word of mouth catering Reviews

20 | Trumansburg, NY
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for word of mouth catering

Recommended by 98%

20
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • E

    Eleanor · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious and professional!

    We “splurged” on Word of Mouth because we had heard SUCH wonderful things from so many people. Let me say we are so glad we chose them! This is not your “typical” wedding food. This is high-grade, freshly made food full of flavor. They made the entire menu gluten free, and most items dairy-free and you would never even know it. Food presentation is beautiful. They worked with us on a menu that would fit within our budget. Tina and Katie pay their employees fairly, and treat them well. They are professional yet warm and approachable. We loved knowing that we were supporting a small, local business! HIGHLY recommend!

    Sent on 11/18/2018
  • Arianna

    Arianna · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All I can say is WOW!! The food was nothing less than perfect. We loved working with Katie and Tina, every step of the way. They went through multiple drafts of our menu with us, accommodated every vision we had, and were on the phone with us for anything we needed even the night before the wedding. Everyone enjoyed the meal and that it was served family style. We knew they were the best, and they proved it 100 times over! I can't recommend them enough.

    Sent on 09/25/2018
  • P

    Paloma · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Word of Mouth were highly recommended by multiple people for our wedding in the Finger Lakes. Katie and Tina were very easy to work with, answered all of our many questions, were very accommodating to our guests with special circumstances, and very fair with their pricing. You will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 08/28/2018
  • S

    Solara · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katie and Tina at Word of Mouth Catering came highly recommended to us by our venue. We are so thrilled that we chose to work with them. Don't be alarmed that they don't have a website; Katie and Tina run this great business in their own unique way! Throughout the entire process they were friendly, thoughtful, available and helpful by phone and email. They emailed us many sample menus and were open and excited about all of my ideas! I loved how enthusiastic they were about creating unusual dishes from different ethnic cuisines. Together we crafted a menu that included everything I hoped for: dinner with some Mexican flavors (e.g., chimichurri sauce, mango salsa, guacamole, etc.). The presentation of their appetizers and buffet table were fantastic. This is not your run-of-the-mill wedding food. In addition to delicious steak and salmon grilled on-site, our buffet included platters of gorgeous grilled vegetables and fresh tomatoes with basil drizzle. We were so excited that we could create such a delicious veggie-centric meal for our guests. They were also very accommodating when I asked additionally for local berries to be served with dessert and they were willing to serve cake from outside vendors and also set up the most beautiful dessert table for me of our family's homemade cookies and local ice cream in tubs. It was just as I envisioned! On the day of, I didn't have to worry about a single thing. Their set-up timing was perfect and they ran cocktail hour, dinner and dessert smoothly. All of their staff was lovely. They even left appetizers on our sweetheart table for us so that we got to taste everything! Thank you so much, Katie and Tina! I loved working with you.

    Sent on 06/27/2018
  • S

    Susan · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow—Katie and Tina are amazing. We hired Word of Mouth for our wedding in June 2017 and we (& all of our guests!) were absolutely floored by how wonderful all of Word of Mouth’s food was. Katie and Tina delivered us everything we wished for – local and organic ingredients; farm-to-table feel; fresh (it was grilled on-site!); homemade (there was so much attention to detail); and food that you wouldn’t find at any “typical wedding” (lemon dill hummus, grilled salmon with mango chutney, grilled shrimp on a cucumber, the list goes on & on!). We were especially impressed at how well Word of Mouth handled our many dietary restrictions (lots of food allergies & low salt diets). They were so understanding and provided us a detailed menu with ingredients, which was so helpful. And the service was just impeccable. We decided to do a seated dinner and the wait staff flawlessly served our 90 guests dinner as well as cake (which, we did “community style”). We were so touched when we learned that the wait staff had saved us appetizers as well as cake. I would highly recommend Word of Mouth catering for any event. Their price was extremely reasonable, the food was spectacular, and the attention to detail was amazing!

    Sent on 07/29/2017
  • B

    Beth · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katie and Tina were an absolute dream to work with. Our venue recommended them to us at the beginning of wedding planning, and we are so incredibly grateful he did. From day one Katie and Tina were so responsive and fun to work with. They helped us customize a menu which would appeal to all the palates in attendance, they provided recommendations for where we could acquire the appropriate rentals and purchases to complement table and bar set-up, and helped us build the menu of our dreams. They even had no problem with us having outside pies shipped in from another vendor and they provided the pie stands and severs!

    The day of we had no worries because we knew Word of Mouth was on it. They helped us stay on schedule and kept everyone fed and everything clean. They assisted with set up before the wedding and kept a skeleton crew on until the last song was played to help us break down the rentals and put the venue back to normal. They honestly could not have been better - they even made a soda/mixer run half-way through the reception!

    Thanks again, Katie and Tina, our wedding really was perfect :)

    Sent on 09/07/2016
  • RWoolz

    Rachael · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katie and Tina at word of mouth were such a joy to work with. They helped us create our dream menu in our budget. They only work with in season produce to ensure that we had the freshest food at our wedding. We planned the wedding long distance and they accommodated us by meeting whenever we were in town. Our guest are still talking about the food and many have said it was the best meal they have had at a wedding. The setup was beautiful and I would use the word bountiful to describe the buffets. No guest went hungry and they were kind enough to remind us to eat first so that my husband and I didn't forget to eat either. I would not hesitate to recommend them!

