Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel
    112 Reviews
30 Trevanion Road
Taneytown, MD 21787  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (112)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I HIGHLY recommend the Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel to anyone planning a wedding. Our wedding coordinator, Trish, was on top of her game from the planning to running the rehearsal to making sure that everyone was right where they were supposed to be the entire day of the wedding. The food is incredible, the property is gorgeous, the rooms are awesome, and the entire place is like a fairytale setting. The staff is exceptional, and you can't get the organization and professionalism for that price anywhere else. As a bride planning the entire event from California, I am very thankful for Trish. She did such a wonderful job and we owe her so much. My husband and I already want to go back! Such a wonderful venue, I can't praise them enough.
Wedding: 10/10/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This venue is absolutely beautiful. We were going for a vintage/garden theme with our wedding so this definitely fit all of the requirements. Our guest could not stop complimenting on how beautiful the venue was. And that our wedding was the best they've ever been to. I highly recommend staying at the venue in one of the mansion bedrooms. We had the mansion booked for the whole weekend for our parents and the wedding party. This allowed us to have breakfast together every morning and for everyone to already be at the venue for the rehearsal dinner. The food was excellent. Best food I've had in a really long time. Definitely not your typically bland wedding food. We'll definitely be booking this venue to celebrate our future anniversaries.
Wedding: 10/05/2014
Services Used: Catering, Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough about Antrim 1844 and the wonderful experience we had for my daughter's recent wedding. Everything from the venue, staff, rooms, and catering were 100% top notch. Our coordinator Elizabeth F was truly a lifesaver and just made sure everything was perfect that day from setting up the reception to the minute by minute details of the day. She was amazing. Having everything in one place is wonderful. I would highly recommend the Antrim to anyone looking for the best wedding venue in Maryland.
Thank you - One Happy Mother of the Bride (J)
Wedding: 07/04/2014
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot imagine changing a single thing about my wedding day. The food is absolutely amazing and as I went around to greet each table all the guests were talking about. Beth made everything go so smoothly. She always responds to your emails and is willing to do whatever she can to make your day effortless and yours! The one thing everyone kept talking about after the wedding was how nice all the staff was and the only regret our parents had was not staying at Antrim for longer because it was so worth it! Greg the one who sets up your bar is also willing to work with you and so personable. I could go on and on and on but the bottom line is Antrim is he perfect place to have a wedding and I am so glad we chose them as our venue!
Wedding: 06/20/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Antrim 1844 was the perfect wedding venue. Everything went smoothly, from the first meeting to the day after the event. The space was beautiful and required minimal outside decorations. The staff was incredibly nice, helpful, and accommodating. Not only did they meet the needs of my bride and I, but they were responsive and helpful to family and guests!

Beth, our coordinator, was outstanding. She seriously is worth the price of admission alone. She was responsive to my wife's emails at all times. She also provided a guiding hand where needed, offering experienced and expert advice in the planning stages. She was able to clearly state what the various options and charges were as well, and many of my guests commented on her unobtrusive direction on the day of the ceremony.

The food was very good, and for the price better than other venues that offer on-site catering. It was very fresh, having been prepared in the on-site kitchen, rather than shipped from somewhere else. The menu options were fantastic as well.

The single regret I heard from my guests was that more of them wished they booked rooms at the onsite bed and breakfast, rather than nearby hotels. The ones who did stay onsite were incredibly satisfied by the excellent rooms and service they experienced the day after the ceremony.
Wedding: 06/20/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I held my reception at Antrim in July 2014. It was truly the location of my dreams. I was drawn to Antrim for several reasons: The STUNNING manicured gardens, the bountiful and colorful flowers, the one stop shop all-inclusive venue coordination, the ability for our guests to spend the night, the fact that they host one wedding per day, the ability for our guests to roam around the grounds rather than be stuck in one room, and finally, the hospitality of the venue.

The wedding day was magical. The only thing I wish for is that we could have had more time in the day. We felt totally taken care of and all of our personal touches were executed perfectly. In example, we set up a sangria bar with the restaurant manager, Greg. Our guests RAVED about them! We also gave detailed instructions on how our decor should be set up; Each instruction was followed to the "T". The food was just as delicious as it was on our tasting day.

