The Commons 1854
Boston's Premier North Shore Wedding Venue
    137 Reviews
4 North Common Street
Topsfield, MA 01983  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (137)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Commons is just simply amazing all around. From my husband and I's first meeting with Johanna all the way up until the day after our wedding, Johanna and Kristi and the rest of the staff at the Commons were so helpful and exceeded all expectations we had! Our wedding was so beautiful and everything went so perfectly and we give 100% of the credit to Johanna and her team. The venue itself is absolutely gorgeous and was the perfect setting for our winter wedding. The food is incredible and our guests are STILL talking about how great the food was and how attentive the wait staff was. I could write a book about how much we loved everything about the Commons, but words can't even truly justify it. I highly and will forever recommend people look at the Commons as their venue to get married. It has just such a romantic feel about it, and as a bonus makes for some gorgeous pictures! Especially with the up lighting!
Wedding: 01/18/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't say enough about how perfect our wedding day was. Our guests have not stopped raving about the food (UNREAL), the wonderful staff, and how smoothly the day went. One of my biggest concerns was the flow of things since we've all been to weddings where guests weren't sure where to move next or things went off schedule. The Commons is so well organized, all my guests made sure to mention how well the day was orchestrated. Krisi and Johanna make the planning and decision making easy, they were amazing to work with and you truly don't feel like you're just another couple coming in, but that they care about you. Johanna was there all night for us and never missed a beat, she's a rockstar! We are thrilled we chose The Commons, don't miss out!
Wedding: 01/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my wedding at The Commons 1854 on November 29th! Johanna was my wedding coordinator. I had heard wonderful things about Johanna and Kristi from weddingwire and and from an old friend from high school! Both Johanna and Kristi, were amazing! Always very professional, from each of our meetings to simply responding to my e-mails so quickly. Johanna was at the wedding from beginning to end and ensured that no one had to worry about anything ( this was very important because I wanted to make sure my mom was able to enjoy the night and not be concerned about waiting on people ! ) Johanna was very upbeat, always smiling and very calm. If things were going wrong, we never knew it !
Our family is still raving about the delicious food from the cocktail hour to the three course meal. A guest even commented that they would love to come to The Commons for dinner it was that wonderful!
The service was spot on as well. The drinks and food never stopped which was very important for our Italian families!
Lastly, The Commons 1854, was the perfect setting for my winter / holiday themed wedding! It is not your typical country club setting and that was very important to me. The Commons has such charm and character from the big windows to the intricate stair cases; it is just beautiful! For my wedding, The Commons was all lit up in white lights on the exterior and the inside was very romantic with a candle light setting. It was a fairy tale wedding! I only wish it did not go by so quickly!
Wedding: 11/29/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Perfect Venue! Johanna was my coordinator but our initial meeting was with Kristi – both great Johanna was responsive and that really helped because I travel internationally 75% of the year and still had to check in with vendors and the wedding. I couldn’t attend the tasting so the now husband attended it with a friend. Unfortunately, at the tasting the tuna and the filet mignon were not available so I was a little iffy in my entrée decision. But having read great reviews about the food, we went with our choices. IT WAS AMAZING. Several guests said it was the best filet mignon they have ever had at a wedding - cooked perfectly and not dry and over cooked like most venues. The tuna was perfectly cooked. So if you are questioning the food at the Commons – never fear! I brought all my frames, place cards, menu cards, etc to rehearsal and didn't even have to direct Johanna on how to arrange it and it came out perfectly. Also, I have to add that we got married in November and New England weather is uncertain, and I really wanted to have an outside ceremony (due to popular demand, all the fall dates were booked 1.5 years in advance). Johanna kindly provided us with complimentary heat lamps for the outside ceremony in the event that I needed them. During the cocktail hour, Johanna made sure that there was food in the bridal suite for us and that we had food and everything else we needed. Johanna kept us on schedule without being overbearing. Many of my friends have gotten married this year and picked other venues (Hyatt/Tupor Manor/Saphire) but they commented that my coordinator was amazing - They asked me why she stayed the whole night. I thought that was all part of the package but I guess I got the lucky end of the stick and was blessed with Johanna and Kristi and the amazing staff. I didn't have to worry about the linens, bartenders, even chivari chairs are included. I couldn't have asked for more. Thank you so much Johanna, Kristi, and staff for a night to remember!
