Skip to main content
Weddings

Zeffert and Gold Catering and Event Planning Reviews

Zeffert and Gold Catering and Event Planning

Zeffert and Gold Catering and Event Planning

Gwynn Oak, MD
5.0 out of 5 rating, 592 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
592 Reviews
99% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

592
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner
  • User2520518 Sent on 01/28/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    By far the best decision we made during the wedding process was going with Z&G. While there are several comparable (price-wise) caterers out there, the quality of service in EVERY aspect far exceeded our expectations of service. Where as other caterers wanted to nickle-and-dime us for non-plastic coffee cups, gratuity for the servers, and dessert cutlery, KC (Kathleen) went out of her way to ensure us she has included all of those details in the quoted price. She even saved us a couple of hundred dollars on decorations because they had certain items them in their store-house!

    KC (Kathleen) is a DREAM to work with. Very responsive over email (I'm surprised more wedding vendors aren't). She worked beautifully with our venue coordinator (who is a bit opinionated) and the DJ. I didn't worry about a THING with regards to the schedule, the decorations, the food, or the set up (ceremony or reception) in the week before my wedding because KC and I worked through all the logistics by the walk through, and she coordinated with all the other vendors to make it go incredibly smooth.
  • A
    Andrew C. Sent on 06/10/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best caterer!!

    Zeffert and Gold is simply amazing! They customized a complete food menu for us and our guests are still raving about the food. They packed up the leftovers for us very meticulously! The staff at our wedding flipped our room from ceremony to reception way faster than planned and made sure all of our guests were taken care of. They could not have made the wedding planning process easier or more fun. They are so organized and helpful!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • B
    Bette M. Sent on 06/04/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very Professional Catering Team

    The catering experience at Zeppert & Gold Catering was exceptional! I catered the gourmet desserts to add to the wedding experience for the Jones/Ziegler wedding. The gourmet dishes were exquisite! The staff couldn’t have been more accommodating to assist me in the setup and cleanup. Víctor Ramiro and his team were very professional and helpful. They set the standards high in customer service.
  • Christina
    Christina Sent on 06/24/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    MVP on the vendor team!

    Zeffert and Gold was the MVP on our dream team of vendors! The quality of their food and service is truly worth every penny! Lisa was our point person, and she amazing throughout the wedding planning process. I knew I could trust her to give me good advice, to respect our budget, and to make things as streamlined as possible. By the time we left our tasting, I felt like the whole day was pretty much planned! On our wedding day, Lisa, Matt, and the rest of the catering team were very attentive and made sure my husband and I were well fed and hydrated. Most importantly, since the wedding, people have told us how much they loved the food! I cannot say enough wonderful things about Zeffert and Gold. I highly recommend them!
  • C
    Casey K. Sent on 05/31/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Went above and beyond!! Would recommend to everyone

    Z&G was so helpful with our wedding. They worked with our budget and are so knowledgable! Lisa saw potential problems and solved them right away. Lisa helped us all along the way and was the absolute best. Food and service were great, everything went so smoothly. 100% recommend!!
  • A
    Asia L. Sent on 06/12/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Blew me away

    Kathy went ABOVE and BEYOND especially since I didn’t have a coordinator. The food come the day off was amazing! I’m sad I didn’t get more pulled pork (it was even better than the tasting!)

    A bit pricey but the service was stellar. The wait staff were very friendly. But seriously Kathy deserves a raise, really amazing work
  • Tali
    Tali R. Sent on 05/16/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just Exquisite

    My god, where do we even start with how amazing Adelaide and the entire Zeffert and Gold team were? We had our wedding at Gramercy Mansion on May 11. Having been to lots of large events, we didn't have a lot of confidence that large-scale catering could truly wow anyone, but Z&G proved us wrong, and we're so glad they did!

