Sweets by E
...because everyone deserves a little something sweet!
    82 Reviews
Herndon, VA 20170  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (82)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Evan made the most amazing two tier Splash Mountain groomsman cake for our wedding! I sent her an inspirational picture and she made it happen! Out of the bridal shower cake, wedding cake and the groomsman cake this one was our favorite. The cake was so moist and tasted delicious! I highly recommend Sweets by E for any of your cake needs!
Wedding: 10/05/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Shannon 1 Reviews
We ordered cupcakes and a cutting cake from Sweets by E and they were PHENOMENAL!!! Evan was so helpful throughout the whole process - from cake tasting all the way up through the big day, she made everything so easy. She was even flexible enough to accommodate an increase in our cupcake order a week before the wedding since we had more guests than anticipated. It's a good thing too, because the cupcakes were cleaned out by the end of the night! The set-up was exactly what I had envisioned. All I had to do was leave out some cake platters and Evan did the rest! Everything tasted amazing; guests were raving about the cupcakes all night and my husband and I took the cutting cake on our mini-moon to enjoy a slice every night :-) As if that weren't enough, she even sent us a coupon for a complimentary 6" wedding cake tier on our one-year anniversary! We definitely recommend Sweets by E for your event, especially one as momentous as a wedding.
Wedding: 09/20/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sara 4 Reviews
Evan's cakes are both gorgeous and delicious! Evan is also very helpful and easy to work with. I wasn't really sure exactly what I wanted, but Evan helped me find something that was beautiful and worked with our overall wedding "feel." We had a 4 tier cake with cinnamon brown sugar on 2 tiers and red velvet for the other 2 and they were both fabulous!! Her prices are also very reasonable. She was very flexible with us -- we were planning our wedding from out of town and she let us come in and do our tasting right around the holidays. I would definitely recommend her!!
Wedding: 09/20/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Evan was great to work with! Since I lived in NY while planning my wedding in VA, we only had one in-person meeting but she made me feel so comfortable. We emailed a few times back and forth - I even had a request to make my top layer gluten free and she was SO accommodating. Everyone LOVED the cake. I only had the GF part and it was amazing. All my guests raved about the cake. A close friend of mine who doesn't even like cake said she actually ate a whole slice so...I feel like that says a lot :) I would definitely recommend her - the cake was gorgeous and delicious and very, VERY reasonably priced!
Wedding: 09/20/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ginger 2 Reviews
My daughter had a very specific request for her wedding cake. She wanted a "naked cake", which is a tiered cake with only frosting in the layers. Evan made the cake so beautiful. It was delicious and got rave reviews from everyone. It was beautifully displayed and exactly what my daughter dreamed of. She also offers an anniversary cake that she will make each year instead of freezing a layer which is wonderful! The price was very affordable and delivery was right on time.
Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I have so many praises for Evan! She made me five cakes, featuring six different flavors, and they were beautiful and the ones I got to try tasted SO good (sadly, two flavors were gobbled up by guests before I got to them). She decorated them just as we had discussed and found the perfect shade of ribbon to use as an accent. I was impressed by the wide range of flavors that Evan offers, because it was important to me to offer a lot of variety to my guests. She also was completely cool with adding an additional cake to my order a few weeks before the wedding. I don't think I can wait until my first anniversary to eat another cake from here!!
Wedding: 08/16/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Sweets by E did an amazing job with our cake and cupcakes. I was initially on the fence about even having a wedding cake and Evan was was extremely accommodating with our requests and we had no problem scheduling a tasting and confirming our order and delivery. I usually hate the taste of wedding cake, but hers are fantastic! I'm already craving some more of the red velvet. Thanks for an excellent addition to our wedding day!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sarah 4 Reviews
Sweets By E did an amazing job with the cupcakes for my wedding. All the cupcakes tasted amazing to the point I should have ordered more because people could not stop eating them. Every one of my guests said they were the best cupcakes they had at a wedding!
Wedding: 07/05/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Stacy 2 Reviews
Evan was friendly and helpful. I had a rough idea of what I wanted for my wedding cake and she helped me make the final decision. We got a three tiered cake, with the raspberry chocolate ganache and the vanilla almond. Maybe I'm biased, but this was the best wedding cake I have ever had! It was moist and full of flavor. All of our guests commented on how delicious it was. Plus it just looked pretty. Evan's prices were reasonable. I will certainly be referring my friends and family to "Sweets by E" in the future.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Evan is not only a good friend from JMU but also an incredible baker! She baked our 4 tier, nautical themed wedding cake and it exceeded our expectations. Not only did the wedding cake look beautiful but it tasted heavenly! We received so many compliments from our wedding guests, I wish we could do it all over again! Sweets by E is highly recommended if you would like a delicious and elegant wedding cake.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 3 Reviews
Wow...where to begin?? Evan, owner of Sweets by E, was a total godsend. We found her through a recommendation by our photographer, after having gone through several other cake tastings that didn't work out.

When we met with Evan, our first thoughts were 1) this cake is the BEST cake I've ever tasted and 2) her design work is impeccable. My wife, a chef, was even blown away. From the moment we sat down in our initial consultation, Evan seemed to know exactly what we wanted with our cake, even when we couldn't really decide ourselves. She was flexible, creative and incredibly professional yet friendly!!

Our cake turned out exactly as we had hoped. It was delicious and beautiful! We are still receiving compliments on how amazing everything tasted.

I highly, highly recommend Sweets by E. Not only are you getting amazing service and dedication, you are getting a mind-blowing product! Thanks again, Evan!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katherine 3 Reviews
Sweets by E produced a beautiful and delicious cake for our wedding! Evan Sanderson was the first and only person we spoke to, hosted our tasting and was incredibly flexible with ideas on how to combine our favorite flavors! Sweets by E provided excellent service! She worked with our planners to produce a beautiful cake that went perfectly with our theme! The cake isn't too sweet and the icing isn't overpowering just a well made cake that our guests loved!! We would definitely recommend Sweets by E for your special day!!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
There are many things about my wedding day that I will always remember: the dress, the fun we had taking photos in the town. But one of my best memories is the wedding cake. That beautiful, scrumptious wedding cake.

We knew from the moment we walked into Evan's bakery that we had found THE BAKER for our cake. All of her flavors were amazing, but we settled on two: almond and chocolate. As far as design, Evan listened to all of our ideas and plans ... and then exceeded every expectation we had about what we wanted.

When I arrived at our reception, I walked over to our cake. It was beautiful. Scrollwork, with pearls and dragees … and Evan's sugar flowers were GORGEOUS. I know I stared at the cake for a good five minutes before I could pull myself away. I almost didn't want to cut into it when it came time! But my new husband convinced me to. (And this is why I love him.) It was the most delicious cake I’ve ever had. Ever. EVER. I’m sure the noises I made gave it away, too. And our guests all felt the same. Sure, there was some heated debate about which was the BEST flavor (I side with almond, but I was NOT leaving that reception without a piece of the chocolate … and OMG it was delish!!) – but one week later, our guests are still raving about the cake.

From start to finish, Evan was a pleasure to work with. She was organized, responsive, worked within our budget and then came up with something that was so incredible, it was the hit of our reception. I’ll be ordering all of my cakes from her in the future – birthdays, anniversaries. Heck, I might even invent a few new celebrations just as an excuse to get another cake. Thanks, Evan!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Evan is awesome!! Her cupcakes are delicious and so pretty! She made everything the way we wanted so it would be personal to us. Very budget friendly.. I would recommend her to anyone for any occasion!!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
I initially contacted Sweets by E because she was close to my wedding venue, which was out in Bluemont, VA. I was hoping she made great cakes, but that was to be determined. I really wanted to find a baker who made moist cakes with delicious frosting and fillers that were not too sweet or too waxy.

Evan (aka E) has a wide variety of cake flavors, fillings, and frosting types to choose from, ALL of them are DELICIOUS! I mean super super yummy. I was floored how good every single one of them was! It made it hard to choose my three flavors! I knew immediately that she was my gal.

I wanted a wedding cake that would knock peoples socks off. Evan not only made me three different layers of perfectly moist, flavorful, sweet cakes but she also did an absolutely AMAZING job on the design of the cake: smooth ivory fondant with petals and pearls on each of the three layers, matching the petal color to my bridesmaid dresses almost exactly.

I honestly could not have asked for more. Everything about my wedding cake was perfect. And, to top it off, she does a free One Year Anniversary cake. Evan was also very helpful and flexible with dropping the cake off at the venue, since our wedding was Easter Sunday. I have nothing but great things to say about my entire experience.

Sweets by E is a no brainer.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lisa 1 Reviews
We LOVED working with Sweets By E! Evan was very friendly but professional! The final product was delicious!
We also used Sweets By E for our rehearsal dinner cakes. The cakes were so yummy only two slices remained at the end if the dinner! And those two remaining slices didn't last long.
Looking forward to our first anniversary when we can reminisce about our special day and enjoy our wedding cake top!
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 571-212-4697
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0