La Venta Inn
Beautiful and historic wedding venue with an unparalleled ocean view
    63 Reviews
796 Via Del Monte
Palos Verdes Estates, CA 90274  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 250
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (63)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We cannot recommend La Venta highly enough! It is unlike any other place. I saw that someone compared it to Monte Carlo and that is the perfect description! Every square inch is perfectly cared for...the flowers are amazing.....sort of "elegant cottage" --varied, colorful and abundant. The staff was welcoming every time we wanted to visit before our big day. We were assigned Leslie as our coordinator and she was totally dedicated to our complete happiness. She kept track of every detail and cheerfully kept our very large and talkative wedding party and families close to the schedule. She worked with our vendors to be sure every part of the wedding went just as we wanted. Finally, the food, prepared by NYC Food Company was fantastic! Many people commented on how great the stations were. We are thrilled with the result! The view is the best anywhere and the lovely grounds and the pretty architecture created many unique photo opportunities. The flower-lined path from the Bride's private cottage to the ceremony has to be the most picturesque ever!
Wedding: 09/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Dawn 2 Reviews
La Venta Inn made my wedding one of the best days of my life.
The staff is great and you won't find a better venue
La Venta Inn responded with the following comments:
Thank you, Dawn!
Wedding: 07/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I, quite simply, can't recommend La Venta Inn enough. Everything they do is all about class. It's a phenomenal venue with a view to die for. It's just the right size with plenty of outdoor space, but with an intimate dance floor and dining room. We loved the history of the place, but that view... it's all about that view!

But the staff, the food and the organization together makes it a package that can't be beat. We had such a phenomenal time at our wedding and our coordinator, Leslie, was fantastic to work with. She made sure everything was set up correctly, ran like a well-oiled machine... AND... she made sure we were taken care of. We adore her.

The food was delicious! Truly. They took dishes I'd had before and put a twist on them that made me feel I'd had them for the first time. From the appetizers to the desserts... every bite was delicious... and the service from the staff top notch.

We just really appreciated knowing everything was going to be taken care of. We both have a great deal of respect and admiration for how La Venta takes care of it's guests... they sure took care of us. ;-)

We look forward to stopping back there and enjoying the view again on our 1st Anniversary. Thank you so very much to everyone at La Venta Inn...

Lisa and Eric
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Loved this venue!! Was married in November with perfect weather, perfect setting and perfect food!! Couldn't have asked for more, most breathtaking views of the city and ocean. Grew up here my whole life and only dreamed of being married here. The staff and wedding coordinator (Tim Kennedy) really set the bar for other venues in the area! Amazing. Thanks again for a memorable wedding night!!
Wedding: 11/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
How do I begin to explain La Venta Inn..........
My husband and I are from Australia. We decided that we wanted a wedding abroad and we picked California as our destination. We decided to give everyone two years notice to save.By organising a wedding outside of Australia, I knew I had a lot of research to do. My Husband and I came across La Venta Inn on the internet and read all the reviews and finally got in contact with Tim Kennedy. I thought that it would be a nightmare trying to arrange a wedding from another country. Tim was very quick to get back to my emails which made my husband and I feel that our wedding was just as important as anyone else's. With emails going back and forward for months, we decided to come for a trip over before the wedding to check all the vendors out.
From the moment we walked into La Venta Inn, we felt like we were in a dream. We had not seen anything like this before. The breath taking view and spectacular Spanish villa was Amazing.... I repeat AMAZING :-)
Everyone at La Venta Inn was so nice, organised and accommodating.
We were assigned Tim Kennedy as our wedding co-ordinator. Tim was always organised and helped us when decisions needed to be made. On the day of the wedding Tim, was always by our side to make sure everything ran smoothly.
We are so glad we had the opportunity to have Tim Kennedy as our wedding co-ordinator and to have our reception at La Venta Inn. We had just over 20 people come from Australia and the United Kingdom and we have had comments from all of them saying how lovely the staff are at La Venta and how beautiful La Venta Inn is and it is nothing like they have ever seen before.
To all you future brides out there considering La Venta Inn, you will not be disappointed with La Venta Inn, you are so lucky to have a venue as beautiful as this in your country. May your wedding be as breathtaking as ours was.
Thankyou to everyone at La Venta Inn, New York Food Company and Tim Kennedy.
From MR & MRS TUDOR
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Diana 5 Reviews
I had my wedding at La Venta Inn, in May 2013. Everything about the event was absolutely perfect! The weather was amazing and allowed us to have a beautiful outdoor ceremony. Our coordinator Tim Kennedy ran our wedding so smoothly, it was like a dream. The food (by New York Food Company) and cake were delicious!!! My groom and I made sure we took our time to enjoy all of it and we did, we were able to have a taste of everything served. Mostly due to Tim bringing us appetizers while we got away from the party in the bridal cottage after the ceremony while our guests were enjoying cocktail hour. He really made sure we were taken care of and fed. Our DJ rocked the party ‘till 11 PM and we had no issues with the noise restrictions at La Venta due to the surrounding residential area. So many of our guests are gushing over how beautiful our venue was and how much fun they had at our wedding. I've had a few people tell us that we should get married all over again and again 'cause they want to relive the day. I hope that I am lucky enough to attend a wedding at La Venta Inn as a guest in the future or else I might not be able to resist attending any (and every) bridal show hosted there. LOL It is just so perfect!

