Fluffy Thoughts Cakes
    326 Reviews
1320 Old Chain Bridge Road
Mc Lean, VA 22101  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free, Vegan
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake...
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (326)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Fluffy Thoughts Bakery is fantastic. My husband and I went to Fluffy Thoughts for our first and only cake tasting. Lara worked with us there and the tasting itself was heaven. I don't even like cake, but this cake rocked. My husband and I didn't know what we wanted- cupcakes or a cake. Lara worked with us to figure out the answer to that question. In the end we went with cupcakes. The cupcakes were moist and delicious. We chose four different flavors and they were all popular. People raved about them! I'd totally recommend using fluffy thoughts to anyone who appreciates great tasting cake.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved our Fluffy Thoughts cake! It looked exactly as we discussed at our consultation and tasted as good as we expected also! (One of our flavors was a cake version of a Twix bar - ask about it when you go in for your tasting!) And speaking of tastings, they run their tastings in a really fun and personalized way. They don't just leave you with pieces of pre-made cake like other places - they lead you through tasting different cake/frosting/filling combinations until you find the one you like the best. A delicious experience :) And along with being a reasonable value for this area, you also get a free cake on your first anniversary! Can't wait!
Wedding: 09/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The cake was beautiful and edible. Meaning even with all the gorgeous decorations every night was as good or better than the last. We had a vision, they made it come to life.
Wedding: 08/30/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Yum! The cake was beautiful and absolutely delicious! It was a custom job and we got so many compliments on it!
Wedding: 08/09/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We worked with Lara from Fluffy Thoughts for our cake for our wedding on August 9 and it was incredible! The tasting was thorough and everything was tasty. We had been to a number of other bakeries prior and found the quality of both the cake and the frosting to be superior at Fluffy Thoughts. The cake was moist and flavorful and the frosting was light and not overly sweet.

Once the tasting was over we knew we wanted to book and we knew the flavors, but we had no clue what we wanted the outside of the cake to look like. Lara was incredibly helpful in working with us to book without knowing the final design. Once we got close the wedding, she talked with me on the phone and emailed designs back and forth until we found the perfect look.

In addition to the wonderful flavors (I highly recommend the following combinations - almond cake w/hazelnut & coffee; and yellow cake with lemon curd, lemon butter cream, and French raspberry preserves), the design was beautiful. Take a look at the pictures in my profile. We requested a simple white cake designed with white peonies, orchids, and rose sugar flowers. The technique on the sugar flowers was top notch.

Many guests came up to me saying this was the best wedding cake they've tasted!

Wedding: 08/09/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely loved the cake that Lara made for us at Fluffy Thoughts! We were overwhelmed by the options and decisions that had to be made and so went into the tasting with Lara with a pretty blank slate. She provided us with many many options and while all of them were delicious, she also helped us decide based on the style of the event and the season. We ended up with a few layers of an unusual passion fruit, black berry and white cake and a few layers of more traditional red velvet. She was flexible in terms of making a small cake for the table and then allowing us to do a separate sheet cake to be cut in the back which brought down the cost and was easier for the caterer to deal with. The decoration, though, was by far the best part. Lara duplicated our intricate invitation theme right onto our cake. We received a lot of compliments on our creative and beautiful cake and thankfully had enough to bring home and enjoy in peace after the celebration. Thanks again Lara, so much!
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We got an amazing wedding cake and cupcakes from Fluffy Thoughts. We were looking for a bakery that would do buttercream frosting on a cake that was going to be outside in the DC area in August-maybe not the best plan but definitely the most delicious to our mind. From the beginning our experience with them was awesome. We had a great cake tasting with Lara-she made great recommendations based on our preferences. They sent us a very clear quote so that we knew what everything cost. Once we had our final numbers Fluffy Thoughts made it easy to adjust our order. They were terrific about confirming everything before hand so I was not concerned about anything other than looking great at the wedding! They delivered everything at the right time, set up was quick and professional and everything looked great and tasted even better. I recommend Fluffy Thoughts to everyone for any cake need-they're terrific.
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
the cake was perfect! the flavor, the texture, and oh my gosh the design... they are true artists and perfectionists! I was so happy.
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our daughter was married on August 1st and the cake was beautiful and exactly as she ordered. The taste was scrumptious. Everything they promised they delivered. Working with Lara was easy, the tasting was so much fun and so many choices. Whatever my daughter asked for it was not an issue for Fluffy Thoughts. They were wonderful to work with, delivery in DC was on time and perfect. They were professional and responsive to all of my daughters requests. They look forward to returning for their anniversary cake --thanks for a beautiful delectable dessert!
Wedding: 08/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cake was beautiful and tasted awesome! The tasting was amazing as well.
Wedding: 08/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wow! What a delicious, beautiful work of art we had as our wedding cake from Fluffy Thoughts. We were referred to Fluffy Thoughts by a cousin who had just had one of their cakes at a wedding at the Mayflower. When she described it as the best wedding cake she'd ever had, we had to check them out.

The tasting room at the Fluffy Thoughts bakery is comfortable and inviting and perfect for selecting exactly the flavors you want for your cakes. Lara, the owner, was patient and helpful as she suggested flavor combinations at our tasting appointment. She very artistically sketched out ideas for the appearance of the cake and helped us create the perfect cake for our tastes. At a follow up appointment, she was receptive to design changes and helped us come up with the design we liked within our budget.

One excellent thing they offer at Fluffy Thoughts is a free 1-year anniversary cake, so you don't have to save the top tier of your wedding cake in the freezer all year. Just make sure to inform your caterer that the entire cake should be served.
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved our cake from Fluffy Thoughts. The design we wanted was nothing special; it looked fine, but we weren't so concerned with the look. The taste, on the other hand, was outstanding! We got one tier in carrot and one in chocolate. The chocolate was fine but nothing special. The carrot cake was the best I've ever had (and it's my favorite kind of cake)! Price was reasonable and they were easy to work with.
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We were married over the 4th of July weekend in DC and I must say one of my favorite experiences from the planning was being able to sit with the creator of Fluffy Thoughts herself and sample the different wedding cakes. Every bite was incredible! Not necessarily all the flavors were fit for our wedding theme, but my taste buds never complained!! If you are torn between ideas let me try one out for you (Hazelnut Cake, with lemon curd with raspberry and cream cheese icing... Phenomenal!)
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
First of all, nowhere else will you have such a fun cake tasting! Visiting Fluffy Thoughts was hands down my favorite part of the wedding planning process. We couldn't even finish all the cake samples they had. Our cake was beautiful, and it was exactly the design we asked for. Oh, and it doesn't hurt that it was literally the tastiest cake we tasted! Several guests told me after the wedding it was the best wedding cake they'd ever had (we think the same, obviously). What was especially nice was the wide selection of fillings - it was a nice touch to have flavors we hadn't seen anywhere else.
Sarah & Myles
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They were extremely professional and everything looked and tasted wonderful! We loved it!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Unbelievably delicious!!! I needed a gluten free wedding cake and was wowed at the tasting and truly amazed at the final cake that we enjoyed (and are still enjoying!!!). Of course the decorations were beautiful and amazing but what matters with the cake is the taste and none of my guests could believe that I was giving them gluten free!!!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 703-942-5538
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0