There were a few hiccups along the way, however. I had arranged in advance to pay for my parents to accompany my fiance and I to the tasting, but the server handed my parents the check, with their tabs included, and asked them to remember to tip on the full amount. I was horrified. But, the situation was immediately resolved after speaking with my coordinator and Greg. There was also a grumpy front desk staff member that was less than kind to my parents the night of the wedding when they asked for an extra blanket. It was just so weird to meet these people at Antrim because EVERYONE else was just so perfect and an ace at customer service! A couple of bad eggs could not ruin our experience, though!

In the end, I would not hesitate to hold my reception at Antrim again. I wish I could get stuck in a wedding purgatory, where I could do it over and over again :). My fiance and I look forward to returning there on our anniversaries.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We planned our wedding remote from TX. We flew into MD in March to walk through the snowy grounds trying to picture what it would look like in June. Our original wedding planner left for a new job a month or so later but Trish stepped in and was marvelous. We were able to drop ship some decorations and she was great at keeping us all on time on the day of the wedding. The location, grounds and 6-course meal were incredible. We highly recommend the open bar and wine service. The hotels pastry chef, Monique, made us a to die-for custom gluten free coconut cake! Every guest loved it. We had a small wedding, 11 total guests, so we were able to take advantage of dining in the wine cellar. Gorgeous! We hired the maintenance crew to string the lights and lanterns in the big tree in the shade garden where we had the ceremony and they even took then down and shipped everything back to us.
All in all, a picture perfect day!
All our guests felt like they were at a celebrity wedding.
Wedding: 06/05/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The entire staff of Antrim 1844 and our wonderful wedding coordinator, Beth Pumphrey, gave my husband and I the wedding of our dreams. The grounds were beautiful, the staff hospitable, and the food was amazingly delicious. Beth made sure that no detail was overlooked and was extremely flexible as we planned our wedding from out of town. She was very patient throughout the planning process and her calm, cool, and collected personality kept me relaxed on the big day. Beth was extremely knowledgeable and had so many amazing tips and ideas. I felt totally confident going into our wedding day knowing that she was our coordinator. We'd also like to thank Antrim's restaurant manager, Greg Watson, who made sure that we had the perfect bar choices to accompany our menu. Everyone at Antrim was extremely professional, helpful, and knowledgeable. We have received so many compliments and cannot thank you enough for making our dream wedding a reality!
Wedding: 05/30/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We visited Antrim after seeing it advertised in a bridal magazine - thinking that there was no way we could afford it. We were paying for the wedding on our own so good value was very important to us. I fell in love with the grounds immediately and upon receiving a proposal, realized that the cost was completely reasonable for everything that Antrim includes! No rental fee, a wedding coordinator (ours was Elizabeth who was completely AMAZING), food, drinks, a complimentary bridal suite...the list goes on and on.

Prior to the wedding, everyone told me, "Something will go wrong on your wedding day." At Antrim - NOTHING went wrong. And if it did, the staff made sure to fix it without us noticing!! Our guests continue to tell us how amazing the service was. They rave about the food. They keep commenting on the beauty of the grounds and the uniqueness of the rooms on the property. Everyone was completely blown away by Antrim and its staff.

One word of advice - there are a few wedding coordinators and any bride can "reserve" rooms on the property at any time. If you know you want to reserve rooms on the Antrim grounds for the big day (which I HIGHLY recommend), do it ASAP! You have flexibility up to a few weeks before the wedding date, so reserve as many rooms as you think you will need. This was the only hiccup in our entire wedding planning and unfortunately it was one that our coordinator could do nothing about. We were still able to accommodate all of our out of town guests regardless!

I would recommend Antrim 1844 to ANYONE looking for a unique wedding venue. There are so many options for ceremony/reception/rehearsal locations - it really makes you feel like your wedding is unique - which it is! They far exceeded our expectations in every aspect of our wedding and we have wonderful memories because of it.
Wedding: 05/23/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nicole 3 Reviews
My husband and I literally had a perfect wedding! The venue was beautiful, the food was excellent, the staff was amazing, and our coordinator, Elizabeth Fortier, could not have been more helpful and professional. BEST WEDDING EVER!
Wedding: 05/18/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Angie 3 Reviews
Our wedding at the Antrim 1844 was amazing! All the guests loved the property grounds, mansion and ballroom. Everyone said it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding! By far the best wedding venue around! Yes, it can seem pricey... But for the services and atmosphere, you just can't beat it. Our wedding coordinator was Beth Pumphrey. We LOVED her! From the first time my husband and I went to the Antrim to meet her, to the day after the wedding, we felt like she really cared about making our wedding day the best day of our lives! Don't think twice about the Antrim, just book it!
Wedding: 05/09/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We had an incredible experience at the Antrim. Many of our guests stayed overnight at the Antrim and are still raving about their experience. It was a beautiful wedding and weekend.

