Xtra Special Cakes Reviews

39 | Mount Vernon, WA
See photos, pricing and details

39 Reviews for Xtra Special Cakes

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

39

3 User photos

Order by:
  • M

    Mitch · Married on 07/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deeeeeeelish!

    Danyell created our wedding cake. It was three layers: almond on the the first layer and lemon and raspberry filling on the top 2 layers. The cake got raves from our guests. I couldn't stop eating the almond layer...it was that good. Danyell was a pleasure to work with and was friendly and professional through out the entire process. We were fortunate to find her. Danyell, thanks!

    Sent on 08/01/2019
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Xtra Special Cakes is an amazing business to work with! The cake and cupcakes for my wedding were absolutely delicious! The best thing about the cakes is that the variety of flavors you can choose from, and how it's not just a mouthful of sugar; you get a really nice depth of actual flavor that you ask for. The owner is wonderful and highly capable of making any dream into a reality for your cake vision, and she's very personable and will make sure to get it all exactly right for you! She even went above and beyond for when we had our cake tasting. I highly recommend anyone looking for a cake vendor to definitely contact and consider Xtra Special Cakes for their wedding!

    Sent on 05/27/2018
  • G

    Grace · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding cake turned out amazing! I showed her a picture of what I wanted and she did it exactly how I wanted it. My cake was gorgeous and it tasted so good! I would highly reccomend xtra special cakes!

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • Tiffany

    Tiffany · Married on 08/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were truly amazing. The cake looked great and they were able to design it just the way that we wanted. Everyone was very impressed by the amazing job that they did. They also made the cake topper for us as well. The cake tasted great as well. They had a lot of options for flavors.

    Always super fast at getting back to me via email and nice and professional over the phone and for the cake tasting.

    Sent on 09/07/2016
  • A

    Allison · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    ALL of our guests said that the cake we had at our wedding was the BEST wedding cake they've ever had and we had 150 people approximately. I was so shocked at how affordable it was too! Unfortunately our caterer did not respect our specific multiple requests to save the top tier of the cake and all of the cake was served before the end of our wedding, which left us only getting the one bite during the ceremony. Although it was absolutely divine. Roxanne was great. She was so helpful and she makes art. Even better, amazingly delicious tasting art! We served the Naked Wedding cake at our event. It was covered with fresh berries, had a light fluffy cream in between tiers and powdered sugar, I wish I could post a photo because it was stunning!!! It held up very well in the heat too.
    It was so good that we decided every year for our anniversary we are going to order a smaller version of our wedding cake from Roxanne as a tradition. I'm looking forward to actually getting a proper serving of this delicious cake next year. And it's totally worth the hour and a half drive to pick it up! Roxanne, you are AMAZING!

    Sent on 08/23/2016
  • C

    chrissy · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Xtra Special Cakes made the cake of our dreams! We had a specific vision and they made exactly what we were dreaming of! Not to mention it was the most delicious cake I've ever had! I highly recommend them!

    Sent on 02/19/2017
  • User6562603 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roxann was wonderful to talk to and very professional. She is very good at her profession. She was helpful with ideas and easy going.

    Sent on 04/23/2016
  • G

    Gabrielle · Married on 03/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roxann was absolutely amazing! My fiancé and I scheduled a tasting at the shop, which was fabulously done! We ended up selecting a coconut cake with buttercream frosting and coconut creme filling, and coconut cupcakes with buttercream frosting for the guests. The cake and cupcakes were delicious and we got so many compliments! We also rented a cupcake tier display from Xtra Special Cakes, which Roxann set up for us on the day of the wedding and she modified our cake topper so it would work (as it was too large for the cake). Had the most wonderful experience, thank you Roxann and everyone else at Xtra Special Cakes!!

    Sent on 03/20/2016
  • Rei

    Rachel · event on: 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All of the guests at our company party LOVED the cake that Xtra Special Cakes made - they all wanted to know who made and luckily I had their business cards to give out. The almond flavor was intense and unique. I have saved pieces in my freezer so I can keep eating it as long as I can! Roxanne is professional and talented - get a cake from her and you won't regret it.

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • User3283583 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Most delicious cake I have ever tasted! Not an exaggeration, at all. I have an allergy to strawberries so they made us their triple berry special, even for the tasting. They called to confirm our design and flavor choices, multiple times, to make sure we were definitely sure in the end. We also had their red velvet as one of the layers, which was also amazing! Great people and fantastic cake!

    Sent on 08/19/2014
  • User4422806 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an amazing experience it was to work Roxanne and everyone at Xtra Special Cakes. We got so many compliments on how delicious and beautiful our cake was. They were so accommodating every time I changed my mind about things. When we order cakes we only order from them!!

    Sent on 09/24/2014
  • A

    amber · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We ordered a cake for our wedding and it was absolutely beautiful and it tasted delicious! They were flexible with our order and delivered it on time with no issues.

    Sent on 12/14/2013
  • N

    NP · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Even our good friend who is a pastry chef thought this cake was wonderful! Our cake was moist and flavorful, and beautifully decorated in exactly the way we had requested. Roxann met with us for a tasting early in our planning process, and everything was so good that it was hard to choose! There were a ton of cake flavors, and then the filling choices and icing styles added even more decisions for us. We were able to have four different flavor combinations in our four-layer cake. The designs that Xtra Special Cakes creates are amazing, ranging from gorgeously ornate, traditional cakes to our choice, the simpler and quirky style. Roxann was able to advise us during the tasting on everything from icing style (fondant is best for an outdoor wedding in the summer) to the number of people our cake would serve. Everything was delivered on time and without any problems, and since we had some guests who are gluten-intolerant, Roxann added several complimentary gluten-free cupcakes to our order so that everyone at the party would be able to have cake.

