The Cotton Bride
39-13 23rd Street
Long Island City, NY 11101  | map
Services: Bride
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (14)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had to get on here and write a review for The Cotton Bride as soon as possible. (My wedding was 4 days ago). I had an amazing experience with Fikre and Chris from the moment my mom and I stepped through the door. They were both wonderful in their own special way and they truly listened to everything I asked them to do to create the wedding gown of my dreams. Their attention to detail is truly remarkable. Chris and Fikre customized and designed the gown to fit my body perfectly and they made sure that all of the alterations were exactly what I wanted (The alterations are included in the price which is a definite plus.) I would highly recommend The Cotton Bride to anyone who is looking for a stress-free experience, brides who are looking for reasonably priced gowns and brides who want to look absolutely stunning on their wedding day.
Wedding: 10/12/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My dress came all the way to Oregon and was perfect and exceedingly beautiful. Custom made, and fitted for my size, wonderful quality and very reasonable time frame. Highly recommend! Friendliest company ever!
Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My dress was so beautiful thanks to Chris and Fikre at The Cotton Bride!! This is a place easily accessible to NYC and Long Island where you can have a couture, custom-made gown created just for you from beautiful, high-end fabrics. The dresses may not be super "traditional," but for the right bride, they are perfect. Because their dresses are made from your measurements instead of being altered, the fit of the dress was so perfect. Choosing my dress and working with the staff at The Cotton Bride was by far my favorite experience in my entire wedding process. Thank you so much!!
Wedding: 08/28/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 11 Reviews
After being disappointed in the wedding dress shopping process, my mother found this place and I found the dress that I thought I would never find. I had been dreaming of a cotton dress and this place had it and I was able to add my own twist to it. Fikre and Chris were great to work and at the end I got the dress of my dreams and I felt beautiful the day of my wedding! They are willing to work with you to get the dress to look the way you envision it. I love my dress and wish I could wear it again!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I'm so excited to wear my wedding dress next week. Searching for organic cotton wedding dresses, I was happy to find Cotton Bride near me in Queens/NYC. Fikre was so helpful by e-mail and in person with all of my questions. It’s in an industrial area of Long Island City (my parents and I drove, and my sister met us by subway), in one large showroom with so many beautiful dresses around the perimeter. I sent Fikre the names of my favorites by e-mail, which had comparable prices to lower-priced options at big name stores (~ $2000 or just above), but included alterations, and the dress is made just for you. They do have a ready-made line for less; these were pretty, but I felt would be more for a beach or outdoor wedding, with no train, etc. Before deciding, we did go to a few big-name stores, but the personal service at Cotton Bride could never be approached by a big dress "mill" that orders in a standard size from a designer you haven't met, and would not have options for sustainably sourced fabric. After narrowing down my favorites and discussing fabrics (silk cotton, heavier cotton, raw silk), Fikre brought out a dress from another line in black silk shantung (raw silk) with white lace appliques, that Chris had made a similar dress to in ivory for his own niece. It was so beautiful that we even considered a black wedding dress! I decided on that style in ivory silk with a small train, lined in organic cotton. My first fitting was less than 3 months later, and I chose how the appliques along the neckline would lay; and my 2nd and final fitting was less than 2 months from that. I try to source my purchases with care and hadn't liked the "regular" bridal dress options, and on top of this, the personal service at Cotton Bride could never be matched. The Cotton Bride's soft spoken humor, helpfulness, and suggestions by Chris and Fikre is the best of the best, and I can't thank them enough for such a wonderful experience and making such a beautiful dress that's so "me."
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't say enough good things about my experience with Chris and Fikre! There is a wide range of dresses to choose from, with different cuts and styles. It took a long time for me to decide which dress I liked the most because there were sooo many that I liked. In the end we found a black evening dress that had a look that I liked, and Chris designed a white wedding dress from that idea that looked fantastic. I received so many compliments on the dress and I LOVED the way the it looked. They were great to work with and I really liked the idea that I was supporting a local business. I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for a truly beautiful dress from a great designer!
Wedding: 03/29/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What can I say about these guys? I had the perfect dress, and my mom and I were treated wonderfully when we visited (which was not the case in every NYC bridal shop we went to, unfortunately.) Chris and Fikre are warm, funny, accommodating and thoughtful. I loved visiting their little studio in Long Island City. They make the dresses themselves, right there, so you know what you're going to get AND you can have a conversation with the person that makes it! I was looking for a dress that was outside of the David Z./"fit and flare" model, more vintage-inspired and classic-looking, and The Cotton Bride knocked my socks off Their website is fairly emblematic of their style but really, visit for the custom work--it's unbelievable, and very reasonably priced. HIGHLY recommended. Vikre mentioned that they were launching a ready-made line this spring, so if you are a bride on a budget you may also want to give them a call!
Wedding: 03/09/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
After trying on Chris Kole's Cleo dress, I found it so special that it became my inspiration for many other special details of my wedding day on the beach. Chris helped me find exactly what I was looking for in a wedding dress- simple yet elegant, and most importantly, so comfortable! It allowed me to dance the night away with no fuss. Fikre was a pleasure to work with as well- he is always very professional, helpful, and honest. Best of all, Chris & Fikre were always available to answer any questions, make recommendations for hair and jewelry to complement the dress, and they made me confident that my dress would be everything I ever dreamed of and more. They were right and I couldn't be more grateful.
Wedding: 06/02/2012
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The collection at The Cotton Bride are unique and divine. Using only cotton for my dress I felt like a million dollars. I can't say enough wonderful things about Chris and Fikre. They will ensure you get your perfect dress. I was 6 months pregnant at my wedding and they designed the perfect dress for me. I wouldn't have looked as good as I did had I gone to a chain bridal shop. They take the time to really get to know you and what you like. I never felt rushed or pushed into something. Thank you Cotton Bride!
Wedding: 04/14/2012
Services Used: Dress & Attire
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I found my dream dress at this store!!! I was so happy when i received my dress, unfortunately it was too large and the trim was a little less than what I had expected (an iron-on). However, Fickre quickly addressed all my problems. They paid half of my alterations costs and are currently fixing my dress as promised. Although I had some disappointments, they were all taken care of and I got to wear my dream dress & wouldn't change a thing!
Wedding: 02/01/2011
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
I got my dress made at the Cotton Bride and it was the best decision I made. I never had a dress made for me before. It was an incredible experience. From the first phone call, Fikre made me feel comfortable and welcome. He went above and beyond the call of duty to design a dress for me that was very "me" -- it was wonderful. They measured every centimeter of my shape to get all the cuts right, and we had so much fun picking the lace and sparkle details on the belt. I love that you don't go in there and get a spazzy dress made overseas 40 sizes too big then shredded down to fit. They sew it for you ON SITE. I'm sure it used to be like this once upon a time, but not anymore, which is what makes The Cotton Bride so special. I loved it and you will to.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I don't even know where to begin with this review. As a little girl, you always dream about your wedding day - and what you might wear. Before I found Cotton Bride, I thought I would be wearing a store-bought gown that I loved, but never dreamed that I would be wearing a soft, very comfortable, custom-made one-of-a-kind dress with antique lace (sourced from England) that would make me feel as if I were floating on air all day long.

