A Matter of Taste Reviews

16 | Ellsworth, MI
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for A Matter of Taste

Recommended by 88% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.0

Awards

16
Order by:
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ginny and Gregg did a wonderful job catering my daughter, Lauren’s, wedding. The food was excellent, service was perfect and most of all they were so professional that I did not have to worry about a thing. It allowed me to enjoy what was a perfect day. Both Gregg and Ginny were very helpful and absolutely a joy to work with. I would highly recommend them for any catering event.

    Sent on 10/04/2017

    A Matter of Taste's reply:

    Thank You Cindy! Lauren was the most amazing bride because she knew what she wanted and she was so in love! True love and happiness is the most beautiful gift.
    It truly was an honor to be part of such a love story and the entire staff at A Matter of Taste would like to say thank you for giving us the opportunity to cater for all your family and friends! Our Best!
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We not only had our wedding catered by Ginny and Gregg, but also had our wedding at their venue. It turned out to be a beautiful sunny day, just like Ginny told me it would be. We did tapas during pictures, and they were absolutely amazing. They say a bride doesn't eat on her wedding day, well my husband made sure I got a plate of everything :). Next we had food stations with their amazing whitefish, mashed potato bar and many more! It was amazing! The atmosphere, the dance floor, the romantic lights...it was just perfect. It was a little chilly, but Ginny and Gregg set up a bonfire for us, as well as a yummy smore bar! Everyone raved about the food, atmosphere and memories that all of us get to cherish forever. It was beautiful and unique...the best day of my life. Thank you so much Ginny and Gregg!!!

    Sent on 10/27/2015
  • User4114931 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding ceremony and reception at matter of taste at Tapawingo and also used Matter of Taste for our catering. Our wedding turned out absolutely perfect!! The venue is gorgeous and is such a nice atmosphere. It was the perfect size for our wedding (about 80 people). We got endless compliments on the venue. Ginny and Greg were very helpful and accomdating. They made the wedding we imagined come true! The food was FANTASTIC. We had a little trouble with our shuttle transporting guests so the ceremony was pushed back about 40 minutes. The staff was AMAZING. They opened the bar early and brought out appetizers while people waited. They even brought food back to me and my bridesmaids. They have a nice bridal suite that we all got ready at which was perfect. They even brought us muffins and coffee while we got ready. I had a few last minutes changed and Greg and Ginny made sure everything was just how I wanted it. We also had our rehearsal dinner there and it turned out great. I would absoulely recoommennd Matter of Taste at Tapawingo!!

    Sent on 07/07/2015

    A Matter of Taste's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words and it was our pleasure to celebrate both rehearsal and wedding at our peaceful, private venue. My husband was so funny while preparing for the wedding he thought it would be a great idea to make muffins for you girls. Men will always do something during your marriage that always remind you why you married them. That was one for me, because after 23 years of marriage he can take me right back to his thoughtful ideas. Gregg and I along with our entire staff at A Matter of Taste @Tapawingo wish you all the best and thank you for having us! Your review was very kind and its what we strive for. Making dreams come true and be as accomodating to help insure a flawless experience! Thank You!
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 04/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired A Matter of Taste for our wedding reception at Castle Farms on 4/19/14. We were very please with the level of service given by Ginny and her staff. The food was delicious and all of our guests were very pleased. We had a buffet but the servers still took the time to bring our bread and salads to our seats. They were so pleasant and all of them took the time to come and congratulate my new husband and I. Ginny made sure that everyone had enough to eat! They even brought my daughters plates out to the table for them so they would not have to try to carry them on their own. Overall they are an excellent choice for any bride planning her big day. They provided us with a wonderful bar staff and made sure that we had enough drinks there just incase. The price was much lower in comparison to the other four or five catering companies that we contacted. If you want good food, smiling and polite servers, and one less stress on your wedding day then you need to give Ginny with A Matter of Taste a call now.

