Skip to main content
Weddings

Zeffert and Gold Catering and Event Planning Reviews

Zeffert and Gold Catering and Event Planning

Zeffert and Gold Catering and Event Planning

Gwynn Oak, MD
5.0 out of 5 rating, 582 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
582 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
97% Recommended by couples

Awards

582
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner
  • User2520518 Sent on 01/28/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    By far the best decision we made during the wedding process was going with Z&G. While there are several comparable (price-wise) caterers out there, the quality of service in EVERY aspect far exceeded our expectations of service. Where as other caterers wanted to nickle-and-dime us for non-plastic coffee cups, gratuity for the servers, and dessert cutlery, KC (Kathleen) went out of her way to ensure us she has included all of those details in the quoted price. She even saved us a couple of hundred dollars on decorations because they had certain items them in their store-house!

    KC (Kathleen) is a DREAM to work with. Very responsive over email (I'm surprised more wedding vendors aren't). She worked beautifully with our venue coordinator (who is a bit opinionated) and the DJ. I didn't worry about a THING with regards to the schedule, the decorations, the food, or the set up (ceremony or reception) in the week before my wedding because KC and I worked through all the logistics by the walk through, and she coordinated with all the other vendors to make it go incredibly smooth.
  • Haylee
    Haylee A. Sent on 03/23/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Communication & Execution

    Adelaide and Zeffert & Gold were outstanding! Immediately from our tasting we knew they were going to be an amazing vendor to work with. Adelaide was so incredibly nice, personable and professional. Great communication and execution. They will work with you to alter to your likings but will also give their professional opinion when it matters most. We had one slight defect in a table Select Events Group provided Z&G, but Z&G handled it even under pressure. Our guests are still raving about the appetizers over 1 month later. Bar service was a hit as well. They ALWAYS took the time to thoroughly answer our questions no matter how big or small.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Lisa
    Lisa W. Sent on 12/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional!

    Zeffert and Gold supported our corporate gala which boosted a Roaring 20's theme (12/9/23). Zeffert and Gold had a tremendous part in the success of the gala, as the food and setup was everything we planned, and they delivered exceptional customer service during the planning and execution. Their team was completely working in synch throughout the evening. Our guests noted how wonderful the service was and how well the team catered to our enjoyment. This is our second time using Zeffert and Gold, and both times, they truly delivered a magical evening. The team worked closely with us to plan out every detail and offered wonderful ideas on decor, the use of pipe/drape, furniture and entertainment that truly made it feel like the 1920's era. We held the event at the Baltimore Museum of Industry (www.thebmi.org) which is the most unique place in Baltimore to hold a corporate function!! Can't say enough about the BMI and their staff when it comes to making the guest feel welcome. If you are looking for the perfect combination for a successful corporate gala or wedding, it's a simple recipe: Zeffert and Gold plus the BMI!
  • G
    Grace F. Sent on 01/13/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Z&G was amazing!

    My husband and I worked with Lisa from Z&G for our December 2023 wedding. Lisa was a pleasure to work with from start to finish. We were blown away at our tasting and the food the day of exceeded our expectations! Guests continue to tell us how delicious the food was.
  • Janie
    Janie M. Sent on 11/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great food, Great people, Great times!

    Working with the Z&G team, specifically Lisa for coordination and Matt for day of, were absolutely fantastic! Lisa was responsive, flexible, and worked with us to make our dreams come true. From the speciality drinks, to the design, and much more, we knew we could count on the whole team. Matt kept us fed and happy the whole wedding. He and his team checked in and made sure we had everything we could possibly need all night. I had friends and family asking for the cookie recipe from dessert and others saying it was the best crab cake they’ve ever eaten. Absolutely loved them!
  • K
    Katie G. Sent on 11/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding food CAN be good!!!!!!

    Working with Zeffert and Gold was a dream. We got so many comments at the wedding about how the food was actually 1) warm; 2) delicious; 3) accommodating for the many dietary restrictions we had at the wedding. We did family style for dinner. Admittedly they are not the cheapest caterer to hire, but you 100% get what you pay for with them. They also made us a bag of leftovers to take home and even the leftovers were delicious! We worked with Matt and he was always very responsive and accommodating. You will not regret hiring Z&G!
  • H
    Hannah Q. Sent on 01/14/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Catering for our Baltimore wedding

    People continue to talk about how delicious the food was at our wedding in October. We could not be more happy that we made the decision to go with Zeffert and Gold. The planning process was easy and the final outcome was beautiful and delicious. Lisa and the catering team made our wedding day go seamless and were incredibly helpful and professional from start to finish!
  • Sara
    Sara T. Sent on 12/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best wedding food and team!

