Fluffy Thoughts Cakes
    317 Reviews
1320 Old Chain Bridge Road
Mc Lean, VA 22101  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free, Vegan
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake...
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (317)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Yum! The cake was beautiful and absolutely delicious! It was a custom job and we got so many compliments on it!
Wedding: 08/09/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We got an amazing wedding cake and cupcakes from Fluffy Thoughts. We were looking for a bakery that would do buttercream frosting on a cake that was going to be outside in the DC area in August-maybe not the best plan but definitely the most delicious to our mind. From the beginning our experience with them was awesome. We had a great cake tasting with Lara-she made great recommendations based on our preferences. They sent us a very clear quote so that we knew what everything cost. Once we had our final numbers Fluffy Thoughts made it easy to adjust our order. They were terrific about confirming everything before hand so I was not concerned about anything other than looking great at the wedding! They delivered everything at the right time, set up was quick and professional and everything looked great and tasted even better. I recommend Fluffy Thoughts to everyone for any cake need-they're terrific.
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
the cake was perfect! the flavor, the texture, and oh my gosh the design... they are true artists and perfectionists! I was so happy.
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely loved the cake that Lara made for us at Fluffy Thoughts! We were overwhelmed by the options and decisions that had to be made and so went into the tasting with Lara with a pretty blank slate. She provided us with many many options and while all of them were delicious, she also helped us decide based on the style of the event and the season. We ended up with a few layers of an unusual passion fruit, black berry and white cake and a few layers of more traditional red velvet. She was flexible in terms of making a small cake for the table and then allowing us to do a separate sheet cake to be cut in the back which brought down the cost and was easier for the caterer to deal with. The decoration, though, was by far the best part. Lara duplicated our intricate invitation theme right onto our cake. We received a lot of compliments on our creative and beautiful cake and thankfully had enough to bring home and enjoy in peace after the celebration. Thanks again Lara, so much!
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cake was beautiful and tasted awesome! The tasting was amazing as well.
Wedding: 08/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our daughter was married on August 1st and the cake was beautiful and exactly as she ordered. The taste was scrumptious. Everything they promised they delivered. Working with Lara was easy, the tasting was so much fun and so many choices. Whatever my daughter asked for it was not an issue for Fluffy Thoughts. They were wonderful to work with, delivery in DC was on time and perfect. They were professional and responsive to all of my daughters requests. They look forward to returning for their anniversary cake --thanks for a beautiful delectable dessert!
Wedding: 08/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved our cake from Fluffy Thoughts. The design we wanted was nothing special; it looked fine, but we weren't so concerned with the look. The taste, on the other hand, was outstanding! We got one tier in carrot and one in chocolate. The chocolate was fine but nothing special. The carrot cake was the best I've ever had (and it's my favorite kind of cake)! Price was reasonable and they were easy to work with.
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
First of all, nowhere else will you have such a fun cake tasting! Visiting Fluffy Thoughts was hands down my favorite part of the wedding planning process. We couldn't even finish all the cake samples they had. Our cake was beautiful, and it was exactly the design we asked for. Oh, and it doesn't hurt that it was literally the tastiest cake we tasted! Several guests told me after the wedding it was the best wedding cake they'd ever had (we think the same, obviously). What was especially nice was the wide selection of fillings - it was a nice touch to have flavors we hadn't seen anywhere else.
Sarah & Myles
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They were extremely professional and everything looked and tasted wonderful! We loved it!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Unbelievably delicious!!! I needed a gluten free wedding cake and was wowed at the tasting and truly amazed at the final cake that we enjoyed (and are still enjoying!!!). Of course the decorations were beautiful and amazing but what matters with the cake is the taste and none of my guests could believe that I was giving them gluten free!!!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My guests are still talking about how great that cake was! It was everything I could have asked for.
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fluffy Thoughts is the official bakery of the Renaissance Mayflower Hotel, where our wedding was held. I can see why they would be chosen as the official bakery! They were wonderful to work with and our cake was not only beautiful and elegant but absolutely delicious! The cake tasting was so much fun, they were very accommodating with the appointment time and amazing with our daughter that came with us. I also really love that we can go pick up a small cake on our one year anniversary. I think that is such a fun, sweet touch! They also have cupcakes in their shop and I can't wait until I'm back up in the area to go get a few!
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fluffy Thoughts was very flexible and professional. We asked for a cake that they created previously that was featured in Washingtonian magazine and our cake turned out prettier in person than it was in the picture. I would absolutely recommend using Fluffy Thoughts. Not only was our cake beautiful but it was also delicious! They are so talented. I am going to use them for a party this fall. Lara and her team are fabulous!
Wedding: 06/08/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding was this past weekend and the cake made by Fluffy Thoughts was so beautiful, from the white, pleated design to the gorgeous purple flowers! The design of our cake was quite complicated and apparently took the decorator two days to complete, so my husband and I are very appreciative of the hard work! As for the taste, people are still talking to us about how good it was and my husband has been eating leftovers all week. Thank you again!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fantastic desserts for the wedding. We did a cupcake tower and pastries on the table. Many compliments received!!
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Fluffy Thoughts for our wedding cake and our wedding favors (french macarons!). They were an absolute delight to work with! Our cake tasting experience was so fun and delicious and the finished product was absolutely wonderful. They recreated a picture of a cake that I found online and it was spot-on, down to the last detail. The french macarons were also delicious and pretty; we had lots of compliments on our favors. Lara and her team were very easy to work with and were very responsive! I would absolutely recommend Fluffy Thoughts for any cake needs!
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 703-942-5538
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0