    Sent on 04/26/2014
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Matter of Taste catered our wedding at Castle Farms. We are not from the area and we had 164 out of town quests. We had a rehearsal dinner for immediate family and our wedding party as well as a Sunday Brunch for all of our wedding guests at her establishment. She was very flexible and worked with us to ensure we could pull off everything we envisioned for the weekend. We met with other caterers in the area, but her flexibility and commitment to serving high quality food with exceptional service was not comparable. We decided on family style service for the wedding and it worked out perfectly - our family and friends are accustomed to high quality meals (its the norm where we live), and they all raved about the food and everyone had more than enough to eat - this is often a complaint when we are out of our home town for events. We were pleased to present all of our travelling guests with wonderful food for the entire weekend. Ginny ensured all of the little details we were hoping for happened by recommending local vendors to rent items from and working with other service providers to communicate our wishes. Our Sunday brunch was perfect; An amazing spread was set up throughout the late morning and early afternoon. Ginny's help was invaluable for us - planning an out of town wedding can be trying, but she did everything in her power to ensure we were satisfied and the weekend lived up to our expectations - it surpassed our expectations - We wouldn't have had such a wonderful experience without her and the food was TO DIE FOR! We would recommend A Matter of Taste to anyone planning an event in the area. Their spot on the lake is absolutely gorgeous and when we went for our tasting we knew we wanted to add it to our weekend agenda. Her staff was very pleasant and Ginny and her husband are a dedicated team, doing everything in their power to enhance your experience, fill your stomachs, and surpass your greatest expectations - for us, they did all of that and more!

    Sent on 11/20/2013

    A Matter of Taste's reply:

    Michelle and Logan!! You two are the best!!!!! Thank you so much for all those kind words. What a beautiful review you left us.
    I'm amazed at how much fun your friends and family were. They never stopped having a good time and smiling. Wonderful way to live!! Wish the two of you so many blissful years together!! Congrats!!
  • C

    cheri · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ginny and her staff are wonderful to work with and did a fabulous job for our daughter's wedding! The food was delicious beginning with the to die for appetizers. We had so many compliments on the food and the fact that there was plenty of it. The wedding cake was absolutely delicious!!! Everyone was talking about the cake, too!:) I really have nothing negative at all to say about our experience with A Matter of Taste. Ginny really works with the bride and groom to make sure they get everything they want, and she does it with class and elegance.

    Sent on 10/16/2012
  • Tracy

    Tracy · Married on 08/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ginny made our dream wedding possible! That sounds dramatic but it is beyond true. We wanted a backyard wedding at my parent’s lake house on Burt Lake. The first caterer we met with wanted an insane amount of money that would use the majority of our wedding budget and needed us to rent all equipment for her. After choosing a venue in Petoskey my parents could tell I was not happy and told me to try again and find a caterer that would make our dream wedding work. I found Ginny!! Ginny had all equipment and was enthusiastic to make our backyard wedding possible with great food as well! The food was amazing! My Uncle (from New York) has continuously been requesting the salad recipe! Having Ginny, her husband Gregg and her staff at our home to make us dinner felt like having family there! They were flexible when the timing of dinner changed a bit and always were smiling! A great surprise was Shannon; A Matter of Taste’s catering coordinator. I cannot say enough about Shannon’s upbeat, bright personality. She even synched with the guitarist to send the bridal party out for the processional, keeping us all calm and focused. Being a backyard DIY wedding, we needed all the help we could get and Shannon helped make the details fall into place! I guarantee after meeting Ginny and Gregg for a tasting you will have no doubts, absolutely amazing people and food! Xoxo!

    Sent on 09/15/2012
  • Shannon

    Shannon · Married on 10/02/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First of all, the food is fantastic! Many of our wedding guests said it was the best food they had ever eaten at a wedding, and I still have people begging me to get the recipe for the salad dressing! We met with Ginny, the owner of A Matter of Taste, before we met any of our other vendors, and the choice was easy. She is straightforward and assured, efficient, talented, energetic, and fun - someone you want handling one of the most important aspects of your wedding reception! We chose our vendors based alot on personality (low-drama and easy to work with) and it paid off, especially with A Matter of Taste!

    Sent on 10/28/2010
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/05/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Genny and the staff at A Matter of Taste did an excellent job on our wedding. Being an out-of-state bride, I was so happy to have discovered this company. The food was one of my favorite parts of the whole wedding. I had several complements on the presentation, and taste. I decided to have them serve family-style, and was pleasantly surprised when the bridal party's dinner was plated, this made things a bit easier. The only way I could be happier is if I could eat this meal more often! Thank you Genny, and your awesome staff. You Guys Were AMAZING!

    Sent on 09/09/2015

    A Matter of Taste's reply:

    Congratulations Katie and Andrew! It was our pleasure catering your wedding and creating the style and food choices! We always enjoy foodies and bride and grooms who enjoy fresh food along with your sense of adventure with the cheese tower, Michigan Berries, and vanilla bean cake for dessert.
    Thank you for giving us the opportunity and we appreciate the kind words. Out Best for a Happy and Loving Marriage!! Ginny and The Staff at A Matter of Taste!
  • L

    Laura McLaughlin · Married on 09/15/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue, unbeatable hospitality

    Ginny and her team were amazing! In addition to a beautiful venue, the food was incredible. Everything was fresh and tasted great. Our guests loved being right on the lake. We really appreciated how flexible they were with accommodating special requests too!

    Sent on 12/20/2018

    A Matter of Taste's reply:

    Laura + Jack congratulations and thank you for your kind words! We loved your wedding! You two are such an example of true love! Thank you for sharing the most important day with us and please come back for a Thursday Night Dinner to celebrate your anniversary! Wishing you all the best for 2019 with all the love and happiness! Gregg & Ginny McCallum
  • User4536121 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We requested a plated meal that had that "fall" feel to it so Ginny suggested Beef Bourgeon, Parmesan Encrusted Whitefish, Roasted Assorted Red Skin Potatoes with lemon dill and Roasted Root Vegetables. The plates had hearty portions and each item could not have tasted better!! Prior to the entrees' she served Lake Michigan Salad (with gorgonzola on the side) and a fantastic pumpkin squash soup served in small, hollowed out pumpkins. People raved about the dressing on the salad and absolutely loved the soup. Not only did the soup taste fantastic, but the aroma of the soup definitely added to the "warm, cozy feeling of fall". Ginny provided ample wait staff who prior to the reception set up each table with the necessary flatware and glassware and then at the time dinner was served, worked non-stop to serve the 200 people in attendance being very aware to clear the dishes as people completed a particular course.

    Would I recommend “A Matter of Taste”? Absolutely, Ginny and staff were fantastic!!!

    Sent on 11/09/2014

    A Matter of Taste's reply:

    Thank you from our entire staff at "A Matter of Taste"! Your review is not only beautiful, but the wording was so complimentary in such a story book description. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to cater Caitlan and Bob's magical celebration!! What a beauitful bride and groom and incredible guest! Wish we could do it again! Ginny & Gregg McCallum Chef/Owner's at "A Matter of Taste"!
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/28/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food, a little slow to response to email, but flexible and make the day super easy and unstressfull.

    Sent on 06/29/2018
  • M

    MaKayla McElroy · Married on 08/24/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rave guest reviews

    A Matter of Taste has the most amazing venue. Our tasting was incredible. We selected a fish, chicken and vegetarian option with potatoes and vegetables. Ginny and the team were amazing to work with. The whole team went the extra mile to assist with moving benches, setting up the tables, and stocking the bar. All of our guests raved about the food, and I especially loved the cauliflower chimichurri for the vegetarian option. We loved working with Ginny and Greg.

    Sent on 11/01/2019
  • User3612789 · 2+ years ago

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    We received two answers when asking our guests about the food at our wedding--it was the "absolutely amazing" OR "it was good but mine was cold". It took around an hour & a half to get everyone served (200 people). They were clearing some table's plates before some were even initially served. Even though on the menu, only a chicken & steak combo plated meal was offered. We chose to do a single entree plated dinner, choice of steak, chicken or fish to save on the cost. I had spoken to one of the owners, Ginny during our original tasting about this option and she seemed as though it was no problem at all and they were happy to do that for us instead of their normal duo entree. This was especially frustrating because I had spoken to the owner a few weeks prior to the wedding and expressed concerns about how I wanted all tables served at the same time or within a reasonable time of one another. She ensured me everyone was served very quickly and that a long serving time would absolutely not happen using her company. We even opted for additional servers to ensure just that. Obviously didn't pay off.
    I will give compliments to their flexibility-she worked with us on everything, especially price. Prices were very reasonable for the excellent quality of food and presentation on the adult meals. She agreed to everything we requested right away, but seemed a year later when it came time to deliver, she wasn't prepared to honor it or some of the things she was going to "throw in" were forgotten about. I would highly suggest getting everything in writing-even the tiniest of details. Organization is not their strong suit and as a bride you have to enough to worry about. This added a whole other stress for me.

    Sent on 10/18/2013
  • User4058706 · 2+ years ago

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    This caterer has the ability to make great tasting food, however, lacks customer service and good business sense. Let's start with the fact that communicating with her is nearly impossible. We didn't even have a finalized menu until a week before the wedding because she wouldn't return emails or calls. The "star" bartender she promised was a fiasco. She hired some confused chick to basically disappoint our guests. One of our guests actually had to teach her how to make a Mojito (this was our signature drink, which we had arranged months prior with Ginny). Not to mention we had asked her to make simple syrup for us only to find out from other guests that she was simply using the sugar packets from the coffee station and not even bothering to muddle the mint. After the wedding when I brought this up to Ginny, she justified it by saying we didn't get charged for the simple syrup anyway. Not only did we pay $25 an hour for this incompetent bartender, she also had the audacity to have a tip box out during our event, which we DID NOT approve. It was tacky and completely out of place. Did I mention she also thought it was a good idea to rip open every single wine seal? We actually had hired a company that would buy back any unused bottle of alcohol...thanks to her we ended up having to keep a lot of wine. Overall I would say the food was good but not worth the disappointment or the headache...sorry.

    Sent on 07/16/2014
  • User4499983 · 2+ years ago

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    -The day I arrived I was told I had access to a coordinator whom I could rely on to make sure everything that was supposed to happen did. She was nice and tried but she didn't greet the guest or call me when the dance floor showed up incorrect (things she was aware of to do and I would think are things she should have done). My husband had to greet everyone at the door because they arrived and had no idea what to do or where to go.
    -Their food is amazing when tried at the tasting but at the actual reception it was served cold. This is due to them trying use two servers without experience and who's efforts were being stretched too thin (I saw them plating food in the kitchen and not tending to guests). I paid for two servers and a bar tender but received just the two ladies running around like chickens with their heads cut off because they had to be the bar tender too. I had less than 25 guests and they couldn't handle it. My husband had to get up and serve people wine himself and numerous times I got up to find these girls so they can remove plates or fill glasses.
    -The final mistake they made was chasing down my mother-in-law to hand her a bill that I had already made arrangements with them to be paid. That was SUPER embarrassing and unnecessary!
    -I think that they simple lack communication between the owners/chefs and staff. I even experienced the lack of communication even before the event many times like their accounting. It is very sad because I love the location and believed in the food I tried at the tasting but am truly disappointed.
    -I even had a brunch there the next day. It wasn't horrible but again I didn't get what was agreed to and paid for. I was supposed to have eggs made to order which never happened and the food was kind of bland (except for the quiche). When I spoke up about all of my issues during and after the events. Every excuse in the world was given to me (mainly blaming me somehow). Never once did they own up.

    Sent on 10/24/2014

    A Matter of Taste's reply:

    Nicole we are so sorry you feel this way, and understand that your wedding is suppose to be flawless. Our team tried to honor your multiple request, changes, and rules, but it appeared that as hard as we worked for 25 people there was nothing we could do to please you. Originally when you signed up it was 50 people, rehearsal dinner, wedding, reception, and brunch. After multiple emails and phone calls your plans, timeline, rehearsal dinner was cancelled, and numbers reduced. You truly should have had a wedding planner, because we gave you a reduced rate, and with all the changes in table set up, times, bar budget, and your stress was affecting our team to properly do our job. We brought Ashley in to spend Friday with you when you arrived for set up so that you would be able to have an assistant. Never mentioned she was a wedding planner, only one of the servers that would be taking care of you the day of the wedding. As soon as the dance floor arrived I texted you a photo to get your approval because I knew you were enjoying your rehearsal dinner. Your guest arrived early, otherwise they would have been greated at the door.
    I only feel bad for the other vendors that you gave bad reviews to that also worked very hard to please you. It appears lack of communication between you and your families put stress on you, and we do understand how that effects your special time.
    It is obvious that you take your Home Organizing Business serious and most all of us Vendors take our job serious trying to accomodate every detail.
    Our cemented lamp post was damaged during departure the evening of your reception by one of your guest car and because of the electrical, cement, and matching the original other 10 custom made lamps our cost is $1,500 for repair. It truly is our wish to congratulate you and review your comments based on your total cost for rental (discounted), and the multiple changes and rules you requested, along with the comments made on your servers.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review