The Woman's Club of Evanston
    30 Reviews
1702 Chicago Ave
Evanston, IL 60201  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 220
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (30)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katie 1 Reviews
Our wedding reception using the whole club was perfect. We loved being the only event going on at the Club. The privacy was so nice. The downstairs for cocktails and moving upstairs for dinner later was magical. The management of the WCOE is so professional, responsive, and helpful in all areas. Having the email go out early in the week of the event to all vendors was especially helpful as coordination is key to a smooth event. Also the security that was recommended and required was very reassuring to the bridal family. Knowing any situation that may have arisen would have been handled professionally. Personal property was secure. J & L Catering provided wonderful food, service and headed by Jim Bailey constant support throughout the whole wedding planning process. The Woman's Club of Evanston has this down!
Wedding: 07/26/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jodi 1 Reviews
The Woman's Club of Evanston was the perfect venue for our wedding reception. Lisa Shary was very helpful throughout the planning process and worked well with all of our vendors. The Woman's Club has a great list of caterers (all the main Chicago ones) that you can use and also lets you bring in your own alcohol which saved us a lot of money.
It was nice to have our cocktail hour on the first floor and then we moved upstairs to their gorgeous ballroom for dinner and dancing. The stage is perfect for a live band and the acoustics were great!
We highly recommend looking at the Woman's Club as it's a gorgeous venue that provides enough of the basics (tables, chairs, etc) while still allowing you to customize the space and make it your own.
Wedding: 05/24/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The venue was perfect for our May wedding with 135 guests. We had cocktail hour downstairs and the reception in the ballroom upstairs. The backdrop was perfect for the vibe we were going for -- it had an old world elegance, but didn't feel stuffy or antiquey.

Lisa was great to work with. She is very prepared and has answers to most of your questions before you ask them. She was always prompt when we did have any questions throughout our year of planning. And she was always accommodating when we wanted to stop by on short notice with family or other vendors to check out the rooms.

Everything went smooth on the day of. They have preferred caterers who know the venue and everything went seamlessly.

You can spend more, or you can spend less, but you won't do any better than the Woman's Club!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
The Woman's Club of Evanston was the perfect venue for our daughter's wedding reception, and Lisa Shary coordinated the event with extraordinary professionalism and grace. She provided us with much-needed advice and was flexible and willing to make last-minute adjustments to the seating arrangements. The reception hall was a beautiful space with old-world charm - and our daughter's vision of the evening was realized in full.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Woman's Club of Evanston was not only the most beautiful setting for our wedding reception, but the people you work with make everything stress free. I originally booked with the former coordinator at the club, and then Lisa took over. The transition was very easy and smooth. Lisa was helpful in answering all of my questions promptly. I was relieved when Lisa asked for my vendor contact list and informed me that she would be in contact with all of my vendors the week of the wedding to schedule timing and to give set up instructions. The week of your wedding is the busiest and most stressful time and this was a huge help. The Woman's Club was also very affordable! We were able to rent the entire venue out for 5 hours. It was wonderful having a venue completely to yourself for your special day. Note it is possible to have the venue longer, but those details would be arranged with Lisa. The Woman's Club of Evanston is absolutely stunning. My husband and I received an overwhelming number of compliments from our guest on this unique and special find.
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough great things about this venue! To start, Carol is amazing! The venue itself is beautiful and centrally located. I simply could not imagine having our wedding reception anywhere else - it was absolutely perfect!!
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I had the most WONDERFUL experience with the Woman's Club of Evanston. We had spent a LOT of time researching unique and yet affordable venues for our reception in the Chicagoland area. After many site visits to various venues, the Woman's Club of Evanston was the clear winner. It was a beautiful, romantic, yet open space. Additionally, we were able to select from several catering companies, which allowed us to negotiate the costs.

Carol Short, the facilities manager, was an absolute dream to work with. Before deciding on the Woman's Club of Evanston, I had read reviews about the venue and their positive experience with Carol. Our experience was consistent with those reviews. Carol encourages questions throughout the wedding planning process and is extremely prompt in responding to questions. The day before the wedding, Carol walked us through the floor plan and was there the day of to oversee all aspects of our reception. Carol is a true professional and we loved working with her!

