Xu Liu Photography Reviews

25 | Boston, MA
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for Xu Liu Photography

Recommended by 100%

25
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

8 User photos

Xu Liu Photography 1
Xu Liu Photography 2
Xu Liu Photography 3
Xu Liu Photography 4
Xu Liu Photography 5
Xu Liu Photography 6
Xu Liu Photography 7
+ 2
Sort by:
  • A

    Marie-Christine · Getting married on 12/12/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex and Betty were fantastic from the get go! We met over coffee and got to know each other in a relaxed atmosphere. We fleshed out the project, talking about vision and inspirations. Soon, I knew I could trust them to get exactly the feel I was dreaming of! When some unexpected events happened on my end, they were incredibly accommodating. And the pictures are just art pieces, one after the other! The authenticity, the emotion, the incredible light I used to moon over on their blog are all there! Thank you for a truly wonderful experience!!

  • K

    Kylie · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex from Alex + Betty was the photographer for our engagement shoot in June and wedding in September. From our consultation through to our ceremony, Alex made everything straightforward and uncomplicated. He was responsive with quotes and booking and was flexible about our engagement shoot time and place. He was also prompt to our wedding and the last one to leave (along with us!). He offered sensible recommendations about the right package for us and the online questionnaire left nothing to chance on the day of. Don't worry, brides, Alex has got you! He took beautiful photos of our non-traditional and extremely small wedding. He was unobtrusive while snapping shots and it didn't feel awkward with him there and only ~18 other people. Our photos don't look like anyone else's photos (my family has commented on how unique and special they are), so I'm really happy with our engagement and wedding pictures.

    Xu Liu Photography 8
    Xu Liu Photography 9
    Xu Liu Photography 10
    Xu Liu Photography 11
    Xu Liu Photography 12
    Xu Liu Photography 13
    Xu Liu Photography 14
    Xu Liu Photography 15
  • K

    Kathee · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex and Betty are an amazing dynamic duo who are not only incredibly talented photographers, but also wonderful people who are fun to work with. We had been following their work for a while, and when we got engaged we knew wanted them to photograph one of the most important days of our lives. My husband and I were very nervous about being in front of a camera before going into our engagement session, but Alex and Betty immediately put us at ease. From our first email correspondences to receiving our final photos, we could not be more impressed with how kind and professional they are. On the day of the wedding they captured not only all the requested family portraits, but even all the details of the wedding we did not notice the day of! Just as we knew they would be, our pictures are breathtaking and I know my husband and I will cherish them forever.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Alex and Betty was a pleasure. They were very responsive throughout the wedding process and were wonderful to be around all day. Most importantly, they captured absolutely amazing photos. We really liked their photojournalism style and were pleased that they captured the standard shots as well (bride and groom with families, friends, etc.). We can't say enough about how much we love their photos! One point of advice - definitely get an engagement shoot - it was an essential 'warm up' to the photo shoots on the wedding day, helped us all understand how best to work together, and made us much more comfortable on our wedding day, knowing what to expect, what we liked and didn't like, and how to make sure we got the shots we wanted!

  • P

    Melinda · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first meeting to the day of our wedding Alex and Betty made it easy to work with them. Our bridal shoot was full of laughter and on the day of the wedding they captured all of the important details that a busy event does not let you slow down and enjoy. What surprised me the most is that looking through all of our photos I don't remember seeing them interfere with any part of the night. They are true ninjas in how they capture the atmosphere around them. Their unique style, talent, and professionalism has us already booking them for a maternity shoot and will be our first choice for all life events to come

  • A

    anna · Married on 08/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex is the BEST! My husband and I tend to feel super unnatural getting our photos taken, and our ceremony was going to be a teeny-tiny backyard affair, so we were a little apprehensive about the idea of having a photographer at all. BUT Alex made the whole process so enjoyable and natural, from our first email and skype contact through the most pivotal moment of our lives! He was the perfect balance of attentive and totally low profile-- I somehow didn't see him at all during the ceremony or the immediate celebrations after but ended up with absolutely gorgeous, intimate photos that captured these moments perfectly. And we look like ourselves, only better!! I can't recommend this photographer enough.

  • C

    Callum · Married on 07/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Here's something you should know: You can stop looking for a wedding photographer right this very second.

    We have been following Alex & Betty's work for a few years and we were so, so stoked that they could come photograph our wedding day. Betty & Alex bring such a unique, creative vision to their work that there was absolutely no-one else we wanted to ask.