The only words of caution I have to give (and this could happen anywhere, so I am not in any way blaming La Venta Inn) is to make sure to have your coordinator either lock the room where your gifts will be stored or better yet assign someone from your wedding party to immediately put them away in a vehicle after guests have arrived and deposited them on your gift table. We found out the day after our wedding that our envelopes (monetary gifts) went missing the night of our event and I had done neither of the above suggestions. It is a shame that this happened but there is no way it could put a damper on our wedding because everything else was so magical and perfect that we did not allow it to ruin our day.
Wedding: 05/18/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
La Venta was the perfect spot for my dream wedding! The entire process with La Venta was so easy and they were so accommodating to all of our requests. Mike Halish was our coordinator and he made every vision I had come true and was a true professional. I loved that we had the entire venue to ourselves, verses having a wedding at a hotel which is open to the public. The food was amazing and almost all of our guests told us we had the best wedding food they had ever had. I also loved that the ballroom/dance floor is separate from the dining room. It allowed people to get out of their seats and explore the property instead of just sitting at their table the entire night. We added the "late night bites" option of fresh baked cookies and milk shakes which was a total hit. Mike and the entire La Venta team were amazing and I would highly recommend having your wedding there! They are the best!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding ceremony and reception at La Venta Inn was more than a dream come true! All of our guests told us that the evening was like a real-life fairytale wedding! The spectacular view of the pacific ocean and coast from the ceremony site at La Venta is absolutely breathtaking. We had guests from all over the country fly in for our destination wedding. Everyone's jaw dropped the second that they saw the view. My husband and I had the same experience the first time that we visited La Venta. I stumbled across this venue while I was searching for the perfect "Southern California Wedding Beach Location". My husband and I flew to So. Cal for a weekend to look at the venues that we had found. La Venta Inn blew the other venues out of the water! The moment that we stepped on to the property- we knew that this was THE PLACE. Not only is the venue picture perfect, but the entire staff at La Venta Inn and New York Food Company was absolutely incredible to work with. Kelly was the first staff member that we met with when we decided on the venue. She was so sweet and very helpful. Mike was our wedding coordinator for the entire event. Mike was an absolute pleasure to work with. I always thought that planning a destination wedding was going to be stressful and complicated. Mike and the rest of the La Venta staff made the whole planning process a breeze! It was shocking how easy it was to plan every little detail with Mike's help and experience to bring all of the ideas to life. The food and cake made by NYFC were so delicious! Mike suggested that we have tray passed mini milkshakes and mini french fries with Ketchup toward the end of the evening. What a great idea! Our guests loved this!!! I could write a novel about all of the amazing experiences we had with La Venta. This place is worth every single penny!
Thank you, everyone at La Venta, for making our wedding day a DREAM COME TURE!
~Amanda & Joe
Wedding: 09/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I started looking for venues early on in the wedding process and it was difficult to find a place that was both beautiful and affordable until I found La Venta Inn.

To be honest the photos online, on Yelp don't really do it justice. It is definitely a venue you HAVE TO GO SEE. I happened to go in early Fall and the view was absolutely breathtaking driving in. Since Day 1, the staff have been so accommodating and friendly. Though everyone at La Venta Inn (or from the ones I've met) were extremely qualified, I took the advice of everyone here on Yelp and specifically asked for Tim. You are actually assigned to a coordinator, but you can request it and I stopped at nothing to get TIm. I called and emailed and I was had the privilege of working with him. It was an added bonus that his daughter's name was Mia too :)

Working with Tim was such a breeze. I am not going to lie, having two extremely organized people working together (Tim and myself) I think it was made the process so easy. He was prompt with his responses to my questions and always made sure to reassure me that everything would work out. When we had our 3-4 hour meetings, I would throw out so many ideas and he would have comments for every single one (without fail) which helped me make my decisions rather quickly.

The food choices are absolutely amazing. The chef there works with you to create your perfect menu.

I will leave this review with three things:

1) Choosing WHEN to have your wedding at this venue is important. Mine was the beginning of summer and because of the weird weather we have been having, I thought it was going to be hot, but it was moderate and a little windy...not what I expected. Still a breathtaking view though...For some reason the sky was clearer during the fall and winter months than summer..so something to think about.

2) Choosing the RIGHT coordinator for you. I had met with someone else and corresponded with her several times, but speaking to Tim on the phone twice and the reviews he received on YELP and Wedding Wire just did it for me. I never met him, but I just had to have him!

3) Size of Venue: This is definitely a venue for more intimate gatherings and I ended up having about 110 people attend and it was perfect. This venue accommodates more than that, but any more and I feel it would be a little cramped.

So, there you go future brides! Have your wedding at La Venta Inn, you won't regret it.
Wedding: 06/15/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
I recommend this venue to everyone - you are truly getting what you pay for and an experience that will last a life time!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It was a very beautiful venue! All my guests had a great time, and they really really like the food. The servers were very professional and helpful. My guests told me this is one of the most beautiful weddings they been to!
Wedding: 11/05/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The place was lovely, slightly on the pricey side but was great, staff was friendly and views were amazing.
Wedding: 09/03/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Great Locatoin. I loved to be there.
Wedding: 06/30/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The experience at La Venta Inn was excellent from pre-wedding planning, the service, the food, to of course, the view. We live in Florida and had to do everything by e-mail and phone, La Venta's coordinator Mike helped us a lot and made everything easier.
On the day of the wedding, they had everything set up and ready and there's literally no stress. The service at the reception was exceptional; like any couples, we were so busy with photo taking and things, but every time when we come back to our sweetheart table, our waiter would come and ask if we would like anything to drink.
I didn't think my wedding day can be so stress-free, but La Venta really made that happened.
and Of course, the view was fantastic!!! even now, my guests still tell me how much they enjoyed the view , the service, and the food at our wedding.
Yes, it can be a little pricey ( depends on the menu service you choose), but I think for the service you get, it is worth it.
I have a small wedding of 50 people, so it worked out great. The place is not huge, so if you have more than 100 people, it might get a little crowded. But they say they can fit up to 120 I think ( check on that.)
I would definitely recommend La Venta Inn for weddings.
Wedding: 06/30/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Great Locatoin. I loved to be there.
Wedding: 05/23/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I coordinated a destination wedding for a Texas client this past January at La Venta Inn. In doing so, I had the extreme pleasure of working with Tim Kennedy and the La Venta crew. I have coordinated weddings for MANY years, and Tim is one of the best on-site coordinators I have ever worked with. Caring, carismatic, classy, cooperative, and cool-under-pressure. Tim made my job 100 times easier. And the entire La Venta staff, was spot-on. The food was exceptional and the service impeccable. I would work with Tim and the crew again in a HEARTBEAT. I hope our paths cross again one day, Tim!
Wedding: 01/01/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 310-373-0123
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0