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was married at the Commons two months ago today and people are still telling me how much they loved my wedding!!! From the amazing food and remarkable wait staff they did not miss a beat. I want to especially thank my coordinator Johanna for the amazing job she did. The Commons took my breath away the day I walked in and saw how beautiful the room looked all put together. They are so helpful and accommodating to your every need. I was extremely pleased because I have many food allergies in my family and had to be very specific on many food items. The were able to make all the necessary changes I needed to my pass hors d'oeuvres and main dishes so that I didn't have to worry about any of my guests. I would recommend The Commons to anyone I know getting married!!!
Wedding: 10/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Having a wedding at the Commons was amazing. We loved that it was a 1-wedding-a-day venue and everything was so customizable. Their food was spectacular with appetizers being a highlight; our guests couldn't stop raving about the grilled cheese w/ tomato shooters, mini lamb chops with mashed potatoes in a martini glass, peking duck wraps, and bacon wrapped scallops. We also had an abundant oyster & clam bar & passed pumpkin beer tasting flights rimmed w/ cinnamon sugar. Speaking of which, you get to bring your own alcohol; such a big money saver! There is a bartender service fee but it includes all glasses, garnishes, sodas, juices, and prep. As for dinner, we went with: 1) October salad, 2) Jumbo shrimp cocktail or Korean green onion pancake, 3) lemon sorbet palate cleanser, 4) and Beef tenderloin or customized Korean vegetarian plate (sweet potato rice with micro greens, pan seared spicy tofu, and sides of kimchi); all were delicious. Service was impeccable, friendly, and sincere from ALL staff. Johanna was, above all, our lifesaver -- coordinating our reception, addressing every question promptly, guiding us in the right direction when we were all over the place, and anticipating every need before, during, and after our event. We brought in so many decorations on multiple trips; she was always accommodating with our schedules and not once was she fazed; she even arranged for us to pick-up our decorations the day after our wedding so we wouldn't have to worry about lugging anything the night of. During the cocktail hour, Johanna and the staff made sure we ate and stayed hydrated. Same with our dinner reception, everything was taken care of including adjusting our schedule to accommodate extra family photos and an impromptu tea ceremony. We left the night stuffed to the gills, happy, and without a worry in the world. Thank you Johanna, Kristi, and The Commons staff for an amazing reception and taking such good care of us, our family, and friends!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Our experience with The Commons was top notch! From the helpful tips they provided at our meetings during the planning process to our fine tuned and smoothly executed wedding day, I can't recommend Them enough! Maura and Johanna oversaw everything and made sure I didn't have to think about anything and could fully enjoy my wedding day. Also, so many of our guests praised the quality of food served which was another highlight. Thank you Kristi, Maura and Johanna!
Wedding: 10/18/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Gary 5 Reviews
Our daughter's wedding at The Commons 1854 was absolutely great! From the way the venue looked to the service to the food, I couldn't imagine a better evening! Everyone raved about the food - the appetizers were amazing. Johanna made certain that everything was perfect...she truly did an amazing job. I wouldn't be surprised if she was responsible for the great weather too! Great event at a great venue. Thanks!
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 1 Reviews
Ever since I was a little girl, I have pictured my wedding day. I was so lucky that The Commons was able to provide everything I could have ever asked for and it is truly a day I will never forget. My friends and I are constantly saying how we wish we could go back and how fun and beautiful it was. I am so lucky that the Commons were able to make my dream come true! Johanna was a delight to work with and I completely trusted her and I had the same vision and it was so seamless how she was able to bring everything together with a smile. I am eternally grateful for her kindness and patience!
