Mena Catering
7462 SW 48th Street
Miami, FL 33155  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
Bar services: Limited Bar, Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium...
Maximum capacity: 2500
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (26)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Mena Catering provided a DELICIOUS menu for our wedding. One of the most challenging parts, was choosing from an extensive menu of options to serve at the wedding. His food is undoubtedly top notch. He's not very cheap but he's definitely the best (or one of the best) at what he does. It can also be a bit challenging getting a reply from him. Not the most responsive. But...at the end, it all gets done and it was delicious! I would also like to add that when you get to interact with him, he's a very nice, friendly man!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Loved Mena! The food for my wedding was delicious and the service was great. The catering staff were super nice about making sure that me and my husband ate. Would definitely recommend them.
Wedding: 01/18/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The catering company impressed us with great tasting service prior to the wedding. We were able to choose few appetizers, entrees, salads, and desserts. We loved the professionalism of the owner from the beginning. His experience, kindness, and great food was enough to impress us. We had some issues with the weather so the wedding on the last minute had to been changed quite a bit on the day of the wedding. I was little worried about it but my friends and Mena catering professional staff made it all work to perfection.I couldn't been happier. The appetizers, entrees, salads was fabulous. Everybody was very impressed with the food and professionalism, friendliness of the staff.
Wedding: 12/01/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had been to a party a few months before i was engaged and I was blown away by the food and service. The minute I was engaged and started planning my wedding the first thing I did was find out who catered that party! Once I found out it was Mena thats were my planning began. Mena catering was so attentive from day one! We were so impressed by their professionalism throughout the whole process but even more blown away the day of our wedding. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. All of our guest are still talking about how amazing the food and service was. They are one of the main reasons why our wedding was exactly what we wanted and so much more!!!! The entire staff and crew are all so sweet and helped us feel relaxed and assured that everything was going to be amazing (as it was)!

I can't thank them enough!
If you are looking for amazing food and service Mena catering is it!
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had heard great things about Mena Catering but they turned out to be even better than we imagined! We hired Mena Catering for our cocktail hour and sit-down dinner. The hor’devours were delicious and made with both our cultures in mind! We even had our own signature drink for the cocktail hour (Strawberry Basil Mojito) that was a hit! All of our guests were raving that they had never been to a wedding with such great food and service. The food did not feel mass produced and is top quality. The service was impeccable… very professional and everything went according to schedule. Both Jorge Mena and Lily were a pleasure to work with. Mena himself attended our wedding and made sure that we were happy with his service. We will definitely be using them for any other event and we whole-heartedly recommend them to anyone. Thank you Jorge and Lily! Ele & Umbee
Wedding: 04/12/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We are so happy that we hired Mena Catering to cater our wedding. From the start, they were responsive, kind and professional. For a bride planning a wedding from out of state, I needed vendors who could communicate with me well over the internet and phone. They never dropped the ball in our conversations and this made me confident I had made the right choice. Also, when we had our tasting, the food was delicious. Working with Lily, Jorge and the rest of the Mena team was truly wonderful. Everyone raved about the food and service at the wedding, and Quincy and I were thrilled to our own personal waiter throughout the evening. We were also touched to have Jorge stop by to say hi. It's these kind of personal touches that definitely know they go above and beyond for their clients. We are happy to recommend them to anyone who needs their event catered. Our food was marvelous!! Guests are still talking about it. We can't thank them enough!
Sincerely,
Sophia and Quincy
Wedding: 04/12/2013
Services Used: Catering
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
Mena provided the catering for our wedding and the food was delicious. Our guests are still raving about the appetizers and dinner. The late night bites were also a very fun and creative touch. Having many guests traveling from around the country, we were happy to show them what great Latin food! Thanks again, Jorge!
Wedding: 03/09/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mena and Lily!!! When guest at your wedding come around and tell you that they have never had such amazing food at a wedding before, you realized that your choice of catering was the right one. 24 hours later and I am still receiving phone calls just to let us know that our food was incredible. Ariel and I cannot say thank you enough for everything that you put together for our event. Your service was spectacular, I have never seen anything like it before. We love you guys and want to say thank you one million times for making this the best day of our lives. We could not have asked for anything better. It was a true dream come true.
Wedding: 11/10/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
I love Mena Catering. They catered a lot of events for the company i use to work for so i knew what their food was like. They did an amazing job at my wedding and they have great food! Everyone love the food! Jorge Mena is great! and so is Lily!!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Vanessa 4 Reviews
The food was delicious and the caterers were very professional and courteous. They were aware of my needs the entire night. The way they set up the food was very pretty and looked amazing with my my decor. Everyone loved the food
Wedding: 07/14/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Argh! I just typed up a long review, and WW ate it. Darn internet, so I'll try again....

