Kate Whelan Events™
Events of Extraordinary Detail™
1808 Q Street
Sacramento, CA 95811  | map
Services: Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning
Weddings: Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly /...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (20)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jeanette 1 Reviews
I hardly know where to start with singing my/our praises for Kate and her whole team. Kate came highly recommended from the start, for working with our tricky, incredibly remote venue, which already says a lot. But she lived up to those expectations and surpassed them, in many ways. Even though we booked her for month-of services, she was such a helpful resource from the moment we booked her, whether in our original, thoughtful conversation that already got us thinking about what we wanted, or through her incredibly thorough online portal with to-do lists.

Come 1 month out, it was great to have her wrangling our contracts and making sure we either didn't forget anything crucial, or helping keep me sane with the far-less-crucial pieces too - all of it was clearly important to her. If I emailed Kate, I knew I'd not only get a response straight away, but one with way more helpful information than I could have come across even with all my crazy research. Her timeline for the weekend came with a title page, which our dear friend/cake maker says she's never seen in all her work in the industry, and was so thoughtful that relatives who couldn't make it to the wedding said it made them feel like they were there even just to read.

The weekend of, there was no one I could trust more to help, to keep my mind at ease, and to get things done effectively, professionally, and also joyfully. We ended up asking her to help out a couple extra hours on the wedding day, realizing I was over my head in the number of things I could take on for what became more of a 3-day wedding than a 1-day one. We just expected that extra time would help with decor we couldn't get to and such, and that would be plenty... but I also mentioned to Kate that we'd thrown the idea of a chalkboard program out the window, and didn't even write content for it anyway... Well I just about cried when getting to the aisle, even before seeing my now-husband, as I spied one she made for us. Wow. That's Kate.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The excitement of our daughter's engagement, parties, and celebrations was quickly followed by many planning decisions to create the perfect wedding for the couple, family, and friends, inlcuding many out of state guests. Little did we know or could have anticipated the options, challenges, and numerous decisons that were to come. Thank you Kate Miller for being the perfect guide on our journey !! Kate is well organized, well informed, and personalizes all that she does for the couple and family. She understands the process, maintains and creates calm, and keeps a positive, upbeat attitude.......while always professionally representing the couple to vendors. After the many months of planning comes the wedding day, the one day, to see how it all comes together. And yes, it did! The day of the wedding starts slowly but ends so quickly. Our families and of course the bride and groom enjoyed the day from start to finish. We had nothing to worry about or think about....except to the enjoy the many sweet and fun moments. All the time knowing Kate and her team were quietly and thoughtfully engaged and working to insure......everything was perfect! And yes, it was perfect. Our family highly recommends Kate Miller events........ you and your family will be cared for and cared about. Thank you Kate and your Team !!!!
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Megan 2 Reviews
Upon getting engaged, I was overwhelmed. I knew I wanted wedding planning help, but that our budget was tight, and It felt like an expense that would be hard to justify. My fiancé Chris was even more skeptical.

Now after going through the process, we couldn't be more happy that we chose to have a wedding planner, but also that we chose Kate of Kate Miller Events. KME's baseline services are for "day of" coordination, but it starts almost 2 months out to make sure your vendors, venues, bridal party, and families are all ready for your big day. Also, as soon as you book, Kate's online tools are available and at your disposal to help track budget, to-do list, contracts, etc. We would have been lost without these, and it was very easy for us to collaborate using her tools.

I could write a novella of all the ways that Kate went above and beyond for us as clients. Hiring Kate was probably the single decision that went the furthest in making our wedding day as wonderful as it was. Not only is she just very good at her job, but the knowledge that she is on top of everything gave us so much less to be worried or nervous about in the weeks leading up to our wedding. Our venue's wedding coordinator (you know, the one the venues tout as the reason you don't need an outside planner...), was actually laid off 3 months before our wedding. If we hadn't had Kate, this would have definitely freaked us out, but instead, we simply knew it would all be fine.

