Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Reviews

21 | Pittsburgh, PA
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh

Recommended by 94%

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6

4 User photos

Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh 1
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh 2
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh 3
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh 4
Sort by:
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were beyond happy with using the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh as our location for our wedding ceremony/reception. Ashley was amazing every step of the way when it came to all of the planning. She was extremely patient and understanding with us during what can sometimes be a stressful event to plan. When Ashley brought us into the reception area to take a peak prior to our guests entering I was speechless. Everything I had asked for for there and everything turned out beautifully. Words can’t properly describe how grateful I am for all of Ashley’s help with our big day.

    Ashley R.
    Wedding date 4/7/18

    Sent on 05/16/2018
  • J

    Jenn · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my fiancé and I were looking at venues for our wedding, a few things sold us on the Wyndham: the view, the central location, and the wedding director Ashley.

    Our guests could not get over the beautiful views of the Point that they had from their rooms. Many of our guests were from out of town, so we really wanted them to be in a central location where they could experience Pittsburgh conveniently. The Wyndham is the perfect venue to accomplish that!

    The wedding director Ashley was amazing and always answered our questions promptly and efficiently. You can tell that she really loves what she does, and she will do anything to make sure that your wedding is exactly the way you want it. We really enjoyed working with her!

    Sent on 10/24/2016
  • N

    Noreen · Married on 02/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding weekend, Feb 6-8, at the Wyndham Grand in Pittsburgh PA was absolutely perfect. From the moment we arrived at the hotel Friday morning until we left on Sunday afternoon, the staff was helpful and attentive to us as well as our guests. In particular, I have to commend Ashley Barna and Dante DeRienzo for their continuous attention and assistance. They were available and willing to help in any way they could. They often anticipated our needs and were responsible for making our daughter's wedding weekend perfect. I also have to compliment the chef for providing delicious hor doevres, dinner and late night bites for us and our guests. I would highly recommend the Wyndham Grand in downtown Pittsburgh as a wedding venue.

    Sent from my iPhone

    Sent on 03/28/2015
  • S

    Susie · Married on 02/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OMG Ashley is AMAZING! She was so on her game is want even funny! She made our wedding the best day ever! We had our ceremony in a rustic barn and a high end hotel room. Weird but we are a unique couple. She was great with everything and the staff was Awesome!!!!

    Sent on 03/18/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley Barna of the Wyndham Grand is instantly likeable! From our very first meeting I felt as though we just somehow clicked. I didn’t have to search long before deciding on the Wyndham Grand as my choice of venue and I think I pretty much knew after our initial encounter. Ashley, along with the Wyndham events team made you feel special and at ease; tailoring to your every need in order to make your day most special. The wedding packages are very inclusive and offer a wide variety of amenities which takes away a lot of the hassle of having to deal with various different vendors. Any time I had a question or additional wedding-related request, Ashley’s response was almost immediate and always accommodating. Ashley truly does strive to make you feel like you’re her top priority and you can tell how much she really loves her job. Overall, everything went smoothly, and we’ve received nothing but positive feedback from our guests about what a great time they had, including how delicious the food was and how efficient the staff and service was throughout the evening.

    Sent on 11/22/2014
  • R

    Randi · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a magical weekend and I owe so to much of it to Ashley Barna and Tony Lee. The wedding was PERFECT!!! The accomodations, the staff, the food service, everything was perfect. It was flawless. Many of our guests commented that they have been to hotel weddings in the past and the food was okay and the portions were small. This was DEFINITELY NOT the case for our party. Their attention to every detail was so greatly appreciated.

    Sent on 10/22/2014
  • User4770844 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were blown away by the staff, the venue and the food. The food was top notch, the service was very attentive, and the planning process was super easy from start to finish. The events staff was very flexible and helpful whenever we needed them to be. I highly recommend making an appointment to see the venue and meet the staff, you will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 02/06/2015
  • User3900275 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter was married on September 5, 2014. She and her husband chose The Wyndham because of the view that it offered and the overall appearance with the newly remodeled hotel. After meeting with Ashley Barna, Catering Sales Manager, our daughter knew that she wanted to plan her wedding with her. Ashley was great to work with. She always returned messages asap. Everything she promised turned to fact. The taste testing was outstanding and so elegant. But, I was a little skeptical when we were promised that everything would taste as delicious as it did at the tasting. However, that is exactly how it happened. The food was phenomenal! The appetizers were served hot and tasted wonderful. The 110 Filets were all served hot and cooked to perfection, along with the Grilled Salmon and Portabella Wellington. Everyone at the reception said that is one of the best meals they have ever had. The guests were very impressed by the venue, as well as the food. Everything turned out better than we could have imagined. Our daughter said that it truly was the wedding of her dreams. One that we did not want to end!

    Sent on 09/13/2014
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I attended a wedding here last year and it was absolutely gorgeous! I can say as a guest the staff was very accommodating and friendly.

    Sent on 12/02/2016
  • M

    Marlo · Married on 10/10/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent experience. Ashley and team Amazing...

    Sent on 11/12/2015
  • User4153804 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I can not say enough great things about having the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh for our daughter's wedding reception. Everything went so smoothly. The King's Garden Ballroom was a perfect venue with great views of the Point, Mt. Washington and the North Shore from the windows. The food was fabulous and served very promptly. The staff was the best!! Ashley and Sophie (the wedding department) really did a beautiul job. They worked well with my vendors, always got back to me when I contacted them and really made sure the wedding reception went off without any problems. It is so great to see one of Pittsburgh's older hotels be so beautifully transformed into the 21st Century! It was a perfect weekend!!

