The Jon Bates Band
all about music, dancing, partying, celebrating life, and having a great time!!!
    49 Reviews
Brewster, NY 10509  | map
Agency or Band: Band
Band size: Large (6+ musicians)
Genres: Dance, Funk, Jazz, Latin, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (49)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired the Jon bates band for our wedding and they were absolutely amazing. Even our on site wedding coordinator who said that most bands are fussy said that JBB was the classiest and most professional band she had ever worked with. We had a couple of special requests but mostly just told them to play whatever got people dancing and people were dancing all night! My husband loves Dave Matthews so they played a Dave song and they sounded great! Jon was so nice, friendly and easy to work with, I highly recommend them!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired the Jon Bates band for our wedding and they were amazing. There was a big debate between a DJ and a band; we couldn't have made a better choice. Everyone was up dancing and having a great time. Our relatives and friends were still commenting on how great the band was weeks after the wedding.

Jon was great getting us set up for the big day and was responsive to all our special requests. He was one of the easiest vendors to work with during our entire wedding planning process. We highly suggest hiring this band for your special day.
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jon Bates and his musicians were absolutely fabulous. My fiancé and I are both musicians (along with many of our friends and colleagues who attended the wedding), so live music was a very important part of our reception. Jon was excellent with communicating before the event. Any questions or concerns that I had were promptly addressed. There were several songs that I had requested that were not listed on the group's song list, and they were able to perform all of our extra requests.
The Jon Bate's Band kept people on the dance floor all night long. Even at the very end of the night, the dance floor was so full that we decided to extend the reception. And the group was very flexible, when we came up to them 10 minutes before the planned end of the night and asked them to stay longer so that people could continue dancing. We received SO many compliments on the music (which coming from other musicians who we know to be judgmental, we were very pleased), and heard over and over again what a great time everyone had, even weeks after the event. I would highly recommend The Jon Bates Band.
Wedding: 08/09/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We booked The Jon Bates Band without ever hearing them live before our wedding, and we were pleasantly surprised. Jon was easy to work with and was open to our ideas and requests. He was also very helpful in making decisions about ceremony music etc. The band has a way of interpreting songs so that they still sound like the original, but not like a cheesy cover band. Many of our guests commented on how great they were. I definitely recommend using them for your wedding!
Wedding: 08/03/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The most amazing wedding band with the most incredible ability to stay flexible, fun and most importantly kind. Jon will respond to ALL of your e-mails in record time and he will answer each of your questions with thorough and thoughtful explanations. He and his band are, simply, THE BEST. They learned four new songs for our reception, arrived early to set up and made sure our ceremony had sound. They also looked great and they made music that inspired EVERYONE to be on the dance floor (seriously, no one took pictures since they were all dancing!). It was one of the most important investments we made when planning and we are overjoyed by the results. Thank you to Jon and to the rest of your band, you made our day beautiful.
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were so thrilled to have the Jon Bates Band play at our wedding in June, they were truly the heart and soul of the reception. Jon was a pleasure to work with throughout the entire planning process. The band learned our wedding song and played it amazingly. They engaged our guests and played the perfect mix of music - the dance floor was overflowing throughout the entire evening. If you're looking for an incredibly talented group of musicians who are fantastic to plan with and even more fun to dance to, The Jon Bates Band is the total package.
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fantastic performance at our reception - they performed a beautiful rendition of our wedding song, which they had not played before and learned just for the event. All guests raved about the band and we could not be happier with the selection.
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am typically skeptical of 5 star reviews, but this rating accurately captures my experience with this band. My husband and I are serious music lovers and my husband sings in a band so we had very high expectations for our wedding band. We did not want it to be cookie cutter and we got exactly what we were looking for. Jon Bates Band is a great balance of providing you with the wedding essentials while also being true musicians/performers. You can tell they are fully enjoying themselves. They greatly exceed all expectations we had. Our guests continuously rave about how great they were. They were delightful to work with-so responsive to us. You can trust that they will play what they play best. And they are also very responsive to learning songs and taking requests. The music sounded awesome and people were dancing from the beginning of the reception until an hour after it was supposed to end. They were happy to extend their contract an extra hour. We had an Adele song as our first dance and the female vocalist did an amazing job which is incredibly hard to do. We have friends whose wedding bands were more than twice and even three times the price and not as good as Jon Bates Band. They were one of the best choices we made in our wedding planning process. You can rest easy if you book this band.
Wedding: 02/02/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am a tough critic when it comes to music and when it came to picking a live band for our wedding day, I knew it would not be easy. We looked around A LOT. However, it only took one visit to see the Jon Bates Band perform, to calm all of my worries. I said "can you bring it?" ( yes, I really did say that ) and they said " oh, we can bring it!". Well, they did. They rocked the house. It was an unforgettable evening due largely in part to the great performances put on that night by this band. We feel so lucky to have found them in a sea of wedding bands or any bands for that matter. Their energy, versatility and willingness to learn and then perfectly perform new material was just awesome. I cannot say enough about them, but I will say that our dance floor was packed from our first to our last song and that really says it all.
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Jon Bates Band is AMAZING! They played at my wedding on June 23rd and I couldn't have been happier. All the guests raved about them. They are all very talented musicians and they did what I wanted most - get people on the dance floor! They create a fun party atmosphere yet are very professional at the same time. A winning combination! And all my requests were met. They have a huge repertoire of songs and play all the genres of music. Jon, the leader of the band was such a pleasure to work with and made planning a breeze. I highly recommend the Jon Bates Band for anyone's wedding.
Wedding: 06/23/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Jon Bates band was exactly what we were looking for on Martha's Vineyard for our wedding reception and wedding music. From the beginning, Jon always responded to any e-mail/communication within 24 hours. The band kept the entire night flowing to perfection. Their music was enjoyed by people of all ages....and kept us dancing until the very end. They did a fabulous job for our ceremony on the beach as well.
Staci and Andrew Brown
Wedding: 06/16/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Jon Bates band completely made our reception! Not only were they extremely flexible with our song selections and worries about our first wedding dance song-but they were completely friendly and professional at all levels. Jon Bates & Band created an energetic environment in which all of my guests were dancing and enjoying themselves. I am completely satisfied (beyond!) with their performances and would use them again if I have the opportunity.
Wedding: 05/19/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Want everyone on Long Island to know that this band is wonderful. I believe that adding live music to the wedding celebration was a great decision. The band was tight and everyone had a fantastic time on the dance floor.

Jon and I spoke a few times before the event and he was able to get a feel for the type of music we wanted and that was all we needed to do. Really can\'t say enough about how talented these guys are and how much they added to a fun memorable night.

One last thing - they were able to perform a cover a Wilco song as our first dance and it was done perfectly.

Thanks again Jon and the band!
Wedding: 02/18/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Jon Bates Band!! My guests are still talking about how wonderful the music was. We were literally up dancing the entire time. Jon was very accommodating. There were a few songs that I wanted to originals to be played, and he had no problem with that. Steve's (lead singer) voice blew me away, and their rendition of most songs were better than the originals. Like I said- I can't say enough good things!!
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Jon Bates Band blew us away on our wedding day. All of the musicians are incredibly talented, you almost forget it's live because they sound like the recorded version of a song (or better)! They were wonderful to work with, extremely responsive, professional, and of course, talented. Everyone was on the dance floor from the moment they began playing until the very last song. I'm so glad we booked them and would definitely recommend them to anyway looking for a great band, no questions asked. A+++
Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you are considering a band for your wedding, I'll save you some time...just book the Jon Bates Band. Now you can go on to worrying about the 10,000 other things related to your wedding. With the Jon Bates Band you won't have to worry about 1st Class Entertainment because they are it, in spades. The Jon Bates Band is not "A Wedding Band" they are a band. Which means great musicians and vocalists that have a wonderful chemistry and ability to entertain. My wife and I could not have been happier having chosen The Jon Bates Band for our wedding. They entertained us and our guests, young and old. The band was so flexible in their ability to perform 2 lesser known songs, 1 for our first dance and 1 for the father/bride dance. They did a great job and we thoroughly enjoyed their renditions. Our review is a perfect 5.0/5.0 and they are in fact that, a perfect band for an important occasion. I didn't expect people to approach me during the wedding commenting so highly on the band, some comments like "this is the best band I've ever heard at a wedding", "they are great entertainers" & "where did you find them?". The accolades go on and on, the price is a great value for what they deliver, can't wait for an excuse to book them again.

Mark & Rebekah
Wedding: 09/17/2011
Services Used: Band
 800-689-8910
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0