn on the property is a fantastic space to hold the reception; it can be as romantic or casual as you choose to make it. We fit 120 guests comfortably in the barn and on the barn’s porch for dinner, with dancing on the patio. The flow of the reception space was ideal; as it was in no way congested yet concentrated enough that no one felt as if they missed anything.
    Jack, the caretaker of A Private Estate, will go above and beyond to make your day go off without a hitch. When rain unexpectedly made an appearance at our wedding, Jack was able to secure a tent for us within hours of our reception…no easy feat! Ripley and Jack are a great team, whom offer resources and make themselves accessible to you in order for your day to be as wonderful as possible.
    My only complaint would be that my wedding went by all too quickly. Thank you Ripley and Jack for such a magical wedding, it was more than I had ever envisioned!

    Sent on 08/29/2016

    A Private Estate's reply:

    Dear Melissa, Thank you for the compliments. We too felt your magical wedding went by too fast. Thank you again for choosing us. We wish you and Justin many years of happiness. Ripley
  • A

    Alix · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Private Estate was truly spectacular in every single way. We lucked out beyond belief to be able to get married at such a magnificent venue. Ripley treated us phenomenally and shared in our joy while also making sure everything ran smoothly. Jack also did so much all weekend and made us feel so welcomed on the property that he maintains so well. Everything about the property was magical. It is also such a good value for having the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception feel like completely different settings even though they are all within a three minute walk. All in all, A Private Estate played a huge role in making our wedding the best weekend of our lives.

    Sent on 07/24/2016

    A Private Estate's reply:

    Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We enjoyed hosting your wedding. Please feel free to come back for a visit. With all best wishes for much happiness in the years to come. - Ripley
  • User5440417 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a great venue and team. We had a fall wedding at A Private Estate and it was picture perfect wedding. Ripley and Jack were very accommodating and detail oriented in helping us plan our wedding. Would recommend this place to anyone who would like a barn style wedding.

  • M

    Michael · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughters wedding couldn't have gone any better - no problems, beautiful setting, everyone friendly and supportive

    Sent on 10/24/2015

    A Private Estate's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words. Jack and I work very hard to make sure everyone is happy and that the wedding day meets and hopefully exceeds everyone's expectations.
  • M

    meredith · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We fell in love with A Private Estate the moment we drove up. It was everything we had ever talked about and more! Ripley was a pleasure to work with and was very welcoming. She introduced us to our Planner and we had a very easy wedding-planning experience over the past year.

    During the few days leading up to the wedding, we stayed on the property in the Carriage House and it made the whole event even more special. Jack, the Property Manager, was fantastic to work with as well! The whole team there is awesome.

    We truly lucked out weather-wise and our day was AMAZING.

  • User5207523 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a beautiful property! My fiance and I are aesthetically very picky, and we both fell in love with this venue right away. You can't argue with the way the lawn frames on one side the mansion house, and on the other opens up to the Hudson River and the Catskills Mountains in the background. The grounds are kept in excellent condition by a very knowledgeable and caring owner (this will become apparent if you see the contract for the venue) and groundskeeper. It was a pleasure to work with them. Ripley was very responsive, and very thorough. She helped guide us with our more or less DIY wedding. I can't speak highly enough of Jack, whom we relied on to help us set up, and take stuff down.

    Our friends and family are still reminding us what a great and relaxing time they had, and how much they loved the venue. The beautiful setting made everyone relax and have a great time.

    We stayed at the Carriage House for 2 nights. It is well stocked, and with 4 bedrooms, you can have your closest friends/family staying there too. It's clean and rustic.

    One word of caution to those who want to party all night... This is not the place for you. In general, unless you're in a hotel/banquet/indoors space, ie sound proof, there is a mandatory loud noise shut down before 11pm.

  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be more thrilled with our selection of A Private Estate for our wedding. It was a beautiful summer day in a gorgeous location. The front lawn and view of the Hudson was a breathtaking backdrop for our ceremony and cocktail hour. Then we danced the night away up in the barn complex. Our guests could not stop talking about what a unique and fun night it was, truly memorial. Ripley and Jack were so easy to work with and always prompt in responding to our questions and concerns.

    Sent on 06/22/2014

    A Private Estate's reply:

    It was a pleasure working with you and Kevin and meeting your families. We are thrilled your wedding was everything you wanted it to be and we were honored to be a part of such an important day. All best wishes to you and Kevin now and forever.
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter and her husband got married at A Private Estate and I can not believe I had not met anyone that had used this breathtaking venue before. You should end your search immediately and book this absolutely captivating setting. It was wonderful to work with the extremely professional owner, Ripley Hathaway and her groundskeeper, Jack. They have the happiness and dreams of the couple in mind and could not have been more helpful and genuinely happy to participate in the couple's special day. The grounds are meticulously manicured and they were married in front of the gorgeous panoramic view of the Hudson River and the Catskill Mountains. We enjoyed our cocktail hour outdoors, in front of the Main House, and moved to the barn for dinner, where we could dance just adjacent under cover (just in case!). Even our caterer felt it was a fantastic place to work, with a full kitchen for their use and a fully cooperative hostess and logistics team (parking was a breeze thanks to the smiling staff greeting everyone!) I have absolutely no "hitches" to warn you about, nothing but wonderful things to say...even the bathrooms were meticulously maintained and lovely. BOOK IT!

  • User4217844 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a beautiful venue on the Hudson River with a perfect view of the Catskills. This is not your typical venue that makes you feel like you are just another wedding party being run through the wedding mill. Immediately you feel as if this beautiful property, once owned by the Livingston family, is being shared with you and all of the guests. Although grand, the property is also unpretentious, giving you the feeling, that at least for one day, this is an extension of your home for you and your family and friends to fully enjoy. It is the exact right place to be on that day very special day.

  • User3866691 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is an incredible venue. Beautifully maintained property. Highly recommend

  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 06/16/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are so happy we decided to get married at A Private Estate this past June. We can't stop thinking about how perfect the day was and so much of that had to do with our incredible venue. Ripley and Jack are friendly, accommodating and caring individuals. They really went above and beyond to make our day special. Both were onsite the day of our wedding pitching in and helping out other staff! The venue itself is incredibly charming and unlike any other wedding venue we've ever seen. You have the freedom to create your own vision and there are many beautiful vantage points to work with. If you are planning your own wedding, it's a lot of work but totally worth it. I really appreciated the fact that I wasn't required to work with specific vendors. I was able to research a lot on my own and choose specific vendors who were able to create my vision. We had our ceremony down by the Hudson River overlooking the Catskill mountains, our cocktail hour on the lawn a few steps from the estate and our reception towards the back of the property inside the barn. We really lucked out with the weather on June 16th - it was 85 degrees and sunny without a drop of rain. Most of the venue is outdoors and I really did not want to have a tent for the ceremony, cocktail hour or reception, so keep that in mind if you have a similar vision. Our family and friends cannot stop talking about how amazing our wedding was. I've heard from numerous people that it was the best wedding they've ever attended and one of the most beautiful venues they've ever seen. I highly recommend getting married at a Private Estate for all of the DIY brides out there!

    A Private Estate 7
    A Private Estate 8
    A Private Estate 9
    A Private Estate 10
    A Private Estate 11
    A Private Estate 12
    A Private Estate 13
    A Private Estate 14
    A Private Estate 15
    A Private Estate 16
  • E

    Elle · Married on 09/03/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience working with Ripley and her team for our wedding at A Private Estate. Everyone was genuinely invested in making our event special. It's a beautiful spot and we had a blast.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review