Franklin Plaza Ballroom
4 Fourth Street
Troy, NY 12180  | map
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (45)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Joe, Deanna, Dominic and the whole staff of the Franklin were amazing! We got married on a Wednesday with a party of only about 60. Deanna was able to answer all of our small non critical questions and set up all of our meetings with Joe. On the day of the wedding everything looked amazing! Joe was so great in helping me keep my surprise veil a secret from my mom. the whole ceremony was beautiful in the board room and went off without a hitch:). I couldn't believe how intimate the reception rooms looked downstairs considering how large they are. Dominic and the entire staff were very attentive to us and the guests. The food was amazing, our friends and family couldn't stop talking about it. I cant imagine getting married anywhere else, because of everyone at the franklin it was a stress free day we will remember forever.
Wedding: 05/15/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They provided the most amazing service throughout the entire night. The food was amazing as well!!!!!!
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
Absolutely beautiful venue and the entire staff was so great to us and all of our guests. A HUGE thank you to our head waiter Dom who took unbelievable care of us all night, as the bride and groom we truly had nothing to worry about and were able to have the most amazing time. Joe was also a tremendous help organizing our event and was there to provide advice and support while respecting out decisions along the way. Our guests continue to rave to us about how this was the best wedding they have ever been to!
Wedding: 02/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Stephanie 5 Reviews
Just fabulous!! The staff leading up to the wedding was fabulous and made you feel so confident about having your wedding there, then the day comes and the staff that evening blew your mind!! They are soooo amazing! I couldnt believe that the service got even better than all the consultations we had prior to the big day! Dom was our head waiter, and his service couldn't improve, he has it down and makes you feel so wonderful! Love the Franklin and their staff!
Wedding: 11/23/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thank you so much to Joe, Greg, Dominic and the entire Franklin Team! Our day was Simply AMAZING! There is not a thing that I would change! Everyone at the Franklin Plaza was wonderful! We have had nothing but compliments on the food, venue and service. We couldn't be more thankful for making our day so special! I highly recommend having your reception with the Franklin Team!
Wedding: 11/17/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Franklin Plaza Ballroom was not where I imagined getting married, however now, I couldn't imagine being married elsewhere. Our ceremony and reception of 210 guests took place here and it was absolutely positively gorgeous. The entire place was perfect, so was each staff member that worked our wedding. So kind and attentive to all of the guests needs, especially our personal waiter, who never let us out of his sight or even let our drinks get low . We met with Joey each and every meeting we had, he was very accommodating and informative. He never tried to swindle us or cut corners, he was very attentive and understanding regarding our budget. I thanked him for that every time.

The cocktail hour & half took place upstairs in a beautiful bar area and the food was plentiful. Not only was there an overwhelming (yet AMAZING) amount of food but the cocktail hour area was visually appetizing. Dinner was amazing and nothing short of being perfect. The turn around time was unbelievable 210 guests all eating at the same time! The up-lighting set the tone/mood for dancing and fun! The Franklin Plaza Ballroom was wonderful place to get married and an even better place to party! We would suggest this venue to any bride or groom looking for a great deal and place!
Wedding: 11/10/2012
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Franklin Plaza Ballroom. First of all I picked this venue because the I REFUSED to get married in a stuffy, cliche, old fashioned 'wedding reception hall' like most places out there.
This place is unique, has history, and has so much charm. It used to be a bank back in the 1800's and I love that there are still elements of the bank visible inside today (the vault, the bar area, etc).

They have packages for many different budget levels. One thing that may turn some people off is that you have to pay for a minimum of 180 people. If you don't meet the 180 person minimum the remaining money that you paid goes towards extras (yay!). But regardless, some people may KNOW they are only going to have 100 people so that may not work in their favor.

The coordinators and managers there (Joe, Greg) are very supportive and helpful, especially when you're a frazzled bride. They were easy for me to get in touch with throughout my planning and very helpful. They also seemed genuinely concerned and kept reassuring me that they really wanted me to be happy with everything and give us the BEST value for our money. And they truly did.

The day of my wedding was a DREAM. It was magical. The venue looked amazing, the food was amazing, and we had a head waiter dedicated to the bridal party only who was there at our beckon call for ANYTHING we needed. I have received ENDLESS compliments, and everyone who sees my pictures says 'WHERE did you get married!!" DEFINITELY check this place out!!
Wedding: 11/03/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Staff is great to work with and the food is out of this world
Wedding: 11/02/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough good about Franklin Plaza. Everything was taken care of and I did not have to worry about a single thing throughout the day. Once we arrived at Franklin Plaza, the head waiter took such care of us, staying out of the way, but always there to attend to our every need, even as we were taking photos in the alley out back. We didn't even have to check into the hotel across the street, and when we arrived, there were pizzas behind the desk for a late night snack and EVERYTHING from the wedding was transported and placed in our room. I wish I could go through it all again, and I would not change a THING about my experience with Franklin Plaza, not to mention how beautiful the space was. They also offered tremendous advice and suggestions throughout the entire process - we took full advantage of their expertise. I am still amazed, 4 months later, at how much more perfect the day was than I could have ever anticipated.
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thank you Joe, Dom, Greg and the entire Franklin Plaza wait staff.
Words can not express our appreciation and gratitude for making our daughter's (and now son-in-law's) wedding something so spectacular. She fell in love with the Franklin Plaza at our first visit and was not disappointed, describing how she felt like a "Princess" the moment she stepped foot in the front door.
What a way to experience our first visit to the Franklin. Everything lived "up to and beyond" the numerous testimonials we began hearing as the time approached. The attention paid to the smallest details was exceptional.
Family and friends raved about what a great time they had. One family member boasted that this was "by far the best wedding they had ever attended, having been to some from Sanibel Island to the "City". The food, service and venue were outstanding.
We were impressed that the staff are not "scheduled" rather choose to be scheduled. Each and everyone who chose to be part of our evening were personable, presenting themselves with poise, confidence, politeness and with a smile. They added to the ambiance and helped to make memories we will enjoy for a lifetime.
When asked what was our favorite part, we can honestly say that since it was all so remarkable, no one thing took centerstage, although the sparklers were a nice touch!
Package III was exceptional and a great value.
Let me close with---WOW
W: Wonderful venue
O: Outstanding food, service, and attention to detail
W: Would do it all over again, given the opportunity as it was worth every cent.