Okay, the good:
-The food was OUT OF THIS WORLD!! So delicious and everything we'd hoped for. We wanted a "Floribbean" theme for our destination wedding and ended up with delicious items like conch fritters, pork belly on cheesy grits cakes, beef churrasco, mahi mahi with key lime buerre blanc, orange-glazed grilled asparagus, and on it went. Everyone raved about it!
-The price was reasonable (they fit into our budget wedding, but we were willing to spend a little more on food) but just make sure to get a quote when you're shopping around. Mena gives you the food price per head, and then staffing, etc. separately. It's very clearly outlined in their quote sheet, so no hidden surprises, but just be forewarned it will be extra. This works in your favor though, for larger weddings.
-The food wasn't the only thing that was great. The servers/staff were the height of professionalism. They were a well-oiled machine and although you never knew they were there, they also made sure I never had an empty glass, that any food items ran out, and even made sure our elderly guests got their food.
-They brought beautiful decorations (jars of submerged orchids). An unexpected, and great addition to our decor!
-They were flexible and worked with our budget. Knowing we needed to save whenever possible, they offered a kid's menu, allowed us to provide all our own beverages, and had very competitive rental item prices (tables, chairs, linens, etc.) which allowed us to use only one vendor. So convenient!
-I had to plan this wedding from 2500 miles away, and only had other reviewers to trust on the quality rather than tastings, and I sure was glad I did, it was so great!!

The cons:
There aren't many, and none were really anything I'd be too worried about.
-Responsiveness: Since I was planning from so far away I had a lot of questions and organizing to do. Email responses were often quite short, although my guess is since these guys are so busy they rely heavily on smart phones. I ultimately still got all the information and as many quotes as I needed.
Wedding: 03/03/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mena Catering is hands down the best caterer in South Florida. Not only is the food outstanding, but the presentation is artwork. The Mena team was extremely welcoming and patient throughout the entire process, even when I changed the menu 6 weeks before the wedding to be more upscale and boy was it. Everyone still talks about the fried tempura orchid appetizer filled with a lobster mousse, the lemon caper mahi-mahi and the Willy Wonka dessert bar! Mr. Mena personally handled my tasting and met me at the venue to discuss options for the food presentation and the rentals. His staff went out of their way to get my linen rental from a company in New York to match my theme and Lily was my go-to back up.

On the day of the wedding, Mr. Mena had one of his staff waiting for my husband (still getting used to saying that) and myself with our favorite drinks in hand. Arturo was assigned to shadow our every movement to ensure that we ate and that our cup was never dry. It was such a relief not to have to think of getting food or something to drink.

