Blend Make-up Artistry
Specializing in flawless and romantic bridal airbrush make-up.
    116 Reviews
DC 20001  | map
Services: Makeup
Consultations: Yes
Large groups: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (116)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am obsessed with Marquia! She does incredible work and will make you feel like a princess leading up to and on your wedding day. She is very sweet and pleasant to be around, she works quickly, and she has lots of little tricks up her sleeve. I think the two best things she did on my big day were the expertly applied and very natural looking false lashes, and of course the airbrush makeup, which she was also generous enough to use to hide a prominent scar in the middle of my back. I received so many compliments on my makeup and that I looked "radiant," "glowing," and "stunning." I owe a lot of that to Marquia because I had been battling some hormonal acne, my eyes were still swollen from an emotional rehearsal dinner the night before, and I had not gotten nearly enough sleep when I sat in her chair. She will transform you, in the best way possible! I looked at several other makeup artists in the area and am confident that Blend will give you the best value for the level of artistry you are getting as well.
Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Brittany 7 Reviews
We used Blend for our wedding day make-up needs for me, my six bridesmaids, my mother, and my flower girl. Kathy was awesome! All of the girls have extremely different styles. She understood the look that all of us were going for and at the same time managed to make sure that they all looked like they belonged together. I cannot say enough about how much everyone enjoyed having Kathy do their make-up!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathy was absolutely amazing! I was a little worried because I'm not used to wearing makeup, but when we first met at my trial session, Kathy was so incredibly nice and friendly that she immediately put me at ease, and her encouraging words made me feel a lot more confident. I also emailed her a few days before the wedding with some adjustments that I wanted on my wedding day look, and she was very professional and accommodating to my requests. On the day of the wedding, I absolutely LOVED my makeup and was ecstatic at how natural and beautiful it turned out. The airbrush makeup made my skin look flawless all day, and I was especially amazed at Kathy's talent on my eye makeup (I have Asian monolids). Kathy also did a fantastic job on my bridesmaids, my mother, and my husband's mother, and she was very patient with all of them as they asked for adjustments and touch-ups. I am so thankful to Kathy for making me look beautiful on my wedding day, and I highly recommend her!
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot recommend Blend Make-up and Marquia enough. All of my girls looked beautiful and I've had a few people ask who did our make up. She is so personable and it was wonderful and relaxing to have her there on our wedding day. You can't go wrong with Blend Make-Up and ask for Marquia!
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
My original hair and makeup vendor canceled on my 10 days before my wedding. A friend highly recommended Marquia and her team and I called her in a panic to see if they could step in. Luckily, Ryan was available on short notice and was basically my beauty godmother.
Although I work as a makeup artist on the side, I didn’t want to deal with the hassle and stress of doing my own make up. I am difficult to work with because I am incredibly picky and I have monolids, but Ryan was able to create the exact look I had always imagined and glammed up my entire bridal party too. She definitely exceeded my expectations!

I can’t thank Blend enough for being such an awesome team, for being able to take me and my bridal party on such short notice, and for being the only make up team that I can trust in the DMV.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Blend was the best! Kathy did the most beautiful job on me, my five bridesmaids, my mother, and my mother-in-law. She is extremely talented and her warm personality set everybody at ease. I received many compliments on how stunning my bridal party looked. I would highly recommend her and Blend to other brides!
Wedding: 05/24/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I'm so happy I went with Marquia as my engagement picture and wedding make-up artist! Not only did she do a fantastic job applying make-up on my girls and I, but she is so sweet and down to earth and had a great time with us the morning of the wedding! My bridesmaids, mother in law and myself all have different skin types, colors and personal styles and Marquia was able to tailor her techniques to fit each of us. Marquia was recommended to me by a friend whose wedding she did the year before and I would definitely recommend her as well!! Thank you, Marquia!!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
You guys were so nice and did a fabulous job on everyone's makeup for the wedding! We all felt beautiful! Thanks so much for being prompt and professional!
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 9 Reviews
What an amazing artist to be able to transform not only the bride into an image of perfection on her wedding day ( she's young and pretty to start)…but you also produced the same magic for the aunts and mothers. You made us look lovely and feel lovely! You have beautiful technique but you also possess that illusive quality to know what works best with different skin and faces, to bring out the best in each individual. And you are such fun to work with…would love to do it again! We all looked our best thank to Katherine! We highly recommend you.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I used Blend on the recommendation of a few friends who had used their services, so I was excited to use them because I knew they did good work. Unfortunately (for me), I was getting married the same weekend that Ryan was getting married, so I wasn't able to use the original person I had planned on. BUT, that worked out just fine because Amanda was WONDERFUL. My wedding day make up was absolutely perfect, and she made my bridesmaids and mom look wonderful. She listened to what I asked for, and wanted to change from our make up trial, and it worked out beautifully. My make up lasted all day and I got so many compliments! I highly recommend Blend!
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I went with Blend for my wedding this past weekend and am so glad that I did! As someone who is a bit challenged when it comes to cosmetics (what's contouring?), Amanda was a god-send. All throughout the trial, she explained what she was doing and why and was really open to hearing any changes that I wanted to make for day-of. All my communications with her were handled promptly and so professionally - she told me that she left her house an hour early on the day of my wedding in case of any traffic just to make sure that she arrived on time! Amanda is also so personable and sweet that my bridesmaids and I felt very comfortable with her and each of us enjoyed our time in the make-up chair.