The planning was fantastic, the chefs worked with us to create a menu that worked best for our guests and our tastes, and the wedding planners made sure everything was organized with the logistics. We ended up working with 2 different coordinators, as one received a promotion during our planning. The transition was smooth and seamless and Elizabeth did an amazing job making sure that our day was beautiful. The biggest complement that we could give was that they actually cared. We were able to build relationships during our planning process and they made us feel that we were not 'another wedding' but that they truly cared about making it wonderful. They really took care of everything!!

The food was delicious, the staff was incredible, and the grounds are fantastic. We would highly recommend having your wedding at the Antrim - they will work with you no matter how small/simple or elaborate you are looking for.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Antrim! First of all, I'm a research freak when it comes to making big decisions, and I had a specific view of how much money I wanted to spend as well as what I wanted to for the surroundings. Antrim satisfied everything. With a full bar (wine, beer, and alcohol) included in the price as well as the venue fee included, Antrim was the best value for our budget.

Beth was our wedding coordinator, and she was extremely responsive, clear, and very helpful with any questions or ideas I had. She made sure the wedding party felt comfortable with how to enter the ceremony and what to do after, and she covered details that never would have occurred to me. Even when it came to the day of the wedding, and I had to choose between having the ceremony indoors or outdoors based on the weather forecast, Beth was very accommodating when I changed my mind two hours before the wedding. Months after, we're still receiving compliments on the food served at the wedding and the setting. People were blown away by the quality of the food and how appetizers kept coming throughout cocktail hour.

Included in the wedding package is a free night at Antrim for the bride and groom on the night of the wedding, and even that was amazing. The room was beautiful, and the staff made sure to have a whole pie (we had pie instead of cake for dessert), chocolate-covered strawberries, a bottle of wine for me, and a martini for my husband waiting in the room after the wedding. In the morning, we were served coffee, muffins, and fruit directly to the room.

If I had to choose again, I would not hesitate to pick Antrim for our venue and caterer. The people were helpful, friendly, and attentive, and my husband and I are looking forward to spending our one-year anniversary in their restaurant and rooms. Thanks so much to everyone!!!
Wedding: 04/11/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nicole 6 Reviews
What can I say - there's no way that I would have had such a classy and beautiful wedding at such an affordable price without having it at Antrim. I can't begin to describe how easy it was to plan the wedding with Delynn, our wedding planner at Antrim. She was on top of everything, gave us a timeline to help us stay on track, and made sure that she knew exactly what we wanted from our experience at Antrim. The chef was very accommodating and cooked things that were off the menu. They also organized everyone who was in the wedding party so when it came time to walk down the aisle and be introduced by the dj during the reception, we didn't have to scramble to look for anyone. They also set up the reception for us with the plans that we gave them and helped take everything down at the end. This is the place that you want to have your wedding at - beautiful location, delicious food, and responsive staff!!
Wedding: 04/06/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our winter wedding (ceremony and reception) at the Antrim 1844, and it was AMAZING. Elizabeth, our wedding coordinator, worked with me for a year while we planned the wedding. She handled everything on the day of and everything went perfectly. Beautiful venue, and our guests couldn't get over how romantic and beautiful the setting was!
Wedding: 12/27/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We recently had our daughter's wedding at the Antrim 1844 Country Hotel and it was a wonderful experience from start to finish! It is a spectacular venue and Elizabeth Fortier, our wedding coordinator was extremely professional and gracious to work with, handling every detail to our satisfaction and far beyond. The new Chef, Spencer Wolff, helped our daughter and her fiancee craft a menu for the cocktail hour and wedding dinner that was absolutely delicious. Many of our guests said it was the best food that they had ever had at a wedding. All the staff were helpful and well-trained. We looked at other venues and The Antrim 1844 was by far the best and an extremely good value for everything that is included. We would give it many more stars than 5 if we could!
Wedding: 12/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 410-756-6812
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0