Fluffy Thoughts Cakes
    307 Reviews
1320 Old Chain Bridge Road
Mc Lean, VA 22101  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free, Vegan
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake...
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (307)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
First of all, nowhere else will you have such a fun cake tasting! Visiting Fluffy Thoughts was hands down my favorite part of the wedding planning process. We couldn't even finish all the cake samples they had. Our cake was beautiful, and it was exactly the design we asked for. Oh, and it doesn't hurt that it was literally the tastiest cake we tasted! Several guests told me after the wedding it was the best wedding cake they'd ever had (we think the same, obviously). What was especially nice was the wide selection of fillings - it was a nice touch to have flavors we hadn't seen anywhere else.
Sarah & Myles
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They were extremely professional and everything looked and tasted wonderful! We loved it!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Unbelievably delicious!!! I needed a gluten free wedding cake and was wowed at the tasting and truly amazed at the final cake that we enjoyed (and are still enjoying!!!). Of course the decorations were beautiful and amazing but what matters with the cake is the taste and none of my guests could believe that I was giving them gluten free!!!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My guests are still talking about how great that cake was! It was everything I could have asked for.
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding was this past weekend and the cake made by Fluffy Thoughts was so beautiful, from the white, pleated design to the gorgeous purple flowers! The design of our cake was quite complicated and apparently took the decorator two days to complete, so my husband and I are very appreciative of the hard work! As for the taste, people are still talking to us about how good it was and my husband has been eating leftovers all week. Thank you again!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fantastic desserts for the wedding. We did a cupcake tower and pastries on the table. Many compliments received!!
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Fluffy Thoughts for our wedding cake and our wedding favors (french macarons!). They were an absolute delight to work with! Our cake tasting experience was so fun and delicious and the finished product was absolutely wonderful. They recreated a picture of a cake that I found online and it was spot-on, down to the last detail. The french macarons were also delicious and pretty; we had lots of compliments on our favors. Lara and her team were very easy to work with and were very responsive! I would absolutely recommend Fluffy Thoughts for any cake needs!
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This was the only part of the planning process my husband was excited for! He still talks about how tasty our cake was. The planning was great, such a unique tasting experience. We were able to try so many different combinations of cake, filling, and frosting. One of the cakes I had pinned from their site, they had just made that AM and they walked us back to the fridge to see it in real life! After we saw it, we had to have it. We were a bit distracted during the reception and only had a taste. The next day, my mom revealed she had snagged our cake slices from the table and saved them for us to eat! They were delicious even the next day. Overall - very professional, delicious cake and beautiful design!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fluffy Thoughts Cakes provided me with my dream wedding cake. During the tasting they were able to take both my vision, and the vision of my husband (which were completely different) and combine them into a classy, elegant, yet visually appealing cake that we both loved. The tasting itself was amazing, we got to try so many combinations of cake that we were able to customize our cake flavors to be exactly what we wanted. Fluffy Thoughts was also able to take the custom monogram that was on my invitations and put it on the cake, a personal touch that really added something extra. So many of my guests have told me the cake was wonderful and I fully agree!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
My daughter's first birthday cake was absolutely beautiful and delicious. Everyone loved it and thought it was very creative.
Thank you Fluffy Thoughts Cakes for the wonderful job you did.

SSV :-)
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Carla 7 Reviews
We went to several cake tastings trying to find the right vendor. Fluffy Thought's cake tasting went above and beyond everyone else. We tried a lot of bland/dry cakes and only one place held a candle to the cake from Fluffy Thoughts. But it wasn't just that the cake tasted good. It was the atmosphere of the tasting room, the timeliness, and most of all the professionalism. From the moment I sat down, pulled out pictures and described my cake, I knew they could make it happen. The other place the lady seemed hesitant while I was describing my vision and I didn't feel sure that she would make what I had in my head come to life. Fluffy Thoughts did that. Our cake looked SPECTACULAR. But the best part was that it tasted phenomenal as well!! We had the "adult" red velvet with chocolate ganache and we had the passionfruit cake. The passionfruit was the surprise hit of the party! The fondant was easy to work around and get to the tasty bits. The sugar flower that we had on the cake was so gorgeous and we're going to try and keep it it's so pretty!!

Fluffy Thoughts also did the grooms cake that we served at the Rehearsal Dinner. The cake was beyond words. We had a TARDIS cake with minions pulling at it. I think the cake got photographed more than we did that night. It was a work of art and it was honestly so sad to cut it.

For serving sizes, we had other desserts at the rehearsal dinner so we had about half the cake left even though we ordered for 50 people and had about 60 or so show up. The wedding cake (ordered for 150 and had about 148 at the wedding) every bite but the top tier was gone, so we now have the top tier in our freezer. Hopefully it will defrost well! I wouldn't have gone smaller on the wedding cake though because it looked so impressive at the size that it was. Especially with the fabulous pinspotting the cake got!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fluffy Thoughts is amazing! From the tasting to seeing the cake for the first time, we could not have been more pleased with their service and final product. I picked a cake design from their wedding book and it was even more beautiful in person. Great service, great cake and their designs are awesome-what more could you want! Plus they have lots of flavors to choose from-guests raved about the pistachio filling.
I have already lined them up to create a cake for a baby shower we are hosting so would highly recommend to anyone having a wedding in the DC area.
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Thank you so much for our wedding cake! The carrot cake was amazing and I got so many compliments on the strawberry icing in the white cake. Best wedding cake ever!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Fluffy Thoughts for our wedding cake (3-tiered cake and 1/2 sheet cake) with two different flavors. We wanted a girl scout cookie theme so we went with "Samoa" and "Thin Mint". It was honestly the best cake I've ever had and many of our guests said the same thing! The Italian meringue buttercream is just so light and fluffy and heavenly! It was so wonderful to work with them the whole time from the cake tasting all the way up until the wedding. They listened to what we wanted for a design and it came out to everything we asked for and more!
Wedding: 03/29/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the tasting, Lara and the Fluffy Thoughts team set themselves apart! Their cake was perfect, not too dense, not too sweet and we loved the variety of flavors. We enjoyed sampling the different cake/icing combos and we appreciated their creativity in making unique pairings.

They really listened to what we wanted design-wise, and when that vision changed a month before the wedding, they were happy to help us with a re-design! We had a 3-tier wedding cake for 110 guests and had 2 cake flavors: 'grown-up' red velvet with raspberry, cream cheese and dark chocolate ganache, and almond cake with hazelnut and coffee italian buttercream.

We received many compliments from our guests and highly recommend Fluffy Thoughts!
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
My cake turned out more beautiful than I could have imaged and it was delicious!! Fluffy Thoughts was wonderful to work with.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 703-942-5538
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0