    Sent on 07/03/2013
  • User2119253 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was perfect! They made it exactly how we wanted it. Every flavor is sooo good and so moist! I would definitely go through Xtra Special Cakes again!!

    Sent on 08/27/2012
  • S

    Stefanie · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was perfect. I wanted a simple cake, and it was executed perfectly. Our guests loved the cake. I can't wait to have our anniversary cake in a year!

    Sent on 07/24/2012
  • M

    Heather · Married on 06/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW my cake was amazing! The triple berry cake was the most moist and flavorful cake I have EVER tasted. These guys do some beautiful cakes too, let me tell you. I didnt want the traditional wedding cake, we wanted one to match our forest theme. We asked them to make us a tree stump with our initials carved in it and butterflys, dragonflys, bees etc. They did such an awesome job, the detail was out of this world. The guests at our wedding said it was the coolest cake they had ever seen. Price wise, they were very reasonable and I will definately be ordering a cake from them again.......frequently!

    Sent on 08/04/2012
  • K

    Kirsten · Married on 12/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    i had a cake that we desighned our selves it came out beautiful and was delicous

    Sent on 01/10/2012
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 08/19/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Xtra special cakes had beautiful designs for every budget. They were a tad on the pricey side, but worth it. They delivered both a beautiful and delicious cake; which in the world of wedding cakes is hard to find. Everyone at my wedding raved about how the cake tasted absolutely wonderful. The only bad thing I have to say about them is the beautiful design of a cherry blossom tree that was supposed to crawl up and around the cake, only covered one side. It was simply a miscommunication on both of our parts. I’d still highly recommend them to any bride who wants a beautiful cake, and to enjoy eating it too.

    Sent on 09/14/2010
  • D

    Desi · Married on 08/31/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I think the thing we were most excited about was our cake. We wanted to get one that was personal, and that is what we got with xtra special! We went through the books, picked out two that we liked, and had them combined!

    Also, Roxanne and staff were very understanding when we sent our checks, and they kept getting lost in the mail! We finally had to drive them up, and once or twice call over the phone. They could have really been upset, but they weren't.

    All in all, it was a wonderful experience with Xtra special cakes. I would highly recommend them, if you want a really beautiful, personal cake.

    Sent on 11/05/2009
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 06/14/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roxanne and her team are wonderful and talented. They were such a blessing to work with and were so understanding and helpful when we had to push back our wedding date. I gave them a picture of the cake I liked (which was no easy cake to do) and they pulled it off and in the exact color I was hoping for. Upon arrival they made sure the cake was exactly how I wanted it. It was so much more beautiful in person. We ended up with more than enough cake to feed our guests two or three times and there wasn't a single piece left at the end of the night. Everyone loved it and complimented us on how wonderful it was. We chose the Almond Tiramisu, Chocolate, and Key Lime...each very delicious in their own respect. I am so glad I chose to go with Xtra Special Cakes. They really do amazing work.

    Sent on 07/11/2009
  • User3757708 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was beautiful with unique flavors and everyone loved it.

    Sent on 12/28/2013
  • L

    Lori · Married on 12/07/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Some of the most creative and beautiful work I've ever seen!!! So delicious, a HUGE menu of flavors of both cake and icing to choose from, delivery prompt and all at a great price. HIGHLY recommended!!!

    Sent on 12/27/2008
  • L

    Lacey · Married on 08/29/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience with Xtra Special Cakes! We first encountered them at a bridal show where we were drawn to the brightly colored cake. We wanted something fun and colorful, not the traditional frilly white (though they can do this as well). We drove up to Mount Vernon, looked through some books, and then sat down and worked with Roxann to design our cake. The cake made it to our venue early and looked amazing. Everyone commented on how impressive the cake was and it tasted great too!

    Sent on 09/16/2008
  • C

    Chrissy · Married on 08/02/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We made an appointment to come in and sit down with someone to order our wedding cake. I brought a bunch of photos with me of cakes that I liked. Xtra Special Cakes was very easy to work with - they designed a cake for us based on the aspects of the photos that we liked, and it came out beautiful! They allowed us to bring in our own cake-topper, and put that on top of the cake for us.

    We opted to use one of their nice cake stands, which required a security deposit. We left for our honeymoon the day after the wedding, and our best man tried to return the cake stand (it was a Sunday), but they weren't open when he stopped by. He was also leaving town, so he left the cake stand at our home. We weren't able to return the cake stand until we returned from our honeymoon, 10 days later. Xtra Special Cakes was very understanding about the delay in returning it, and they were very professional about it. They returned our security deposit.

    We asked our photographer to take a picture of the top layer of the cake, and we'll be going back to Xtra Special Cakes to order a replica the top layer of the cake for our 1st anniversary!

    The only complaint we had was that when I called them on the phone and inquired about the different cake flavors, I was told they had chocolate, vanilla, and carrot cake. When we discovered their website later, we discovered that they had quite a few more flavors. We wish we would have known that before ordering our cake, but it still turned out amazing ~ and we were very happy with it, which is all that matters in the end!

    Sent on 08/25/2008
  • H

    Holly · Married on 07/02/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Xtra Special Cakes was great. Our cake was perfect down to the smallest detail. Our guests raved about it, and I have never tasted anything so good before. Very pleased with this vender.

    Sent on 06/22/2010