The make-up looked and felt great - never cakey or overdone. Amanda is a really talented artist who knows how to accentuate features and compliment skin tones. Most importantly, the make-up STAYED ON; I danced (and sweated) for hours at the reception and in every picture that I have seen so far - professional or iPhone quality - everything still looks fabulous.

Thanks so much, Amanda!!
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Marquia totally made my wedding day amazing! From my makeup trial to the actual wedding day, she was prompt, attentive, responsive, complimentary, and efficient. She made my mother feel so special and made me feel like a queen! I would recommend her to anyone needing their makeup done for any reason!
Wedding: 01/18/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alexandra 1 Reviews
Ryan provided not only makeup services for me and 6 bridesmaids, MOH, MOB and a few others within a few hours she also was the most professional, kind, and calming person in the midst of all the hectic getting ready process! Ryan made my girls and myself feel like princesses, and I could not have been more pleased with how everyone looked! We went for a Gatsby look for my winter wedding with smokey cat eyes, and some with a dark lip, some with a lighter lip. I went for a more traditional Barbie look; Ryan was able to make each girls best features stand out and took the time to make everyone look and feel their best! I would recommend Ryan and Blend events to anyone wanting to look absolutey perfect on their wedding day! I can't wait to use her again for other special events!
Wedding: 12/27/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathy was my artist from Blend Make-up and I have to start this review by saying this: Bar none, she blew me out of the water with her level of skill, friendliness, and professionalism.

She is typically a make-up artist in Maryland, but flew all the way to New Orleans, Louisiana and stayed in the same hotel as I did so that she could do my make-up as well as my 6 bridesmaids and my mother & fiance's mother in my hotel room. All at my request! I never bothered with a make-up trial run, but rather let her take complete control. I told her about my dress and how I planned to do my hair, and we came up with a beautiful, classic, vintage look that made me feel timeless and elegant.

I cannot say enough kind words about Kathy and Blend Makeup. I will guarantee that you will want to adopt her into your family not only because she is an amazing makeup artist, but also the sweetest lady you could ever have the pleasure of working with. Even if you are not getting married in Maryland or Louisiana, she is willing to travel and I highly recommend Blend and would not have trusted my face with anyone else.
Wedding: 12/20/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had a great experience with Blend!! My makeup artist I booked in January 2013 cancelled in September, two months before wedding. I found Blend and was very pleased with their reviews and pictures. They were easy to book and very professional. I had a trial with one artist that didnt work with what I was looking for and they were very good with getting me another one that fit my style!

Amanda did my makeup and some of bridesmaids and mother. She is awesome and was exactly what i was looking for when it came to looking like myself and not too "cakey". I got lots of compliments on my makeup as well as my bridesmaids!!! Would recomend her 100 percent. She knew exactly what she was doing and was very professional and I got the look I wanted:)
Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you had to pick someone to have around on your wedding day that you didn't know very well, someone to hang with your closest friends, you would pick Marquia. She's so cool, so low key, so fun - she's great to spend the day with. She can talk to anyone who is a room, and make everyone feel comfortable.

Oh right, make-up. She made everyone look beautiful. No surprise. But what was amazing is how many different looks she can do. My bridesmaids ranged from me: "I never wear make-up and please just make me look like me;" to my super artsy friend "Super dramatic punk rock" - it all looked spectacular and perfect. No one had a complaint. Everyone looked great and felt great. I love Marquia. You will, too.
Wedding: 11/10/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
 202-556-3318
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0