Justice of the Peace - Mike Backer
A Justice of the Peace for all seasons and all reasons.
11 Reservoir Drive
Southborough, MA 01772  | map
Services: Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Ceremony, Single...
Religious affliliations: Agnostic, Baha'i Faith, Buddhist, Christian (no...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (135)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mike was awesome! He was so helpful from day one! He answered all of our questions, and helped with everything! He has an incredible personality, and eased out nerves during the planning process. Mike provided us with a book of ceremony options and we were able to take pieces and put them together. The rehearsal was fun, and he made everyone comfortable. The ceremony was flawless, sentimental, and funny! We wouldn't change a thing! If you are looking for a j.p, Mike is absolutely the man you're looking for!
Wedding: 10/11/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Mike did such a great job officiating my renewal of vows! We have been in contact for a year in preparation as he is very quick to return your inquiries. I would absolutely recommend him.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
JP Mike Backer was just the right person for the job for our wedding! My husbands family is Jewish and mine is Protestant, though neither him or myself practice a faith. Mike was able to create a beautiful ceremony that friends and family have given only great reviews, plus both my husband and I were very happy with everything!!
Thanks Mike, we loved it all!
Wedding: 08/23/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mike Backer did an amazing job as the officiant of our wedding! He is clearly experienced and adds uniqueness and a touch of humor to the ceremony. Mike was easy to work with and always easy to get in touch with. Mike kept us calm and made the process for us comfortable. We got so many compliments about our Justice of the Peace and and we could not be happier with our decision to have Mike officiate our wedding. Thank you!!
Wedding: 08/16/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
JP Mike was such a wonderful addition to our ceremony. From the moment that we met him in his home, he was welcoming, straight-forward and open to anything we wanted to suggest to make the ceremony truly ours. He offers a binder to help with the process, and it sure made everything easier! Each section of the ceremony is broken down into different sections, and each section offers multiple suggestions. And, of course, he welcomes your own additions. During the rehearsal JP Mike was friendly and engaging with our family and friends. He put everyone at ease. During the ceremony he was funny and his warmth really stood out. We had many compliments on his ceremony.
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Mike is a friendly, professional JoP that I recommend without reservation.

Planning: Mike has gathered a binder full of stuff for the ceremony. We were able to go through past ceremonies, readings, and vows and put together something that we both liked. You can get a license in any town, and Mike knows which city halls are the least expensive and most competent.

Before the ceremony: Mike came very early to set up. He talked with us about a few last minute details and provided each person who was doing a reading with a handout. While setting up the sound system I overheard him tell the folks from the hotel, "I can use my own equipment if this is going to cost the bride and groom anything."

The ceremony: Mike kept things going at a pleasant pace, inserted some humor in a few spots, and finished the ceremony exactly on time (when the bars opened); I recommend him without reservation.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Elizabeth 3 Reviews
Mike was simply great. Professional, warm, kind, organized. If I could do it all again I wouldn't change a thing. He allows for anything from you writing the show or options from a binder if you want the work done for you Would recommend Mike to anyone in need of a great JP!!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katie 1 Reviews
Mike Backer was a phenomenal officiant. At our first meeting he was very informative about the entire wedding process. He reviewed things such as how to obtain a wedding license, the general flow of a wedding, and gave us "THE BOOK." The book, made by the JP himself, contained basically every introduction, poem, prayer,and vow you could ever dream of. It was clear, very organized, and basically made organizing the content of the ceremony a complete breeze. Over the months prior to the wedding Mike kept in touch, answered emails promptly and professionally and was an excellent resource. On the big day Mike came through with flying colors. He gave my husband and I exactly what we wanted and more. I had family and friends come up to me after and ask me if he was a close family friend (which he is not), that is how well he captured the essence of what we wanted this wedding to be! I couldn't be more thankful to have Mike Backer as a JP and I would recommend him to anyone!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Michael 1 Reviews
We had a last minute cancellation and were referred to Mike Backer to be the Officiant of our wedding ceremony(3 days before the big day). Looking back on the event it was one of the best things that could have happened, friends and family are still raving about the job he did with the ceremony. Even though we met him for the first time right beforehand, people were commenting that it seemed as though he was a life long friend.

Mike was responsive, flexible and couldn't have done a better job! We highly recommend working with him.
Wedding: 06/25/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Mike worked with us so that we were able to have exactly the kind of wedding we wanted. Since we're "older" we did not want the whole white wedding thing, we had each done that before and wanted a more inclusive wedding including our children and grandchildren.
I've known Mike since college and chose him as I knew him to be well able to handle any situation with grace and class.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mike was very helpful through out the process from our first meeting to our last. The ceremony was perfect, he put his own spin on it and made it funny yet memorable and sentimental. We couldn't have picked a better Justice of the Peace for our special day.
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Derek 1 Reviews
Can't express enough how instrumental Mr. Backer was making our wedding wonderful. Even out of state before our Big Day, Mr. Backer was in constant communication with us, making sure everything detail was addressed with impeccable professionalism and genuine optimism. Regards, Derek and Jessica Robinson
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mike was great to work with. From our first meeting with him at his house through the planning process, he was extremely responsive to all requests. He was able to set the mood for what was a wonderful ceremony and reception. His playful demeanor worked perfectly for the crowd and ceremony. Through the rehearsal to the day of, Mike was extremely flexible with any last minute changes and made sure the day was about us. Without a hesitation we would recommend Mike to anyone looking for a Justice of the Peace.
Wedding: 06/19/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristen 1 Reviews
As soon as I met Mike, I knew his light hearted, humorous style would compliment well the seriousness of the vows we were taking that day. Mike is very easy to talk to, flexible when scheduling in person meetings and very easy to reach by phone/email if you have any questions about anything at all. He provided materials that made it easy to pick and customize our vows, and was essential in planning our perfect day. We are very happy to have found him and are very pleased with his services!
Wedding: 06/08/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

KSmall to be 6 Reviews
Mike was fantastic, his easygoing, professional, yet humorous style - where we might have been clueless or nervous- was just great. It was clearly all about whatever we wanted in a ceremony, he would make happen. The planning reference book he provides makes it easy to choose selections, he was always available by phone or email if you have questions. Mike was a pleasure to work with and we loved the ceremony he helped us create. We highly recommend Justice Mike Backer. Thank you, Mike!
Wedding: 06/08/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mike was great to work with, he gave us a binder of suggestions/ideas which was very helpful. When we met him he explained the flow of the ceremony and was very open to personalizing it the way we wanted to. Our guests commented that he made them laugh and cry at the same time.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Officiant
 508-481-7338
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0