The Magnolia Hotel
It feels good here
    55 Reviews
1100 Texas Avenue
Houston, TX 77002  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 230
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (55)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

jill 3 Reviews
I had my wedding ceremony and rehearsal dinner at The Magnolia Hotel. It was perfect! Lauren Miller was fantastic to deal with. I was able to plan pretty much everything via email which saved me the stress of having to miss work. Lauren made everything easy and I was impressed with her professionalism and flexibility. Although she's not technically a wedding coordinator, she made everything go smoothly and addressed all of my concerns so I would not have to worry about a thing. The food at the rehearsal dinner was fantastic and my guests that stayed at the hotel are still talking about how nice it was. The rooms were great, the complimentary happy hour, milk and cookies, and breakfast were all exceptional. Thank you so much for making my day so easy and enjoyable!
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
My husband and I hosted our Wedding Reception this past Saturday (2/15/14) at The Magnolia Hotel. Let me start by saying everything that evening was amazing! The Magnolia Hotel, itself, is a uniquely beautiful and classy venue- but then decked out in our own personal wedding reception theme and decor it was even more amazing! From our initial meeting with Kristina Bontrager and Lauren Miller at the Magnolia- up to the day or our wedding reception--everything was just seamless. I'll be the first to admit that my husband and I did have some out-of-the-box requests, but Lauren, Kristina and team were always gracious to accommodate us and we were never told that what we wanted couldn't be done. Everything and everyone at the Magnolia was just perfect and exceeded our expectations! We have received so many compliments from our guests about how beautiful the Magnolia Hotel was and how we picked the perfect venue to have our reception. My husband and I couldn't agree more!
The staff was wonderful; everything executed beautifully- the food, the service, the professionalism...it truly was OUR day and everyone at the Manolia made sure that we hadn't a worry in the world that evening. After the reception, we also stayed the night in one of the beautiful King Suite rooms where we walked into a beautiful room with rose petals layed out in a giant heart on the bed, chocolate covered strawberries and bottle of Champagne!
The Magnolia rises above the rest and holds a very special place in our hearts! Definitely know that we will be back and find a reason to celebrate something there...would be even better if we get invited to someone else's wedding there..just sayin' ;)
Nothing but praise! Thank you-thank you Kristina, Lauren and the rest of the wonderful staff at the Magnolia Hotel:)
Wedding: 02/15/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Shekina 1 Reviews
Kristina and her staff (Miguel) made everything seamless. They were very flexible and everything ran smoothly. Everyone said their food was the best wedding food they'd ever had. THey helped us set up and tear down items, corrdinated with our vendors and made my day virtually stress free. I think everyone should have an event here!
Wedding: 07/26/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