    From the first contact, Addie was flexible, responsive, diligent, and enthusiastic. These traits only proved to be a cornerstone of our wedding day. The tasting was absolutely incredible. Addie suggested changes based on our dietary restrictions and personal preferences, no matter how seemingly minute. She was only helpful, never pushy. When Ilana said she liked a salad we tasted, but did not like the beets, Adelaide said it was no issue to swap it out for carrots. And that was our first course at our wedding, just like that. When we were considering which vegetarian dish to add to the menu, Adelaide helped steer us to something that our vegetarian friends might enjoy more because it was a bit different than what they might be used to having at weddings. We appreciated that thoughtfulness. Addie helped us think through the details we never would have considered, making the planning straightforward and easy. And they worked with us on creating fantastic signature cocktails and mocktails! Adelaide and Z&G have a lot of experience, and it's always on display in a comforting way.

    As for the food itself, the short rib was exceptional, and the teriyaki salmon main course was exquisite. I had people with distinguished taste say how much they like the mac and cheese appetizer. When I had the Natty Boh French Onion Dip, I was sold on Zeffert and Gold. They had such a good variety of food options for every course, and you couldn't go wrong. Their add-on packages were also transparent and all looked great. They were flexible when we wanted to change things in our package, like adding a champagne toast. At the same time, they made sure that non-alcoholic cider was available for the non-drinkers among us, which we expressed was important.

    Adelaide and Ally (who was assigned to us, the bride and groom, to make sure we were always happy!) made sure we got a little bit of anything we wanted while we were scurrying around the day of. We were actually able to sample all of the apps, which they set aside for us despite the fact that we were busy with photos for the whole cocktail hour. They made sure we ate during the reception, and gave us a care package at the end of the night with samples of just about everything and some of each flavor of cake we had. They also dropped everything to help coordinate with my designated friends who were leaving early, about taking home leftovers from the event to their fridge. UNREAL. Talented, professional, and a pleasure to work with, Zeffert and Gold and Adelaide are just next level.
  • J
    Jaclyn B. Sent on 05/07/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fabulous food!

    Zeffert & Gold is the absolute best! Great food for our guests was one of the highest priorities for my fiance and I when planning the wedding. When we visited an open house at the venue, Z&G's tastings stood out far and above the rest, and every other vendor who had worked with them only had the highest praise. We (and our families) could not believe how much incredible food and high quality service we received for the price. Lisa Schatz was a pleasure to work with, through numerous emails finalizing the details and the lovely couple's tasting experience to choose the custom menu. Thank you so much for great experience!!
  • M
    Megan C. Sent on 05/03/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best caterer!

    First and most obviously -- the food and drinks were INCREDIBLE. Everything was delicious and all of our guests keep telling us that weeks later! All of the staff were so lovely and hospitable. The lead server in particular was incredible, ensuring the two of us were fed and hydrated all night. That service was above and beyond!

    And Lisa was a pleasure to work with from start to finish. She guided us so seamlessly through the entire process. It is a lot of decisions and details but we felt supported by her every single step of the way. She helped to bring our vision to life -- it was so stunning and perfect in every way.
  • Haylee
    Haylee A. Sent on 03/23/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Communication & Execution

    Adelaide and Zeffert & Gold were outstanding! Immediately from our tasting we knew they were going to be an amazing vendor to work with. Adelaide was so incredibly nice, personable and professional. Great communication and execution. They will work with you to alter to your likings but will also give their professional opinion when it matters most. We had one slight defect in a table Select Events Group provided Z&G, but Z&G handled it even under pressure. Our guests are still raving about the appetizers over 1 month later. Bar service was a hit as well. They ALWAYS took the time to thoroughly answer our questions no matter how big or small.
  • Greg
    Greg K. Sent on 01/17/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Caters w/ Wonder Food and Excellent Service

    Zeffert & Gold recently catered our wedding celebration and helped make it one of the best nights of our lives. The entire staff - and especially Our Event Designer Lisa and our Day-Of Coordinator Liz - were amazing to work with and VERY responsive, which made the whole experience feel very personal. And of course, the food was all delicious! I highly recommend using them for your event!
  • Lisa
    Lisa W. Sent on 12/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional!

