The Essex Resort & Spa and The Ponds at Bolton Valley
Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
    27 Reviews
70 Essex Way
Essex Junction, VT 05452  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party...
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 250
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (27)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.3/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.3/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.3/5.0)
Value:
 (4.4/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I spent our honeymoon at The Essex Resort & Spa. We had an amazing time. It is absolutely beautiful there. Every detail has been thought of. The staff are friendly and professional. The food was amazing. Our honeymoon suite was spacious and luxurious, yet had a comfortable, homey feel. I spent some time in the spa for massages and a facial. The staff are well educated, friendly, and professional. The spa is an amazing experience in itself. My husband attended two cooking classes and learned a great deal from the very talented chef. There are stores and shops just down the street from The Essex, and Burlington is less than 10 miles away. My husband and I had such a great time at The Essex that we plan to go back for our first anniversary!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Amazing venue and thanks to wedding coordinate Kara who helped us a long for one year straight. From the food to the venue it is the best place to get married. I wrote a letter to the General Manager to advise him that his staff is what makes the Essex special.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were married at The Ponds in May 2013. The place was beautiful and Kara was amazing to work with. She made sure all the details were covered and helped calm nerves along the way. The food was amazing, especially the cake. Couldn't have asked for a more perfect venue!
Wedding: 04/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Essex was amazing to work with and the food is fabulous! They are quick and ready to answer any and all questions you have and work with you to accommodate you and your guests. I highly recommend them to everyone!
Wedding: 12/03/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They did a great job doing everything I asked and helping it be a stress free day for me. They made sure all my little details were done and the night was magical. They really took care of everything since the service was also held there.
Wedding: 11/13/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We live in Indiana and chose the Essex, quite honestly, by the chocolate cake on their website. that was the initial reason anyway. once we dug deeper we felt very comfortable with the Essex. However, as with any destination, site unseen, wedding venue we were a bit anxious. Once we arrived at the front entrance of the Essex all of our cares were put at ease. It was perfect, everything was absolutely perfect! the staff was incredible, the food was fantastic and the scenery was gorgeous. Stacy, our wedding coordinator was superb. Very reassuring and accommodating. The girls at the spa were great too. The wait staff, the rooms, everything... We plan to return for our 1 year anniversary.
Wedding: 09/19/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I could not be more happy with having out wedding at The Essex. Stacey was their everytime I had a question. The food was great and they did everything they could to make our wedding go smoothly. The down side was I didnt have all my paper lanterns hung I guess they ran out of string but their was more hung for a wedding the next day. You pay to much money to have them hung so just make sure they use them all. The cake you take home for your first anniversary didnt look like what my cake for the wedding looked like so we didnt save it and will have one made next year. Other then that they did a great job.
Wedding: 08/06/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thanks to the staff at the Inn at Essex we were worry free. They did a great job of capturing our every thought and putting to the decorations as well as the wedding cake. I would have not wanted a better location and place to have our wedding reception. They were very accomadating to our needs and how many rooms we needed for our guests. Thank you so much to the Inn at Essex!!!
Wedding: 05/29/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
An excellent location, with awesome staff and service! I would recommend the Inn at Essex to anyone looking for a personal, intimate wedding!
Wedding: 08/14/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

irishmeadow2 8 Reviews
My wedding was absolutley beautiful! I cannot be more thankful for the work they put in! They were extremely helpful! Everything was perfect!
Wedding: 07/06/2008
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Inn at Essex did a beautiful job for our wedding reception. Everything exceeded our expectations. Mimi did a great job guiding us through everything. Once they took all of our "stuff" from us a few days before the wedding, we did not have to worry about anything. Most of our guests stayed at the Inn with us and the rooms were fantastic and reasonably priced. The food was awesome and the cake was beautiful.
Wedding: 11/03/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff at the Inn were always available to us, We had ordered our flowers from an online vender and the staff arranged all of our flowers for us. We felt like Kings and Queens on ou wedding day. We DID not have to worry about anything. Our Wedding cake was included in the package and the food was incredible.
Wedding: 05/05/2007
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Private User 3 Reviews
We had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Essex resort in October 2013. Every aspect was easy to coordinate and the venue was responsive to our budget (and didn't go over it). They were also accommodating to our special requests (most of which were specific wines and beers we wanted served) and made the whole experience easy. Like other reviewers have mentioned, we had two coordinators during our planing process (which was over a time period of almost a year) but were warned in advance of the change and no details were lost in the transition. Both women we worked with (Tiffany and Lindsey) were very professional and took care of all of our details, so I have no complaints about working with multiple coordinators. The staff at the Essex was also fantastic - from the desk staff to the bartenders at the Tavern - always making sure the wedding party was having a good time. We also used the spa services for hair and make up and we were very pleased with the outcome. The guest rooms were nice and a good price for that area during peak leaf peeping season - as out-of-towners, 90% of our guests stayed at the resort and had only good things to say. The only hiccup we had was rain which moved our ceremony indoors and the backup room we were hoping to use wasn't available so our ceremony was in the same room as the reception, but the whole thing ran so smoothly it didn't put the slightest dent in our day. I would highly recommend this venue.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I LOVED our wedding at the Ponds at Bolton Valley! The venue is absolutely beautiful, and the staff and food were incredible. We received many compliments on the venue and the food provided here (and we also loved it ourselves)! Everything was delicious and taken care of for us -- we had few responsibilities for setting up and arranging - which was much appreciated! We requested Stacey to handle our wedding, because we had heard she was wonderful. We are pleased to say that she is! She was on top of EVERYTHING we needed her to be! She was very flexible, and made countless adjustments for us (even when we had annoying last minute requests). She responded to emails and phone calls and text messages rapidly, so we always had a good handle on what was going on, as well as quick answers to our many questions. When it came to the rehearsal and the big day, she was beyond crucial to its success - she made sure that everything ran smoothly. I don't think we could have done it without her! Most of the staff at the Essex, (the hotel where we stayed that owns the Ponds) were so extremely kind and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had what we needed. We cannot imagine our wedding being any more perfect - and that is highly dependent on how wonderful the venue and its staff were with us! There were certain aspects that were a big pricier than we had hoped for (which is the only tiny ding in our review) - but we also recognize that wedding prices are a bit on the nuts side! The Ponds was at least far from the most expensive, which is surprising based on the quality of service we obtained. All in all, it was a magnificent place to get married!
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wife and I could not be happier with getting married at the Ponds at Bolton Valley, which is owned and run by the Essex. They are highly organized, providing excellent service and made every effort to ensure that our day ran smoothly and worry-free. The food was spectacular and all of our guests couldn't stop commenting on how wonderful everything was. Our wedding manager, Stacey, was beyond phenomenal.
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We chose The Essex Resort and Spa for both our ceremony and our reception. The Atrium room was great, and the lawn would have been perfect for the ceremony if it didn't rain. The food quality was excellent and the timing of the service was right on - guests were not waiting for food or did not receive cold dishes as I've experienced at other weddings. Our wedding coordinator Kara was wonderful. She was our 3rd due to the two previous ones quitting. While it was frustrating with the lack of communication, I am happy that we left off with Kara because she did an amazing job. We also had our rehearsal "dinner"on site and did it as a bonfire with s'mores and it was great. The food package choices were great and there were many to fit all budgets; in the end we chose a personalize menu that was still very reasonable and we did not feel like anything was missing. The only disappointments I had were that the desserts were not replenished fast enough and we did not receive the extra desserts that I had requested be saved. We were given some in our room afterwards but did not receive forks which was a little awkward. We (myself and my guests) had several problems with the hotel/accommodations that the GM addressed personally.
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 800-727-4195
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0