Sweets by E
...because everyone deserves a little something sweet!
    72 Reviews
Herndon, VA 20170  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (72)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Stacy 2 Reviews
Evan was friendly and helpful. I had a rough idea of what I wanted for my wedding cake and she helped me make the final decision. We got a three tiered cake, with the raspberry chocolate ganache and the vanilla almond. Maybe I'm biased, but this was the best wedding cake I have ever had! It was moist and full of flavor. All of our guests commented on how delicious it was. Plus it just looked pretty. Evan's prices were reasonable. I will certainly be referring my friends and family to "Sweets by E" in the future.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 3 Reviews
Wow...where to begin?? Evan, owner of Sweets by E, was a total godsend. We found her through a recommendation by our photographer, after having gone through several other cake tastings that didn't work out.

When we met with Evan, our first thoughts were 1) this cake is the BEST cake I've ever tasted and 2) her design work is impeccable. My wife, a chef, was even blown away. From the moment we sat down in our initial consultation, Evan seemed to know exactly what we wanted with our cake, even when we couldn't really decide ourselves. She was flexible, creative and incredibly professional yet friendly!!

Our cake turned out exactly as we had hoped. It was delicious and beautiful! We are still receiving compliments on how amazing everything tasted.

I highly, highly recommend Sweets by E. Not only are you getting amazing service and dedication, you are getting a mind-blowing product! Thanks again, Evan!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katherine 3 Reviews
Sweets by E produced a beautiful and delicious cake for our wedding! Evan Sanderson was the first and only person we spoke to, hosted our tasting and was incredibly flexible with ideas on how to combine our favorite flavors! Sweets by E provided excellent service! She worked with our planners to produce a beautiful cake that went perfectly with our theme! The cake isn't too sweet and the icing isn't overpowering just a well made cake that our guests loved!! We would definitely recommend Sweets by E for your special day!!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
There are many things about my wedding day that I will always remember: the dress, the fun we had taking photos in the town. But one of my best memories is the wedding cake. That beautiful, scrumptious wedding cake.

We knew from the moment we walked into Evan's bakery that we had found THE BAKER for our cake. All of her flavors were amazing, but we settled on two: almond and chocolate. As far as design, Evan listened to all of our ideas and plans ... and then exceeded every expectation we had about what we wanted.

When I arrived at our reception, I walked over to our cake. It was beautiful. Scrollwork, with pearls and dragees … and Evan's sugar flowers were GORGEOUS. I know I stared at the cake for a good five minutes before I could pull myself away. I almost didn't want to cut into it when it came time! But my new husband convinced me to. (And this is why I love him.) It was the most delicious cake I’ve ever had. Ever. EVER. I’m sure the noises I made gave it away, too. And our guests all felt the same. Sure, there was some heated debate about which was the BEST flavor (I side with almond, but I was NOT leaving that reception without a piece of the chocolate … and OMG it was delish!!) – but one week later, our guests are still raving about the cake.

From start to finish, Evan was a pleasure to work with. She was organized, responsive, worked within our budget and then came up with something that was so incredible, it was the hit of our reception. I’ll be ordering all of my cakes from her in the future – birthdays, anniversaries. Heck, I might even invent a few new celebrations just as an excuse to get another cake. Thanks, Evan!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Evan is awesome!! Her cupcakes are delicious and so pretty! She made everything the way we wanted so it would be personal to us. Very budget friendly.. I would recommend her to anyone for any occasion!!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
I initially contacted Sweets by E because she was close to my wedding venue, which was out in Bluemont, VA. I was hoping she made great cakes, but that was to be determined. I really wanted to find a baker who made moist cakes with delicious frosting and fillers that were not too sweet or too waxy.

Evan (aka E) has a wide variety of cake flavors, fillings, and frosting types to choose from, ALL of them are DELICIOUS! I mean super super yummy. I was floored how good every single one of them was! It made it hard to choose my three flavors! I knew immediately that she was my gal.

I wanted a wedding cake that would knock peoples socks off. Evan not only made me three different layers of perfectly moist, flavorful, sweet cakes but she also did an absolutely AMAZING job on the design of the cake: smooth ivory fondant with petals and pearls on each of the three layers, matching the petal color to my bridesmaid dresses almost exactly.

I honestly could not have asked for more. Everything about my wedding cake was perfect. And, to top it off, she does a free One Year Anniversary cake. Evan was also very helpful and flexible with dropping the cake off at the venue, since our wedding was Easter Sunday. I have nothing but great things to say about my entire experience.

