Southern Oaks Plantation
Gorgeous Daytime Events and Spectacular Nighttime Celebrations
    60 Reviews
7816 Hayne Boulevard
New Orleans, LA 70126  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 400
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (60)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I have no words to express how amazing my reception was I couldn't of asked for anything better they made it my dream come true from the entrance till the time it was over the food was amazing the service, music and our personal attendants all of our guest have said it was the best wedding they have ever been to I wish I could give more then 5 stars because it was that amazing thanks so much to Bobby Asaro and his staff! I will recommend to others!!!
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
SOP TEAM,

WOW!!!!! It's so hard to even begin to describe how AMAZING you all are! Seriously, how do you guys do it?! George and I are beyond ecstatic with how our big day turned out. We can't stop talking about how magical it was (neither can our guests)! I mean it was absolute perfection!! Bobby worked his magic and the rain stopped :-), Stacey, Lauren and Kim seen to it that George and I had everything we needed, when we needed it, the food was IMPECCABLE, the service was EXTRAORDINAIRE...the entire team (doorman, wait staff etc.) from beginning to end was absolutely wonderful! Top notch all the way! When I wanted to make a few changes the day of, my requests were accommodated without second thought (I'm trying to explain to George the many reasons why we should have a renewal ceremony at Southern Oaks every other year...he hasn't quite hopped on board yet but I'm working on it ;-)!
For all the beautiful bride-to-be's looking for the perfect venue, look no further Southern Oaks Plantation is it!!!!
Wedding: 06/23/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When I began the search for my wedding venue, I knew I wanted something that would wow my guests. After looking all over Baton Rouge and New Orleans, I thought I had seen it all and I would just have to settle for the average wedding. Little did I know, my final stop would could come nothing close to average.
We pulled up on the perfectly manicured lawn, continued up the porch steps, and rang the bell. The anticipation was killing me, if the exterior of this place was so beautiful, the interior must be exquisite -- I was correct.
Stepping into Southern Oaks Plantation was like stepping into something out of a Bride's dream. The attention to detail was phenomenal -- crystal chandeliers descending through a spiral staircase, a swanky lounge with the comforts of home -- it couldn't be. A smiling face greeted us and I was hooked. This was IT!
Our entire experience with Southern Oaks was incredible from the moment we laid our eyes on the plantation. Everything was flawless, from the easy consultations, to the plantation tours and the gifts, all the way up to the big day. My wedding was perfect in every aspect of the word.
The staff and service exceeded all of my expectations and the attention to detail throughout the entire plantation really is absolutely impeccable. I cannot begin to thank Southern Oaks enough for all of the time and effort they put forward for such a special day in our lives. The owners and staff genuinely care about each and every Bride, and do everything in their power to be sure the day will be just as you have dreamed since you were a little girl. They somehow make it seem as if you are the only Bride that will ever be married at Southern Oaks and YOUR wedding is their only priority. Everything about the day went above and beyond, it was more beautiful than I could have ever hoped for. Being a Louisiana native, I have a certain thing about food, and let me just say, it was delicious. After over a month I am still receiving compliments-STUNNING
Wedding: 03/21/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Southern Oaks was an absolutely beautiful location for our New Orleans wedding reception!!! There are no words to describe how amazing that night was for us and how perfect the staff were throughout the entire process. The day of the wedding, they made everything run so smoothly that I was able to enjoy the entire night stress-free. I had so much fun without a care in the world because Bobby, our attendants, and the rest of the staff were taking such great care of me and my guest. We have received nothing but compliments - from the fireworks, to the Disney entrance, to the food, and so much more. Bobby and his staff really went above and beyond to make that night extra special.

When we arrived, we were put into a horse drawn carriage and made a grand Disney-like entrance that included fireworks. From the moment we stepped into the carriage to the moment we were put into the limo to leave, every part of the night was unforgettable. The DJ played the music we suggested and a few of his own choices, which kept the guests dancing all night. The chefs/servers prepared us a delicious and romantic dinner for two. Our attendants notified, directed, and escorted us to all the major events throughout the entire night (i.e. first dances, dinner, cake cutting, bouquet/guarder toss, etc.). They also never let our or our parent's drinks go empty. When it was time for the magical night to end, all of our presents were packed into a designated car, and a to-go box filled with cake, food, and champagne, along with our personal belongings, were packed into our limo ready for us to leave.