    Sent on 06/05/2014
  • A

    Allie · Married on 09/22/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience here and working with wedding coordinator Ashley Brown. Great food, service, location. Would absolutely recommend! Our wedding day could not have gone any smoother.

    Sent on 10/08/2018
  • T

    Teddi · Married on 05/27/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After our first time meeting with Ashley, we knew it was the venue for our daughter's wedding as she made it so easy and was very accommodating. Ashley managed to navigate many "cooks in the kitchen" during the planning process beautifully. She answered and re-answered questions patiently and always had a smile on her face. We were thrilled that the weather held up so the ceremony could be held outside at the Block House with which the hotel has a partnership. Even though it is not Wyndham property, Ashley managed all of the details for us and made the bride and groom's dream come true.

    Sent on 05/31/2018
  • L

    Lois · Married on 10/07/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley Brown has been such a sweetheart to work with. She has been very accommodating and responsive. Any questions I had, she was quick to answer and to work out the smallest of details.
    The day of the wedding, she took the parents, bride and groom into the room for a first look and I was absolutely amazed. I was speechless. It was fabulous. I would not have changed a thing.
    I worked with Ryan for the rooms, and he was also very accommodating.
    On a scale of 1-10 I would give them a 15. They are a bit on the high side with cost, but they are located downtown and they are a high end venue.
    LOVED THEM!!!!

    Sent on 10/11/2017
    Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh 5
    Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh 6
    Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh 7
    Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh 8
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/06/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    There was some turnover with staff when we first started planning our wedding reception at the Wyndham but the new staff took charge and really made an effort to correct any issues. They made it their goal to ensure that the day of our wedding/reception was stress-free for myself and my family. They truly did go out of their way and I could not have asked for a more perfect event! The room looked amazing. The wait staff was so friendly and accomodating.

    Sent on 01/21/2014
  • User5105194 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The Wyndham Grand Downtown Pittsburgh has a beautiful ballroom with floor to ceiling windows that look out over the Point - beautiful! The room was beautiful, the food was delicious, the staff was courteous. There were a few hiccups along the way, as to be expected when planning a large event. Only real complaint was that we paid for them to deliver welcome bags to all of our guests staying at the hotel and about half of the guests did not receive theirs.

    Sent on 05/23/2015
  • User3286358 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food was great! Room was gorgeous! We had a blast!

    Sent on 09/21/2014
  • B

    Bob · Married on 06/16/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley was great to work with. She was very responsive and prompt in coordination of the event.

    Sent on 07/24/2018
  • M

    Marissa · Married on 09/26/2015

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    My husband and I knew right away after visiting the Wyndham that this was where we wanted to have our wedding reception. The room (Kings Garden 1,2 & 3) was spacious and had floor to ceiling windows with gorgeous views of Point State Park and Mount Washington. We couldn't pass that up! Additionally, Ashley was so energetic and made us feel like we would be taken care of to the best of her abilities. Over the course of the planning, she became less and less responsive, but we booked 14 months in advance so I wasn't too worried about a lot of the details until the couple weeks leading up to the wedding. However, these 2 weeks became very stressful as I felt as if we weren't a priority. The day of the wedding, the room was absolutely breathtaking! It was set up and decorated so beautifully that I was blown away and immediately reassured of why we chose the Wyndham. The wait staff was absolutely wonderful at keeping our dinner at a good pace and taking care of us and our guests. The food was delicious! I was told by many of our guests that it was the best food at a wedding they had ever had and I absolutely agree! We had an absolutely stunning wedding reception and I know that all of our guests enjoyed it! The room that we stayed in that night was amazing! However, the rooms in the block for our guests were very small...they're very nice, just small. Although I don't think they really need much space since they're really only in the room to sleep. The day after the wedding caused a bit more stress for us as the kitchen could not find our champagne flutes, they didn't know which charger plates were ours (we rented them separately and brought them to the Wyndham) and they didn't have the extra tier of cake that we paid for. We ended up getting all of our items, but it was ridiculous that we had to deal with any of that. All in all, our wedding truly was a dream come true and I am glad that we chose the Wyndham; however, it really shouldn't have been stressful as it was.

    Sent on 12/16/2015
  • C

    Casey · Married on 08/29/2015

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    My husband and I chose the Wyndham Grand because of the beautiful view of Pittsburgh, the inclusive package and we wanted our guests to stay in the same place as the ceremony and reception. Our number one priority with this was my mom, who is in a wheelchair. Having it in one place was easier for her. After the first meeting and signing the contract we were disappointed and stressed out! When I contacted Ashley about our room block, the hotel was full for our wedding. I am not sure if she could know this at the time, but it made things a lot harder. Luckily, she got my parents a room for the weekend and a block for our guests at the Renaissance. We had a room the night of the wedding in the contract. We are from out of town, so moving things back and forth from the Renaissance (which is awesome) the day before and day of was difficult. The staff at the Wyndham did not make this easier, causing my bridesmaids to force them to let them check us in to our room during our cocktail hour.

    I was a pretty laid back bride and didn't care about a lot of the specific details. I wanted the wedding to be nice and for everyone to have fun. At first, Ashley would respond quickly to my questions, although she often misread them and rushed her responses which was frustrating. Closer to the wedding, it was harder to get in touch with her to ask about necessary details and she wasn't very helpful communicating with me about the day. Even my vendors mentioned she was hard to get in contact with to plan. She did make a few extra accommodations (different beer, fried pickles) for us happen, which was nice.

    The day of I barely saw Ashley. She seemed overwhelmed. This meant she wasn't available to answer a few questions or help with things the day of leading up to the reception. Once the reception started, things were great! The food was very good and the room was set up well! I had an awesome wedding and my guests had a good time, I just wish there was less stress involved.

    Sent on 09/15/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review