Southern Oaks Plantation
Gorgeous Daytime Events and Spectacular Nighttime Celebrations
    54 Reviews
7816 Hayne Boulevard
New Orleans, LA 70126  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 400
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (54)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Having our ceremony and reception at Southern Oaks Plantation was a dream of mine since I was young. I remember seeing pictures displayed at Clearview mall in Metairie and I told myself I would get married there in the future. And so I did! And since my father is in the wedding industry (The Topcats), he knew only the best! Everything was organized since the day we booked them a year ahead. The Asaro family and their team made sure every detail I planned for was included. And the best part was that they are all-inclusive! I just had to get my photographer, cake, videographer, and florist! They took care of the rest! The ceremony was amazing; from the carriage ride with my dad, the twinkling lights that aligned the pathway to marrying my prince, then the carriage ride with my husband, and the beautiful, elaborate fireworks display! And OF COURSE I cannot forget about the food! All of our guests enjoyed the variety of hors d'oeuvres that were offered. Especially the praline chicken! My husband and I got to enjoy a quick 15 min (our choice, could be longer) dinner to eat and collect ourselves, which was very nice! Then we went back out to dance and enjoy being with our family and friends! It was nice having a coordinator with us the whole time to make sure we always had drinks or to et us know when we will be doing the cake cutting, etc. Our guests also really enjoyed the photobooth that was included! We truly had such a wonderful time and will always remember our dream wedding. (BTW, if you are a Disney fan, and appreciate the Disney service, definitely go with Southern Oaks!)
Wedding: 11/30/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The moment that ring went on my finger I couldn't imagine my wedding any place else other than Southern Oaks Plantation. As a former employee I know the time, effort and love that is put into every event from the wonderful owners Bobby and Sue Asaro and staff, filled with true Southern Hospitality. Over more than 10 years in my life that I worked for Mr. Bobby and Ms. Sue, I've learned so much, professionally and personally, that I've taken in my career as an RN and will cherish always. My wedding was everything I dreamed of and more, my true New Orleans style wedding. Southern Oaks was the one place that I didn't have to stress over, I knew that was everything was going to be taken care of, with the help of Stacey Asaro, I knew I was in the right place and hands. This Dynamic Trio assures greatness in every event to make the dreams come true for every bride, groom and family that enter those gates seeking the magical experience of Southern Oaks Plantation. I am truly honored to know them, not only as a former employee, bride, but most of all apart of their family.
Wedding: 11/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Absolutly the best wedding reception I have ever attended in my life. The variety and amount of food and drink served will stagger the imagination. Mr.Bobby was the most gracious director. Nothing was too much trouble.There was never a problem that he could not solve. I will forever carry with me the wonderful memories of my daughters wedding. Many thanks to Southern Oaks Plantation staff and Bobby and Sue Asaro.
Wedding: 11/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
On November 10, 2013 our son Jared Martin married Sheri Guillot. The owners , Bobby and Sue Asaro, went out of their way to make this day a wonderful, magical experience for everyone ! All of our family and friends are still talking about how fantastic the food, the staff, and the magical ambiance of Southern Oaks Plantation was on Jared and Sheri's special day. Bobby and Sue Asaro and the staff of Southern Oaks Plantation made their dreams come true. Words can not express how much we appreciate everything the did for us. We highly recommend Southern Oaks Plantation .
Wedding: 11/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
MAGIC Truly Happens Here! We had the PERFECT wedding at Southern Oaks! We were married 10/27/13, and from the start, we knew it was right. We live in New York and aren’t from New Orleans...we just fell in love with the city over the years. But planning a wedding from afar was intimidating...especially with the unexpected things that can happen. But after we met Bobby and Kyle and heard about everything Southern Oaks offers, all fears were put to rest. We visited 14 other venues all over the city...and none held a candle to Southern Oaks. It is an amazing one-stop-shop and provides such a comprehensive planning guide with recommendations for different vendors that even these selections were easy! With the beautiful neutral tones of the decor, it was as if we decorated the entire place ourselves (our colors were coconut and gold). I must have been the least stressed bride ever...I know that a primary reason was how easy Southern Oaks made things and how comfortable they made me feel when I had questions. No question was ever too big or small. Now - the wedding. The week prior was beautiful – no rain in sight. But 10 minutes before our ceremony, it began raining. Bobby was the epitome of calm and reassurance and watched the radar minute by minute...until the rain passed. We delayed our ceremony only briefly, as the staff kept our guests comfortable and dry under the shelter of the mansion’s front porch. When all was clear, the staff dried the seats and reseated our guests. Seamless! If you can, opt for the carriage, jazz band, fireworks (and ribbon confetti!), and photo booth. We had a true fairy tale wedding experience – no exaggeration! Our guests raved that ours was the best "wedding" – and the best "affair" – they’ve ever attended! Top notch, top-shelf everything all the way! Lastly, we must praise the amazing team there. They are undoubtedly the utmost professionals, but they are also just "good people" with a passion for making dreams come true!
Wedding: 10/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Brian 2 Reviews
I cannot praise Mr. Asaro and his entire staff for making my daughter's wedding an event to remember always. Not only does Mr. Asaro and the Southern Oaks team respond to any request , but are usually
one step ahead of you. They treated every single person at the party like they were family.
I have nothing but great memories of my daughter's wedding. Without having to worry about a single
detail, I was able to mingle, laugh and enjoy my company, my friends and family.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you, thank you, thank you.