Michael and Deborah
Wedding: 08/17/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thank you Joe, Dom, Greg and everyone else at Franklin Plaza Ballroom for a spectacular night! The night was absolutely perfect. The staff was very gracious and accomodating. The food was outstanding! We couldn't have picked a better or more beautfiul venue to have our wedding. We will never forget this special day. Our friends and family all say it was the best wedding they've ever been to - Franklin knows how to put on a show!

Joe was extremely easy to work with and very professional throughout the whole process - He responded timely to my phone calls. He assured me that there were no hidden charges anywhere! And he was 100% correct - Franklin not only does not overcharge you for your reception but also acts as a wedding consultant. He gae me a lot of advice and useful tips for the other vendors. He's been in the wedding industry for over 20 years and he definitely knows what he's doing.

My husband and I can't even begin to start on how perfect the night went and that's all due to Franklin's staff. Dom made several trips to my hotel room to grab some items I may or may have not forgotten :) Throughout the night, Dom or Greg made sure my husband and I always had a drink in our hands. The plaza that night also allowed us to sample the 3rd entree we had chosen for our menus. They staged everything beautifully. The venue does not need much at all and the staff know exactly how to make the ballroom look its best.

I promise you will not be disappointed at all choosing Franklin - the package III is the best value you will get anywhere in the capital region - you get so much with this package it blows all the other top venues out of the water.

We are extremely pleased with our decision to have our wedding at Franklin Plaza and I hope our review helps other brides-to-be because when I was looking around, reviews are the only thing to rely on other than people who've attended weddings at venues.
Wedding: 07/20/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Amazing place for both the ceremony and reception. They all go above and beyond!!!
Wedding: 07/06/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Where do I begin? From day one working with Franklin Plaza was an absolute breeze. Joe is fantastic! He will not try to nickle and dime you and works with you every step of the way. We were under the minimum number of guests required for a Saturday night and he made sure we got our money's worth through various upgrades. Deanna always answered my incessant emails quickly and efficiently even though I'm sure I annoyed the heck out of her! ;)

On the day of... Well, we couldn't have asked for a more professional, on-the-ball staff. We had both our ceremony and reception at Franklin Plaza. Our day was perfect thanks to Greg, Dom and the rest of the staff. Without them, I don't know what we would have done! HUGE shout-out to Dom. He knew exactly what to do and where to be at every second. (Seriously, I think I called him my hero about 100 times that night.) And if you decide to work with the Best Western across the street, Leslie is just the absolute SWEETEST!

Our guests raved about the food, the location, the service, EVERYTHING. Thank you, thank you, thank you to EVERYONE at the Franklin Plaza Ballroom for giving us one of the best nights of our lives.
Wedding: 06/30/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Franklin Plaza Ballroom is beautiful. The staff is absolutely fantastic. They completely take care of every little detail and take such good care of the Bride & Groom all night. I highly recommend this venue!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Catering, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Franklin Plaza was AMAZING! For future brides - everyone told us how expensive it would be, that it wouldn't fit into our budget, etc. But we set up a time to meet with owner Michael Cocca. We told him our budget and what was important to us. He showed us days of the year where he could make it work for us. So, if you are flexible on your date, I HIGHLY recommend going and meeting with them. The day of the wedding, the staff was INCREDIBLE. We had our ceremony there as well. They give you your own personal waiter (ours was Dom), who checks in with you and the bridal party all night, getting you drinks, snacks and making sure you're having a great time. I can not say enough great things about the Franklin Plaza!
Wedding: 03/30/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I highly recommend the Franklin Plaza to anyone looking for a wedding venue in the Capital District. My wife and I walked into Franklin Plaza looking for a venue, and walked out that day confident that it was where we wanted to be on our special day. From that day forward, the service was outstanding. Joe, Greg and Deanna were incredible thru out the whole planning process. Guests came up to us all night long raving about how beautiful the reception room was, and how outstanding the food was. Our head waiter Dom deserves a shout out, he never let our drinks get low and was right there all night making sure we were 100 % happy. I cannot say enough about how Franklin Plaza helped make our day perfect. What I'm trying to say is the appearance, food, and service all deserve five out of five stars. Thank you Franklin Plaza for making our day Perfect!!!
Wedding: 09/10/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 518-270-9622
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0