Above & Beyond Catering
1321 Burlington Street STE 700
Kansas City, MO 64116  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors...
Bar services: Limited Bar, Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium...
Maximum capacity: 2000
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (18)   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Elizabeth 2 Reviews
Above and Beyond Catering was wonderful and we received so many compliments on the food and presentation after the wedding. Roxanne was great to work with and very quick to respond to emails and phone calls. I would recommend this business to anyone looking for high quality food and professional catering for their event .
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Above & Beyond was wonderful to work with both before and during our wedding reception. They were the only caterer in Kansas City I could find that listed their pricing on their Web site - financial transparency is very important to me! I appreciated everything they did to make our wedding food exactly what my husband and I wanted at a very reasonable price. To top it off, the food was outrageously good. We had so many compliments after the reception.......still getting them to this day. We couldn't have chosen a better caterer.
Wedding: 08/16/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The name of this caterer - Above & Beyond - says it all. The staff went out of their way to make our event everything we wanted. We were working within a budget, and they kept that in mind while providing unique and delicious items. Every member of the staff were professional and caring, making sure that each detail was handled before and during our event. Patrice and her staff took the stress out of all things related to our menu, as well as set-up, tear down, keeping guests happy, and making sure that we (the bride and groom) had something to eat before the evening got away from us. They even responded to some food allergy restrictions without any additional charges or irritations. We want to tell everyone we know about how wonderful this group was.
Wedding: 08/11/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Roxanne and her staff did a great job at our reception. The service was excellent and professional all the way. All our guests highly complimented the food, even the sides got rave reviews! Her staff did an excellent job arranging all the tables according to the layout Roxanne and I had previously discussed. She was very helpful and knowledgeable about how to make best use of the hallway and receiving area near the main reception hall without compromising traffic flow and guest enjoyment. She was flexible and helpful in working around several serious food allergies we had to consider in our menu planning.


We served fruit and vegetable trays (you must request the red pepper dip!) with goat cheese and cucumber canapés. Our main course consisted of chicken breasts in a lemon caper sauce and flat iron steak with a whiskey sauce. Fantastic! Even better than they were at the tasting! The sauce on the chicken was perfect, the beef was so moist you would never imagine it had to travel over an hour outside town to our venue. The green beans were sweet and crisp, the roasted potatoes perfectly browned. After a long day we were very excited to sit down to dinner but this was even better than we’d imagined.

As I mentioned above, the service was excellent. Glasses were filled and plates cleared, the staff were on top of everything. Roxanne was very good with details, even providing an ice bucket and setting up the complimentary bottle of champagne our venue provided for our toast. I would highly recommend using Above & Beyond, excellent food with a professional staff and quality service to back it up.
Wedding: 07/14/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I worked with Patrice, and she was so nice and helpful. She always responded to my emails/questions right away. Everyone was so impressed with the food - people have continued to make comments even after the wedding about how good the food was.
Wedding: 03/10/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Absolutely amazing! We worked with Patrice, who impressed us from day one with her professionalism. She even helped us by creating dishes for our vegetarian guest and our diabetic guest. Our guests universally raved about the food!
Wedding: 11/27/2010
Services Used: Catering
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Above and Beyond Catering sort of let me down. I did not have an awful experience but there were a couple of things that I was not pleased with and I expected more. First of all, the tasting was AMAZING! So when I had the food at the wedding and some of it was cold or undercooked I was embarrassed. Also, I buffered my final count by about 15 people and I know they build in a buffer too to make sure that there is plenty of food. Because I've been to too many weddings where there isn't enough food and I hate that. So I was surprised again when I found out the next day there was absolutely no food left. I was also told that there would be a to-go plate made for the groom and me since we probably wouldn't get the chance to eat much and we got nothing. And then the straw that broke the camel’s back was the fact that they did NOT cut the groom's cake at all. So I did not get any of my wedding cake (except for little taste when you take a bite in front of everyone) and there was a whole entire groom's cake leftover. The groom's cake was provided by a different vendor but it had been previously discussed that this would be cut along with the wedding cake. I was extremely disappointed about this.
Now, there were good things about Above & Beyond. Roxanne is super nice to work with. She seemed to really care about what I wanted (unfortunately that didn't seem to be the case in the end). All of the wait staff was nice and helpful on the day of. They did a spectacular job of setting up and decorating the buffet area. It looked fabulous. Maybe it was just an off night for them because I really thought it would be a better company to work with. I would be leery to hire them again for an event.
Wedding: 10/30/2010
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wonderful!! Great decision to go with Above and Beyond Catering. We had so many compliments on the food at our reception. Absolutely no complaints!! Very friendly and easy to work witn!
Wedding: 10/23/2010
Services Used: Catering
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Above and Beyond Catering for our 260-guest wedding in July. We had a fruit and cheese appetizer station for our guests while we were taking photos, and then a heavy appetizer buffet once we arrived at the reception. I still have wedding guests telling me that it was the best food they've ever had at a reception, and i have to agree with them. Everything was absolutey delicious--even better than what we had at our original tasting. I just wish I'd had time to go back for a second plate! There was also a kids buffet that went over quite well with all the little nieces, nephews and cousins. The staff was incredibly professional and everything was presented beautifully. They even went out of their way to bring out food for a few guests who arrived late, after the buffet had been taken down. I would definitely recommend Above and Beyond to anyone looking for a caterer.
Wedding: 07/10/2010
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Above and Beyond Catering provided the food for our daughter's wedding in June, 2010. OUr meetings with Roxanne were great; she listened to our questions and we felt extremely comfortable with her. The food was delicious and presented beautifully. Our guests complimented our choices. Every item from the fruit and vegetable appetizers to the chicken and london broil, horseradish mashed potatoes (yummy!) were all done perfectly. We recommend Roxanne and Above and Beyond Catering highly!
Wedding: 06/05/2010
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
AB catering did a great job with our reception! We got lots of compliments on our food and Patrice was so great to work with! She was fun and had tons of energy which is great on your wedding day. She made sure to take extra special care of us and even sent us home with snacks for later in the night!
Wedding: 05/29/2010
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Food was delicious and they went the extra mile to make us happy.
Wedding: 10/17/2009
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The catering service was amazing!! The food was excellent, and we received so many compliments from our guests!
Wedding: 10/10/2009
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fabulous. Delicious. Innovative.

We have been to a lot of weddings in the Kansas City area and there is no other catering service that compares to Above & Beyond. The Above & Beyond team helped us create a custom menu and were able to make one that was absolutely incredible. Our guests are still commenting on the food! Even more, the service that Above & Beyond provided is unmatched. Catering is such an important part of any large event and Above & Beyond is truly what their name promises.
Wedding: 08/08/2009
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
You get what you pay for, that goes for most things in life....... ABOVE AND BEYOND CATERING did and exceptional job at our May 15, 2009 Wedding at Club 1000. They where everything I expected and more. The food was fantastic, the service was exceptional, and the staff was more than willing to help and do in any way! I can not even express my gratitude to above and beyond for everything that they did for Louie and I! All of our guests could not get over how great the food was, and the staff was rite there taking up the dishes when the were finished! I am in the "service" industry myself and expect great service!!!! A big thank you goes to ROXY and MEL
Wedding: 05/15/2009
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My guests all raved about my food - what more could you ask for?
Wedding: 05/09/2009
Services Used: Catering
 816-221-1010
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0