Fountain Blue Banquets & Conference Center
2300 S. Mannheim Road
Des Plaines, IL 60018  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 400
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (23)   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fountain Blue made my wedding day a breeze!! The food was FABULOUS, the service was outstanding, and Bill our sales manager was such a great guy. The answer was never no! The decor throughout the entire building is beautiful, and the prices were unbeatable. If you're looking for a venue in the Cook County suburban area...search no more. Fountain Blue is the best!
Wedding: 02/22/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place. I had my wedding here on 12/7/13. Connie and Mary are a dream to work with and really made me feel calm the entire time. I worked closely with Mary who is very knowledgeable about certain venders and will be able to recommend any to you that you are unsure of. I had my wedding reception in the Athena room, which is a beautiful room with stunning chandeliers and light blue walls. Mary worked closely with me on exactly how I wanted my centerpieces, head table, etc. Everything looked perfect when I walked in. The food was fabulous! We had passed around appetizers. Everyone got a couple pieces of each, We had the shrimp cocktail, the chicken and beef brochettes, egg rolls, meatballs. All were great. For dinner we selected the Chicken DeJonge and a redskin masked potatoes. It was just as good as it was at the tasting. Mary was really great at catering to our specific needs and questions and concerns that came up as we were planning. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Marissa 10 Reviews
I had the best wedding reception at Fountain Blue. Connie and Bill, on top of being so kind to us, they were always quick to respond to phone calls and emails (and believe me when I say we made a lot of them!). They understood our vision for what we wanted the ballroom (Versailles) to look like, they made a few suggestions as to how to really have the place look amazing and followed through! I fell in love with the place as soon as I walked in when we were venue shopping. On top of everything else, prices were very reasonable, the food was excellent, the drinks kept on coming, and the bartenders and servers were extremely nice to us and our guests. My private bridal room was stocked with the hors d'oeuvres I wasn't able to eat when my bridal party and I were running late for cocktail hour. It also had champagne and bottled water, which I really appreciated. I highly suggest to use Fountain Blue for your reception needs. You won't regret it!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My 75 year old grandma & my husband's 80 year old grandma both said it was the best food they ever had at a wedding!!! They also made sure all the important people in our lives had exactly the drinks they wanted! Fountain Blue is AMAZING! We worked with Georgia for all our planning, and loved her! Everyone at Fountain Blue is caring, kind and fun! They truly are the best. And I agree with our grandmas, the food was delicious! The space is beautiful. Also, they take care of everything! Love Georgia and the staff of Fountain Blue!
Wedding: 06/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When looking for a venue for our wedding reception, we both had a pretty good idea of what we wanted. Classy, elegant, a bit vintage, great food and the capability to accommodate space we needed for guests as well as entertainment. Fountain Blue was that place. Georgia and all of the staff made this day unforgettable with every detail and timing that went off without a hitch. Passed hour'deorves to start with the cocktail hour really set the tone for what excellent food and service were to come. Professionalism at its best with not a thing to worry about! EVERYTHING was done and exceeded our expectations. :) The food and ambiance will never be forgotten!
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My reception was in the Lions Gate Pavilion at Fountain Blue. We did not want the traditional banquet hall wedding. The tent looked amazing when all our ideas came together. The staff, especially Georgia, worked with us every step of the way to make our day perfect. This was not my first time at FB, my brother got married there in 1998 and it was just as good as i remembered back then......great food, great service, awesome tent!!!!!
Wedding: 03/24/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
We loved having our wedding here, from the moment we walked in to view the set up of another wedding. The planning process was calm and organized due to Georgia's patient and thorough approach. The food was fantastic - we were told by many of our guests it was the best meal they have had at a wedding - and we agreed. The service during the reception was first class. As a bride and groom we felt like royalty as Georgia looked after us to ensure we were happy with how evening was flowing. They exceeded our expectations on their presentation of the room and cake. The location can't be beat and offers many nearby hotels, including one across the parking lot. We highly recommend this venue for anyone looking for a reception hall in the O'Hare area.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I immediately fell in love with The Versailles room at the Fountain Blue Banquets.
I was so happy that the staff was able to work and accommodate all of our needs.
They were helpful in answering our questions and working very well with us.
Prices were reasonable for the quality and it was just an amazing experience.
Thank you so much for a wonderful experience.
Wedding: 11/11/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Seriously, an amazing place to get married. I had my ceremony and reception here and both were amazingly beautiful. The staff is super friendly and treated me like family every time I was there or called with a question. I actually ate my entire plate of food during dinner, it was that good. All of my guests commented that the food was great as well. I can't say enough nice things about this place. I really have nothing negative to say! Check this place out if you want a beautiful wedding with nothing to worry about!
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Upon checking out the Lions Gate Pavilion at Fountain Blue I knew that was where I wanted my wedding and I wasn't going to have it any other way. Luckily for me, Billy could sense that and went out of his way to work with me and my budget. Our experience with them was very pleasant from the beginning. I lived out of state so I always felt that my wedding planning experiences across the board were very different than usual. Even so, Fountain Blue always took all my phone calls and answered all my emails. They were also very accommodating to meeting with me at odd times and even waited for me when I was running behind right before they closed. They met all my requests and on the day of the wedding they made sure they talked to me before making any changes due to running late on our behalf. The food was great, the space is to die for and everyone had an amazing time. Thats all I could really ask for and it was fun getting to know the Fountain Blue family along the way.
Wedding: 09/16/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Fountain Blue was a wonderful venue for our ceremony and reception. My husband and I were delighted by everything.... the food was the best wedding food we have ever had and many of our guests said so as well. The portions were huge! Bill is the man we worked with and he was helpful throughout the whole process.
Wedding: 09/02/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I used the Fountain Blue for both our ceremony site and reception site. We had our ceremony outside on the patio in front of the fountain. The location was beautiful and all our guests commented on how amazing it was to be married right in front of the fountain. Our reception room was the Normandy Room. We had about 100 guests and they fit perfectly. Everything was set up the day before the wedding as well, so when we came to do the rehearsal the day before, I was able to see everything all finalized. I called the Fountain Blue with questions, and even stopped by on occasion to check in on things with Connie and the rest of the staff. Everyone worked so hard to make sure our wedding was the best it could be, and it was even better. Thank you for everything
Wedding: 08/12/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
0.8 out of 5.0
0.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
I really wish I knew who these other people were working with because the people I worked with were anything but helpful. I was planning our wedding long distance so I had to rely on family members to help pick a venue so I signed without ever meeting face to face or seeing the place in person. I was extremely disappointed when I saw it; it is really old and out dated looking on the inside. The fountain and garden area were nice though. Since we were planning long distance I asked if they would be flexible with our schedule as we would not be able to come in during weekdays most likely as we would need to schedule flights out to Chicago. They seemed very helpful in the beginning - don't be fooled.