Brian
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
OMG there are really no words to describe this place!! My now husband and I got married here on 10/5/2013 and it was a fairy tale wedding!! All of the staff were on point and it was so appreciated!! The food was AMAZING!!!! I love how our guests are still raving about this place and the food!!!!!! Thank you to everyone that made our day special!!!

<3 Mr. & Mrs. Robinson
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
There are no words to describe how perfect our wedding was at Southern Oaks. From the start, they were so easy to work with and took care of most of the details, which made it very easy to plan since my fiancé and I do not live in Louisiana. The wedding itself was magical! I could not turn around without someone filling my drink or asking if I needed anything and they treated our parents the same way. The plantation is amazing, inside and out, and our pictures are gorgeous! The staff made us feel like royalty the entire day. So many of our guests have said it's the best wedding they have ever been to! S.O. Is pricey but our parents and we feel it was worth every penny! Also, spring for the jazz band; they were pricey, but made all our guests so excited and started the party off with a bang!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
WOW!! Just thought I would start with that :) !! Our night was a wonderful whirlwind of elegance, excitement, and surprise! It was POURING since the minute I woke up on our wedding day, and when most venues would have canceled the outdoor ceremony, SOP waited it out until the last minute and wouldn't you know .... It cleared up just in time to give us our dream ceremony on the front steps of the magnificent southern plantation. That meant the world to me that they were willing to do all in their power to keep the original plans! All the guest are still raving about the yummy creole/cajun food, the impeccable service, and the unique southern atmosphere (all but 5 guest were from out of town and we wanted them to feel the NOLA love and culture during our wedding, and that they did)!!!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I just attended a wedding at this venue for the first time. The food was fantastic. The service was wonderful and the staff was helpful. This is a great place to have an event.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
They did such a great job, I didn't have to worry about anything.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nice place.. love it.. made my dreams come true. .
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
My husband and I married at Southern Oaks in June and words cannot fully express how WONDERFUL, AWESOME & MAGICAL our wedding experience was. Our guests (95% of which were from out of town) were totally blown away by the experience and almost all of them have commented that it was the best wedding they've ever been to. We’re both from CA and LOVE New Orleans, and many of our guests were first-time visitors to the city. Southern Oaks orchestrated a true NOLA experience for them, and helped affirm why we chose to have our wedding in the Big Easy!!

We've received such an outpouring of love, support and positive feedback from friends and family that we don't know what to do with ourselves! The facility was absolutely beautiful, the food was abundant and delicious, the music kept the party going, and the staff was pleasant and attentive.

Not to mention Stacey (our primary wedding coordinator) made the planning process a BREEZE. We were living in NYC at the time, and relied heavily on Stacey and the Southern Oaks team for vendor recommendations and their local expertise. It also helped that Southern Oaks was a one-stop shop for our food, drinks, music, photo booth, brass band and decorations (it’s nicely decorated, so we didn’t need to add anything). Stacey was responsive, organized, and maintained a detailed record of our preferences over the course of the 11-month planning process. The entire team was always friendly, ready and willing to help in any way possible. It’s a warm, down-home family-owned and operated business and we truly felt part of the family.