The best part about working with Kate, is that although we know she has clients hiring her for her full blown all included packages, and we were only able to afford her base package, she never made us feel like she was anything but committed to us. She answered all our questions, had our back when vendors tried to pull fast ones on us, and was a fantastic point of reference throughout the entire planning process. And above all, we really liked her. Chris and I couldn't recommend her more.
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
HUGE thank you to Kate and her team for making it all happen for us. Not only is Kate incredibly organized, but she really took the time to get to know us and our style. She made fantastic suggestions when she felt they were welcome or especially important, but never tried to force anything on us or talk us into something we weren't comfortable with. I can't begin to explain how great it felt to trust her 100% and know that everything was under control on our wedding day. Every aspect was taken care of, down to the smallest detail, and my husband and I never once worried about a single thing. She glued my sister/maid of honor's eyelashes back on when they started to peel off after the ceremony, she brought me an assortment of granola bars when she overheard me whisper to my husband-to-be that I was hungry during family photos, she brought all of our gorgeous flowers and candles up to our hotel room after the reception so that we'd have a beautiful room to come back to... and I know that as soon as we get all the photographs back, we'll see detail after detail that we missed that day and be so grateful for! Because of her, we were able to just truly relax and enjoy a beautiful day with the people we love most. Thank you again, Kate - we'll let you know when it's time to throw a vow renewal party!
Wedding: 01/05/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Dear Kate - Thank you for making my daughter's wedding an exquisite experience. Everything was perfectly romantic, flawlessly executed, and your leadership made all that happen. As Mom of the Bride, I didn't feel like I had to do a thing - and everything you did was on time, purposeful, and done with a huge smile on the faces of you and your team. I would not hesitate in giving a huge endorsement of your services - from start to the end.... Many thanks.
Pat Macht
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Planning a wedding is something most men rarely do. Most husbands-to-be allow their brides-to-be do all the planning. Girlfriends are called up, mother and mother-in-law pick out china patterns, and a gaggle of ladies plan to their hearts content. The men, in my experience, simply must provide the occasional yes or no.

So when two men decide to get married and neither one has the wedding planning gene... well, they need to get a little help.

Enter Kate Miller, who quickly took the hands of two somewhat misanthropic grooms and helped them put on what had to be one of the most amazing weddings ever conceived. While I can stress up a storm at the drop of a hat and my partner is a tad forgetful, she was able to actively engage us and get to know us both as a couple and as individuals.

We knew right away she was the right choice when at our very first meeting she helped us figure out our budget. We were on a tight one. She was able to explain what parts of the kind of wedding we wanted to do were necessary and what wasn't, and she kept us realistic about what we could do. That might sound rather blah, but because she made thing so financially clear she was able to provide multiple options that still got us what we wanted, or helped us find even better options we hadn't thought of before.

In addition, Kate also used plenty of technology to keep things organized. Her team uses a dashboard on their server that allowed us to send messages, assign tasks, share documents, review vendor orders, and keep us on task with timely checklists that kept us on task for what needed doing and when. Kate was always on time with what she needed to do, and kept us on time for the things we needed to do (get suits tailored, send out cards, etc.).

Come the day of there was no stress at all. We knew that Kate was on site and that everything would be handled beautifully. And it was.

I cannot recommend Kate and her team enough. She will ensure that your wedding is perfect.
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Dear Kate,

With all the energy and emotion of Amanda and Mike's wedding day, I didn't get a chance to thank you personally for all that you did to make it a success. My family and I would like to express our gratitude to you for your part in making Amanda and Mike's wedding such a wonderful memory. Your coordination of vendors and attention to the details of the wedding was amazing. The wedding site and all the decorations that Amanda wanted were very beautifully arranged. Your staff was very efficient, thoughtful and helpful through the entire celebration. I know the inclement weather was a challenge, but your experience and calm demeanor allowed our guests to enjoy the food and music without interruption.

One of the memories that will remain of the wedding is how many times your staff patiently tossed plastic tarps over the vintage furniture and removed them when a ray of sun broke through the clouds and my glimpse of you in your "garbage bag" attire to protect against the rain.

My sincere thanks for your efforts and genuine concern for Amanda and Mike and our family and guests at the HideOut wedding last Saturday. I will certainly recommend you to anyone I know who is planning a destination wedding.

Yours truly,
Fran Rozoff
Wedding: 08/04/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wedding was absolutely amazing and beautiful and I couldn't of done it without Kate. Kate and her team are wonderful, so nice and helpful. Kate took my vision and made it come to life. I never had any worry day of the wedding and it gave me such ease knowing she was there. My wedding was perfect thanks to Kate and her team!!
Wedding: 05/12/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Karin and... 1 Reviews
From the first email Kate was not only responsive but helpful before I even hired her as my wedding planner. She impressed me with her organization with the first meeting and how well she listened. I loved her honest opinions and overall helpfulness. I went into my wedding not sure if I truly needed a wedding planner but when all is said and done, I was so happy and grateful to have Kate and Samantha in my corner. They offered great advice, solutions and resources.
I am so happy that I chose Kate and Samantha to help me- I did meet with quite a few other wedding planners - and I know I made the right decision. The were absolutely an essential part to our successful and stress free event. I can not thank them enough for everything they did.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
There are so many wonderful things I can say about Kate and her team. I am in love with her. She made planning my wedding so easy! The thing I love most about this awesome woman is her ability to take all of a brides crazy ideas and make them beautiful, organized and relatable. She also recommended almost all of my vendors, who all ended up being so delightful! I would highly highly recommend Kate Miller Events to any bride, she will keep you sane and make your wedding exquisite and unforgettable!
Wedding: 11/04/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kate Miller and her team is amazing. I'm a project and events manager myself and I'm pretty hard to please - but Kate and her team exceeded my expectations.

Kate has been absolutely wonderful to work with throughout the entire wedding cycle - she was professional, responsive, and flexible. She resolved issues fast and effectively. She would always be so helpful in terms of looking for alternative solutions and cost effective but excellent vendors/items, as well as communicating with everyone involved. Early on, I've learned to trust her experience, instinct, and taste.

Everyone raved about our wedding - from the logistics to the decor. I couldn't have asked for a better wedding coordinator!!! :)

We love you Kate!
Wedding: 10/29/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kate Miller Events is top of the line. Kate did an amazing job of organizing our daughter's wedding day so that we could just enjoy the experience of it all. We hired Kate for "day of" services and it was worth every penny. The wedding unfolded before us and it was wonderful. Kate's timing and organization made it happen as our daughter had envisioned her wedding. Kate also designed our daughter's invitations and they fit right in with the colors and themes our daughter wanted. A million thanks to Kate!
Wedding: 10/15/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
KME helped us plan our entire wedding, from start to finish. Kate's professionalism, creativity, dedication, style and knowledge of all things wedding were evident in everything we planned together. We relied on Kate and her staff for a great deal, and they absolutely helped make our wedding the best it could be!
Wedding: 09/17/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kate Miller Events provided "Day of" coordination for our backyard wedding. She went above and beyond what I could have imagined in orchestrating fantastic and organized day. Kate and her assistants were very receptive to my and my family's wants and needs. I live in Southern California, and Kate was so flexible in setting meetings that worked with my schedule while I was in NorCal. I am grateful to have hired her as she is exactly what brides (and the mothers of the bride and groom) need on their wedding day. She really helped in making my vision come to fruition. THANK YOU!!!
Wedding: 06/18/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Definitely worth every single dollar! It was so wonderful working with Kate. She was VERY professional and so quick to respond to questions/concerns - such a wonderful thing when you are dealing with so many different vendors. She was very quick to help me with any problems I had and took care of it without me having to worry about a single thing. I couldn't have made it through without her! If I could do it over again, she would be the one single vendor I would hire again in a heart beat. LOVED HER!!!
Wedding: 03/12/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kate is absolutely amazing – I cannot say enough about her! I hired her for my wedding in March 2011. From the very beginning she set out to make sure that my wedding was all that I had envisioned. With her creativity she took my vision and carried it through all the way to the tiniest detail, all while helping us to keep on budget. She not only gave us impeccable vendor recommendations and resources, but also helped us to negotiate the best contracts with the vendors to ensure that everything fit exactly what we needed. Any time I had any questions or concerns, she would respond immediately and put my mind at ease. In the weeks/days leading up to the wedding we had some issues with our venue but Kate immediately stepped in to take care of things. I can honestly say the planning of my wedding was completely stress-free because of her.

When it came to the day of the wedding I was in awe of her organization! The day-of she not only coordinated and met with all the vendors arriving at the venue but was also in touch with the family and wedding party to ensure everyone knew exactly what was going on and where they needed to be at all times. After the wedding she stayed after to make sure everything was cleaned up, sent back to the appropriate places, and gifts were delivered to the designated room. If there were any hiccups the day-of (which I’m sure there were), I did not know of them. It was her number one goal to make sure I did not have to worry about anything and that I just enjoyed it!

Kate is extremely professional and will make you feel like you are her only client. Because of her, I had the most amazing wedding! I can’t thank her enough for everything she did - I would hire her again in a heartbeat!
Wedding: 03/05/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
 888-808-5283
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0