    Zeffert and Gold supported our corporate gala which boosted a Roaring 20's theme (12/9/23). Zeffert and Gold had a tremendous part in the success of the gala, as the food and setup was everything we planned, and they delivered exceptional customer service during the planning and execution. Their team was completely working in synch throughout the evening. Our guests noted how wonderful the service was and how well the team catered to our enjoyment. This is our second time using Zeffert and Gold, and both times, they truly delivered a magical evening. The team worked closely with us to plan out every detail and offered wonderful ideas on decor, the use of pipe/drape, furniture and entertainment that truly made it feel like the 1920's era. We held the event at the Baltimore Museum of Industry (www.thebmi.org) which is the most unique place in Baltimore to hold a corporate function!! Can't say enough about the BMI and their staff when it comes to making the guest feel welcome. If you are looking for the perfect combination for a successful corporate gala or wedding, it's a simple recipe: Zeffert and Gold plus the BMI!
  • G
    Grace F. Sent on 01/13/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Z&G was amazing!

    My husband and I worked with Lisa from Z&G for our December 2023 wedding. Lisa was a pleasure to work with from start to finish. We were blown away at our tasting and the food the day of exceeded our expectations! Guests continue to tell us how delicious the food was.
  • Lauren
    Lauren M. Sent on 05/30/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Choose This Caterer

    We can not say enough good things about Zeffert and Gold. Adelaide and the whole staff were very helpful from the start and were very good about calming our nerves while planning the wedding. It was difficult to decide which menu options to choose because all of the food from the tasting was delicious. They could not have been more wonderful on the day of the wedding. They made sure that my husband and I had enough food to eat and made sure that we had a drink whenever we wanted one. They went above and beyond to help one of my guests who was pregnant and realized she could not eat the food she had chosen because she was not feeling well. The staff worked with her and gave her an entire plate of mashed potatoes because that is what she could eat at the time. They also worked very well with our Day Of Wedding Coordinator. We thoroughly enjoyed all of the leftovers that they gave us and we were glad that we were able to try the food that we did have time to enjoy during the reception. We wish we could plan another big event so we could hire Zeffert and Gold again!
  • Janie
    Janie M. Sent on 11/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great food, Great people, Great times!

    Working with the Z&G team, specifically Lisa for coordination and Matt for day of, were absolutely fantastic! Lisa was responsive, flexible, and worked with us to make our dreams come true. From the speciality drinks, to the design, and much more, we knew we could count on the whole team. Matt kept us fed and happy the whole wedding. He and his team checked in and made sure we had everything we could possibly need all night. I had friends and family asking for the cookie recipe from dessert and others saying it was the best crab cake they’ve ever eaten. Absolutely loved them!
  • K
    Katie G. Sent on 11/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding food CAN be good!!!!!!

    Working with Zeffert and Gold was a dream. We got so many comments at the wedding about how the food was actually 1) warm; 2) delicious; 3) accommodating for the many dietary restrictions we had at the wedding. We did family style for dinner. Admittedly they are not the cheapest caterer to hire, but you 100% get what you pay for with them. They also made us a bag of leftovers to take home and even the leftovers were delicious! We worked with Matt and he was always very responsive and accommodating. You will not regret hiring Z&G!
  • H
    Hannah Q. Sent on 01/14/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Catering for our Baltimore wedding

    People continue to talk about how delicious the food was at our wedding in October. We could not be more happy that we made the decision to go with Zeffert and Gold. The planning process was easy and the final outcome was beautiful and delicious. Lisa and the catering team made our wedding day go seamless and were incredibly helpful and professional from start to finish!
  • Sara
    Sara T. Sent on 12/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best wedding food and team!

    My husband and I have nothing but praise for Zeffert and Gold Catering! From the initial inquiry all the way through our wedding day, the Zeffert and Gold Catering team was an absolute pleasure to work with. We worked primarily with Adelaide, who is one of my favorite humans of all time; she is truly like family to us! I cannot stop raving about her. She acted as a day of planner and supported us throughout the stressful and crazy wedding process. She was incredibly kind, professional, understanding, responsive, and organized, which made for a seamless planning process and provided a sense of comfortability throughout. She worked with us consistently until the menu and wedding set up was exactly what we wanted it to be. My priority was a nacho bar, and she and the chef worked with me to make sure that it was perfect, which it was. My husband and I tried multiple catering companies before settling on Zeffert and Gold, and really what pushed us was their amazing food, supportive team, and Adelaide of course!! Every single bite of food was phenomenal! Our wedding guests RAVED about the food and stated that it was some of the best wedding food they had ever eaten!