We are still on cloud 9, and I imagine we will be for some time. The wedding experience was the perfect start to our marriage, and was a blessing for us and many others in attendance. We undoubtedly recommend Southern Oaks as a venue for anyone considering a New Orleans wedding. We want any and everyone to experience the wonder, awesomeness and magic that is Southern Oaks! You WILL NOT be disappointed.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I had our wedding reception at Southern Oaks in the summer of June 14, 2013, and words cannot fully express how AMAZING, WHIMSICAL & MAGICAL our wedding experience was. I am from New Orleans, but my husband is from the Caribbean Island of Trinidad & Tobago, and many of our guests were first-time visitors to the city. Southern Oaks orchestrated a true NOLA experience for them, and helped affirm why we chose to have our wedding in the Big Easy!! 
We've received such an outpouring of love, support and positive feedback from friends and family that we don't know what to do with ourselves! The venue was absolutely beautiful, the food was abundant and so delicious, the music kept the party going including the brass band and the staff was pleasant and attentive. It took everyone’s breath away. Not to mention Stacey (our primary wedding coordinator) made the planning process a BREEZE. Both Stacey, Mr. Bobby, and the staff made our wedding day so easy & amazing. Everything was so organized to the point where all we had to do was show up. It also helped that Southern Oaks was a one-stop shop for our food, beverages, music, horse and carriage, brass band and decorations. It's a warm, down-home family-owned and operated business and we truly felt part of the family. The wedding experience was the perfect start to our marriage, and was a blessing for us and many others in attendance. Because of Southern Oaks, many of our family and friends that got Visa’s just to come to the US, will be returning to the BIG EASY! I truly had a fairytale wedding with the white horse and carriage, the fireworks, and brass band! It set it off!! Our family and friends were in awe. We undoubtedly recommend Southern Oaks as a venue for anyone considering a New Orleans wedding. We want any and everyone to experience magic that is Southern Oaks! From the staff, to the owners, you are not just another bride to them, you are special and you are treated like royalty on your wedding day ☺
Wedding: 06/14/2013
Services Used: Band, Catering, DJ, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alison 1 Reviews
We could not be happier or more pleased with the service, food, atmosphere... just everything about Southern Oaks and our wedding day. The host staff was incredibly attentive, friendly, and polished. We never had less than half a drink without it being refreshed. The spread of food and private dining area for the bridal party is unmatched by any other NOLA wedding venue.

In addition to my own wedding, I've been in the bridal party for 5 other weddings in the past few years. Some of the most popular venues in the city don't come close to Southern Oaks in terms of menu and service. Living in NOLA means your guests will typically remember your wedding based on their judgement of 3 key things: the food, the alcohol, and the service. To this day (7+ months later), our family and friends are still raving about the food and the service!

The Southern Oaks staff makes it incredibly easy and fun to be a bride and enjoy your day. From the very start of the planning process, the experience was smooth and effortless. One of my favorite things about Southern Oaks is the way they price packages. Rather than having to stress and add up numbers for the venue rental, catering, alcohol, table linens, etc (as other venues force you to), the price is all inclusive and structured based on your number of guests.

Southern Oaks has thought of everything!
Wedding: 01/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the parents of the bride:
As a child, Holly, like most little girls, dreamed of the fairy tale wedding. Rarely, however, are the expectations of that dream-day met. Those unfortunate brides must not have had their wedding take place at Southern Oaks Plantation.
To Bobby, Sue and family: a simple (or even an enthusiastic) “Thank You” seems inadequate. From the day we booked, you promised you would take care of everything – that you would make it special. That promise was kept and then some. Every expectation we had was exceeded. The grounds and house were exquisite. You all were so considerate, prepared and efficient to the extent that you appeared to have the ability to anticipate every request, or prevent anything that could have potentially caused a hiccup, that evening.
From the bride approaching in the carriage to the spectacular fireworks and confetti after the ceremony, the evening was magical on a Disney scale (and believe me, it did not go unnoticed that, after a full week of rain prior to January 11, 2013, the rain mysteriously stopped 5 minutes before you opened the gates!). Once inside for the reception your staff tended to the all the guests, as well as the bride, groom and families, as if they were royalty. Always smiling and at the ready, but never under foot.
All of our family from the “trendy” West Coast who attended still talk about the food at “the most incredible wedding they’ve ever attended.” They were amazed that the food was not merely plentiful, but that during the entire three hour reception, there were no “re-runs” - they never saw the same tray twice! Each pass of the servers brought something innovative, memorable and tasty.
We hope our next opportunity to attend a function at Southern Oaks comes soon. We do have one regret, however, and that is that we don’t have more daughters…

John & Tracie

Wedding: 01/11/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 504-245-8221
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0