Sweets by E is a no brainer.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lisa 1 Reviews
We LOVED working with Sweets By E! Evan was very friendly but professional! The final product was delicious!
We also used Sweets By E for our rehearsal dinner cakes. The cakes were so yummy only two slices remained at the end if the dinner! And those two remaining slices didn't last long.
Looking forward to our first anniversary when we can reminisce about our special day and enjoy our wedding cake top!
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Evan was wonderful to work with and our cake great beautiful and tasted amazing! I required a gluten free cake and she was able to accomodate very easily. I have already recommended someone to her for cupcakes :-)
Wedding: 02/16/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Evan did a wonderful job with our cake. We wanted something simple and elegant but something that tasted like sweet heaven! We had two layers of pumpkin and cream cheese and two layers of redvelvet. It was so good! I actually made time to eat my cake at the wedding and I was so happy I did, cause there was barely any left! My guests ate it all! She used some of our extra decor to give the cake a little pizazz. Evan was sweet, professional, and creative. If you are looking for personalized elegance and have a sweet tooth, this is your baker!
Wedding: 11/23/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Where do I begin. We had 3 weeks to get a cake made for our last minute wedding ceremony. Evan was flexible and accommodating to all our needs when no one else was.

The cake was exactly what we needed and expected, and the taste exceeding our expectations. The cake arrived on time. It was great to work with someone like Evan and her team. We will use her for events in the future, and will recommend her to others without any second thoughts.

Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I worked with Sweets by E for my wedding cake. From the very beginning of my bakery search, I was impressed by the responsiveness of Evan. We quickly set up an appointment, where we were able to taste several different cake flavors in her very cute shop! We didn't have any cake designs in mind, so she us many different styles and examples. She has a wide variety of traditional and unique cake flavors and the pricing is fantastic. Evan worked with our florist to get extra flowers to decorate and did a fantastic job. The cake was beautiful and tasted amazing. I would definitely recommend Sweets by E for any of your cake or bakery needs. Thanks again for everything!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Evan's cakes are delicious and beautiful. The prices are also very reasonable.
We had her cake and cupcakes at the wedding.

We highly recommend her.
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ruth 1 Reviews
Based on all of the amazing reviews I read about for Evan of Sweets by E, I knew she was THE person to make my wedding cake!!!! She was extremely responsive & professional answering my many questions leading up to wedding day, offered several flavor options for my tasting, (I picked 3 - all of which were wonderful), and without missing a beat, she created my cake based on a picture I provided her of a wedding cake I had seen online! The cake was delivered successfully, looked absolutely beautiful, was incredibly delicious and received rave reviews from all my guests!!!!! Can't wait to have a cake made for the next occasion...I highly recommend Evan...you'll be so happy you did! :)
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alexa 2 Reviews
Sweets by E is the best bakery in the area. Evan is so responsive and helpful, she makes this part of planning a wedding as easy as possible! I was not a very helpful customer... I told Evan I wanted a white rustic cake and those were the only guidelines I gave her and she created the most beautiful cake I have ever seen. I could not have asked for anything more perfect that what she created for me and my husband! In addition to creating the most beautiful cakes I have ever seen, Evan bakes the most delicious cakes I have ever tasted!

I would recommend Sweets by E to anyone and everyone! Thanks you Evan for the perfect wedding cake!!
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Evan was great – she is very flexible and reasonably priced. Her cake was amazing – I had several guests come up to me and say how much they loved it. Evan also made me a grooms cake as a surprise for my groom..it turned out amazing! He loves the Atlanta Braves (baseball) and on the cake there was a 3-D baseball! The taste and quality of her cakes make her a top pick in the area!!
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Evan was a joy to work with! As it turns out, Evan attended the same alma mater as my husband and I and so we were partial to support a fellow JMU Duke in her business endeavor.
I ordered a grooms cake in addition to a 3-tier traditional wedding cake. Both cakes were fabulous! My guests are still raving about the chocolate and peanut butter grooms cake Evan made.
Lastly, I'll say that of all the bakeries we priced, Sweets by E offers the most affordable price. My husband and I feel that we got the most bang for our buck selecting Evan at Sweets by E to create our wedding cakes. I will definitely keep Evan in mind for future parties and celebrations!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 571-212-4697
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0