Shades Shutters Photography
CT Wedding Photographers serving New England & Tri-State Area Destination Wedding Service Available
373 Acorn Lane
Milford, CT 06461  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism
Packages: Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (28)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
phenomenal photography!

I'm not into photos especially when I'm in them. I get nervous, fidgety, and for some reason most photos catch my italian nose or the fact that I splurged on a large pizza the night before and I immediately delete them.

I met Shades Shutters through a close friend (this bride used them for her wedding) and my jaw literally dropped when I saw the printouts the day after the wedding. Every photo was perfection.

Perfect lighting, angles, smiles. I went from not wanting a photographer to booking them that same week.

Wendy, Traci, Aleksandra and Zoe were complete professionals and just fun to talk to from start to finish. I even decided to do engagement photos! *Another part of the wedding planning I initially wanted to scrap.
Aleksandra was our photographer and I couldn't believe the shots that came out from our engagement 'session.'

The day of the wedding I was a nervous wreck and you would not notice that in the photos of us getting ready and walking to the ceremony.

These women are hired for future events, I absolutely loved working with them and cannot recommend them enough! 5 stars, a MUST! Don't research anymore, trust me I've done all of that. Just make an appointment with Shades Shutters, you will not be disappointed.

Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Not only do Wendy and Traci offer the best value for wonderful photography but they also provide an easy going, fun and attentive service from the first meeting through the planning process and especially on the day of the wedding. I felt completely at ease with them during pre and post wedding pictures and then, during the ceremony and reception, they blended in and captured the moments while barely being noticed by us or our guests.

They were very flexible with us regarding what was covered in the contract and even traveled to our home city of Boston so we could do engagement photos at Fenway! The day of the wedding, my husband and I were very concerned about having enough time with our guests and they heard that loud and clear. Family and staged photos were incredibly quick and they followed our "must have" list perfectly - making sure we had the pictures we wanted without spending half the reception away from the festivities. Our guests loved that they left prints from earlier in the day out for viewing at the dessert table and it was so nice to have them to take home with us to look back on the next day.

The pictures we have seen so far are all stunning and really capture the day! We would highly recommend Wendy and Traci for any event!
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We just got our wedding pictures back last week from Wendy and Traci and they are AMAZING!! We were looking for photographers that can shoot candid photos instead of having everyone poses for pictures at the wedding and Wendy & Traci did well beyond that. They captured all of the special moments and everyone looked so happy and stunning at our wedding.

We had a Chinese/American wedding and we were worried that they may miss some of the special moments such as our games with the groom and the parents’ tea ceremony since they are not familiar with traditions and the language. But when we got our pictures back, we can’t stop laughing about how hilarious our bridesmaids/groomsmen were during the games and how beautiful our moms look at the tea ceremony..They captured it all.

Beside the wonderful pictures that shades shutters took for our wedding, they were also extremely flexible with our budget and our requests. Initially we thought we won’t be able to afford them with our tight budget, but Wendy & Traci were very accommodating and customized a package for us and gave us the price that is within our budget. And best of all, we only paid for two photographers but Wendy & Traci brought along Krissy as our third photographer on the wedding day at absolutely no charge. Also, after the wedding, my husband wanted all of the pictures in raw file so he can do some more editing (it’s his hobby) and they had no problem in doing that and even got us a jump drive big enough to hold more than 50GB of pictures…..

These ladies are truly professionals in wedding photography and I can’t say enough good things about them. Our guests love our pictures and some of them even took a few of the pictures that Wendy & Traci printed for us at the reception. I would definitely recommend Shades Shutter Photography for weddings or any special occasions for anyone and I can’t wait to have them back when we have our first baby…Wendy/Traci - I’ll be in touch when the time comes~
Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
Wendy and Tracy were simply amazing to work with. From my first meeting with Wendy to the day of the event it was smooth sailing. Wendy worked so flexibly with us to design a package that would meet our needs and affordability and the took the time to make sure we were more than comfortable with every detail. Every time we look at our photos we relive the magical moments of our wedding day like it was happening all over again. Their creativity captured every moment with such class and grace-the photos are priceless which is exactly the reaction from people who see them , including ourselves. One of my most common initial responses from people about my wedding photos is "wow, who did your photos!". In all that was stressful in organizing our day-the one thing that was not was using Shades Shutter photography to capture our day. We will most definitely be using Shades for all the important events in our life!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wendy and Traci of Shades and Shutters Photography made our wedding over the top special!! I can't say enough about them. From the moment my husband and I met them they were down to earth yet professional. The pictures were lovely and they even did an awesome photo lounge for us!! Definitely recommend the photo lounge. They went above and beyond throughout the entire process. They were friendly and maintained contact to answer any questions. Love Shades and Shutters!!
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wendy and Traci are great!!! They are professional & fun!! The quality of the pictures and creativity sets them apart from other photographers. They will work within your budget and customize the best plan for you!! I definitely recommend them!!
Wedding: 03/23/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Liz 1 Reviews
We were completely blown away by Wendy and Traci from the moment we met with them to discuss our wedding. Their natural, open and warm personas are reflected in their work, and it was exactly what we were looking for. Our photos came out amazing, and captured the day perfectly. We never felt uncomfortable or awkward taking photos, and so the pictures are a very true reflection of the day versus a posed and more manufactured look. We love all our photos and have had the hardest time choosing which ones to print and use in our album because they are all THAT GOOD.