It was the perfect night, and wouldn't have been so without Bobby and the rest of the Southern Oaks staff. My husband and I, along with our family, highly recommend Southern Oaks to anyone looking for a stress-free magical wedding and/or reception.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot put into words how perfect every last inch of our wedding was thanks to Southern Oaks, their staff, and the Asaro family. Above and beyond!! My husband and I are still on cloud nine! They think of everything and make it all seamless. As a bride you don't have to stress at all because they take care of every detail! The food is fabulous as the service is impeccable! Walt Disney would be proud;) I am forever grateful for a fairy tale wedding. They truly make us feel like family
Wedding: 01/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Having our ceremony and reception at Southern Oaks Plantation was a dream of mine since I was young. I remember seeing pictures displayed at Clearview mall in Metairie and I told myself I would get married there in the future. And so I did! And since my father is in the wedding industry (The Topcats), he knew only the best! Everything was organized since the day we booked them a year ahead. The Asaro family and their team made sure every detail I planned for was included. And the best part was that they are all-inclusive! I just had to get my photographer, cake, videographer, and florist! They took care of the rest! The ceremony was amazing; from the carriage ride with my dad, the twinkling lights that aligned the pathway to marrying my prince, then the carriage ride with my husband, and the beautiful, elaborate fireworks display! And OF COURSE I cannot forget about the food! All of our guests enjoyed the variety of hors d'oeuvres that were offered. Especially the praline chicken! My husband and I got to enjoy a quick 15 min (our choice, could be longer) dinner to eat and collect ourselves, which was very nice! Then we went back out to dance and enjoy being with our family and friends! It was nice having a coordinator with us the whole time to make sure we always had drinks or to et us know when we will be doing the cake cutting, etc. Our guests also really enjoyed the photobooth that was included! We truly had such a wonderful time and will always remember our dream wedding. (BTW, if you are a Disney fan, and appreciate the Disney service, definitely go with Southern Oaks!)
Wedding: 11/30/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Absolutly the best wedding reception I have ever attended in my life. The variety and amount of food and drink served will stagger the imagination. Mr.Bobby was the most gracious director. Nothing was too much trouble.There was never a problem that he could not solve. I will forever carry with me the wonderful memories of my daughters wedding. Many thanks to Southern Oaks Plantation staff and Bobby and Sue Asaro.
Wedding: 11/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
On November 10, 2013 our son Jared Martin married Sheri Guillot. The owners , Bobby and Sue Asaro, went out of their way to make this day a wonderful, magical experience for everyone ! All of our family and friends are still talking about how fantastic the food, the staff, and the magical ambiance of Southern Oaks Plantation was on Jared and Sheri's special day. Bobby and Sue Asaro and the staff of Southern Oaks Plantation made their dreams come true. Words can not express how much we appreciate everything the did for us. We highly recommend Southern Oaks Plantation .
Wedding: 11/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The moment that ring went on my finger I couldn't imagine my wedding any place else other than Southern Oaks Plantation. As a former employee I know the time, effort and love that is put into every event from the wonderful owners Bobby and Sue Asaro and staff, filled with true Southern Hospitality. Over more than 10 years in my life that I worked for Mr. Bobby and Ms. Sue, I've learned so much, professionally and personally, that I've taken in my career as an RN and will cherish always. My wedding was everything I dreamed of and more, my true New Orleans style wedding. Southern Oaks was the one place that I didn't have to stress over, I knew that was everything was going to be taken care of, with the help of Stacey Asaro, I knew I was in the right place and hands. This Dynamic Trio assures greatness in every event to make the dreams come true for every bride, groom and family that enter those gates seeking the magical experience of Southern Oaks Plantation. I am truly honored to know them, not only as a former employee, bride, but most of all apart of their family.
Wedding: 11/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
MAGIC Truly Happens Here! We had the PERFECT wedding at Southern Oaks! We were married 10/27/13, and from the start, we knew it was right. We live in New York and aren’t from New Orleans...we just fell in love with the city over the years. But planning a wedding from afar was intimidating...especially with the unexpected things that can happen. But after we met Bobby and Kyle and heard about everything Southern Oaks offers, all fears were put to rest. We visited 14 other venues all over the city...and none held a candle to Southern Oaks. It is an amazing one-stop-shop and provides such a comprehensive planning guide with recommendations for different vendors that even these selections were easy! With the beautiful neutral tones of the decor, it was as if we decorated the entire place ourselves (our colors were coconut and gold). I must have been the least stressed bride ever...I know that a primary reason was how easy Southern Oaks made things and how comfortable they made me feel when I had questions. No question was ever too big or small. Now - the wedding. The week prior was beautiful – no rain in sight. But 10 minutes before our ceremony, it began raining. Bobby was the epitome of calm and reassurance and watched the radar minute by minute...until the rain passed. We delayed our ceremony only briefly, as the staff kept our guests comfortable and dry under the shelter of the mansion’s front porch. When all was clear, the staff dried the seats and reseated our guests. Seamless! If you can, opt for the carriage, jazz band, fireworks (and ribbon confetti!), and photo booth. We had a true fairy tale wedding experience – no exaggeration! Our guests raved that ours was the best "wedding" – and the best "affair" – they’ve ever attended! Top notch, top-shelf everything all the way! Lastly, we must praise the amazing team there. They are undoubtedly the utmost professionals, but they are also just "good people" with a passion for making dreams come true!
Wedding: 10/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Brian 2 Reviews
I cannot praise Mr. Asaro and his entire staff for making my daughter's wedding an event to remember always. Not only does Mr. Asaro and the Southern Oaks team respond to any request , but are usually
one step ahead of you. They treated every single person at the party like they were family.
I have nothing but great memories of my daughter's wedding. Without having to worry about a single
detail, I was able to mingle, laugh and enjoy my company, my friends and family.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you, thank you, thank you.

