Deering Estate at Cutler
16701 SW 72 Ave.
Miami, FL 33157  | map
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (24)   FAQ   Map    
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.2/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Gorgeous venue and professional events team. Comped our site visit as well as everyone for our rehearsal. We had planners from their preferred vendor list (Events on a Budget), so they knew the routine with what was acceptable and not as far as set up, noise, hours, etc. There are a lot of rules, for example I was surprised to learn you cannot drop flower petals (or anything for that matter), on the lawn/aisle. With such a stunning back drop for our ceremony we didn't mind sticking to the rules they have in place. They did allow set up of vintage furniture for cocktail hour and heat lamps for our dinner in the courtyard. Whenever we called they got back to us the same day, and were always pleasant!
Wedding: 01/25/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Janessa 6 Reviews
Gorgeous location!! My wedding was absolutely gorgeous!! Location is beautiful I had the reception by the water and reception inside.. Everyone loved the location. I got beautiful pictures.. Only one small issue is since the location is a historical site there is many rules and regulations.. Make sure you go over all rules before booking so you don't get any surprises... However despite the rules location and staff is great! If I had to do it over again I wouldn't change anything... I loved the location and was very happy with the venue for my reception!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Between the amazing weather, the beautiful view of the water, the stone house and the courtyard, I definitely had my fairytale wedding. The great part is, that in one location you technically have 3 different venues. I had my ceremony by the water, cocktail hour at the courtyard and reception in the stone house. All my guests were completely blown away!
Wedding: 03/30/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I first visited the Deering Estate back when I was touring my different wedding venues. It was my last stop for the day, after visiting a couple of country clubs. As soon as my mother, sister and I entered the gates to the estate our jaws immediately dropped and that is when I knew I had to get married there. The long walkway with the high tree canopy over it, the Stone House, the Richmond Cottage, the huge royal palms and view of Biscayne Bay made this place stand out so much. It just felt different than any other place. The Deering Estate is elegant, but not over the top and it has so much natural beauty that it really cannot be beat, and the views of the water make it a perfect waterfront location without sand! My guests still can't stop talking about how amazing of a place it was, and it is wonderful that you get the location to yourself for the evening. I knew I wanted a ceremony and reception location all in one, so that guests didn't have to drive somewhere in between and the deering estate was perfect. The transition from the lawn for the ceremony, to the porch and lawn for cocktail hour, to the courtyard (STUNNING) for the reception, and then inside the ballroom for dancing made it so perfect. This is the perfect place for a dream wedding!
Wedding: 03/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
awesome and luxurious place!! everything was amazing
Wedding: 02/02/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Few places are as beautiful and picturesque as The Deering Estate at Cutler. The views of the water, the regality of the house, the dance floor inside the mansion, the palmtree-lined walkways...I could go on and on. This place is hands-down one of the most beautiful locations in all South Florida to have a wedding. Book early because a lot of other brides think this way as well!!!
Wedding: 10/12/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Deering is absolutely beautiful! It is a bit pricey and they do have a lot of rules, but absolutely worth the breathtaking views and grounds. The bathrooms could use a little sprucing up, but I absolutely recommend this venue if you are looking for a unique, beautiful space. Other than Vizcaya, there is nothing else that even comes close.
Wedding: 04/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Deering Estate is such a beautiful location. Jenna is awesome to work with and very helpful.
Wedding: 02/25/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The venue is beautiful. I received many compliments from my guests.
Wedding: 02/11/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Deering is a great venue for the wedding. Jenna was very flexible in meeting some last minute preparations. The grounds were clean and very well maintained. The walk to where the ceremony is a bit long, but otherwise the premises are amazing. Deering does has some restrictions regarding the reception so it is important to read the guidelines. All in all, Deering is a beautiful place to have a wedding and captures the great essence of the Biscayne Bay.
Wedding: 01/28/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  0.5
The deering estate is probably one of the most beautiful places to have your wedding. I personally had my reception in the courtyard and it was a dream come true! Nevertheless, they have many restrictions, such as not being able to put poles to put lights or orbs, there cannot be any open flames, and you cannot put petals on the floor. These are just a few of the many restrictions they impose on you, if you are planning to go with them, just make sure you are aware of the restrictions before you make your final decision.
Wedding: 01/08/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Deering Estate is such a gorgeous place! it couldnt have been more perfect for my romantic wedding. We had many out of town guest so I wanted them to experience the beauty of Miami with all of the palm trees and water. People are still talking about how gorgeous the venue was and how hey felt like they were in a beautiful villa. I'm happy with my decision to have my wedding here but I must say the wedding planning was so stressful because the list of rules was pages and pages long...some of the rules were understandable and some completely rediculous. Not allowing music outside or uplighting inside were some that I really had a struggle with. Another negative was that one of the guards was very rude at the end of the wedding...the dj went over the end time by a couple of minutes because the guest encouraged him to play one more song and the guard basically made a scene having the dj turn off all music mid song. He couldve been more discrete about it or just waited 1 more minute for the song to be over.
Wedding: 11/05/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Those Deering Brothers sure knew how to live large. While James was importing Italian marble for his little winter cottage, Vizcaya, brother Charles was building this sprawling bayside mansion. The 1922 estate included…
When me and my formally Fiancé visit the Venue, We knew this was going to be our venue!! The staff was the best.
Wedding: 10/21/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.9 out of 5.0
1.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  0.5
deeding its beautiful however, the management team does not do a good job at maintaining the place or taking care of issues that are brought up before weddings, the mosquito, wasps situation in deeding its horrible and management doesn't care about it. they also are constantly changing the rules and days before the event you need to change your plans. the best about deeding its how beautiful it is.
Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wedding at Deering was incredible. I first went to Deering when I was 12 or 13 with my father, an attorney, for a bar association event. I remember how beautiful it was in this rustic, majestic, old Florida sort of way. I decided then and there that Deering was where I wanted to get married. My own wedding day was far more beautiful than that evening and far more magical than anything I had imagined.