Even more than the pictures, their service and prices are unbeatable. They work within your budget to offer high quality without breaking the bank. Our engagement photo session was beyond cold, and windy, but Wendy was a trooper and made the day more enjoyable for us despite us all being frigid! And you'd never know looking at the pictures! And when Hurricane Sandy hit the weekend before our wedding, Wendy and Traci kept us calm and offered to do anything else (even bake!) if we needed them to when our other vendors still didn't have power! They are so personable and we clicked with them right away. I would not recommend anyone else! In fact, one of my friends and my sister are both using them for their weddings too because of how great they are!
Wedding: 11/03/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Vanessa 1 Reviews
Shades Shutters was very responsive and helpful prior to the big day, they confirmed and re-confirmed their arrival time. I felt very confident in how the day would proceed knowing it was in their hands.
My Wedding day did not go exactly as planned - my groom fell ill at the alter and was rushed to the ER during our ceremony - Shades Shutters remained calm throughout all of the chaos and remained with my family members and provided MAJOR assistance at my parents house where they helped set up and create our very own alter which is where we ended up getting married once he was released from the hosptial and because we were in the ER for 2 hours, everything got pushed back 2 Hours, this did not stop Shades Shutters from capturing the most beautiful shots of the day and most importantly they stayed until the very end.
Shades Shutter is an all-service provider, they are extremely professional and extraordinarily talented at what they do. They easily blend in with the party. Some people may think having a camera in your face all day is awkward, Shades Shutters does an incredible job with removing that feeling - they make it fun, exciting and the images they capture really capture the emotion you are feeling at that very moment.
Wedding: 08/25/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Without a moment's hesitation, I would recommend Shades' Shutters, and Wendy and Traci, to any bride-to-be. They are an incredible duo who provide the most high quality service. My husband and I knew the moment we met them, that we had found our photographers. Their work speaks for itself. We were looking for someone who could capture all the candid moments as well as make the posed photos look natural-they do this and so much more. Wendy and Traci were more than willing to work with our budget, and the value is incredible! Not to mention, they were so quick to respond to every email we sent.

The day of the wedding, Wendy and Traci were on time and ready to go. Our makeup and hair stylist were very late but they worked with it and made me feel completely at ease. We all had so much fun taking pictures as we were getting ready and looking at the proofs I had so much fun seeing what they captured in the room. At the ceremony, my husband and I completely forgot they were even there! They moved around the church silently and caught all the beautiful moments. Our guests and the church choir also commented over and over how unobtrusive Wendy and Traci were throughout the ceremony. They worked so well with the wedding coordinator at our vendor and made sure we got all the pictures we wanted. My husband and I just looked through all the proofs-they are stunning!

I highly, highly recommend Shades' Shutters to all!!! They are amazing in all aspects!

Thank you!
Wedding: 06/22/2012
Services Used: Photography
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We had a great experience with Wendy and Traci - we took all our formal photos before the ceremony, and we barely registered their presence the rest of the evening, they just slyly got great shots of our wedding while we enjoyed ourselves. It was perfect.
Wedding: 06/03/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Shades Shutters Photography came highly recommended from a friend and I could not be any happier with the work they provided for my wedding day. They had such a unique and creative way of capturing our special day. From the moment my husband and I met with Traci and Wendy we fell in love with their work. The are so detail oriented and really care about your needs as far as photography goes. They captured the most intimate and special moments of our day, what was so special was they printed photographs out from our day and displayed them for everyone to see. The best part was they gave them to me at the end of the night and now I have them for our honeymoon. I can't stop looking at them! I would absolutely recommend them to anyone that wants to capture that special day!
Wedding: 05/12/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wendy and Traci were amazing and so accommodating!! The turnaround time on their work is so fast and all of my guests were stunned that there were already printed photos at my wedding that they could look at!
Wedding: 05/11/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I could not be happier with the amazing work provided by both Wendy and Traci. My photos are amazing and they really worked hard to accommodate me and the things my husband and I wanted to capture in our day. Thank you so very much!
Wedding: 05/06/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Great service, i even had a problem with my flowers and Wendy got on the phone and found a bouqet for me literally about an hour before the wedding! Great to work with would recommend to anyone :)
Wedding: 02/23/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Shades Shutters Photography made my wedding day everything I wanted and more. Their calm yet determined attitudes toward photography made my husband and I feel so comfortable. We knew that they were capturing every single moment of our special day! Working with them was exciting and enjoyable. I would highly recommend Shades Shutters Photography for anyone looking for a wedding/event photographer!
Wedding: 01/14/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wendy & Traci were two of the nicest people to work with. They did not overwhelm me and they tried to please everyone with picture requests. They were attentive to the bride & groom as well as the entire wedding party. Their prices are very reasonable and I feel as though I got a great value. It was so hard to pick which pictures I wanted because so many were wonderful!
Wedding: 07/23/2011
Services Used: Photography
 203-314-9889
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0