Sissi Chan
New York, NY  | map
Services: Hair, Makeup
Consultations: Yes
Large groups: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (34)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I cannot recommend Sissi highly enough. She did my hair and makeup for my wedding as well as a trial beforehand. During both the trial and my wedding day, she arrived punctually, was calm and professional, and did the best job I could've imagined! It was so easy to communicate with her throughout the process, and her rates are very reasonable. She is an amazing hair and makeup artist.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sissi is the best! She made me look and feel more beautiful on my wedding day than I have ever felt in my life (just how every bride wants to feel!). From start to finish, working with Sissi was such an easy and fun experience. Sissi came to my home for a trial. First impression: she was exactly on time, and had brought detailed notes on everything from getting to my place to my wedding date, location, and bridal party size. I was so impressed by how organized she was--and being pretty type A myself, I felt immediately that she would be great to work with. At the trial she worked carefully with me to figure out the look I wanted. She offered great suggestions but also took into account my requests.

On the wedding day, she arrived early (she came from NY to Princeton, NJ) and got started right away. Again she was super prepared with notes so I didn't have to remind her anything, she just got to work. She worked carefully but also made sure I was done on time for my pictures. I was so happy with my final look, and it held up all night without any touch ups. Though I normally don't wear a lot of makeup, her technique was great, the makeup felt comfortable, and I looked very much myself (just enhanced :) ) She does a fantastic job!

I also appreciated how calm and soothing Sissi's presence was. She's very sweet and makes you feel at ease. The last thing you need to feel on your wedding day is stressed--so working with her was really a stress-free experience.

One note is that Sissi works by herself, so if you have a large bridal party, it is suggested that you hire additional stylists. I loved Sissi's work so much I knew I wanted to have her as my stylist, so it was a little bit of extra work to find additional help, but very much worth the extra step.

Her prices are very competitive with most (even lower than some) NYC-based artists, so it's such a great value to work with her. Look no further for all your wedding hair and makeup needs!
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sissi was amazing - and so reasonably priced compared to many other hair/makeup stylists I researched. She was punctual and friendly, very calming and easy to be around - exactly what you want the hours before your wedding! She really listened to me and took my requests into consideration, and I was completely stunned with the results. My hair and makeup lasted from my morning ceremony (9:30am) all the way through the end of my reception (11pm). I even slept with my hair still styled and wore it the next day for family brunches and dinners. It looked great and really held up!
Wedding: 09/06/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Sissi is the best of the best! I found her on Wedding Wire and really loved her style - very beautiful yet natural hair and makeup. I sent her a bunch of Pinterest pictures of hair and makeup I liked, and she was able to recreate the styles I wanted to the tee. Throughout the whole process she was always organized and prompt with email communication which I really appreciate. We scheduled a trial at my apartment and the style came out looking just as beautiful on the big day. Of course wedding day can be stressful but throughout it all Sissi was professional, friendly, and very laid back.

My mom joked that there wasn't a need to get my hair and makeup professionally done since it would be coming apart by the end of the night, but I'm proud to say that through profuse amounts of tears and a rockin' dance floor, my hair AND makeup stayed intact! I opted for airbrush makeup and I think it really made a difference, the coverage was great but didn't look overdone. I loved working with Sissi and highly recommend her!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
After reading all the yelp and wedding wire reviews, I knew I had to have Sissi as my hair and makeup artist. I had a trial done in November to try out the hairstyle and makeup. She was so professional and prompt about everything. And she is also very pleasant to be around.

Not only did she replicate the hair and makeup eight months later in June, but she also helped lace up my wedding dress (in like 5 minutes). I didn't have anyone at the time to help me lace up the back and time was churning. No one, not even the seamstress laced it up that quickly before. She truly went above and beyond to make me beautiful on my wedding day. Not to mention, the makeup and hair lasted all night. I would definitely recommend her.
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Barisa 5 Reviews
I found Sissi on Wedding Wire and really loved the different styles on her website. Sissi was prompt and professional in all of our communications and was also very patient with all of my questions and updates. I scheduled a trial and Sissi walked me through each step - from eye makeup and lashes to the different options I had for my hair. I had a combination of styles I wanted to try and Sissi was able to create the exact styles I selected for my hair. It was great to get an idea and some direction for the look I was going for. I contacted Sissi a few times after the trial to update the style and colors for the makeup and she made all of the notes. On my wedding day, she was ready to go with all of the information from our conversations and trial results. She created the exact look I wanted. I couldn't have been more thrilled with the way my hair and makeup looked. On top of that, she also did my two sister's hair and makeup and my mom's hair. They all looked gorgeous. Sissi really knows how makeup should look on different faces. We started the makeup at 8:30am with the last hair style finishing at 2:15. Sissi was efficient and diligent and worked straight through and got us in our limo on time. I really enjoyed working with Sissi - from the first communication all the way to looking at my wedding photos and loving how we all look - and I would highly recommend her for any hair and makeup you need.
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Sissi Chan was an absolute pleasure and professional to work with - I couldn't recommend her more highly!!

I have never written a Yelp review but I think everyone should have a chance to discover and work with Sissi. I had been researching hair and makeup artists for my wedding day and it seemed as though everyone's rates were exorbitant. Sissi's website gave a great first impression of her capacities and experience and provided an overview of her most reasonable prices. We easily arranged for a hair and makeup trial, she traveled to my home and in what seemed like no time she had transformed me into exactly what I'd wanted to look like on my wedding day. Working with Sissi, she was always polite, gave great advice when I needed it, and was extremely responsive over email and in person. I was also very impressed by how organized and accommodating she was -- Sissi was able to fit in two of my cousins and a close friend who made last minute requests for updos and eyelash extensions, and they couldn't have been happier!

