Smokin Willy
Catering beyond BBQ
    37 Reviews
38 D Catoctin Cir.
Leesburg, VA 20175  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors...
Bar services: Limited Bar, Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, Premium Liquor, Rail...
Maximum capacity: 500
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (37)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Smokin Willy catered my 10/4/2014 VA Vineyard wedding. They brought grills on site to serve chicken and steak. My wedding guests had nothing but great things to say about the food served, and enjoyed the experience of walking out to the grills to get their dinner. Chris Scharrer was a pleasure to work with. He was very familiar with our venue and offered great input, his staff was also extremely friendly and provided excellent service at the wedding. I would highly recommend Smokin Willy to cater a wedding or any upcoming event you may have!
Wedding: 10/04/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Everyone absolutely raved about the food and we couldn't have been more pleased with the service of Chris and his team. Funny thing is that Chris called me a week before our wedding to relay that Tracey (whom we had worked with in the planning process) was no longer available to run the event BUT reassured us that it would be amazing and gave us his personal guarantee. He followed through on that!! Te food was amazing, his team set up the reception site wonderfully and they knocked it out of the park. They have this catering business down to a science. I HIGHLY recommend Chris and his team to anyone and have gladly relayed his contact to others that commented at our wedding. ?
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tracey and her team were fabulous! She was easy to contact, answered all of our questions, and was extremely flexible with our menu options. Our guests repeatedly told us how great the food was and kept going back for more! Her and her team went above and beyond our expectations for the set-up and clean-up. Our event could not have been successful without them!
Wedding: 08/23/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
It was an absolute pleasure to work with Smokin Willy for our wedding. We were looking to have bbq/picnic style food for our reception, and Tracey Giffith completely understood our vision and helped us put together a fabulous menu for the cocktail hour and dinner. Right when we went in for our tasting, we knew we had found our caterer! Throughout the whole process, Tracey was very responsive and even came out for a site visit to get an idea of our venue and where the food prep and serve stations would be set up. She made everything so easy that we didn't need to worry about a single thing when it came to the food. The staff and cooks were wonderful as well! All food was prepared in a timely manner and they cleaned up everything so quickly and discretely.

The food was DELICIOUS! I highly recommend getting the pigs-in-a-blanket for an appetizer. They are divine! We also had burgers and grilled chicken, which were out of this world! All of our guests were raving about how delicious the food was.

We are so glad that we chose Smokin Willy for our wedding. I really believe that we couldn't have found a better caterer. They have the perfect combination of value, quality, professionalism, and delicious food. Thank you!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Randee 2 Reviews
Our guests are still raving about the amazing food that Smokin' Willy served at our reception! Tracey and her team are AMAZING to work with - we couldn't have asked for a better caterer. Tracey answered all of our questions leading up to the big day, and helped my mom feel at ease and calm (not an easy feat!). The food was absolutely scrumptious. 110% recommend Smokin' Willy!!!!
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We want to express our appreciation to the Smokin' Willy's team for the outstanding job catering our event.

From the start, they worked with us to plan a great menu and even accommodated our special requests. They maintained contact with us from the tasting through service of the food at the event. Their thorough communication with us made the party planning process much easier because we had no worries about the food.

When party day came, the Smokin' Willy's team was on time and organized with set up and food preparation. Appetizers and drinks were politely served and perfectly mixed to make a wonderful introduction to the evening. The end result was a buffet that was beautifully decorated and nicely presented to our guests.

However, the most important factor is always taste. Again, Smokin' Willy's came through with flying colors. Everyone commented on the deliciousness of the food. Confirmation on the quality of the food was that our guests were competing to take the leftovers home.

The party turned out to be a gigantic success and much of the credit goes to the Smokin' Willy's team for delicious food planned, prepared and served in a professional manner.

Thanks for everything and, rest assured, we will recommend Smokin' Willy's to anyone planning to cater an event.
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Hands down, the most delicious food we have EVER had. We approached multiple caterers about our vision for our wedding - hearty comfort food done well (totally wanted to embrace the fact our wedding was in the middle of winter). We gave Tracey a list of our favorite comfort foods (chicken pot pie, mac&cheese, grilled cheese, VA BBQ, cornbread, sweet potato fries etc) and the result was unbelievable. To this day, many of our guests are contacting me saying that it was hands down the most delicious wedding meal they have ever had! So much so, that they went back for thirds, fourths, even FIFTHS! I also had a vision to host a "bubbly bar" and a "whiskey bar" at the wedding. Tracey helped us figure out exactly how much of everything drink related we needed to purchase, and made sure that each bar was a slamming success!

Aside from the outstanding food, Tracey was an absolute delight to work with. She was so accommodating to our needs and proved to be someone we could really trust throughout the wedding process. She pays great attention to detail and has a knack for taking people's visions and making them a reality - you will not regret working with her!
Wedding: 01/18/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Everyone at the wedding loved the food! Most people ended up getting a second plate. The employees were on the ball and Tracy would always get back to me in 30 minutes or less when I sent her an email. She went above and beyond by making a schedule for the night so everything went smooth! We will be visiting the store so we can grab a bite to eat and remember the phenomenal food that we got to share with family and friends
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Smokin' Willy's! Tracey went out of her way to make sure that everything was just like we wanted it, she and her staff were so professional, helpful and did the most amazing job setting up; tearing down and cleaning up! They even left the kitchen in better condition than when they got there. It was so nice to know that we didn't have to worry about anything because Tracey and her staff had it all handled!
The food was more than amazing! We are getting calls asking us who our caterer was and we are not shy about telling them! We had brisket, chicken, pulled pork, mashed potatoes, grilled veggies, mac n cheese, cornbread and salad. Even one of our close friends who is extremely picky about his BBQ said it was the best that he has had in years!
Tracey was so helpful and responsive when it came to all the silly and last minute questions that we had, we couldn't have asked for a better person! Her staff did such a great job, they looked and acted professional, the bartender was perfect and they went out of their way for us and our guests!
I would definitely recommend Smokin' Willy's/Deli South to anyone having an event, not just a wedding. Working with Tracey made everything so easy and stress free!

Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I met in Texas, and so we wanted to have a Texas vibe at our wedding, complete with live music, a keg of Shiner beer, and of course, awesome BBQ! Smokin Willy's did an amazing job catering our wedding. Tracey was so accommodating and pleasant to work with, from the beginning til the end. The staff was extremely professional and helpful. Our guests loved the food, especially the brisket, which was very authentic. We would definitely recommend Smokin Willy's for any couple's wedding reception. And until we move back to Texas someday, we'll be going out to eat at Smokin Willy's often to get our BBQ fix!

-B and L
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We were looking for a BBQ joint in Loudon County, VA to cater our wedding--I'm a BBQ nut--and Smokin' Willy was the first--and the last place we tried. Their catering operates out of DeliSouth in Leesburg, and they absolutely blew me away. Their brisket was the absolute star of the show--the owner's wife is from Texas-- but the pulled pork, BBQ chicked, collards and mac and cheese were also spectacular. I've travelled all over the country eating BBQ and this was easily the best I've had in Virginia.

So that takes care of the food, but how was the service? First rate!!! Tracey the catering manager is a wonderful person and a true pro. She met with us five or six times, came out to our site twice and had everything under control at all times. On the actual wedding day she was working another event (a possibility we had known about) so Chris the owner ran the show and he was every bit as good. Their waitstaff and bartenders were friendly and professional, and were so good that we didn't need to think about catering for even a second on the wedding day.

We give Smokin' Willy's our enthusiatic, excited, thumbs up, absolutely no reservations recommendation.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We highly recommend Smokin Willy for your wedding. Our wedding was low-key and we did bbq style food. The cost was very reasonable. Tracey was amazing to work with and made our day stress-free by having everything in order. Our guests raved about the food - especially the mac & cheese! We highly recommend working with Smokin Willies for your wedding.
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lauren 3 Reviews
I recently worked with Chris and Tracey at Smokin Willy for a wedding I was planning. I honestly don't know what I would have done without the two of them! When it came to coordinating the details together, Tracey was sure to help out in any way possible and was more than happy to give my clients exactly what they asked for. Prior to the event and on the day of, Chris was a phenomenal right hand man! I was also in the wedding, so it was such a relief to have someone I can trust to finish prepping and overseeing the set up. I really look forward to working with Smokin Willy again. I would very highly recommend them to anyone planning an event, no matter the casualty!
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Smokin' Willy's catering is INCREDIBLE. I can't say enough positive things about them and we absolutely give them our strongest recommendation. We were very fortunate to have excellent vendors for our wedding, but Tracey at Smokin' Willy's takes the cake.

We had our wedding June 2013 at my husband's parents farm with approx 140 people on a 90 degree hot Virginia day.

The food was absolutely delicious. Pulled pork, Mac n' Cheese, sausage stuffed mushrooms just to name a few. . . did I mention the pulled pork??? We received so many compliments from our guests on the food!

They were so easy to work with and very flexible. Tracey was responsive by email and phone, helped us think of every last detail to ensure a smooth catering experience. Working with Tracey felt more like working with a family friend than a vendor. She even visited the property a few months before and the week before the wedding to ensure they understood the lay of the land and would be completely prepared. We really wanted to add many personal touches to our wedding including specific selections for beer/wine. They provided bartenders, set up, break down and everything we needed --- they moved quickly and guests never had to wait in a long line to get a drink. On that note, they set up 4 lines for the buffet and strategically called tables so the lines moved at lightening speed (there's nothing worse than waiting in line for your meal at a wedding!)

BOTTOM LINE: IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR DELICIOUS, AFFORDABLE BBQ WITH A VARIETY OF OPTIONS FROM A VENDOR THAT IS A PLEASURE TO WORK WITH. . . . . YOU'VE FOUND YOUR CATERER!

THANK YOU SMOKIN' WILLY!

Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When my husband and I were first engaged, we were initially overwhelmed by the idea of finding a caterer. We simply could not find a caterer in Northern VA to fit our small budget. I exhausted every option. It's crazy how many people are unwilling to work within a budget less than $10,000. ;) We had a 2pm wedding, so we just wanted light food, not a huge meal. After much frustration, we stumbled upon Smokin' Willy and decided to contact them. Tracey contacted us right away and assured us it would be possible to work within our budget....in fact she went UNDER our budget of $3,000 for about 200 guests! Tracey really found a way to magically make everything work. We received constant compliments on the food during the reception...honestly, you would never know that we spent so little.

In addition to all this awesome food, is Tracey's knowledge and willingness to work with special diets. My husband was diagnosed with celiac disease during our engagement, and Tracey was one of the first people I contacted. She provided me with so much valuable information on the disease and created THE best gluten free food we have ever had for the wedding, specifically for my husband and me!

I would absolutely recommend this company to anyone!
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely LOVED working with Tracey at Smokin Willy BBQ. She was patient with our endless questions and last minute requests and very flexible with our limited budget. We recently moved to Colorado and had to plan our wedding from a distance. Tracey made our lives easy and took care of everything!

And the food...was AMAZING! Definitely not your average wedding fare. We stuffed our selves silly at the tasting and were super excited to share this experience with our guests. There was an overwhelming positive response from everyone. Our guests raved about the flank steak and went back for thirds! I highly recommend Smokin Willy catering!
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Catering
 571-216-2266
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0