Brian
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
OMG there are really no words to describe this place!! My now husband and I got married here on 10/5/2013 and it was a fairy tale wedding!! All of the staff were on point and it was so appreciated!! The food was AMAZING!!!! I love how our guests are still raving about this place and the food!!!!!! Thank you to everyone that made our day special!!!

<3 Mr. & Mrs. Robinson
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
There are no words to describe how perfect our wedding was at Southern Oaks. From the start, they were so easy to work with and took care of most of the details, which made it very easy to plan since my fiancé and I do not live in Louisiana. The wedding itself was magical! I could not turn around without someone filling my drink or asking if I needed anything and they treated our parents the same way. The plantation is amazing, inside and out, and our pictures are gorgeous! The staff made us feel like royalty the entire day. So many of our guests have said it's the best wedding they have ever been to! S.O. Is pricey but our parents and we feel it was worth every penny! Also, spring for the jazz band; they were pricey, but made all our guests so excited and started the party off with a bang!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
WOW!! Just thought I would start with that :) !! Our night was a wonderful whirlwind of elegance, excitement, and surprise! It was POURING since the minute I woke up on our wedding day, and when most venues would have canceled the outdoor ceremony, SOP waited it out until the last minute and wouldn't you know .... It cleared up just in time to give us our dream ceremony on the front steps of the magnificent southern plantation. That meant the world to me that they were willing to do all in their power to keep the original plans! All the guest are still raving about the yummy creole/cajun food, the impeccable service, and the unique southern atmosphere (all but 5 guest were from out of town and we wanted them to feel the NOLA love and culture during our wedding, and that they did)!!!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I just attended a wedding at this venue for the first time. The food was fantastic. The service was wonderful and the staff was helpful. This is a great place to have an event.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nice place.. love it.. made my dreams come true. .
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 504-245-8221
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0