    My husband and I have nothing but praise for Zeffert and Gold Catering! From the initial inquiry all the way through our wedding day, the Zeffert and Gold Catering team was an absolute pleasure to work with. We worked primarily with Adelaide, who is one of my favorite humans of all time; she is truly like family to us! I cannot stop raving about her. She acted as a day of planner and supported us throughout the stressful and crazy wedding process. She was incredibly kind, professional, understanding, responsive, and organized, which made for a seamless planning process and provided a sense of comfortability throughout. She worked with us consistently until the menu and wedding set up was exactly what we wanted it to be. My priority was a nacho bar, and she and the chef worked with me to make sure that it was perfect, which it was. My husband and I tried multiple catering companies before settling on Zeffert and Gold, and really what pushed us was their amazing food, supportive team, and Adelaide of course!! Every single bite of food was phenomenal! Our wedding guests RAVED about the food and stated that it was some of the best wedding food they had ever eaten!

    At the wedding, we had Jane as the day-of manager, who was absolutely incredible! She made sure the wedding day progressed smoothly and checked in with us to make sure we had everything we needed. Additionally, Zeffert and Gold assigned a personal assistant to provide drinks and food for us throughout the entire wedding day. This was such a unique touch and showed us how much Zeffert and Gold cares about their couples. I cannot put into words how much we appreciate all of their hard work to make our wedding day so special. We were so grateful to have Zeffert and Gold be a part of our big day and provide such phenomenal food and décor. We would recommend them to anyone and everyone 1,000 times over! WE LOVE YOU ZEFFERT AND GOLD CATERING!
  • E
    Ethan F. Sent on 10/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best caterer ever

    I cannot speak more highly of Zeffert or Lisa Schatz. They were absolutely incredible throughout the entire process and so supportive and on top of things as we got closer to our big day. We got so many comments about how great our food was and that it was also nice and warm when served! I could go on and on, but Zeffert is really just simply the best.
  • Amy
    Amy L. Sent on 10/25/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!!

    I’d recommend Zeffert and gold to anyone looking for a caterer! Adelaide was the best! She was so helpful through the planning process and was very responsive!

    We got so many compliments on how good the food was! People are still talking about how good dinner was 2 weeks later !!
  • R
    Rosie C. Sent on 10/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Caterer

    We hired Z&F for our wedding, and they did not disappoint. Throughout the entire planning process, Lisa was extremely helpful in answering our many questions and always quick to respond via email. On the wedding day, the staff was extremely organized and professional. We received many compliments on the delicious food and the friendly bartenders. They were great!!
  • Priya
    Priya C. Sent on 12/03/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Can't go wrong with Zeffert & Gold

    Zeffert was one of our wedding caterers – they handled the bar and logistics, while another caterer provided the actual food. We had an amazing experience with Matt and his team from the moment we reached out for a quote to the actual event day. They were always quick to respond to our questions and really helped to smooth out the logistics for our wedding weekend. We’d highly recommend them!
  • L
    Lynzie F. Sent on 09/25/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best catering company around!!

    I don’t even know where to start, but if you are thinking about booking Zeffert as your catering company, DO IT!! From the beginning, working with Lisa Schatz was a breeze. She was always so quick to respond to any question, provide recommendations, and just check in with us to see how planning was going. There were so many food choices to pick from (making decisions very hard) but we never had to worry about anyone’s special accommodations because we knew zeffert would take care of it. As our wedding day approached, we experienced rainy weather and the entire team pivoted without any hesitation and made sure we were not stressed about anything. The food was absolutely incredible, our guests continued to talk about how amazing everything was and said it was the best wedding catering food they have ever had!! I can’t say enough good things about the entire team but what I can say is you won’t regret working with Zeffert and Gold!
  • Samantha
    Samantha M. Sent on 12/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Food, Incredible Service!

    WOW! Zeffert and Gold was truly incredible on our wedding day. Months later and people still can't stop talking about the food at our wedding! 10/10 recommend splurging on the prime rib because it was out of this world. People also loved the donut bar! From the moment we reached out, Matt was incredibly helpful and always communicated quickly. He helped us not only select a perfect menu, but walked us through every minute of our wedding day and made sure we had thought through everything so it would run perfectly smoothly. They thought of everything, from making sure drinks were ready to be passed out right after the ceremony ended to helping us with a special toast! Zeffert and Gold took care of so much for the set up and the day of servers were always around and making sure the bride and groom had everything they needed. We had an outdoor summer wedding and asked Zeffert and Gold if they could help us serve champagne with popsicles in it and Matt worked with us to make sure this would be affordable and do-able. It was a huge hit! If you're looking for a company to bring your day to life, this is the one!
  • T
    Theresa L. Sent on 08/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Zeffert and gold catering and event planning

    To rate this vendor as excellent, does not do them justice they were EXQUISITE !! They were well organized, professional, reflected their attention attention to all the details I requested. Their catering was beyond delicious. Lisa Schatz was a pleasure to work with and was present from the tasting till the last guest was served !!!
  • A
    Alessia L. Sent on 09/18/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely incredible!!!

    FANTASTIC!!! Z & G was the best decision we made for our wedding. The staff went above and beyond to caterer to our guests and to the bride/groom.
    Lisa Schatz was amazing, not a single detail was overlooked, she was attentive from the first tasting all the way to wedding day!
    The. Food. Was. Amazing. I want to throw another party just to have them caterer.
  • S
    Sabrina L. Sent on 10/23/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing job!!!