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Working with Kristi was delightful! She is a beautiful person inside and out and works with you so closely to make your dream wedding a reality! The commons is a very elegant place to have a wedding and the food and staff is amazing! Everyone is extremely helpful and polite! The white glove service is a beautiful touch. After reserving The Commons for our wedding, came a sigh of relief because we knew the food and service were a sure thing. One less thing to worry about on your wedding day is a bonus! We couldn't have dreamed for a more perfect night. Thank you Kristi & Staff!
-Stephanie and Michael
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were married at the Topsfield Commons in October. Leading up to our wedding, the staff was incredibly receptive to our questions and concerns, including a last minute unexpected change that affected guest count and seating arrangements. Our day of coordinator, Maura, was awesome. The day of our wedding was seamless, as promised! There were things that went wrong (we learned about later from family), but nothing major and nothing that was brought to our attention the day of, so we were able to enjoy every second of our night. The food was amazing, our entertainment was fabulous, and the decor was perfect. Our guests are still talking about how great our wedding was, and we couldn't have picked a better location!
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Melissa 7 Reviews
When planning our dream wedding, my husband and I knew we wanted a venue that reflected our classic, elegant style with a New England feel. The Commons 1854 was the first venue we looked at, and we could not get it out of our heads. From the beautiful garden ceremony space, to the elegant ballroom, to the historic barn across the street, this venue fulfilled our rather long wish list!
Johanna is the most amazing, organized and dedicated person I have ever met. I contacted her numerous times throughout our 19 month engagement, and she always responded promptly. She always had time for me, even when she was planning her own wedding! She really listened to our vision, as well as offer up suggestions and alternatives when we needed them.
When my bridal party and I arrived two hours before the ceremony, Johanna was there offering beverages with a smile. My husband and I were adamant about not seeing each other before the ceremony, and Johanna was in constant contact with the groomsmen to make sure we didn’t run into each other. The ceremony in the garden was perfect, and Johanna and the wait staff were there immediately after with beverages and appetizers.
The reception space was unbelievable, and our up lighting was gorgeous. The wait staff were so attentive and efficient; glasses were constantly being filled and the meal ran so smoothly. They even kept our food hot while we were greeting our guests. The food was PERFECT; we had four choices and each one was delicious. Even after the reception ended, they packed up our leftover dessert for us to bring home, and even handed our wine to our parents while we waited for our shuttle.
In short, The Commons 1854 went above and beyond to give us the most perfect wedding day. My husband and I wish we could do it all over a
Wedding: 09/27/2013
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
The owners and staff should all be commended for the amazing job they do. Food was great and service was incredible. Johanna is amazing to work with and was truly made for this job. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Maura, Kristi and everyone at The Commons made our wedding so special. They spent time and attention to every detail of our wedding. The food as also delicious as the space , beautiful and classic. I would recommend the commons to anyone! Such a memorable day and experience thanks to the commons
Wedding: 09/15/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Deena 2 Reviews
The Commons 1854 is simply amazing. We had Maura as our wedding coordinator and she is the BEST, so sweet, fun, and on top of her game! The food was DELICIOUS!! Couldn't of asked for anything better. My wedding was so perfect, from the very beginning to the very end. During The entire night and until this day we had our guests telling us how beautiful the place was, how amazing the food was, and how it was the best wedding they have ever been to. WE LOVE LOVE LOVE THE COMMONS 1854!!! Thank you MAURA for making my dream wedding come true!!!!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
We had our wedding ceremony & reception at the Commons on Friday September 13, 2013 and I cannot say enough wonderful things about them. Johanna, our wedding coordinator was amazing and incredibly helpful every step of the way. Anything at all we needed she took care of seamlessly for us. The food was delicious with many of our guests telling us it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding. For anyone out there looking for a venue, I HIGHLY recommend the Commons.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 978-887-4100
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0