Smokin Willy
Catering beyond BBQ
    32 Reviews
38 D Catoctin Cir.
Leesburg, VA 20175  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors...
Bar services: Limited Bar, Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, Premium Liquor, Rail...
Maximum capacity: 500
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (32)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Randee 2 Reviews
Our guests are still raving about the amazing food that Smokin' Willy served at our reception! Tracey and her team are AMAZING to work with - we couldn't have asked for a better caterer. Tracey answered all of our questions leading up to the big day, and helped my mom feel at ease and calm (not an easy feat!). The food was absolutely scrumptious. 110% recommend Smokin' Willy!!!!
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We want to express our appreciation to the Smokin' Willy's team for the outstanding job catering our event.

From the start, they worked with us to plan a great menu and even accommodated our special requests. They maintained contact with us from the tasting through service of the food at the event. Their thorough communication with us made the party planning process much easier because we had no worries about the food.

When party day came, the Smokin' Willy's team was on time and organized with set up and food preparation. Appetizers and drinks were politely served and perfectly mixed to make a wonderful introduction to the evening. The end result was a buffet that was beautifully decorated and nicely presented to our guests.

However, the most important factor is always taste. Again, Smokin' Willy's came through with flying colors. Everyone commented on the deliciousness of the food. Confirmation on the quality of the food was that our guests were competing to take the leftovers home.

The party turned out to be a gigantic success and much of the credit goes to the Smokin' Willy's team for delicious food planned, prepared and served in a professional manner.

Thanks for everything and, rest assured, we will recommend Smokin' Willy's to anyone planning to cater an event.
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Hands down, the most delicious food we have EVER had. We approached multiple caterers about our vision for our wedding - hearty comfort food done well (totally wanted to embrace the fact our wedding was in the middle of winter). We gave Tracey a list of our favorite comfort foods (chicken pot pie, mac&cheese, grilled cheese, VA BBQ, cornbread, sweet potato fries etc) and the result was unbelievable. To this day, many of our guests are contacting me saying that it was hands down the most delicious wedding meal they have ever had! So much so, that they went back for thirds, fourths, even FIFTHS! I also had a vision to host a "bubbly bar" and a "whiskey bar" at the wedding. Tracey helped us figure out exactly how much of everything drink related we needed to purchase, and made sure that each bar was a slamming success!

Aside from the outstanding food, Tracey was an absolute delight to work with. She was so accommodating to our needs and proved to be someone we could really trust throughout the wedding process. She pays great attention to detail and has a knack for taking people's visions and making them a reality - you will not regret working with her!
Wedding: 01/18/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Everyone at the wedding loved the food! Most people ended up getting a second plate. The employees were on the ball and Tracy would always get back to me in 30 minutes or less when I sent her an email. She went above and beyond by making a schedule for the night so everything went smooth! We will be visiting the store so we can grab a bite to eat and remember the phenomenal food that we got to share with family and friends
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Smokin' Willy's! Tracey went out of her way to make sure that everything was just like we wanted it, she and her staff were so professional, helpful and did the most amazing job setting up; tearing down and cleaning up! They even left the kitchen in better condition than when they got there. It was so nice to know that we didn't have to worry about anything because Tracey and her staff had it all handled!
The food was more than amazing! We are getting calls asking us who our caterer was and we are not shy about telling them! We had brisket, chicken, pulled pork, mashed potatoes, grilled veggies, mac n cheese, cornbread and salad. Even one of our close friends who is extremely picky about his BBQ said it was the best that he has had in years!
Tracey was so helpful and responsive when it came to all the silly and last minute questions that we had, we couldn't have asked for a better person! Her staff did such a great job, they looked and acted professional, the bartender was perfect and they went out of their way for us and our guests!
I would definitely recommend Smokin' Willy's/Deli South to anyone having an event, not just a wedding. Working with Tracey made everything so easy and stress free!

Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I met in Texas, and so we wanted to have a Texas vibe at our wedding, complete with live music, a keg of Shiner beer, and of course, awesome BBQ! Smokin Willy's did an amazing job catering our wedding. Tracey was so accommodating and pleasant to work with, from the beginning til the end. The staff was extremely professional and helpful. Our guests loved the food, especially the brisket, which was very authentic. We would definitely recommend Smokin Willy's for any couple's wedding reception. And until we move back to Texas someday, we'll be going out to eat at Smokin Willy's often to get our BBQ fix!

-B and L
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We were looking for a BBQ joint in Loudon County, VA to cater our wedding--I'm a BBQ nut--and Smokin' Willy was the first--and the last place we tried. Their catering operates out of DeliSouth in Leesburg, and they absolutely blew me away. Their brisket was the absolute star of the show--the owner's wife is from Texas-- but the pulled pork, BBQ chicked, collards and mac and cheese were also spectacular. I've travelled all over the country eating BBQ and this was easily the best I've had in Virginia.

So that takes care of the food, but how was the service? First rate!!! Tracey the catering manager is a wonderful person and a true pro. She met with us five or six times, came out to our site twice and had everything under control at all times. On the actual wedding day she was working another event (a possibility we had known about) so Chris the owner ran the show and he was every bit as good. Their waitstaff and bartenders were friendly and professional, and were so good that we didn't need to think about catering for even a second on the wedding day.

We give Smokin' Willy's our enthusiatic, excited, thumbs up, absolutely no reservations recommendation.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We highly recommend Smokin Willy for your wedding. Our wedding was low-key and we did bbq style food. The cost was very reasonable. Tracey was amazing to work with and made our day stress-free by having everything in order. Our guests raved about the food - especially the mac & cheese! We highly recommend working with Smokin Willies for your wedding.
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lauren 3 Reviews
I recently worked with Chris and Tracey at Smokin Willy for a wedding I was planning. I honestly don't know what I would have done without the two of them! When it came to coordinating the details together, Tracey was sure to help out in any way possible and was more than happy to give my clients exactly what they asked for. Prior to the event and on the day of, Chris was a phenomenal right hand man! I was also in the wedding, so it was such a relief to have someone I can trust to finish prepping and overseeing the set up. I really look forward to working with Smokin Willy again. I would very highly recommend them to anyone planning an event, no matter the casualty!
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Smokin' Willy's catering is INCREDIBLE. I can't say enough positive things about them and we absolutely give them our strongest recommendation. We were very fortunate to have excellent vendors for our wedding, but Tracey at Smokin' Willy's takes the cake.

We had our wedding June 2013 at my husband's parents farm with approx 140 people on a 90 degree hot Virginia day.

The food was absolutely delicious. Pulled pork, Mac n' Cheese, sausage stuffed mushrooms just to name a few. . . did I mention the pulled pork??? We received so many compliments from our guests on the food!

They were so easy to work with and very flexible. Tracey was responsive by email and phone, helped us think of every last detail to ensure a smooth catering experience. Working with Tracey felt more like working with a family friend than a vendor. She even visited the property a few months before and the week before the wedding to ensure they understood the lay of the land and would be completely prepared. We really wanted to add many personal touches to our wedding including specific selections for beer/wine. They provided bartenders, set up, break down and everything we needed --- they moved quickly and guests never had to wait in a long line to get a drink. On that note, they set up 4 lines for the buffet and strategically called tables so the lines moved at lightening speed (there's nothing worse than waiting in line for your meal at a wedding!)

BOTTOM LINE: IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR DELICIOUS, AFFORDABLE BBQ WITH A VARIETY OF OPTIONS FROM A VENDOR THAT IS A PLEASURE TO WORK WITH. . . . . YOU'VE FOUND YOUR CATERER!

THANK YOU SMOKIN' WILLY!

Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When my husband and I were first engaged, we were initially overwhelmed by the idea of finding a caterer. We simply could not find a caterer in Northern VA to fit our small budget. I exhausted every option. It's crazy how many people are unwilling to work within a budget less than $10,000. ;) We had a 2pm wedding, so we just wanted light food, not a huge meal. After much frustration, we stumbled upon Smokin' Willy and decided to contact them. Tracey contacted us right away and assured us it would be possible to work within our budget....in fact she went UNDER our budget of $3,000 for about 200 guests! Tracey really found a way to magically make everything work. We received constant compliments on the food during the reception...honestly, you would never know that we spent so little.

In addition to all this awesome food, is Tracey's knowledge and willingness to work with special diets. My husband was diagnosed with celiac disease during our engagement, and Tracey was one of the first people I contacted. She provided me with so much valuable information on the disease and created THE best gluten free food we have ever had for the wedding, specifically for my husband and me!

I would absolutely recommend this company to anyone!
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely LOVED working with Tracey at Smokin Willy BBQ. She was patient with our endless questions and last minute requests and very flexible with our limited budget. We recently moved to Colorado and had to plan our wedding from a distance. Tracey made our lives easy and took care of everything!

And the food...was AMAZING! Definitely not your average wedding fare. We stuffed our selves silly at the tasting and were super excited to share this experience with our guests. There was an overwhelming positive response from everyone. Our guests raved about the flank steak and went back for thirds! I highly recommend Smokin Willy catering!
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tracey and Chris did an excellent job with helping us prepare for our daughter's wedding. With less than seven months for planning, Tracey and Chris were easy to work with, patient and gave us great advice on all aspects of the wedding. I really felt that they were invested in making her wedding very special and our lives stress free. The catering and food that Smokin Willy's provided was flawless. Our family and friends are still letting us know how tasty the food was especially for an outdoor wedding. So many were impressed that the meat was cooked right on site and to perfection. The staff stayed on top of everything and were very professional and well organized. We will definitely keep Smokin Willy's on the top of our list for future events and will visit them at both Deli South and Smokin Willy's. THANKS AGAIN Michelle and Tom
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
AMAZING food! We are so pleased with Smokin' Willy! The food was delicious! They cooked onsite and served pulled pork (overall fav), ribs, grilled chicken and a variety of yummy sides. Everyone raved about the bbq and numerous said, "best wedding food ever!" Tracey was super helpful and was on top of her game- she helped us from the beginning starting with a long email train and an awesome tasting!
Highly recommended from us!
Wedding: 09/15/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a backyard reception for our daughter and son-in who had gotten married in S. Africa earlier in the year. Smokin Willy did an absolutely fantastic job for us. The qualtiy of service was super from start to finish, very responsive to your requiremnets and really flexible, very easy to work and the VALUE was worth every dollar. We had app. 100 guests and we had a really good variety of grilled meats, fresh veges, corn bread, salads. Everyone commeted on how good the food was, a little know secret is that Smokin Willy also has a deli in Purceville, VA were they do a lot of prep work for the occasion. I would recomend this company to anyone having a party, they can do everythign for you if need be. We did have our own bar tender-but as mentioend they can do that as well. So, if you want great value, service, responsiveness this is the company to check in with. Tracy is great to work with and will make it a special occasion for you and your guests.
Wedding: 07/21/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't even begin to express how amazing it was to work with Chris and his team at Smokin Willy. I cannot say enough about this company and their good hearted nature backed by amazing service, quality food, very affordable prices and professional staff. I plan corporate events for a living and have to say that their service was impeccable. We were impressed by their flexibility and genuine care for us to have the best event possible. We loved that they grill their meats onsite which smelled amazing and tasted fantastic. Everything was fresh and delicious. We were married July 21st and our guest are still raving about the food and oh my gosh, the cornbread! I also have to give a HUGE thank you to Chris for bringing and setting two tents the night before our wedding. With the forecast looking rather unfortunate for an outside wedding Chris was my hero. I expressed my concern that evening about the weather and he didn’t even hesitate. He brought right over two tents and set them up in the rain for us so we could be under shelter for our reception. I slept ten time better that night. Thanks a million, we could not be any happier!
Wedding: 07/21/2012
Services Used: Catering
 571-216-2266
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0