    Zeffert and Gold did an amazing Job on our wedding! They displayed everything beautifully, all our guest loved the food and loved the staff. Couldn't have asked for a better catering company to have on our special day!
  • Elise
    Elise J. Sent on 09/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    OMG Those Crabcakes!

    Working with Matt at Zeffert & Gold was a dream come true. As two foodies, we searched high and low for the right caterer--hoping to find something that could feel both elegant and casual, up-scale and a bit whimsical. Z&G did all that and more. We worked with Matt and the team to personalize our menu to include a "Father of the Bride Station" featuring some of my dad's best recipes, like a 24 hour marinated flank steak and peachy corn gazpacho. We were blown away when we did our tasting in Baltimore. The quality and care the chefs put into bring our vision to life was immediately evident, and the food was impeccable. We are fortunate to have eaten at many top restaurants across the US and are happy to say that the offerings at our wedding were every bit as memorable as those. We STILL dream of their crab cakes and the mashed parsnips and short rib. Just as importantly, the staff was all professional, kind, and down-to-earth. They are a team of very dedicated and talented servers and we are so grateful they were a part of our event!
  • Jenn
    Jenn Sent on 06/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Z&g is top-knotch!

    Zeffert & Gold is best-in-class for wedding catering! Not only did they provide delicious food for my June 2023 wedding at Belmont Manor & Historic Park, but they were true partners throughout the wedding planning process. They are super responsive and helped me navigate everything from rentals, linens, cutlery, signature drinks and floor plans. Guests left raving about everything from the appetizers (i.e., sweet & sour meatballs, tuna tacos, etc.) to the entrees (i.e., teriyaki salmon/beef tenderloin with garlic mashed potatoes/asparagus). Food came out hot and fast for an 175+ wedding. The beef also was perfectly medium rare, which is no easy feat for that number of people. I cannot thank the entire Z&G team enough, including Monroe and Lisa, for ensuring my wedding day was a SUCCESS!! Highly recommend this highly professional and knowledgable team!! 10 out of 10!!!!!
  • T
    Tori A. Sent on 06/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Z&G is the absolute best!!

    From the minute I spoke with Lisa for an initial phone call I knew that Zeffert and Gold would be an amazing choice for our wedding caterer! Lisa took so much time to talk with me from the beginning to make sure she understood what I was looking for on our wedding day. She was extremely communicative, answering every single question (big and small!) that we had, from napkin colors to table assignments to helping us with our rental furniture. She helped us with the floor plan for our ceremony and our reception, bar placement, and cocktail hour placement, and worked seamlessly with our day-of coordinator and all other vendors. Our tasting was amazing, and honestly the food at our wedding was even better!! We received SO many compliments on the food, how delicious the appetizers were and every single entree. We also had a mix up at our wedding that caused the staff to have to turn over our reception area super quickly - and Lisa and the event manager Kim, and the whole staff, blew our minds with how hard they worked to transform what was our ceremony space into the reception space on time and flawlessly. The staff was also extremely friendly, hardworking and accommodating. They brought us appetizers and drinks right after our ceremony so we had a chance to eat, and brought us our dinner quickly so we had a chance to eat that, too, and it was all amazing. I truly can not recommend Zeffert and Gold enough for your wedding! They were a key decision in our wedding planning and I'm so, so glad we trusted them with our big day!!
  • C
    Caroline R. Sent on 09/25/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing food and staff!

    Matt and his team are outstanding. We found them on our venue’s preferred vendors list and are so happy we went with them. The food tasting was amazing and we brought so much home - the quality was consistent at our wedding and we received so many compliments. They paid special attention to me and my groom the entire night! Lovely staff with great energy. Would hire them again in an instant.
  • Emily
    Emily P. Sent on 09/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best caterer ever!

    I cannot say enough good things about Zeffert and Gold! I have compliments to say about every aspect of their services -- from their quick communication throughout the process, the tasting, and the food and drink itself the day of the wedding. All of our guests loved all the food and could not stop talking about it! Special thanks to Matt for everything he did for us throughout the process. And thank you to Ginny who was my husband and my personal attendant throughout the evening, bringing us appetizers, drinks, water, etc. She was amazing!
  • Angela
    Angela S. Sent on 07/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everyone loved the food!

    We had two caterers for our Indian fusion wedding, and Zeffert & Gold was our main service provider as well as the provider of the western style dishes (lasagne and salmon). Our guests loved the food and continue to tell us about it. We were so happy with how they worked with our second caterer, Bollywood Bistro. They even made a special Caribbean drink called sorrell on my request that was excellent. I was so happy with their service. We worked with Adelaide who was very responsive and helpful throughout the entire planning process. The only minor complaint we had was that we asked for the leftovers to be packed up at the end of the night because we donated the leftovers. We were told some things got thrown out, but there might have been a misunderstanding/maybe those items were contaminated etc. Regardless, the soup kitchen staff were delighted to serve the leftovers we did provide. We would highly recommend!
  • Holly
    Holly E. Sent on 06/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Food was amazing!!!!

    All around perfection!!!! Food was wonderful, the staff was amazing. They helped make my wedding the perfect day!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours