St. Augustine Historical Society
271 Charlotte Street
Saint Augustine, FL 32084  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 250
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (8)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.5/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.2/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.1/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I had our ceremony at the Llambias House in St. Augustine, FL on March 1, 2014. Let me just start off by saying that the SAHS was not easy to work with but Angie - the coordinator and the one whom you primarily communicate with- was absolutely phenomenal!! She was so so sweet and accommodating. Whenever we wanted to visit Llambias House, she would meet us. If we were running late, she would wait for us. She kept the grounds of Llambias House immaculate! During our rehearsal, she had great tips for the order of the ceremony. She thought of things I didn't even think of like the width of the aisle because I was having both my mom and dad walk me down. On the day of, she made sure everything ran on time and had everyone where they needed to be. The Llambias House itself is an amazingly beautiful venue! The pictures online don't do it justice. Our guests, videographer and photographers were gushing over it!! We loved working with Angie, we loved Llambias House and would recommend it to anyone!
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  2.5
  • Flexibility:  2.5
My husband and I fell in love with The Oldest House and Gardens and booked the venue for our ceremony. It is an incredibly beautiful site, the old oak tree makes a perfect scenic backdrop for a ceremony. Quite sadly, there are many drawbacks to holding an event at The Oldest House.

1) No onsite parking for guests.

2) Very strict policies for vendors. Beware if you attempt to choose any vendor that is not on their pre-approved vendor list. The Oldest House and Gardens require that ALL vendors provide a business license and liability insurance with the St. Augustine Historical Society listed as holder. We discovered two weeks before our ceremony that the musician we hired did not have a business license nor did they have the exact type of insurance needed. This resulted in endless phone calls and e-mails back and forth, tears, and an unbelievable amount of stress leading up to the days before our wedding.

3) Possibility of rain. We planned our wedding for a "dry month" and the week before the wedding the forecast came out projecting 40% chance of rain. As the day got closer it went up to 50-60%. The Oldest House and Gardens is an outdoor venue, with the only possible contingency plan being to pay extra to rent a tent. Note also, the tent rental company requires advance notice. If it does not rain the tent would still need to be set up ahead of time. We had to make the incredibly difficult last minute decision to move our ceremony indoors to the same venue as our reception at the Casa Monica Hotel. The Oldest House does not give refunds for any reason, and we lost our entire ceremony venue payment, as well as the money we had paid for the chair rental. (One positive aside, the rain did clear up after our ceremony at the Casa Monica so The Oldest House allowed us to come take pictures onsite.)

The Oldest House and Gardens is a beautiful setting for a wedding, but the bride and groom will need to be incredibly flexible to manage these potential situations.
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  2.5

Private User 9 Reviews
Finding a venue/reception site for your wedding can be a tough decision. But it's like finding the right person, when you know, you know. My wife and I searched and searched until we finally made an appointment with Angie at the Llambias House.

Let me just say, WOW! We immediately knew this was it, it was exactly what we were looking for! Elegant, beautiful, chic, fairytale like, and much more!

If you decide this is your place, too, make sure you work with Angie! She envisioned exactly what we wanted, helped out tremendously the day of our wedding, and up to the day of. She immediately responds back to any questions or concerns you may have, and is extremely personable. We ALWAYS felt welcomed (even when we asked a billion questions)!

Our biggest set back was the miscommunication of the insurance policy for all vendors. Being new to the wedding world, we were unaware of this rule (and it was never talked about directly). The Llambias house provides a list of preferred vendors, but you can choose other vendors as well. The set back was that it was not directly stated that ALL of your vendors must have wedding insurance. The people on the list of preferred vendors were insured, but we did not know that this was the reason. We didn't realize either that not many vendors have wedding insurance, so it was not something we asked about before hiring. It did cause a problem with our DJ, and we lost our deposit and had to find another DJ a month before the wedding, but everything happens for a reason and our DJ (Brian Sullivan - Beachside Entertainment) was even better than than the 1st DJ! Also, the main person in charge of the weddings here is very strict on decor. She would not let us do several things that we really thought would make the house romantic. Still came out stunning, but make sure to ask all of your questions ahead of time as it was tough working around her.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
thank you angie and everyone at the gardens for helping us with our dream ceremony! everything was beautiful and all of our guests couldn't get over how beautiful the gardens were!
Wedding: 01/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This is an absolutely gorgeous venue for a wedding. We had our reception here and the words we constantly heard from our guests about the Llambias House were: beautiful, magical, fairytale and stunning. Angie was the event coordinator there and she was such a pleasure to work with. She always had a great attitude, is very knowledgeable and is so easy to get along with. Just a heads up to brides and grooms, there is a noise restriction at this venue so if you are looking to party hard this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for an intimate venue that will wow your guests, the Llambias House is definitely worth checking out.

Thank you Angie for helping make our day truly memorable.
Wedding: 11/03/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I got married at the Llambias House in St Augustine & event planners were amazing! They let my amazing photographer tour the area the morning of, and let me visit with my DJ prior to figure out where he was going to set up. While setting up, they were there every step of the way, assisting the catering crew or helping with the flowers & getting everybody situated! The head planner (I hate that I forgot her name!) even got the tree trimming people (they were cutting across the street) to speed it up because the ceremony was about to begin! She was great!
Wedding: 05/07/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Beautiful location and wonderful staff . . . . thank you for helping to make our night a dream come true;)
Wedding: 02/20/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
My wedding was perfect! It was so pretty outside the wind had picked up a and was knocking over the flowers! Cheryl took charge and tied the flowers to the chairs which was perfect! It all looked so pretty! Thanks
Wedding: 04/11/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 904-824-2872
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0