    The photographs we received were not just ones we were anticipating, they were also from moments we did not even know occurred. These photographs along with the beautiful portraits of us, our friends, and family will forever live on our walls and in print. We can't thank them enough!


  • P

    Patrick · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex and Betty are an absolutely amazing team and are great photographers. We were looking for low key photographers who wouldn't make us do silly poses or use silly props - just make our wedding look like the classy cocktail party were were going for. They were so great for that - laid back and easy to work with. We met them for coffee in Boston (We actually live in the same neighborhood) to go through albums and their portfolio before we signed with them. They just made it so easy. Day of the event, they were dressed like they were coming to the wedding which helped them blend right in. Betty helped to keep my bride calm and even gave her gummy bears before the ceremony because her blood sugar was dropping out from stress.

    Could not recommend these guys more! Their photography is just gorgeous and really captured our day. Their prices are fair and they were just so easy to work with.

  • H

    Holly · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex and Betty are the best!! We connected with them immediately, they were an easy choice as our photographers! We were planning our wedding from across the country, so it was really important to us that we had a photographer who was flexible with times and super responsive, and it was clear to us that we could count on Alex and Betty. We even had our engagement shoot in California! They have such an amazing style and are so talented. We felt at ease while working with them, it was comfortable and the photos really show that. We LOVE our pictures from our wedding. They really took the time to get to know us, and working with them was an absolute blast! Everyone loved them, and they totally fit in at our wedding. I would 100% recommend Alex and Betty...they're the best!

  • User4849175 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We ABSOLUTELY LOVED working with Alex and Betty! We 100% recommend working with these talented, professional, kind, and genuine photographers. They were so wonderful to work with them, from our engagement shoot to our wedding day. They put you at ease, are so comfortable to work with, responsive to feedback, and most importantly, take such beautiful photos that capture the event. Our wedding day was so perfect, and our photos reflect the special-ness of every moment. Looking back at the pictures, we were moved from laughter, to tears ... literally. Thank you Alex and Betty!

  • User5629810 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex and Betty are phenomenal - without a doubt among the top highlights of our wedding last November in a Boston museum. They are tremendously talented, as their website will show you - but moreover, they are the most responsible, friendly and hardworking team we had the pleasure of knowing. Betty and Alex were very quick to respond to our emails and were always open to listen to any questions or suggestions we had. We had a great time with Alex during our engagement session and a blast with both himself and Betty during our wedding day...and it was a truly long day for them! They blended seamlessly with our family and friends while working away; numerous guests were complimenting how great they were in the days after our wedding.
    Alex and Betty are great listeners and their attentiveness really shows in their work - my husband and I are amazed at how well they documented the spirit of our relationship & the atmosphere of our wedding day. They believe in capturing both the big and small moments, and they do so in a tremendously creative, dramatic way. As people are normally very camera shy, my husband and I can't stop sharing their work with our friends and families. We will be looking at these photos over & over again for many years to come!

  • C

    Christine · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex and Betty were our wedding photographers and we would recommend them to anyone. I don't think we could have gotten photographers that were more talented, attentive or easy to work with. I'm the kind of girl who has a million questions. When we booked them and in the week leading up to the wedding, I was firing off emails to Alex left and right. He answered all of my questions quickly and thoroughly and never left me wondering. I felt like I had a clear picture of what was going on the day of, especially in terms of the photography and the day's timeline, which is fantastic. On the big day, Alex and Betty arrived on time and were absolutely fantastic. They directed but never pushed. They made sure we got to and from the ceremony location and reception on time. They got beautiful shots. I felt that were were in very good hands the entire day. And the pictures! All gorgeous! All of great quality! They got beautiful portraits and artistic shots and fantastic candid shots, and I've been showing them off to everyone I can. Thanks!

  • J

    John · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex and Betty are the best! First off, they are excellent photographers. They play with lights and angles. They know the ins and outs of picture taking, and will give you a high quality picture. Secondly (and in my opinion most importantly) they are great people. Very easy to talk to, and work with. They clearly love what they do and love people. They are respectful of your space and time, and make decisions based on how you feel rather than what they want. This showed during the wedding ceremony where they were barely noticeable, which I was a little concerned about, until I saw the shots they got. I have been to so many wedding where the photographers go where ever they want no matter how intrusive they are being. All the pictures from the ceremony were perfect! They are easy going, fun, and extremely hard working. We still haven't finished selecting which photos to print because they are all so good. They worked from the morning, taking shots of the girls getting makeup, all the way until the final group shot at the end of the night. We loved working with them!