    Sent on 08/12/2016
  • User4379995 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food at our wedding provided by Word of Mouth was delicious and very well presented. Many of our guests commented on how good the food was and that is was some of the best they have had at a wedding. All of the hors d'oeuvres were very tasty and the fruit and cheese displays were a great centerpiece to the cocktail hour. We had plated salads and bread and then a buffet for the entree (this seems to be Word of Mouths preferred setup and they execute it perfectly). The buffet line was double sided so there was never a back up and everyone got their food quickly.

    Planning with Tina and Katie was very easy; they are clear throughout about what they know they do well and what goes well together. We trusted their expertise and all the food turned out excellently. My only wish is that my husband and I had more time to eat (or had thought to ask for a to-go box so we could enjoy the delicious tastes late night or the next day).

    Sent on 12/29/2015
  • K

    Kate · Married on 07/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything from Word of Mouth was incredible! The presentation was perfect and the food was all delicious. All of our guests commented on how great everything was, perfect for our summer wedding. We also had a cake from Word of Mouth which was beautiful and the tastiest wedding cake we have ever had.

    Sent on 07/27/2012
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 07/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Guests raved about our food and the service was outstanding! Each course of our sit down meal was served promptly which left more time for dancing! Excellent find!

    Sent on 08/19/2011
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 07/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katie and Tina are outstanding. We got nothing but GREAT comments from our guests on the appetizers, dinner, and wedding cake. Katie and Tina were fun to work with and even though they like catering buffets they were flexible and did a plated dinner for us. Again, we got nothing but compliments on the service, and the amazing food.

    Sent on 07/29/2009
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 06/06/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with Tina and Katie. They are a small company and do not offer tasting, which some people do not like. Sign up for one of their winter dinners and you will book them on the spot for your wedding! They were great to work with and the food was amazing. The food was great for picky eaters and foodies like my husband and I. I can't wait to eat their food again.

    Sent on 07/01/2009
  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/06/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katie & Tina were great to work with! We were planning the wedding remotely and they made the process very easy. They also listened to what we liked/didn't like and modified the menu to be very unique to us (for example we had a popcorn bar at the end of the night!) I would highly recommend them and they were reasonably priced too!

    Sent on 05/12/2017
  • K

    Kari · Married on 09/19/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We met with three different caterers for our September 2009 wedding. While we didn't get to taste any of their food at the meeting, their concepts for our reception menu, energy, and of course the "word of mouth" about their food made us choose them. They were very eager to construct a menu that suited both our tastes and our budget. On the evening of our reception, we were not disappointed. The food was absolutely delicious! There wasn't a single thing that I didn't like (and I'm a relatively picky eater). So happy we went with them!

    Sent on 01/04/2010
  • S

    Sasha · Married on 06/03/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All of the food was really, really good (we got compliments on it from many of our guests—including one who is a chef!), and Katie and Tina were delightful to work with. They were very helpful with menu suggestions, and we enjoyed tasting some of the menu items a few months beforehand. They also had no problem accommodating a few dietary restrictions, as well as serving some desserts which we wanted to bring ourselves. As is often the case, we only had a few bites during our actual dinner, but it was great to find a couple of very large portions saved for us after the guests had left. We highly recommend Word of Mouth!

    Sent on 06/13/2018
  • B

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/05/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Word of Mouth came highly recommended as a potential caterer for our fall Finger Lakes wedding. Tina and Katie surpassed our expectations from the moment we met with them to discuss our thoughts on food, the menu, and our wedding day. In the days leading up to the wedding, we asked tons of questions and all were answered professionally and efficiently. Tina and Katie, were awesome to work with and their passion for healthy, fresh food is evident. We built a beautiful menu, I am getting hungry reliving it, ceviche cups, colorful roasted vegetables, salads, grilled salmon, steak, it was an amazing evening. Our guests, mostly traveled from New York City still rave about the colorful, fresh food. While it can be a little unnerving to make a decision without tasting any of the options, we decided to take a deep breath, sit in the passenger seat and let Tina and Katie do what they do best. They helped make our day better than we could have imagined, we hope you do the same.

    Sent on 01/31/2016
  • K

    Amanda · Married on 08/28/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was absolutely amazing and we've received so many compliments. They worked with us to find food that would appeal to a varied crowd of eaters at our wedding as well as making us extremely happy that there were some personal features that represented us at the meal. I would highly recommend Katie & Tina of Word of Mouth Catering to anyone having a wedding in or around the Ithaca area. We had an outdoor wedding and they were phenomenal at adapting to our surroundings. Such a professional service too. Hire them right away!

    Sent on 12/06/2010
  • M

    mari · Married on 09/05/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we were checking out venues we asked who they recommended off of their preferred vendors for catering........everyone said Word of Mouth. So, we booked them and could not have been happier about our decision. They worked with us on the budget and the menu. They like to use local, fresh and seasonal ingredients. Everyone ranted and raved about the food. The only regret was that we didn't get a chance to eat the appetizers! What we had of the dinner was delicious!! :)

    Sent on 09/30/2009
  • A

    Adrienne · Married on 08/13/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Word of Mouth was the perfect choice for our wedding and the style we were going for. They pride themselves on using seasonal vegetables and foods, and the food is served in vintage dishware. Given that our venue was old and vintage, this was a great change from the typical metal chaffers you often see. Our menu was truly tailored to our exact likes and preferences. Working with Katie and Tina was wonderful. They were both incredibly friendly and flexible. We received many compliments on the day of our wedding, and we can say from personal opinion that everything was delicious!

    Sent on 09/25/2016
  • B

    Bridget · Married on 10/08/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our guests were very happy with the meal that they were served! Word of Mouth was very accommodating and flexible in creating a menu that was "simple" and delicious. We would absolutely recommend them to anyone who is looking for great food on their wedding day.

    Sent on 11/21/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review