James 1 Reviews
I could not have asked for a better wedding experience! Everything from deposit to day of details were handled with so much respect, care, and responsiveness to our needs. Kristina made our dream come true. We are forever thankful and our guests are still talking about it three weeks later.
Wedding: 07/26/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Holly 6 Reviews
An absolutely amazing job!!
Kristina was an absolute joy to work with. Whenever I had a question about anything-she was eager to help (and I had ALOT) of questions. From suggestions on the food to serve (the chicken/appetizers were fantastic) to how to set up the wedding-she thought of everything and all of her suggestions were right on the money. We had many people from out of town and they all stayed at the Magnolia and raved about the staff. Thank you to the front desk to making sure the welcome bags went out, to Miguel and the catering staff who did a wonderful job bringing up food before the wedding to the excellent service during the reception (and making sure it was all set up perfectly for our guests). I can not tell you how many people said it was the best wedding ever !!!! Thanks for making our daughters wedding day perfect!!
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kimberly 1 Reviews
The Magnolia Hotel is a beautiful venue, but Kristina was instrumental in making it a fabulous venue. Kristina was wonderful! She was always available to answer any and all questions we had, even when she was out of the office or off work, she still made herself available if we needed her. Although, we didn't have too many additional questions because she was so thorough and detailed. She communicated well with all of our vendors, and was happy to be their point of contact throughout the entire planning process. After our initial meeting, I had complete confidence in her. Our reception was perfect; the food was delicious, the drinks were flowing, and the staff were on point. I would highly recommend The Magnolia Hotel.
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Mike 1 Reviews
Kristina Bontrager at the Magnolia Hotel downtown Houston was superb. My wife and I planned our wedding while I was deployed. Not only did this put a heavy emphasis on clear email communication until the wedding, but it more importantly required flexibility and trust. Kristina stayed until 10pm the night of our reception and was the professional I expected which allowed our wedding to run so smoothly. Thank you Kristina!
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Julie 1 Reviews
I held both my ceremony and reception in the Sterling Ballroom on the first floor of the Magnolia Hotel on June 15, 2013. I could not have been happier with how everything turned out. Kristina Bontrager, the catering/events director, was amazing. She was super helpful from the beginning of the planning process all the way through the event. Kristina and the hotel were flexible with all of my requests on the menu, including my last minute requests for edible favors and late night snacks. All of the food looked and tasted great. The venue ended up looking amazing and I know all of my guests had a really great time. An added bonus are the spacious and tastefully decorated hotel rooms. I would definitely recommend the Hotel Magnolia for any type of event.
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't say enough about the Kristina and her staff at the Magnolia Hotel. From our initial meeting in the proces of choosing the venue to midnight and the closing of the bar on the night of the reception, the staff did everything possible to make the event a success. Many of our guests have commented on what a great party it was and how much they enjoyed the venue and the food. We never had any issues that Kristina didn't imediately address and remedy. As the mother of the bride I must say I would highly recommend it as a wedding venue.
Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Michelle 1 Reviews
Kristina, the manager, was very professional, communicated well, and was flexible when changes were made. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating and take care of every need that came up. My husband and I can't say enough positive things about how well our wedding turned out.
Wedding: 05/24/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my wedding at the Magnolia Hotel in Houston, Texas. My experience with this venue was exceptional! Kristina Bontrager, catering manager, was absolutely amazing. She made the whole experience run so smoothly. Kristina was responsive to emails and last minute requests, and was even able to offer me more budget friendly options for my special day.

I would definitely recommend the Magnolia Hotel as a wedding venue. The lounge where we had our reception was perfect!
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristina Bontrager and the rest of the staff at The Magnolia Hotel were just wonderful beyond words! They helped my vision for my special day come true and it was a magical evening. The ceremony and reception spaces were beautiful and the staff was amazing! I would recommend this as a venue for any occasion.
Wedding: 04/26/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Magnolia Hotel was such a fabulous place to have our wedding. We worked directly with Kristina Bontrager, the Social Catering Manager, who was the most amazing person to work with. She is so detail oriented and communicative during the whole 7-month planning process. I considered myself pretty organized until I began working with her.

Our wedding ceremony and reception took place on the 2nd floor lounge area. The whole area was converted beautifully, and our guests were completely impressed by the staff's professionalism and aesthetics of the hotel. Everything ran so smoothly with Kristina overseeing the whole wedding.

The guests enjoyed not having to travel after the wedding and went straight to their luxurious rooms to relax. They also enjoyed complimentary breakfast the following morning. My husband and I enjoyed our complimentary suite on the night of our wedding.

Kristina and her staff were truly wonderful to work with. They have made our wedding come true in more than what we imagined.
Wedding: 12/28/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
My wedding reception at the Magnolia Hotel was absolutely perfect! I have no complaints whatsoever! Everything was amazing (the food, the service, the atmosphere!) and they were all very professional and so helpful! They took care of all the loose ends and helped me with every decision I needed guidance on. Perfect!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my reception at the Magnolia Hotel in Houston and Kristina Bontrager did an amazing job. Everything was seamless and the night went exactly how I could have hoped for. She was very responsive with any questions I had throughout the process (which there were quite a few) and was great with advice. I would HIGHLY recommend using this venue. They made it very easy for everyone involved in the planning process.
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Adrianna 5 Reviews
Kristina Bontrager did an absolutely amazing job with my reception and making sure everything ran smoothly. Everything went exactly as planned and how I had hoped. She was also so helpful and responsive to all my questions and helping with advice when it was something they would not be able to provide. The room was stunning, the service was perfect. Couldn't be happier with the venue. I HIGHLY recommend.
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 281-657-2600
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0