While many brides I talk to have always had Viscaya on their minds as a number one choice, I think the Deering's smaller size and history made the affair a bit more intimate. Also, because it is rustic and natural beauty, rather than brilliant chandelier sparkle beauty, our decor really looked spectacular and was not overshadowed by the venue.

The staff at Deering was incredibly accommodating in terms of flexing their normal rules to suit my vision of the wedding.

I have talked to some brides that were concerned with the shabby bathrooms (it is a public park owned and operated by Miami Dade County), but we handled that by ensuring they were clean, that each bathroom was appropriately decorated with our flowers and offered a nice collection of soaps, lotions, hairspray, etc. so that it had a nicer feel for guests.

We had the ceremony outside facing the water despite warnings that it had rained earlier in the day and the grass may be flooded. I decided to risk the possibility of additional rain and have the ceremony on the grass but set back a little farther than where we had planned (the grass was still a little wet). We were in luck, it did not rain and the ceremony was beautiful. It was at 5:45 in September and a little warm so we gave all the guests fans and lemonade basil drinks. The pictures show amazing yellow light falling down behind my father and I as we walked down the aisle.

I highly recommend this venue to anyone considering it. Another nice thing with selecting this venue is the fact that the funds spent go back to Miami Dade Public Parks.
Wedding: 09/24/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
I dreamed of getting married here since I was a small child and my dream came true. It is a beautiful location and the amazing views are practically uncomparable. There was a change in coordinators after I booked the event. There were some promises made to me that were not fufilled but I learned my lesson and next time I will get everything in writing! The new coordinator did try very hard to accomodate some of the requests though. Regardless the wedding turned out beautifully and was everything I had dreamed of and more. My guests came from all over the US and were floored by the beautiful venue. The value is a little off because there are other venues in South Florida in the same class and price range but offer much more amenities. Nevertheless it is worth every penny spent and it is a histirical site so you can expect to pay a little more than average.
Wedding: 07/23/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 305-235-1668
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0