The experience, from visiting their gorgeous studio, to the one-on-one attention from the designer (Christopher himself) and his colleague Fikre made me feel like the most special person in the world. My mother and bridesmaids felt the same way.

When I found the dress I loved, I knew it was completely perfect - but wondered whether I might look better with a slightly modified neckline. Christopher drew up a modification to the dress and sent the sketch to me to make sure I loved it. Then, they custom-made the dress to fit my body absolutely perfectly.

When I came in for a fitting, my mom tried on her dress as well - and when the designer thought that she could use a minor alteration - he agreed to tailor the dress himself.

Christopher and Fikre are very special and talented people, and I could not have been happier for the experience. I just wish every bride got to feel as special as I did to work with Cotton Bride. Thank you so much Christopher!
Wedding: 08/07/2010
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you are luckily enough to either live in NY area, or are able to get there and you are looking for the perfect wedding dress, I would HIGHLY recommend making the trip to The Cotton Bride.

Here I was in the stressful situation trying to find the ‘perfect dress’, wanting to stay within a reasonable budget, needing something appropriate for an outdoor summer wedding in Napa, and had only 5 months…I had gone to a few places in Houston (where I live), and I was faced with sales attendants that looked at me in horror when I told them I needed the dress by June (this was Feb!), dresses with huge trains (I did not need to be dragging twigs and grass up to the alter with me), or dresses that my top was falling out of… And then I came across The Cotton Bride! What an experience!!

Fikre told me we had plenty of time, not to worry. They have all of the fabrics in stock, and make the dresses in their shop, so they don’t have to order overseas and then ship back – saving time and money. He was kind, professional, and I have to say one of my favorite vendors to work with in regards to the wedding.

I am luckily because even though I don’t live in NY, my mom does, so I was able to combine visits with her, with dress trips. On my first visit the only stress was picking WHICH dress (other places I was luckily to find something that – maybe - sort of – kind of – might be possible). Chris, the designer, watched me try on a few gown, and then started to sketch! He took the best top, and the best bottom for my shape, factoring in the wedding venue, and what I was most comfortable in… and magic -- the perfect dress!!

I ran into a girl in the airport on my return flight home. She was carrying her wedding dress, so I started to talk to her about the whole ‘dress’ experience. I showed her the drawing of my dress, forgetting that the price was written on there. Her jaw hit the ground when she saw the cost. “Is that the TOTAL cost?!! But that’s not with alterations right?” – Yes, it was. “But, that isn’t with any changes to pattern or fabric upgrades, right?” – Yes, whole dress is new pattern/custom designed for me. She then told me the cost of her dress… I have to say, I felt even better about my decision of going to The Cotton Bride after that! Even if you factored in my travel costs, I paid significantly less than she did (and her dress was fairly simple, like mine).

The Cotton Bride is also a more ‘green’ choice. Now it isn’t ‘green’ to a nit-picky degree, but it is better most other choices. And I also felt good about that.

Overall, I really could not have asked for anything better than the experience – and the end result – which I had with The Cotton Bride, and recommend that if you are looking for a wedding dress, or formal dress this should be your first stop.
Wedding: 06/11/2010
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was lucky enough to work with The Cotton Bride for my September 2009 wedding. I cannot say enough positive things about them!

They were professional, attentive, reposonsive, fair, and simply delightful! When I first visited it was clear that the staff at The Cotton Bride were dedicated to making my experience personal and stress-free. They worked with me to select and create the perfect dress. They were conscious of my budget and body concerns. They really listened. I shopped at several "big name" bridal boutiques and The Cotton Bride far surpasses them in customer service and quality.

When I began looking for my dress, it quickly became the most stressful aspect of my wedding planning. Once I visited the Cotton Bride, dress shopping became the most enjoyable aspect of my wedding planning!

I don't plan on getting married again, but if I ever find myself in need of a dress for a special event, or if I have friends or family who are shopping for their bridal needs, I will be visiting The Cotton Bride!

Thank you Chris and Fikre!
Wedding: 09/19/2009
Services Used: Dress & Attire
 718-729-9730
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0