My hair and makeup looked perfect through the entire night and my mother, sister's did as well. Sissi is amazing to work with and was one of the best decisions I made regarding wedding preparations. If I could give Sissi 6 stars or more, I would!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sissi is amazing. She did my hair and makeup for my wedding and hair for my bridesmaids. She was quick to respond to email, polite and could carry on a conversation. She showed up on time (both for my trial and day of), kept to the schedule and did beautiful work. My hair and makeup held up the entire night, the longest I've had any professional services last and my pictures look fabulous.

Strongly recommend
Wedding: 04/13/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

C 4 Reviews
I could have not have been happier working with Sissi. She did a fantastic job on my make-up and hair (which held up throughout the night with no problems whatsoever). She also did hair and make up for my sister and mother and they both looked great and their hair stayed up and the curls stayed intact! Sissi was very response throughout the planning process and on the day of the wedding she was organized, prompt and a wonderfully calming presence. I also love that she does hair and make-up. I highly recommend her services.
Wedding: 03/30/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sissi Chan is wonderful. I used her services as a hair-stylist for my wedding. I was looking for a hair stylist with reasonable rates who could come to my venue, and feel very fortunate that I was able to find and book Sissi. She is pleasant to be around, very responsive, and very flexible. She answered all of my rookie questions by email with grace and patience, before I hired her for a trial. For the trial, she replicated very faithfully the picture I showed her. I decided on a small change as my wedding came closer and she was able to incorporate that without any problems on my wedding day. The style she created for my wedding was a very chic side bun -- I received many compliments and it held very well throughout the afternoon and evening. I could not have been happier. I wholeheartedly recommend her!
Wedding: 02/16/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Cheryl J. 9 Reviews
Sissi was an amazing find. We had a destination wedding/elopement in NYC, so I booked sissi based on online reviews. I was unable to book any trial runs and sissi did not disappoint. My hair and make up came out great. She was so easy going and flexible, going with whatever I wanted. And most important...she was on time!! Glad I found her. She was also a great value, especially in NYC!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sissi is very talented! She made me look like a princess on my wedding day. She is very friendly and professional; not to mention, she is very on time!
Wedding: 09/16/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Melandrei 2 Reviews
WOW, WOW and WOW!!!! I have never written a review about anyone before, but I had to for Sissi Chan, because she is hands down amazingly talented at what she does! I would recommend her to any bride wanting beautiful hair for their wedding day! She was prompt and so friendly the morning I meet her. I actually booked her a week before my wedding since the previous hairstylist I had gave me problems about transportation and cost was insanely pricey. And I'm so glad it happened the way it did! I couldn't have been more happier that I booked Sissi. And to my surprise she was available! Everything happens for a reason. There was only a week that I had from the time I booked her to my actually wedding date, therefore was unable to fit in a trial. But she made me feel at ease and had me e-mail her photos of what hairstyle I wanted and collaborated with me via e-mail and via phone. That day she had print outs of my hairstyle that I e-mailed her, collaborated with me, gave her professional opinion, assessed everything and got to work from there. The hairstyle lasted and lasted through summer heat and all the dancing I did at my reception. I received so many compliments and never felt more beautiful. She attached by hairpiece and waited till I got dressed to attached my veil and blusher. She is so patient and kind and a joy to work with. I would do it all over again and I would give her 10 stars if I could. Ladies you won't regret booking her for your big day!
Wedding: 08/16/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It is difficult for me to put into words how amazing it was to work with Sissi Chan! She did my hair and makeup for my wedding day, and I was overjoyed with the results. I have never been someone who loves having pictures taken (I don't think I'm the most photogenic person), and I was worried that I might end up disliking the way I looked in my wedding pictures. However, in Sissi Chan's competent hands, I had nothing to worry about! I have never felt as gorgeous and glamorous as I did on my wedding day. My hair and makeup were absolute perfection. As a result of her work, I felt so beautiful and confident. I never once had to worry about how I looked, and I could just concentrate on marrying the man of my dreams and enjoying every moment of my wedding day. The temperature was in the 90s the day I got married and my ceremony was outside, so it was an enormous testament to Sissi's skill that my hair and makeup lasted the entire day. Not to mention, I received so many compliments on my wedding day "look" from family, guests, and, most of all, my husband! A million thanks to Sissi for making me feel like the most beautiful bride!
Wedding: 07/01/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sissi Chan did my hair and make up and the ones of my bridesmaid. We do not leave in New York, we had a destination wedding there, so I had no trial but Sissi and I discussed extensively by e mail my hair and make up style. She always replied very quickly and the day of the wedding she had print outs of all the pictures for hair and make up inspiration that I had sent her.
She arrived early, was very very calm. We had a nice chat on weddings, destination weddings etc, definitly helped me keep calm on the day of my wedding.
The resulst for both my bridesmaid and myself was GREAT! The make up lasted for the whole day + night (and then we removed it but I am sure it would have lasted even longer!). Everything, hair + make up was just perfect and how we wanted it.
I would recommend her warmly.
Wedding: 06/13/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sissi was amazing and everyone was raving about how beautiful my hair and makeup was! My bridesmaid loved Sissi's work so much she booked Sissi for her own wedding. Sissi did a terrific job there as well.
Wedding: 06/02/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
 917-518-6846
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0