I had some important guests in attendance from overseas and they have made comments of how my wedding was better than and/or on par with some events (including royal ones) that they had attended previously. Mena Catering was a huge factor in having that statement made and you will not be disappointed int his family run business that can also coordinate your entire wedding. Thank You to the amazing Mena family for your dedication, support and stellar service!!!
Wedding: 11/25/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If I could give Jorge Mena and his team a better rating i would! This is far more than a catering company. Jorge has such an eye for detail, and gives you the absolute best that he can give that its very hard not to fall in love with his service. I never asked how long he's been in the event industry but he knows far more than most people i've spoken with.
OOOHHHH and the FOOD!!!! My guests raved about it for days!!! At most weddings you hear about people going for the free drinks and rarely for the food. But this was definitely not the case. People could not get enough food.
If that wasn't all Mena had a waiter follow my groom and I throughout our pictures, while we greeted people, while we danced, and even walked around aimlessly with food and water. We had many guests come up to us telling we weren't going to eat because we were going to be too busy. But that wasn't the case at all! We were well fed and hydrated throughout the night. I seriously don't know what we would've done without Jorge Mena and his team. I'm truly thankful for all their help and dedication!
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I'm not sure how to put into words the appreciation and love I have for this catering company. But this is my attempt:

Short Version: MENA CATERING provided excellent food and service at my wedding, and proved their amazing professionalism to us during the planning stages of it all. I highly recommend this company to everyone! One tasting might prove it all (trust me).

Long version:
I planned a destination wedding in Miami from San Francisco, and it took me several trips to Miami and many weeks of tastings to finally find Mena Catering and I could not have been happier with their level of quality, service and professionalism. Jorge and Lily were incredible at helping me prepare everything via email (and were VERY RESPONSIVE, unlike a lot of other catering companies that shrug you off till the week of your wedding). The day of the wedding Jorge was present at my tasting and helped me put together my menus, and figure out the details. It went great and it was all really comfortable (also, extra points for working with our budget).

The week of our wedding, we flew into Miami and Lily from Mena was still helping us out with all the last minute details, when something terrible happened. My husband and I were scammed out of our venue and where put into a situation where we had to re-plan our wedding within 2-days.

Lily from Mena Catering was there with us all the way. We changed venues on her 3 times and I must admit I've never seen anyone handle it all so well. She re-planned seating and decor at each venue I dragged her to and she kept me calm. The day before my wedding, I dragged her to one last place and she basically planned my reception under half-an-hour! It was amazing. I wish I could have videotaped her, it was like she was on auto-pilot and knew exactly what to do.

Fast-forward to the day of the wedding: It turned out amazing! We were both impressed, and the guests raved about the food & Decor (all set up by Mena Catering). Oh the food! The food was really great (this didn't surprise me though, since I had already experienced an amazing tasting and knew what treats were coming). The bartender which Mena provided did a great job with our signature drinks (caipirinha and mojitos). And the entire night was great.

Special Message to the people at Mena (especially Lily): if you are reading this; THANK YOU!

and just to prove that this story is real - click on this link for the news story: http://www.local10.com/news/28353008/detail.html

Wedding: 06/25/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mena Catering provided us with absolutely impeccable service for our wedding in January 2011 at the Spanish Monastery in Miami. Jorge Mena is a real professional, and his team was superb. The quality of food was exquisite - our guests raved about the quality and creativity of the cuisine. The service was outstanding all around - and as a nice personal touch, Mena had an individual that specifically catered to us as bride and groom, ensuring we had what we needed and our glasses were always full. The quality of food and service is well worth the price. We couldn't have asked for a better caterer - thank you Jorge and the Mena team. We highly recommend to anyone planning a wedding or other event in Miami.
Wedding: 01/16/2011
Services Used: Catering
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Private User 2 Reviews
I cannot say enough about the food, it was great! I went to Mena under the advise of my florist/planner, Sylvia Conde-Rodriguez, and whoever she recommends has to be great, otherwise she doesn't bother.

Our food was plenty, tasty and the service was extraordinary, they were very attentive. You need to be alert with Mena, as they are busy and tend to overlook some details, but they come thru the minute you point it out.

Our guests have not stopped talking about our food, the ceviche, the appetizers, the cuban rice take out station was a complete hit!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Catering
 305-666-8545
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0