  • J

    John · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex and Betty are the best! First off, they are excellent photographers. They play with lights and angles. They know the ins and outs of picture taking, and will give you a high quality picture. Secondly (and in my opinion most importantly) they are great people. Very easy to talk to, and work with. They clearly love what they do and love people. They are respectful of your space and time, and make decisions based on how you feel rather than what they want. This showed during the wedding ceremony where they were barely noticeable, which I was a little concerned about, until I saw the shots they got. I have been to so many wedding where the photographers go where ever they want no matter how intrusive they are being. All the pictures from the ceremony were perfect! They are easy going, fun, and extremely hard working. We still haven't finished selecting which photos to print because they are all so good. They worked from the morning, taking shots of the girls getting makeup, all the way until the final group shot at the end of the night. We loved working with them!

  • D

    David · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Betty and Alex are incredible. My husband and I had been searching for a team of photographers for our wedding that were open-minded, creative, bold, and easy to get along with. We had spoken with a few vendors around Boston and were impressed, but Betty and Alex blew everyone out of the water. They are a whole different kind of team -- they are artists, storytellers, friends, and consummate professionals all, inconceivably, at once.
    In terms of quality, our photos are the most amazing we've ever seen. Everything goes by in such a blur over a wedding weekend, and Betty and Alex were able to capture the absolute best moments of our celebration. Do you have a frowncicle cousin? No problem! Leave it to Betty and Alex to find that split second of absolutely joy shine through in a smile, capture it beautifully, and turn it into a refreshing moment of casual enjoyment as part of your special day.
    If you are concerned about value for money, there is no question that Xu Liu is worth every cent. They are the only vendors from our Wedding that I would have gladly spent more on for additional services.
    Thanks for everything!

  • Claire

    Claire · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex and Betty were absolutely amazing to work with!! They did our engagement photos and wedding photos, both of which turned out spectacular, so much so that I can't stop looking at them. They have a very easy going style, and really like to capture you being your natural self, rather than feeling very posed. Since both of them photograph they were able to get different angles of the same shot, which is great. They work extremely well together, and the fact that they are married to each other helps a little too! Overall, I am so happy we chose to work with Alex and Betty, they helped capture our wedding from start to finish (they stayed until the very end!) and were right on the dance floor making sure to get every amazing moment!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Xu Liu Photography, consisting of Alex and Betty, were absolutely fantastic! We had an intimate wedding on a Thursday. We were looking for some non-traditional things in our photography, and were really pleased with the results. We only needed about two hours of work, so we were pleased to find someone who would be interested in taking such a short gig. Alex and Betty were extremely comfortable to have around, and were really respectful of our request that they be as unobtrusive as possible. They made the process of posing for photos as painless as possible, and were a lot of fun to have around! They were extremely speedy in getting the photos to us, which was really important since we asked our guests not to take photos during the ceremony. Really couldn't be more pleased!

  • J

    John · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things. Alex was the consummate professional throughout the entire process. He immediately got our vision for the wedding and shot accordingly. When the ceremony was moved indoors at the last minute because of weather, Alex quickly adapted and set up some amazing pictures. He even agreed to shoot our first look outside, even though it was raining, and captured some of the best shots of the evening. Our emails were responded to promptly, and we received our photos from Alex in a prompt and timely manner. I would recommend Xu Liu Photography to anyone looking for a wedding photographer and can guarantee you will not regret your choice!

  • T

    Tammy · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were the best. They were prompt and were able to capture or day. We couldn't ask for better photographers. It was a pleasure working with them.

  • M

    Maureen · Married on 08/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex and Betty are amazing! I did not even realize that working with photographers for our wedding could be such a great experience. They are so truly kind, personable, competent, talented, professional, accommodating, reassuring, prompt, and just a complete pleasure to work with. I am actually going to miss sending them emails all of the time and conversing with them. They were always quick to respond to my never ending questions and concerns, and always reassured me. They fully understand the stress that goes into planning/having a wedding, and they do such a great job at getting their job done while also making sure that you are happy and stress free. We have the most beautiful pictures from our wedding and an amazing album in the mail. I have absolutely no doubt that we would not have gotten such amazing artwork if we had not worked with them. They are extremely talented. I would recommend them to anyone who is looking for a photographer, and I plan on finding a reason to need a photographer again, just so that I can have the pleasure to work with them!