The staff really needs to be brought into the 21st century. The man
I worked with (who was relatively young) didn't know how to scan or fax anything, and was awful on email. He was very inflexible and completely disorganized throught the entire year we worked with them. For example: we chose our cake flavor and design about 8 months before the big day, and I had confirmed it with him twice, yet I got a call about 3 months before the wedding saying I needed to decide on the cake. I sent him the email confirmations I had, and no apology for his mistake but a snippy reassurance it was now in my file. turns out, it was NOT and about 2 weeks before the wedding they STILL did not have it in my file.

The tasting we had was disgusting. The salad had rotten vegetables in it and was completely inedible. The soup tasted worse than if they had just dumped a can of campbell's into the bowl. The chicken was dry and bland.

When we got our final numbers back for the wedding we had about 20 people less than our minimum for the room, so I called to see if there was something we could work out together to possibly allocate that money to an upgraded appetizer or something instead. They were completely unwilling to work with me, and said that I could take the extra 20 dinners home! I live in Maryland; what was I going to do with 20 chicken dinners in a car for 13 hours?? No way. I kept telling them I didn't want to pay them any less, but to simply move the money around. They finally agreed to one upgraded appetizer, but were not very gracious about it.

This was how they responded any time I asked a question or had an idea: no we can't do that, or we will charge you $$$. They really have no idea how to work with people, especially brides. And I really felt that I was being extremely nice with them and NOT a "bridezilla." Maybe I should have been one?

All in all, it came together nicely the day of: the room looked great, they fixed the issues with the food, etc. But Bill, who I had been working with, was a pretty big jerk all day long, never saying "congrats" or "you look pretty" or anything, just barking orders at me and my family left and right.

They worked out fine, but the entire year leading up to the big day was absolute hell. If you don't mind adding the additional stress of having a venue that won't work with you, go for it. Otherwise I would absolutely NOT recommend them.
Wedding: 08/06/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I gave Fountain Blue a 5. From the moment I walked in for a consultaion to the day of my wedding Connie and the staff made me and my guest feel like family. I have never been to a venue where they made sure every bride was like there very own daughter and/or family. Connie was the main person I talked to and she is amazing. She knows how to make a bride smile. They offered a taste tasting and only my now husband and I went and I was impressed with all the dishes the chef brought out. We choose a plate that was suggested to us but was not on the original menu and we were very happy. Our guest still to this day can not stop talking about how delicious the dinner was. The staff was very accomadating too, my friend had told the wait staff that she was vegetarian and they brought her out pasta. Other venue would have been you eat what was ordered. Thank you for being accomadating. The wedding day coordinator, I am sorry I forgot your name , I think Crisitine. She was amazing she really helped us a lot when we needed things for a slide show our cousin had made for us. Words can never express how greatful we are for you Connie and all the staff at Fountain Blue. Thank you from the bottom of out hearts!
Wedding: 06/25/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We recently just had our wedding at Fountain Blue Banquets and everyone that works there is so nice and helpful. The room was so beautiful, they really did a great job. I had asked for a little different layout and they worked hard to make my vision possible and looked amazing. The food is so good, we continue to get compliments from our friends. I also called Fountain Blue to help with food and design ideas and they were always willing to help with a friendly smile. Again everyone worked so hard that night to make our wedding great!
Wedding: 02/12/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everything was perfect!
They have a very good eye for detail and made everything very simple.

The food was amazing and no one walked away hungry!
All of the guest were amazed on how good the food was and how lovely everything looked.

The staff even came and asked us and our parents if there was anything that we needed through out the night.

We could not have asked for anything better.
Wedding: 10/16/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 847-298-3636
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0