We could not have been any happier with our venue selection - we HIGHLY recommend the Woman's Club of Evanston!
Wedding: 05/12/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My experience with The Woman's Club of Evanston was wonderful! The venue is absolutely beautiful. I was doing a Victorian themed wedding and this suited so well. Carol, the coordinator of events, is the loveliest person to work with. So professional, so timely in her responses, as well as gracious and accomodating. She is very prompt to follow up on questions/requests. On the day of my wedding, Carol gave me a big hug and told me everything was beautiful. I felt that she genuinely meant it. Her graciousness (as well as 'low key-ness') helped things flow so nicely.
Wedding: 03/31/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We booked the Woman's Club of Evanston for both our ceremony and reception. Carol Short, the facilities manager, was wonderful to work with. She was always happy to answer any questions we had and was also able to give us some recommendations for vendors who had worked at the club before. Our ceremony was upstairs in the ballroom, followed by a cocktail hour downstairs in the tea room. The ballroom was then flipped for our dinner reception. It is a truly beautiful venue and we are so happy we booked it.
Wedding: 07/09/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I had our wedding reception here on July 24, 2010, and it was PERFECT. Let me start from the beginning.

In June of 2009, we were scouting out reception locations. We saw several of the same, boring banquet halls and hotels, and we weren't "wowed" by anything. After looking around online, I found the Woman's Club of Evanston, so we made an appointment to meet with Carol and see the Club. When we walked into the upstairs ballroom, my husband and I just looked at each other and smiled. This was definitely the venue for us. We booked right away.

I was a pretty easy-going bride, and didn't have many questions or requests. Whenever I did have a question, Carol was quick to respond. I waited until the last minute (two weeks before) to book a security guard for the night, but Carol came through with a fantastic recommendation.

My mom and I dropped off some candles that I wanted on the tables the Thursday before our wedding, and they had already started to set up our tables in the ballroom. Carol walked us through and seemed genuinely excited for my wedding. I know that she holds weddings there almost every weekend, but she still made me feel like my wedding was important to her. She took all of our vendor information and confirmed with them and provided all of the details necessary for them to schedule out the day. I thought that this went above and beyond the call of duty for Carol.

We also did our "first look" pictures here, before our ceremony. Even though we were probably going to be getting in the way, Carol was happy to let us in early so that my husband and I could have this moment to ourselves, without our bridal party.

Our guests loved this venue, and told us so countless times during the night. I could not have been any happier with our decision - I HIGHLY recommend the Woman's Club of Evanston!
Wedding: 07/24/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Diana 5 Reviews
LOVED this venue. Besides the fact that it's beautiful and charming, Carol (the venue coordinator) is wonderful. I had a lot of DIY projects (including flowers, chuppah, and other decorations) and Carol let me bring in everything in advance. She even watered the flowers for me and turned up the AC to make sure they lasted!

One of the reasons we picked the Woman's Club is because they will allow us to contract through Binny's for the alcohol. Binny's will deliver and pick up any unused alcohol and credit our account. This was a great option for us because we had many family members who did not drink.

While the fee may seem pricey, it does include chairs, tables, and dinner plates and water goblets, so make sure you take this into account when comparing venues.
Wedding: 05/30/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Every time I went to the Woman's Club for vendor meetings, I loved it more and more. With its columns and high ballroom ceiling, the space is elegant but not pretentious. Best of all, Carol Short, the manager there, is wonderful to work with. She tries her best to accommodate all brides, offers helpful suggestions (she's obviously got a lot of experience!), and goes the extra mile to make your day special including "baby sitting" the card/gift table! Wonderful space for a cocktail reception in the music room and a grand reception in the ballroom.
Wedding: 10/18/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When we were searching for a venue for my daughter's wedding, one thing that was important to us was that she'd be the only bride at the location. When my daughter visited the Woman's Club, she loved it. We used the first floor for cocktails and the ballroom for dinner and dancing. We received many compliments on the venue. Carol Short, the facility manager, was delightful to work with. You can tell she really enjoys her job (or else she's a good actor). While at first the rental cost seemed high, overall our reception costs were fairly reasonable. The flexibility they offer to pick our own caterer and obtain our own liquor helped keeped the costs down. The money the Woman's Club raises through rental maintains the facility so the money they raise through other means goes to help the community. Seemed better than lining Paris Hilton's pockets to me!
Wedding: 06/07/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
During our engagement, the place we originally chose lost their lease...thank goodness because then we found the Woman's Club of Evanston. The place is elegant yet comfortable. We had 200 people at the wedding reception. This place was perfect because we had the cocktails downstairs in the parlor. Dinner and dancing was upstairs in their ballroom.

Carol at the WCOE was so organized that it helped me relax during the planning process.
Wedding: 04/19/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Carol at the Women,s Club of Evanston was great! Not only did she work hard to meet all,our special needs, she made sure everything ran smoothly, and to top it off, she was so excited for our family. You can tell that she loves her job and wants every wedding to go off without a hitch.
Wedding: 03/29/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We really enjoyed the beautiful space and accommodations!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 847-475-3800
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0