  • User3794185 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex and Betty are wonderful! They are the most patient people around, and didn't even flinch when I told them that I had forgot to bring my dress for a dress change! All went well though, and the photos were beautiful! Thank you so much, you both!

  • J

    Jem · Married on 05/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was an elopement and it was an intimidating prospect finding someone to come photograph our day without meeting them first. However, Alex did everything to keep our mind at ease, including arranging a Skype chat to get a feel for our wedding and to talk through some ideas.

    He came especially from Boston to New York to shoot our day, was nothing but lovely, engaging, and has a lovely smile too to make sure everyone is at ease.

    Genuinely, I don't know how the photographs he took could have been better. We had quotes from a number of photographers, with Xu Liu being the most moderately priced, however, even the guys charging five times what he Alex does couldn't have taken more fantastic shots. Every single person has commented on how amazing the photos are. Our wedding looks like the happy ending to an indie film! I couldn't recommend him more highly.

  • J

    Jen · Married on 10/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Betty and Alex are some of THE MOST PATIENT photographers I have ever worked with. They have actually done family pictures for us as well as a family wedding. We were THRILLED with both. Our family pictures included 7 people and a crazy chocolate lab puppy. They were so sweet and fun to work with...and amazingly patient.

    The wedding pictures were so beautiful. It was a non-traditional wedding and they they captured so many fabulous moments. I am so grateful that they were a part of our day.

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex & Betty have proven to be everything we were looking for and more. From day 1, they have been warm, friendly, and on top of everything. We discussed options for the engagement photos and they had several suggestions. So we went on a relatively early morning to Forest Park (it was great light at that time according to Betty - oh she was right too!) ....they nailed it. We used those photos for our wedding invitations. And that's where we saw just how they work together. They are both excellent in their own right, but they work together beautifully to capture a moment.

    From then to the wedding date itself, we would email back and forth about plans and ideas. Very free flowing and I felt very comfortable to ask just about anything. There is also a questionnaire, but it's really to facilitate discussion on what you're looking for the day of and list specifics that you want. So come the day of the wedding, I knew exactly what to expect and if things changed or it rained on our outdoor wedding, I felt comfortable enough that they'd roll with whatever the day brought.

    It turned out to be a beautiful day and Alex & Betty did an amazing job documenting all of it. They were on time, they were prepared, they were so fun, and had great ideas. They were never in our face, but kindly ask for poses and such. They found a great location for family pics and they turned out perfect! Our wedding party formals were just as lovely and they got a few fun creative ones. They were very attentive to meet our requests and got some amazing shots. At the reception, they really did a great job getting fun pics of the place and some beautiful shots of our guests.

    Overall, we're thrilled to have met Alex & Betty and that they did such an amazing job capturing such a special day for us. They clearly love what they do, they are exceptional at it, and they are just darn good people! We absolutely recommend them.

  • K

    Kristen · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex and Betty were our wedding photographers a few weeks ago. Working with them was a wonderful experience! They were very warm and professional. I immediately felt at ease with them.

    Our wedding was at a state park in the middle of no where, central Mass. When it was threatening to rain we told them we would just use umbrellas if need be and they cheerily went with the flow the whole time. (Thank goodness it didn't end up raining though.) We had a number of unique elements to our wedding and Alex and Betty proved very flexible and good natured. They seemed to enjoy our wedding as much as we did!

    They really went above and beyond in their service to us. Traveling a significant distance from Boston, they spent the entire day with us capturing beautiful shots. Even my wedding guests fell in love with them. It felt very natural to have them around. Also, a little way through the reception, they set up a display of some of the photos they had already taken that was very much appreciated by our other guests (and ourselves, of course).

    The photos turned out amazing! They are really beautiful and I know I will cherish them forever. It was fun looking through the photos for the first time and finding all sorts of special moments that were captured. Besides the obvious moments we expected to have photographed, we were pleasantly surprised by all the other special moments they found. One of our favorites was of a one of our very young guests toddling with an arm load of wedding favors. It was so precious! It is clear that they were very tuned into everything that was happening around them and have amazing sensitivity and intuition for capturing special moments.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review