The Essex Resort & Spa and The Ponds at Bolton Valley
Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
    36 Reviews
70 Essex Way
Essex Junction, VT 05452  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 250
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (36)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.4/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.4/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.4/5.0)
Value:
 (4.5/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Essex Resort is the Premier place to have a wedding in Vermont. It is modern, classy, elegant, but still the Vermont feel. We were treated with respect, and our Planner, Shana, was great. Our wedding weekend was busy, they were hosting 6 other weddings on and off site. The only negative to that was our planner missed our rehearsal dinner and there was a lot of confusion that evening, that ultimately worked itself out. All in all, a great place and we will go back and spend many more nights there!
Wedding: 09/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used The Ponds which is owned by the Essex. The staff was amazing, the ceremony & reception gorgeous, the food phenomenal! I couldn't imagine my wedding being anymore perfect than it was.
Wedding: 06/15/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Essex team led by Chef Shawn catered our wedding in Stowe, VT. The Essex exceeded any and all expectations we had. Chef Shawn and his team put out unbelievable food, from the appetizers at the cocktail hour through our plated dinner and dessert. The service was impeccable. The plating was gorgeous. The food was amazing. Our guests made it a point to come up to us to tell us that this was the best wedding food that they ever had.

My fiancée and I set out to plan this romantic and unique Vermont wedding in his Aunt and Uncle’s backyard overlooking beautiful Mount Mansfield in Stowe, VT. We live in New Jersey so for us this was quite an undertaking. Based on the recommendation of our wedding planner, we decided to go with the Essex for our catering needs. The Essex worked within our budget to give us everything that we wanted and more.

We went to the Essex at least 3 times for tastings. The first time we were there, we sampled appetizers and several main courses. It was at that time, we decided to choose the Essex. We went back several months later to do a cake/cupcake test. After that, we went back one final time to finalize the menu and of course taste everything we were to order.

Throughout the planning process, the Essex made sure to be off-site meeting us at the house to go over the layout of the event. Chef Shawn personally came to the house we had the wedding at more than once to make sure everything would be in place to have a successful wedding.

The team at the Essex is incredibly hard working. The topography of the backyard was challenging to say the least. Just getting the food on site to be prepared and served was a struggle. Nevertheless, the Essex knew how to tackle the issues and made sure we had enough servers to make the event flow smooth.

We cannot say enough about how good the food tasted. It was really amazing. We are not easy to please when it comes to good food. The Essex truly delivered over and above what we expected!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I spent our honeymoon at The Essex Resort & Spa. We had an amazing time. It is absolutely beautiful there. Every detail has been thought of. The staff are friendly and professional. The food was amazing. Our honeymoon suite was spacious and luxurious, yet had a comfortable, homey feel. I spent some time in the spa for massages and a facial. The staff are well educated, friendly, and professional. The spa is an amazing experience in itself. My husband attended two cooking classes and learned a great deal from the very talented chef. There are stores and shops just down the street from The Essex, and Burlington is less than 10 miles away. My husband and I had such a great time at The Essex that we plan to go back for our first anniversary!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Essex and all the planners and helpful people there did an excellent job in all aspects of our wedding. The planning, selecting the food, the linens, the ceremony setup, dealing with all the vendors and the reception went off without a hitch! Couldn't be happier!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Amazing venue and thanks to wedding coordinate Kara who helped us a long for one year straight. From the food to the venue it is the best place to get married. I wrote a letter to the General Manager to advise him that his staff is what makes the Essex special.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were married at The Ponds in May 2013. The place was beautiful and Kara was amazing to work with. She made sure all the details were covered and helped calm nerves along the way. The food was amazing, especially the cake. Couldn't have asked for a more perfect venue!
Wedding: 04/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Essex was amazing to work with and the food is fabulous! They are quick and ready to answer any and all questions you have and work with you to accommodate you and your guests. I highly recommend them to everyone!
Wedding: 12/03/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They did a great job doing everything I asked and helping it be a stress free day for me. They made sure all my little details were done and the night was magical. They really took care of everything since the service was also held there.
Wedding: 11/13/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We live in Indiana and chose the Essex, quite honestly, by the chocolate cake on their website. that was the initial reason anyway. once we dug deeper we felt very comfortable with the Essex. However, as with any destination, site unseen, wedding venue we were a bit anxious. Once we arrived at the front entrance of the Essex all of our cares were put at ease. It was perfect, everything was absolutely perfect! the staff was incredible, the food was fantastic and the scenery was gorgeous. Stacy, our wedding coordinator was superb. Very reassuring and accommodating. The girls at the spa were great too. The wait staff, the rooms, everything... We plan to return for our 1 year anniversary.
Wedding: 09/19/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I could not be more happy with having out wedding at The Essex. Stacey was their everytime I had a question. The food was great and they did everything they could to make our wedding go smoothly. The down side was I didnt have all my paper lanterns hung I guess they ran out of string but their was more hung for a wedding the next day. You pay to much money to have them hung so just make sure they use them all. The cake you take home for your first anniversary didnt look like what my cake for the wedding looked like so we didnt save it and will have one made next year. Other then that they did a great job.
Wedding: 08/06/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thanks to the staff at the Inn at Essex we were worry free. They did a great job of capturing our every thought and putting to the decorations as well as the wedding cake. I would have not wanted a better location and place to have our wedding reception. They were very accomadating to our needs and how many rooms we needed for our guests. Thank you so much to the Inn at Essex!!!
Wedding: 05/29/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
An excellent location, with awesome staff and service! I would recommend the Inn at Essex to anyone looking for a personal, intimate wedding!
Wedding: 08/14/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

irishmeadow2 8 Reviews
My wedding was absolutley beautiful! I cannot be more thankful for the work they put in! They were extremely helpful! Everything was perfect!
Wedding: 07/06/2008
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Inn at Essex did a beautiful job for our wedding reception. Everything exceeded our expectations. Mimi did a great job guiding us through everything. Once they took all of our "stuff" from us a few days before the wedding, we did not have to worry about anything. Most of our guests stayed at the Inn with us and the rooms were fantastic and reasonably priced. The food was awesome and the cake was beautiful.
Wedding: 11/03/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff at the Inn were always available to us, We had ordered our flowers from an online vender and the staff arranged all of our flowers for us. We felt like Kings and Queens on ou wedding day. We DID not have to worry about anything. Our Wedding cake was included in the package and the food was incredible.
Wedding: 05/05/2007
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 800-727-4195
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4
out of 5.0