    At the wedding, we had Jane as the day-of manager, who was absolutely incredible! She made sure the wedding day progressed smoothly and checked in with us to make sure we had everything we needed. Additionally, Zeffert and Gold assigned a personal assistant to provide drinks and food for us throughout the entire wedding day. This was such a unique touch and showed us how much Zeffert and Gold cares about their couples. I cannot put into words how much we appreciate all of their hard work to make our wedding day so special. We were so grateful to have Zeffert and Gold be a part of our big day and provide such phenomenal food and décor. We would recommend them to anyone and everyone 1,000 times over! WE LOVE YOU ZEFFERT AND GOLD CATERING!
  • E
    Ethan F. Sent on 10/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best caterer ever

    I cannot speak more highly of Zeffert or Lisa Schatz. They were absolutely incredible throughout the entire process and so supportive and on top of things as we got closer to our big day. We got so many comments about how great our food was and that it was also nice and warm when served! I could go on and on, but Zeffert is really just simply the best.
  • Amy
    Amy L. Sent on 10/25/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!!

    I’d recommend Zeffert and gold to anyone looking for a caterer! Adelaide was the best! She was so helpful through the planning process and was very responsive!

    We got so many compliments on how good the food was! People are still talking about how good dinner was 2 weeks later !!
  • R
    Rosie C. Sent on 10/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Caterer

    We hired Z&F for our wedding, and they did not disappoint. Throughout the entire planning process, Lisa was extremely helpful in answering our many questions and always quick to respond via email. On the wedding day, the staff was extremely organized and professional. We received many compliments on the delicious food and the friendly bartenders. They were great!!
  • Priya
    Priya C. Sent on 12/03/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Can't go wrong with Zeffert & Gold

    Zeffert was one of our wedding caterers – they handled the bar and logistics, while another caterer provided the actual food. We had an amazing experience with Matt and his team from the moment we reached out for a quote to the actual event day. They were always quick to respond to our questions and really helped to smooth out the logistics for our wedding weekend. We’d highly recommend them!
  • L
    Lynzie F. Sent on 09/25/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best catering company around!!

    I don’t even know where to start, but if you are thinking about booking Zeffert as your catering company, DO IT!! From the beginning, working with Lisa Schatz was a breeze. She was always so quick to respond to any question, provide recommendations, and just check in with us to see how planning was going. There were so many food choices to pick from (making decisions very hard) but we never had to worry about anyone’s special accommodations because we knew zeffert would take care of it. As our wedding day approached, we experienced rainy weather and the entire team pivoted without any hesitation and made sure we were not stressed about anything. The food was absolutely incredible, our guests continued to talk about how amazing everything was and said it was the best wedding catering food they have ever had!! I can’t say enough good things about the entire team but what I can say is you won’t regret working with Zeffert and Gold!
  • Samantha
    Samantha M. Sent on 12/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Food, Incredible Service!

    WOW! Zeffert and Gold was truly incredible on our wedding day. Months later and people still can't stop talking about the food at our wedding! 10/10 recommend splurging on the prime rib because it was out of this world. People also loved the donut bar! From the moment we reached out, Matt was incredibly helpful and always communicated quickly. He helped us not only select a perfect menu, but walked us through every minute of our wedding day and made sure we had thought through everything so it would run perfectly smoothly. They thought of everything, from making sure drinks were ready to be passed out right after the ceremony ended to helping us with a special toast! Zeffert and Gold took care of so much for the set up and the day of servers were always around and making sure the bride and groom had everything they needed. We had an outdoor summer wedding and asked Zeffert and Gold if they could help us serve champagne with popsicles in it and Matt worked with us to make sure this would be affordable and do-able. It was a huge hit! If you're looking for a company to bring your day to life, this is the one!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours